DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 12/3/2025. The amendment has been entered and considered.
DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment and remarks filed 07/24/2025. Claims 1, 15 and 19 are amended. Claims 3 and 16 are canceled. Claims 1 -2, 4-15 and 17-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2020/0344007), hereinafter “Chen”, in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US 2013/0223345), hereinafter “Asterjadhi”, in further view of Huang (US 2019/036455) hereinafter “Huang”, in further view of Patil et al. (US 2020/0288523), hereinafter “Patil”.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Chen teaches:
receiving a message indicative of a block of frames that were sent to the receiver ([0109-0114]: See Fig. 7a. Step 702 -receiving device receives a first data unit [0110].)
determining that a particular frame associated with the block of frames was not received (Fig. 7a, [0112]: Step 704 - receiving device sends a first HARQ feedback frame which may include one or more NACKs indicating portions of the first data unit (equates to frames of data) that were not successfully decoded (or not received at all), i.e. Chen teaches that a NACK can be realized by at least two methods: portions of first data not received and/or portions of first data not successful decoded, after receipt. This step 704 follows where portions of the first data were determined as not successfully decoded or received at all.)
sending a feedback message to a transmitter with a bitmap indicating that the particular frame was not received by the receiver (Fig. 7a, [0112-0113]: Step 704 - This first HARQ feedback frame may include a bitmap indicating which portions of the first data unit were not successfully decoded (or not received at all); in some instances, the first HARQ feedback frame may include a bitmap indicating one or more MPDUs of the first data unit that were not successfully decoded by the receiving device, where each bit indicates a NACK (or ACK) ); and
receiving the particular frame from the transmitter (Fig. 7a, [0110, 0113]: Step 706 – in response to the HARQ feedback frame, the indicated portions (identified by NACK in the bitmap) are re-transmitted. )
Chen does not teach:
wherein the bitmap has fewer total bits than a total number of frames in a receive window parameter and the feedback message includes a start sequence number and a bitmap length for the bitmap.
However, Asterjadhi, in a similar endeavor that discloses compressing block acknowledgement frames using a sequence number and a block acknowledgement bitmap field, teaches:
wherein the bitmap has fewer total bits than a total number of frames in a receive window parameter ([0071, 0077-0085] See Fig. 14A. A compressed bitmap format 1400A for indicating received status [0071] of a particular number of MSDUs and/or A-MSDUs (equates to received frames) comprises of a Block ACK ID 2402A [0078, 0082], a Starting sequence Control field 1404A [0079, 0083] of 12 bits [0077], and Block ACK Bitmap 1406A [0080, 0085] of 8 bits [0077] or 16 bits [0085]. The starting sequence control field 1404A (i.e. an offset to indicate where the first “1” or “0” values occurs [0071]) may include lowest sequence number position in the bitmap included in the block ACK bitmap field 1406A, or a function of the sequence number of the first MSDU for which the status data packet is sent [0079, 0083]. The block ACK bitmap field 1406A indicates the received status of the particular MSDU [0080], (e.g. bit field may be eight bits in length (i.e. indicate received status of up to eight MSDUs) where each bit equal to “1” in the bitmap indicates successful reception of a single MSDU, and each bit equal to “0” indicates not successfully or correctly received [0071] in the order of the sequence number [0085]), with the first bit of the bitmap corresponding to the MSDU with the sequence number that matches the value of the starting sequence control field 1404A [0080]. In other words, combining the function of the starting sequence control field 1404B and the block ACK bitmap (e.g. 8 bits), results in a bitmap format that is shorter than a bitmap format without the starting sequence control field (i.e. a bitmap field that is one-for-one corresponding to each MSDU or frame), and fewer in bits than the total number of MDSU or frames. Paragraphs 60-62 and Figures 5/6 show starting sequence numbers and length of the bitmap block ACK bitmap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Asterjadhi of using an offset or starting sequence number for identifying the block of frames that were successfully (or not successfully) received to the bitmap method of Chen in order to improve the efficiency of the shortened acknowledgement messages between the two devices to reduce system congestion.
Chen and Asterjadhi do not teach:
the block of frames comprising an aggregation of more than one thousand twenty four
However, Huang in a similar endeavor discloses the method where the BA (block acknowledgement) bitmap can range up to 2048 bits, teaches:
the block of frames comprising an aggregation of more than one thousand twenty four (Huang [0137] teaches that a block acknowledgement (block ack) bitmap may have a size of 64*N for any n= 5 to 32 bits, thereby supporting bitmaps ranging from 320 bits up to 2048 bits. Huang further discloses the range of sequence number that are possible is 4096, such that the maximum of 2048 bits is the maximum size of the block ack bitmap. Because each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a frame or sequence number, Huang teaches more than 1024 frames can be indicated using a bitmap greater than 1024 bits, up to 2048 bits.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Huang into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi in such that extending legacy BA response messages to accommodate larger blocks of frames that are newly possible with advanced equipment, improves user (recipient’s) experiences and services that rely on advanced equipment.
Chen, Asterjadhi and Huang do not teach:
… receiver via a first link
… from the transmitter via a second link.
However, Patil in a similar endeavor discloses switching to a second wireless link upon a clear result of a CCA procedure during a later (third) time period, teaches:
… receiver via a first link (Patil [007]: Method supporting a multi-link session between a device and a base station, a first wireless link is used for the first transmission, upon a clear CCA procedure (and refrain from transmitting on a second wireless link).)
… from the transmitter via a second link. (Patil [0018, 0250], Claim 30: Management unit transmits on a second wireless link during a third time period based on a clear result of the clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure performed during the second time period, where the second and third time period are after the first time period. In other words, the management unit (base station) switches to using a second wireless link, that is different than the first wireless link used previously, to transmit data; in this case, the second wireless link is available (for non-errored transmission) indicated by CCA clear result.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Patil into the method of Chen, Asterjadhi and Huang in order to adapt flexibility and availability of a second carrier in a multi-carrier environment (e.g. unlicensed wireless carrier), to maintain wireless connectivity between device and base station and for improved management of multiple carriers particularly for adjacent channel interference (ACI) Patil [0005]).
Particularly for claim 19, Chen teaches:
A receiver (Fig. 1, device 104), for wireless communication with a transmitter (Fig. 1 AP 102) in a wireless network, the receiver comprising:
a memory (Fig 6b, memory 645); and
a processor (Fig. 6b, processor 635) coupled to the memory, the processor to perform or control performance of operations ([0102]:processor couple with memory, as example of implementation].)
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches:
the bitmap indicates a second frame that was not received by the receiver. ([0112]: The first HARQ feedback frame may include a first bitmap indicating one or more MPDUs that were not successfully decoded by the receiving device, may include a second bitmap indicating one or more codewords (data frames with parity bits, but still data frames [0110]) that were not successfully decoded, or may include both the first bitmap and the second bitmap.)
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches:
identifying, in the block of frames, the second frame that has not been received by the receiver; and updating the bitmap to include a second sequence number of the second frame that has not been received. ([0112]: The first HARQ feedback frame may include a first bitmap indicating one or more MPDUs (i.e. second frame) that were not successfully decoded. It may include a second bitmap indicating one or more codewords (data frames plus parity bits [0110]), or may include both the first bitmap and second bitmap (i.e. one bitmap with updated information).)
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches:
the bitmap includes a first bitmap to indicate the particular frame (Fig. 7a, [0112-0113]: Step 704 - This first HARQ feedback frame may include a bitmap indicating which portions of the first data unit were not successfully decoded (or not received at all); in some instances, the first HARQ feedback frame may include a bitmap indicating one or more MPDUs of the first data unit that were not successfully decoded by the receiving device, where each bit indicates a NACK (or ACK) )
and a second bitmap to indicate the second frame ([0112]: The second bitmap indicating which portions of the second data unit (MPDU) were not successfully decoded (or not received at all) may be included in the HARQ feedback message, or included with the first bitmap.)
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches:
sending the feedback message to the transmitter includes sending the feedback message with another message. ([0117-0119] Fig. 7B: Step 716 – In the case if the HARQ sequence is not ending, Chen discloses a second HARQ feedback frame indicating (additional) portions of the second data frame that was not successfully decoded. The second HARQ feedback frame equates to another message.)
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches:
A transmitter (Fig. 1 AP 102) for wireless communication with a receiver (Fig. 1, device 104) in a wireless network (Fig. 1), the transmitter comprising:
a memory (Fig. 6A, memory 640); and
a processor (Fig. 6a, processor 630) coupled to the memory, the processor to perform or control performance of operations ([0101]:processor couple with memory, as example of implementation].)
send wireless data to the receiver ([0109-0114]: See Fig. 7a. Step 702 -receiving device receives a first data unit [0110].)
receive a feedback message from the receiver with a bitmap that identifies a subset of the wireless data that the receiver failed to receive (Fig. 7a, [0112-0113]: Step 704 - This first HARQ feedback frame may include a bitmap indicating which portions of the first data unit were not successfully decoded (or not received at all); in some instances, the first HARQ feedback frame may include a bitmap indicating one or more MPDUs of the first data unit that were not successfully decoded by the receiving device, where each bit indicates a NACK (or ACK) ); and
receiving the particular frame from the transmitter (Fig. 7a, [0110, 0113]: Step 706 – in response to the HARQ feedback frame, the indicated portions (identified by NACK in the bitmap) are re-transmitted. ), …
construct retransmission wireless data that includes the subset of the wireless data in view of the bitmap ([0110-0114]: Fig. 7a, step 706, the process proceeds with re-transmitting , in response to the first HARQ feedback frame (bitmap frame) [0010] , the indicated portions of the first data unit, that is, that data that did not successfully decode or received at all. [0112])
send the particular frame from the transmitter (Fig. 7a, [0110, 0113]: Step 706 – in response to the HARQ feedback frame, the indicated portions (identified by NACK in the bitmap) are re-transmitted. )
Chen does not teach:
wherein the bitmap has fewer total bits than a total number of frames in a receive window parameter and the feedback message includes a starting sequence number a length of the bitmap
However, Asterjadhi, in a similar endeavor that discloses compressing block acknowledgement frames using a sequence number and a block acknowledgement bitmap field, teaches:
wherein the bitmap has fewer total bits than a total number of frames in the block of frames ([0071, 0077-0085] See Fig. 14A. A compressed bitmap format 1400A for indicating received status [0071] of a particular number of MSDUs and/or A-MSDUs (equates to received frames) comprises of a Block ACK ID 2402A [0078, 0082], a Starting sequence Control field 1404A [0079, 0083] of 12 bits [0077], and Block ACK Bitmap 1406A [0080, 0085] of 8 bits [0077] or 16 bits [0085]. The starting sequence control field 1404A (i.e. an offset to indicate where the first “1” or “0” values occurs [0071]) may include lowest sequence number position in the bitmap included in the block ACK bitmap field 1406A, or a function of the sequence number of the first MSDU for which the status data packet is sent [0079, 0083]. The block ACK bitmap field 1406A indicates the received status of the particular MSDU [0080], (e.g. bit field may be eight bits in length (i.e. indicate received status of up to eight MSDUs) where each bit equal to “1” in the bitmap indicates successful reception of a single MSDU, and each bit equal to “0” indicates not successfully or correctly received [0071] in the order of the sequence number [0085]), with the first bit of the bitmap corresponding to the MSDU with the sequence number that matches the value of the starting sequence control field 1404A [0080]. In other words, combining the function of the starting sequence control field 1404B and the block ACK bitmap (e.g. 8 bits), results in a bitmap format that is shorter than a bitmap format without the starting sequence control field (i.e. a bitmap field that is one-for-one corresponding to each MSDU or frame), and fewer in bits than the total number of MDSU or frames. Paragraphs 60-62 and Figures 5/6 show starting sequence numbers and length of the bitmap block ACK bitmap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Asterjadhi of using an offset or starting sequence number for identifying the block of frames that were successfully (or not successfully) received to the bitmap method of Chen in order to improve the efficiency of the shortened acknowledgement messages between the two devices to reduce system congestion.
Chen and Asterjadhi do not teach:
the block of frames comprising an aggregation of more than one thousand twenty four
However, Huang in a similar endeavor discloses the method where the BA (block acknowledgement) bitmap can range up to 2048 bits, teaches:
the block of frames comprising an aggregation of more than one thousand twenty four (Huang [0137] teaches that a block acknowledgement (block ack) bitmap may have a size of 64*N for any n= 5 to 32 bits, thereby supporting bitmaps ranging from 320 bits up to 2048 bits. Huang further discloses the range of sequence number that are possible is 4096, such that the maximum of 2048 bits is the maximum size of the block ack bitmap. Because each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a frame or sequence number, Huang teaches more than 1024 frames can be indicated using a bitmap greater than 1024 bits, up to 2048 bits.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Huang into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi in such that extending legacy BA response messages to accommodate larger blocks of frames that are newly possible with advanced equipment, improves user (recipient’s) experiences and services that rely on advanced equipment.
Chen and Asterjadhi do not teach:
… receiver via a first link
… from the transmitter via a second link.
However, Patil in a similar endeavor discloses switching to a second wireless link upon a clear result of a CCA procedure during a later (third) time period, teaches:
… receiver via a first link (Patil [007]: Method supporting a multi-link session between a device and a base station, a first wireless link is used for the first transmission, upon a clear CCA procedure (and refrain from transmitting on a second wireless link).)
… from the transmitter via a second link. (Patil [0018, 0250], Claim 30: Management unit transmits on a second wireless link during a third time period based on a clear result of the clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure performed during the second time period, where the second and third time period are after the first time period. In other words, the management unit (base station) switches to using a second wireless link, that is different than the first wireless link used previously, to transmit data; in this case, the second wireless link that is available for non-errored transmission indicated by CCA clear result.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Patil into the method of Chen, Asterjadhi and Huang in order to adapt flexibility and availability of a second carrier in a multi-carrier environment, such as an unlicensed carrier, to maintain wireless connectivity between device and base station, for improved management of multiple carriers particularly for adjacent channel interference (ACI) Patil [0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches:
constructing the retransmission wireless data includes inspecting the bitmap to identify a first sequence number associated with a first data frame and a second sequence number associated with a second data frame, wherein the retransmission wireless data includes the first data frame and the second data frame. ([0109-0114]: Chen teaches the indicated portions of both the first and second data units (first and second frame) are aggregated and transmitted to the receiving unit in a single packet [0113]. The PPDU (single integrated packet) may include an A-MPDU that carries the second MPDUs of the second data unit, and carries MPDUs corresponding to the portions of the first data unit that were not successfully decoded (aggregated together). Fig. 7a)
Claims 2, 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Asterjadhi Huang and Patil, in further view of Niu et al. (US 2020/0014495), hereinafter “Niu”
Regarding claim 2, Chen, Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil do not teach:
the bitmap has fewer than 17 bits
However, Niu teaches:
the bitmap has fewer than 17 bits (Fig. 4, HARQ feedback bitmap in this embodiment has 8 bits [0034].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Niu into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil in order to provide specific order to the process for more efficient HARQ discovery and recovery, supporting maximum use of sharing resources (abstract, Niu)
Regarding claim 4, Chen, Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil do not teach:
the particular frame is associated with a particular sequence number, the bitmap including the particular sequence number
However, Niu teaches:
the particular frame is associated with a particular sequence number, the bitmap including the particular sequence number (Fig. 3, Step 350: eNB 132 sends to UE 110 HARQ feedback message, including a bitmap where bits indicate ACK or NACK for the UL transmission associated with that bit [0034]. See Fig. 4, example of HARQ feedback bitmap with NACK “0” for bit 3, indicating that the eNB failed to demodulate the UL transmission associated with frame 3.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Niu into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil in order to provide specific order to the process for more efficient HARQ discovery and recovery, supporting maximum use of sharing resources (abstract, Niu)
Regarding claim 5, Chen, Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil do not teach:
determining the sequence number for the particular frame that was not receivedHowever, Niu teaches:
determining the sequence number for the particular frame that was not received ((Fig. 3, Step 340
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Niu into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil in order to provide specific order to the process for more efficient HARQ discovery and recovery, supporting maximum use of sharing resources (abstract, Niu)
Claims 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil, in further view of Yu et al. (US 2017/0310601) hereinafter “Yu”.
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil do not teach:
adjusting the receive window parameter, wherein the feedback message to the transmitter is generated based on the adjusted receive window parameter.
However, Yu in a similar endeavor for adjusting receive window parameters for a network connection, teaches:
adjusting the receive window parameter, wherein the feedback message to the transmitter is generated based on the adjusted receive window parameter. ([0006]: Yu teaches updating the receive window…and transmitting the TCP ACK message comprising the updated receive window size. See also Fig. 3, step 325 [0068])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Yu into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil in order to clarify the flow control process after frame failure of Chen with selectively updating the feedback message with an adjusted window size flag for improved flow (throughput) control and improved operational efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil do not teach:
the receive window parameter includes at least one of: a window size, a window start sequence number, or a window end sequence number.
However, Yu in a similar endeavor for adjusting receive window parameters for a network connection, teaches:
the receive window parameter includes at least one of: a window size ([0006]: Yu teaches updating the receive window…and transmitting the TCP ACK message comprising the updated receive window size. See also Fig. 3, step 325 [0068])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Yu into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil in order to clarify the flow control process after frame failure of Chen with selectively updating the feedback message with an adjusted window size flag for improved flow (throughput) control and improved operational efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil do not teach:
the receive window parameter is adjusted to reduce a quantity of data transmitted by the transmitter to the receiver.
However, Yu in a similar endeavor for adjusting receive window parameters for a network connection, teaches:
the receive window parameter is adjusted to reduce a quantity of data transmitted by the transmitter to the receiver ([0062]: Yu teaches that if the TCP proxy (transmitter) determines that the TCP connection or network is congested, then may calculate, update or adjust the current window size …to limit the TCP data rate...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Yu into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil in order to clarify the flow control process after frame failure of Chen with selectively updating the feedback message with an adjusted window size flag for improved flow (throughput) control and improved operational efficiency.
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil do not teach:
the receive window parameter is adjusted based on a constraint of at least one of: the transmitter, a network between the transmitter and the receiver, or the receiver.
However, Yu in a similar endeavor for adjusting receive window parameters for a network connection, teaches:
the receive window parameter is adjusted based on a constraint of at least one of: a network between the transmitter and the receiver, or the receiver. ([0038]: Yu teaches the receiver determining a receive window size indicating the amount of data the receiver is able to buffer (equates to local memory capability in the receiver, corresponding to the number of frames and length of the bitmap). The receive window size may be transmitted to the TCP sender in an ACK message, and may indicate to the sender the current buffer capabilities of the receiver. [0068]: The updated receive window size may be greater than or less than the current receive window size, and may be based on current conditions of the TCP connection.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Yu into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil in order to clarify the flow control process after frame failure of Chen with noted limitations of the equipment to implement the features and functionalities of the process, to improve operational efficiency.
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil do not teach:
the constraint comprises the constraint of the receiver and the constraint of the receiver includes an available local memory at the receiver.
However, Yu in a similar endeavor for adjusting receive window parameters for a network connection, teaches:
the constraint comprises the constraint of the receiver and the constraint of the receiver includes an available local memory at the receiver. ([0038]: Yu teaches the receiver determining a receive window size indicating the amount of data the receiver is able to buffer (equates to local memory capability in the receiver, corresponding to the number of frames and length of the bitmap). The receive window size may be transmitted to the TCP sender in an ACK message, and may indicate to the sender the current buffer capabilities of the receiver.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Yu into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil in order to clarify the flow control process after frame failure of Chen with noted limitations of the equipment to implement the features and functionalities of the process, to improve operational efficiency.
Claims 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil, in further view of Yu et al. (US 2017/0310601) hereinafter “Yu”, and in further view of Jung et al. (US 2018/0337866), hereinafter “Jung”.
Regarding claim 18, Chen in view of Asterjadhi and Patil do not teach:
the feedback message from the receiver includes data indicative of a receive window size of zero, wherein the operations further comprise, prior to send the retransmission wireless data to the receiver:
to wait to send the retransmission wireless data responsive to identifying the receive window size of zero; and
receive a subsequent receive window size from the receiver that is greater than zero;
wherein send the retransmission wireless data responsive to identifying the subsequent receive window size that is greater than zero
However, Yu in a similar endeavor discloses adjusting receive window size according to current network conditions, teaches:
the feedback message from the receiver includes data indicative of a receive window size… ([0006]: Yu teaches updating the receive window…and transmitting the TCP ACK message comprising the updated receive window size. See also Fig. 3, step 325 [0068])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Yu into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi and Patil in order to clarify the flow control process after frame failure of Chen with selectively updating the feedback message with an adjusted window size flag for improved flow (throughput) control and improved operational efficiency.
Futhermore, Jung, in a similar endeavor, discloses controlling the flow of traffic in a network connection between two devices, additionally teaches:
wherein the operations further comprise, prior to send the retransmission wireless data to the receiver:
to wait to send the retransmission wireless data responsive to identifying the receive window size of zero;
([0163]: Jung teaches the method where a receive window size (for TCP connection between two devices) is set to “0”, i.e. the server (transmitter device) is instruction - based to stop data transmission (equates to “wait to send the retransmission of data”) in the course of releasing (stopping) and re-establishing a connection for traffic.),
wherein send the retransmission wireless data responsive to identifying a subsequent receive window size that is greater than zero ([0163]: Jung teaches instruction-based method where the server (transmitter device) receives a window size set = “0”, i.e. instruction to release (equates to stopping transmission) a TCP connection for high-speed traffic or delay-sensitive traffic. Jung implicitly teaches re-establishing the connection when the server receives (instructions) a receive window size set to any value greater than “0”, being the only possible path to exit the current state, i.e. when connection has been released, waiting.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Jung into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang, Patil and Yu in order to adapt the principles of selectively releasing and re-establishing a network connection experiencing low channel quality (e.g. receive frame failure) in order to improve operational performance and user-experienced quality (Jung [0167]).
Regarding claim 20, Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil do not teach:
the feedback message from the receiver includes data indicative of a subsequent receive window size of zero.
However, Yu teaches:
the feedback message from the receiver … ([0006]: Yu teaches updating the receive window…and transmitting the TCP ACK message comprising the updated receive window size. See also Fig. 3, step 325 [0068])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Yu into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi and Huang in order to clarify the flow control process after frame failure of Chen with selectively updating the feedback message with an adjusted window size flag for improved flow (throughput) control and improved operational efficiency.
Furthermore, Jung, in a similar endeavor, discloses controlling the flow of traffic in a network connection between two devices, additionally teaches:
… a receive window size of zero. ([0163]: Jung teaches the method where a receive window size (for TCP connection between two devices) is set to “0”, i.e. the server (transmitter device) is instruction - based to stop data transmission (equates to “wait to send the retransmission of data”) in the course of releasing (stopping) and re-establishing a connection for traffic.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Jung into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang in order to adapt the principles of selectively releasing and re-establishing a network connection experiencing low channel quality (e.g. receive frame failure) in order to improve operational performance and user-experienced quality (Jung [0167]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil, in further view of Yang et al. (US 2019/0104011), hereinafter “Yang”.
Regarding claim 21, Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil do not teach:
the message is modulated according to a 4096 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) modulation scheme.
However, Yang in a similar endeavor discloses receiving and re-transmitting a signal using 4096 QAN for increased peak data rate, teaches:
the message is modulated according to a 4096 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) modulation scheme. ([0073]: Step 702 (see Fig. 7) UE receives a signal for transmission, for QAM modulation. Step 704, UE selects 4096 QAM to generate the modulated signal. Step 706, transmits the signal using 4096 QAM, for highest data rate. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Yang into the method of Chen in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil in order to use the highest modulation setting for large data blocks, for fastest delivery of blocks of data, particularly blocks of frames, for improved user experience.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Asterjadhi, Huang and Patil, in further view of Chen et al. (US 2019/0253296), hereinafter “Chen3296”.
Regarding claim 22, Chen in view of Asterjahdi, Huang and Patil do not teach:
message being received over a network having support for at least one 320 MHz channel.
However, Chen3296 in a similar endeavor discloses bonding multiple 20 MHz channels for form 320 MHz channel for large blocks of data, teaches:
message being received over a network having support for at least one 320 MHz channel. ([0157]: UE or base station may identify a transmission mode, select a tone plan within a 320 MHz total channel bandwidth. See Fig. 14, step 1405. Generate the signal according to the tone plan and transmit the signal over the 320 MHz channel bandwidth (Step 1420).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Chen3296 into the method of Chen in view of Asterjahdi, Huang and Patil to expand to wide bandwidth for large blocks of data, for advanced data transmissions such as live video streaming, that are not easily supported with legacy networks. The motivation is that applying a well know standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant does not provide any specific arguments as to how the amended limitation overcomes the cited art of record. As discussed above, Asterjadhi teaches starting sequence numbers and length of bitmaps in the block ACK (i.e. feedback message); Paragraphs 60-62 and Figures 5/6.
Further yet, Huang also teaches the newly amended limitation. In particular Huang states a block ACK includes a starting sequence number and bitmap length; Paragraph 133 and Figure 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411