DETAILED ACTIONS
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments/arguments submitted by the Applicant(s) on 01/22/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, and 6-15 are pending.
Claims 1, 14, and 15 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 USC §103:
Applicant Argument:
Applicants argues on pages 6-7 in the Remarks filed on 01/22/2026 regarding rejections of independent claims under 35 USC §103 that
“But Becker does not disclose that said amount of energy (the one able to supply the connected object) is measured at an output of an energy production module of said connected object. Indeed, the energy production module in Becker is a power production from renewable energy like a wind farm, connected to the power grid, obviously distinct of the energy storage system. Such an energy production module is not a part of the energy storage system identified by the Examiner with the connected object of the present application.
If the Examiner would argue that the energy production module of Becker may also be
identified as a part of the connected object of our present application, it would lead the Examiner to conclude that the connected object of the present application is identical to a system made of a battery energy storage system plus all the power production modules, connected to the power grid, able to provide power to the energy storage system. Such a complete industrial power generation system cannot be compared to a connected object as in the present patent application”
Examiner’s Response:
Applicants argument on pages 6-7 in the Remarks filed on 01/22/2026 regarding rejections of independent claims under 35 USC §103 have been considered, and are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. Becker teaches an “energy storage/ battery storage system” received energy/ power from a renewable energy source such as wind energy. Becker teaches that BMU (battery management unit) monitor the power and energy status of the energy storage system is periodically monitored”, ( [0081] - [0085]), and the power and energy state of battery storage is periodically measured. The power is the amount of energy received/ or consumed or supplied by the battery output. See Backer, [0028],” Power indicates the rate at which the system can supply and receive energy, and the energy relates to the amount that can be supplied or received to an electric grid. Becker also teach (Figure 11, [0047]), Energy storage used in conjunction with renewable energy generation could be charged (…) from the renewable energy generation”. [0166], “it is assumed that the power generation is based on wind”. [0006], “a monitoring of the battery may be performed through a battery management unit (BMU). BMU controls battery specific parameters like state of charge, dis/charging process or temperature of the battery, as well as the PCU and connection to the electrical grid where power is supplied or received”. BMU is monitoring the battery stage of charging/ power received from the energy sources such as renewable energy. Examiner interpreted “ battery storage/ energy storage” as the connected object. The instant application PGPUB discloses in [0021] “one particular embodiment, the connected object comprises a battery.” It is known that renewable energy generation such as wind and photovoltaic energy is produced at photovoltaic cells. Where the energy is produced and the BMU measured how much energy obtained from the wind energy source and calculated power rate. Therefore, the instantaneous energy supplied by the renewable energy source in measured. The renewable energy/wind energy” is interpreted as ambient energy. Therefore, applicant argument is not persuasive. The rejections are maintained.
Applicant Argument:
Applicants argues on pages 6-7 in the Remarks filed on 01/22/2026 regarding rejections of independent claims under 35 USC §103 that
“ First, it appears the Office Action uses erroneous references:
• Regarding "obtaining a service life", there is no Fig. 5 in Lee, or a step S530.
Also, paragraph [0082] is about software implementation, procedures, functions
and software modules in general and not about a specific operation;
• Regarding "obtaining a predicted operating duration", paragraph [0026] is the
summary of Fig 9A and 9B, presenting screen diagrams”.
Examiner’s Response:
Applicants argument on page8 in the Remarks filed on 01/22/2026 regarding rejections of independent claims under 35 USC §103 have been considered, and are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the agreement. The secondary prior art Lee at el. (US 2017 /0199248 A1) do have figure 5, and step 530. Lee teaches in [0026] “The method for estimating a remaining service life of a battery may farther include storing the estimated remaining service life of the battery. Further, the storing the remaining service life of the battery may update the estimated remaining service life of the battery, and store the same” depicted in Figure 5 flow chart.
Examiner disagrees with the argument “Regarding "obtaining a predicted operating duration", paragraph [0026] is the summary of Fig 9A and 9B, presenting screen diagrams”.
Lee et al. does not have “figure 9A and 9B” neither the last office action mentioned about any figure 9A or 9B.
Therefore, examiner disagrees that the last office action uses erroneous references.
Examiner maintained the rejections, and the rejections are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al. (US 2016/0211668 A1, hereinafter Becker, previously cited) and in view of LEE et al. (US 2017 /0199248 A1, hereinafter Lee, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Becker teaches,
A method for predicting an operating duration of a connected object, the method being implemented by the connected object (Becker, Figure 1, [0005], a monitoring of
the battery may be performed through a battery management unit (BMU). BMU controls battery specific parameters like state of charge, dis/charging process or temperature of the battery, as well as the PCU and connection to the electrical
grid where power is supplied or received. [0007] The present invention provides a method for controlling an energy storage system properly. [0008], determining at least two different service methods according to which the energy storage system is to be operated; Figure 6, [0149] FIG. 6 illustrates the energy monitoring according to an embodiment of the invention”. NOTE: examiner interpreted the “energy storage /battery storage” as the connected object. and comprising:
obtaining an amount of instantaneous energy consumed by the connected object (Becker, Figure 6, and Figure 9, [0081]” The power and energy status of the energy storage system is periodically monitored”, [0085], “An energy content of the battery energy storage system is monitored” NOTE: the power and energy state of battery storage is periodically measured. The power is the amount of energy received/ or consumed or supplied by the battery output. See Backer, [0028],” Power indicates the rate at which the system can supply and receive energy, and the energy relates to the amount that can be supplied or received to an electric grid”).
obtaining at least one amount of instantaneous energy dependent on an ambient energy, and able to be used to supply said connected object, (Becker, Figure 11, [0047], “Energy storage used in conjunction with renewable energy generation could be charged (…) from the renewable energy generation”. [0166], “it is assumed that the power generation is based on wind”. NOTE: “The energy storage is charged with the renewable energy and power that is the rate at which the storage is charged is monitored. Therefore, the instantaneous energy supplied by the renewable energy source in measured. The renewable energy/wind energy” is interpreted as ambient energy.)
said amount, said amount of instantaneous energy dependent on the ambient energy being measured at an output of an energy production module of said connected object (Becker, (Becker, Figure 11, [0047], “Energy storage used in conjunction with renewable energy generation could be charged (…) from the renewable energy generation”. [0006], “a monitoring of the battery may be performed through a battery management unit (BMU). BMU controls battery specific parameters like state of charge, dis/charging process or temperature of the battery, as well as the PCU and connection to the electrical grid where power is supplied or received”. BMU is monitoring the battery stage of charging/ power received from the energy sources such as renewable energy. It is known that renewable energy generation such as wind and photovoltaic energy is produced at photovoltaic cells. Where the energy is produced and the BMU measured how much energy obtained from the wind energy source and calculated power rate.); and
performing at least one action taking into account said predicted operating duration (Becker, [0028], The amount of energy stored determines the amount of time that the system can discharge at its rated power (output), hence the discharge duration.” “Discharge duration” is an indicator of predicted operating duration [ [0119], During the operation of the storage battery, an algorithm periodically checks whether the parameters power and energy of the storage
battery are within predefined limits, so as to ensure a proper and safe operation of the storage battery.”);
Becker is silent on obtaining a remaining service life of the connected object on the basis of said amounts;(Becker, Figure 4-6, [0119] in FIG. 4 with the boxes named "Check SB energy within energy limits" and "Check service power demand
within SB power limits". The power and energy provided by the storage system varies with time depending on the particular services and the power and energy that is to be provided according to each service. [0120] In case that the energy limits and/or the power limits are not met during operation of the storage battery, the storage battery cannot support all the services agreed upon during set-up, and only the most prioritized services are further provided; in other words, in the case where power and/or energy of the storage battery are not within the predefined boundaries, provision of one or more of the services is stopped (i.e. interrupted) such that the battery storage again may be operated within the power and energy limits defined before. The interruption of the lower priority services is maintained of course as long as strictly necessary, i.e. provision of these one or more stopped services is resumed as soon as the power and energy of the storage battery again allow doing so. The corresponding algorithm is repetitively and cyclically performed”) Becker teaches determination of discharge duration [0033] Discharge duration is the amount of time that storage can discharge at its rated output (power) without recharging. Discharge duration is an important criterion affecting the technical viability of a given storage system for a given application and storage plant cost.)
Becker is silent on obtaining said predicted operating duration of the connected object on the basis of said remaining service life
However, Lee teaches obtaining said predicted operating duration of the connected object on the basis of said remaining service life. (Lee, Figure 5, Steps 510-550, [0024] “The estimating the remaining service life of the battery may compare any one of the naturally degraded remaining service life value and the measured degraded remaining service life value with a pre-estimated remaining service life value, and estimate the remaining service life of the battery. [0026] The method for estimating a remaining service life of a battery may farther include storing the estimated remaining service life of the battery. Further, the storing the remaining service life of the battery may update the estimated remaining service life of the battery, and store the same”also see [0053] the measured degraded remaining
service life calculating part 120 calculates the remaining service life of the battery via complicated algorithms and computations, it may calculate a remaining service life that is close to the actual remaining service life of the battery
compared to the naturally degraded remaining service life computed by the naturally degraded remaining service life computing part 110.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Becker’s method for predicting battery storage energy state algorithm to incorporate Lee’s method of estimating battery remaining service life duration as taught by Lee and obtain an accurate battery remaining operation duration with the benefit of optimized battery health condition. (Lee, [0033]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known method/algorithm along with other software programs to evaluate battery storage energy state and determine remaining service life operation duration , in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate seismic image or geographic map, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding claim 2, combination of Becker and Lee teaches the method as claimed in claim 1,
Becker further teaches comprising measuring said amount of consumed instantaneous energy (Becker, Figure 6, and Figure 9, [0081] During an operation phase, the energy storage system is operated according to all the services determined at the end of the planning phase at the same time. The power and energy status of the energy storage system is periodically monitored, in order to determine whether at each time instance, the multiple services can indeed be supported at the same time or not.”. NOTE: the power and energy state of battery storage is periodically measured. The power is the amount of energy received/ or consumed or supplied by the battery output. See Backer, [0028],” Power indicates the rate at which the system can supply and receive energy, and the energy relates to the amount that can be supplied or received to an electric grid”).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Becker and Lee teaches the method as claimed in claim 1,
Becker further teaches wherein said amount of consumed instantaneous energy is obtained from successive measurements of an amount of energy stored in a battery (Becker, [0081] “During an operation phase, the energy storage system is operated according to all the services determined at the end of the planning phase at the same time. The power and energy status of the energy storage system is periodically monitored”).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Becker and Lee teaches the method as claimed in claim 3,
Becker is teaches, wherein said remaining service life of the connected object is obtained from a remaining service life in the absence of provision of energy said remaining service life in the absence of provision of energy being obtained from an abacus indexed by said amounts of consumed instantaneous energy and stored energy((Lee, 0033] According to the present disclosure, even when the parameter of the battery has not changed sufficiently enough to enable estimation of the SOH due to reasons such as the battery not being used and so on, a relatively exact remaining service life of the battery may be provided to the user.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Becker’s method in view of Lee’s method to estimate the remaining service life of battery storage as taught by Lee with the benefit of obtaining a highly reliable remaining service life of the battery and reduce the problem of unnecessarily inspecting or replacing the battery (Lee, [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Becker and Lee teaches the method as claimed in claim 4,
Becker further teaches comprising: measuring said ambient energy; the service life of the connected object being determined based on said measurement of the ambient energy and on said amount of instantaneous energy consumed by the connected object (Becker, Figure 11, [0047], “Energy storage used in conjunction with renewable energy generation could be charged using low-value energy from the renewable energy generation so that energy may be used to offset other purchases or sold when it is more valuable. Figure 11, [0166], it is assumed that the power generation is based on wind, and that basically only the services Forecast Deviation and Frequency Response are provided. Correspondingly, a Wind Generation Data Unit provides long- and short-term forecast data to the Market Trading Unit and real-time data to the Forecast Deviation Unit. The Market Trading Unit and Forecast Deviation Unit exchange data on the error and amount of power which can be traded”. NOTE: “the renewable energy/wind energy” is interpreted as ambient energy.)
Regarding claim 7, combination of Becker and Lee teaches the method as claimed in claim 1,
Becker further teaches comprising: recording said predicted operating duration and a current time in a history ((Becker, figure 5, [0015] FIG. 5 is a state diagram illustrating the set-up (preparation) phase for setting up the later operation of the
energy storage system, according to one embodiment of the invention.); and
estimating said predicted operating duration at a given time on the basis of said history (Becker, Figure 5, [0079] Correspondingly, during a planning phase (set-up
phase before actual operation), the multiple services to be provided by the storage system are to be determined. To said end, for example the services that may be traded at the market are evaluated, a suitable criterion for prioritization of the services between each other is calculated, and the services are prioritized based on the predefined criterion.).
Regarding claim 8, combination of Becker and Lee teaches the method as claimed in claim 1,
Becker further teaches obtaining, for at least one task likely to be performed by said connected object, a profile of the instantaneous consumption of said connected object caused by performing said task estimating said amount of consumed instantaneous energy based on a data structure of consumption profiles of tasks likely to be performed by said connected object. (Becker, [0087], operation of the battery energy storage system according to at least one out of the at least two different service methods is interrupted in the order of increasing priority in case that the calculated total power demand does not lie within the predefined power limits and/or that the monitored energy content does not lie within the predefined energy limits. The battery energy storage system is operated according to the remaining service methods out of the at least two different service methods, After the step of interrupting, operation of the battery energy storage system is resumed according to the interrupted at least one out of the at least two different service methods, in case that the calculated total power demand does not exceed the predefined power limits and that the monitored energy content lies within the predefined energy limits”.);
Regarding claim 9, combination of Becker and Lee teaches the method as claimed in claim 1,
Becker further teaches wherein said profile is created or updated based on tasks performed by said connected object at a given time and on said amount of instantaneous energy consumed at said given time (Becker, [0008], determining at least two different service methods according to which the energy storage system is to be operated; prioritizing the at least two different service methods
with respect to each other based on at least one predefined criterion; operating the same energy storage system according to, in parallel, the at least two different service methods to provide, from the energy storage system to the electric grid, total power associated with the at least two different service
methods;).
Regarding claim 10, combination of Becker and Lee teaches the method as claimed in claim 1,
Becker further teaches wherein said action comprises adapting at least one parameter of a communication between said connected object and at least one or other equipment on the basis of said predicted operating duration (Becker, Figure 1, [00104], , [0104] Furthermore, for example, a control apparatus (a controller or a control unit) for controlling an energy storage system to be connected to an electric grid comprises a processor and communications circuitry. The processor determines service methods. And the processor operates the energy storage system according to the service methods to provide, from the energy storage system to the electric grid, total power associated with the service methods).
Regarding claim 11, combination of Becker and Lee teaches the method as claimed in claim 1,
Becker further teaches, wherein said action comprises outputting an alert indicating said predicted operating duration (Becker, Figure 11-12, [0185] “The control method explained above in connection with FIGS. 4-10 and 12 may be alternatively implemented by means of software modules or computer-readable instructions stored on one or more computer-readable media, which
when executed by a processor or device component, perform the described various embodiments of the invention”. [0071], “at any given moment, the amount of electric supply capacity that is operating may exceed or may be less than load. Regulation is used for damping of that difference. Regulation is typically provided by generating units that are online and ready to increase or decrease power as needed” . NOTE: a computer is used to implement the method. It is known in the art that a computer display /interface displays the determined results. It is also mentioned that the regulations and conditions are provided online. It is interpreted that the alert or notification is displayed to the user by the computer or online );
Regarding claim 12, combination of Becker and Lee teaches the method as claimed in claim 1,
Becker further teaches wherein said action comprises modifying an energy consumption mode of said connected object (Becker, Figure 6,9, [0134],” In this case, it is again advantageous to eliminate at least one of the services, such that the requirements of the remaining services and the capabilities of the storage system are matching each other. Prioritizing the services before performing
the comparison against the capabilities of the storage system allows eliminating the least prioritized service(s) first, and thus eliminating those services that would achieve the lowest benefit (in terms of Ro I) for the company. 0169] In the above-described embodiments of the invention, the least prioritized services are interrupted in case the energy or power limits are not met during operation. According to another more advantageous embodiment of the invention,
instead of interrupting the service provision, the service provision may be merely reduced to the extent that the energy/power limits are met,”. NOTE: modification priority of performing service based on the battery stored energy.)
Regarding claim 13, combination of Becker and Lee teaches the method as claimed in claim 1,
Becker further teaches wherein said action comprises saving data of said connected object (Becker, Figure 11, [0167] Market Conditioning Unit provides information on regulations, technical requirements and prices. Energy Storage
Parameter Unit includes data on power, capacity, SoC and response time. Optimization Unit decides the best operation of the Storage Battery taking into account energy markets and limitations of the storage battery (e.g. power and energy). [0168] The Energy Storage Controller manages the operation
of the storage battery. The Server Network allows exchange of data on weather, grid and market with the controller unit”.)
Regarding claim 14, Becker teaches,
A connected object (Becker, Figure 1, Battery storage system, NOTE: examiner interpreted the “battery storage” as the connected object) comprising:
a processor (Becker, Figure [0104] Furthermore, for example, a control apparatus (a controller or a control unit) for controlling an energy storage system to be connected to an electric grid comprises a processor); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the processor configure the connected object (Becker, Figure 11-12, [0185] “The control method explained above in connection with FIGS. 4-10 and 12 may be alternatively implemented by means of software modules or computer-readable instructions stored on one or more computer-readable media, which when executed by a processor or device component, perform the described various embodiments of the invention” )to:
obtain an amount of instantaneous energy consumed by the connected object (Becker, Figure 6, and Figure 9, [0081]” The power and energy status of the energy storage system is periodically monitored”, [0085], “An energy content of the battery energy storage system is monitored” NOTE: the power and energy state of battery storage is periodically measured. The power is the amount of energy received/ or consumed or supplied by the battery output. See Backer, [0028],” Power indicates the rate at which the system can supply and receive energy, and the energy relates to the amount that can be supplied or received to an electric grid”);
obtaining at least one amount of instantaneous energy dependent on an ambient energy, and able to be used to supply said connected object, (Becker, Figure 11, [0047], “Energy storage used in conjunction with renewable energy generation could be charged (…) from the renewable energy generation”. [0166], “it is assumed that the power generation is based on wind”. NOTE: “The energy storage is charged with the renewable energy and power that is the rate at which the storage is charged is monitored. Therefore, the instantaneous energy supplied by the renewable energy source in measured. The renewable energy/wind energy” is interpreted as ambient energy.)
said amount, said amount of instantaneous energy dependent on the ambient energy being measured at an output of an energy production module of said connected object (Becker, (Becker, Figure 11, [0047], “Energy storage used in conjunction with renewable energy generation could be charged (…) from the renewable energy generation”. [0006], “a monitoring of the battery may be performed through a battery management unit (BMU). BMU controls battery specific parameters like state of charge, dis/charging process or temperature of the battery, as well as the PCU and connection to the electrical grid where power is supplied or received”. BMU is monitoring the battery stage of charging/ power received from the energy sources such as renewable energy. It is known that renewable energy generation such as wind and photovoltaic energy is produced at photovoltaic cells. Where the energy is produced and the BMU measured how much energy obtained from the wind energy source and calculated power rate.); and
performing at least one action taking into account said predicted operating duration (Becker, [0028], The amount of energy stored determines the amount of time that the system can discharge at its rated power (output), hence the discharge duration.” “Discharge duration” is an indicator of predicted operating duration [ [0119], During the operation of the storage battery, an algorithm periodically checks whether the parameters power and energy of the storage
battery are within predefined limits, so as to ensure a proper and safe operation of the storage battery.”);
Becker is silent on obtaining a remaining service life of the connected object on the basis of said amounts;(Becker, Figure 4-6, [0119] in FIG. 4 with the boxes named "Check SB energy within energy limits" and "Check service power demand
within SB power limits". The power and energy provided by the storage system varies with time depending on the particular services and the power and energy that is to be provided according to each service. [0120] In case that the energy limits and/or the power limits are not met during operation of the storage battery, the storage battery cannot support all the services agreed upon during set-up, and only the most prioritized services are further provided; in other words, in the case where power and/or energy of the storage battery are not within the predefined boundaries, provision of one or more of the services is stopped (i.e. interrupted) such that the battery storage again may be operated within the power and energy limits defined before. The interruption of the lower priority services is maintained of course as long as strictly necessary, i.e. provision of these one or more stopped services is resumed as soon as the power and energy of the storage battery again allow doing so. The corresponding algorithm is repetitively and cyclically performed”) Becker teaches determination of discharge duration [0033] Discharge duration is the amount of time that storage can discharge at its rated output (power) without recharging. Discharge duration is an important criterion affecting the technical viability of a given storage system for a given application and storage plant cost.)
Becker is silent on obtaining said predicted operating duration of the connected object on the basis of said remaining service life
However, Lee teaches obtaining said predicted operating duration of the connected object on the basis of said remaining service life. (Lee, Figure 5, Steps 510-550, [0024] “The estimating the remaining service life of the battery may compare any one of the naturally degraded remaining service life value and the measured degraded remaining service life value with a pre-estimated remaining service life value, and estimate the remaining service life of the battery. [0026] The method for estimating a remaining service life of a battery may farther include storing the estimated remaining service life of the battery. Further, the storing the remaining service life of the battery may update the estimated remaining service life of the battery, and store the same”also see [0053] the measured degraded remaining
service life calculating part 120 calculates the remaining service life of the battery via complicated algorithms and computations, it may calculate a remaining service life that is close to the actual remaining service life of the battery
compared to the naturally degraded remaining service life computed by the naturally degraded remaining service life computing part 110.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Becker’s method for predicting battery storage energy state algorithm to incorporate Lee’s method of estimating battery remaining service life duration as taught by Lee and obtain an accurate battery remaining operation duration with the benefit of optimized battery health condition. (Lee, [0033]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known method/algorithm along with other software programs to evaluate battery storage energy state and determine remaining service life operation duration, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate seismic image or geographic map, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding claim 15, Becker teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon containing instructions configured so as to implement a method for predicting an operating duration of a connected object when the instructions are
executed by a processor of the connected object (Becker, Figure 11-12, [0185] “The control method explained above in connection with FIGS. 4-10 and 12 may be alternatively implemented by means of software modules or computer-readable instructions stored on one or more computer-readable media, which when executed by a processor or device component, perform the described various embodiments of the invention”),
obtain an amount of instantaneous energy consumed by the connected object (Becker, Figure 6, and Figure 9, [0081]” The power and energy status of the energy storage system is periodically monitored”, [0085], “An energy content of the battery energy storage system is monitored” NOTE: the power and energy state of battery storage is periodically measured. The power is the amount of energy received/ or consumed or supplied by the battery output. See Backer, [0028],” Power indicates the rate at which the system can supply and receive energy, and the energy relates to the amount that can be supplied or received to an electric grid”);
obtaining at least one amount of instantaneous energy dependent on an ambient energy, and able to be used to supply said connected object, (Becker, Figure 11, [0047], “Energy storage used in conjunction with renewable energy generation could be charged (…) from the renewable energy generation”. [0166], “it is assumed that the power generation is based on wind”. NOTE: “The energy storage is charged with the renewable energy and power that is the rate at which the storage is charged is monitored. Therefore, the instantaneous energy supplied by the renewable energy source in measured. The renewable energy/wind energy” is interpreted as ambient energy.)
said amount, said amount of instantaneous energy dependent on the ambient energy being measured at an output of an energy production module of said connected object (Becker, (Becker, Figure 11, [0047], “Energy storage used in conjunction with renewable energy generation could be charged (…) from the renewable energy generation”. [0006], “a monitoring of the battery may be performed through a battery management unit (BMU). BMU controls battery specific parameters like state of charge, dis/charging process or temperature of the battery, as well as the PCU and connection to the electrical grid where power is supplied or received”. BMU is monitoring the battery stage of charging/ power received from the energy sources such as renewable energy. It is known that renewable energy generation such as wind and photovoltaic energy is produced at photovoltaic cells. Where the energy is produced and the BMU measured how much energy obtained from the wind energy source and calculated power rate.); and
performing at least one action taking into account said predicted operating duration (Becker, [0028], The amount of energy stored determines the amount of time that the system can discharge at its rated power (output), hence the discharge duration.” “Discharge duration” is an indicator of predicted operating duration [ [0119], During the operation of the storage battery, an algorithm periodically checks whether the parameters power and energy of the storage
battery are within predefined limits, so as to ensure a proper and safe operation of the storage battery.”);
Becker is silent on obtaining a remaining service life of the connected object on the basis of said amounts;(Becker, Figure 4-6, [0119] in FIG. 4 with the boxes named "Check SB energy within energy limits" and "Check service power demand
within SB power limits". The power and energy provided by the storage system varies with time depending on the particular services and the power and energy that is to be provided according to each service. [0120] In case that the energy limits and/or the power limits are not met during operation of the storage battery, the storage battery cannot support all the services agreed upon during set-up, and only the most prioritized services are further provided; in other words, in the case where power and/or energy of the storage battery are not within the predefined boundaries, provision of one or more of the services is stopped (i.e. interrupted) such that the battery storage again may be operated within the power and energy limits defined before. The interruption of the lower priority services is maintained of course as long as strictly necessary, i.e. provision of these one or more stopped services is resumed as soon as the power and energy of the storage battery again allow doing so. The corresponding algorithm is repetitively and cyclically performed”) Becker teaches determination of discharge duration [0033] Discharge duration is the amount of time that storage can discharge at its rated output (power) without recharging. Discharge duration is an important criterion affecting the technical viability of a given storage system for a given application and storage plant cost.)
Becker is silent on obtaining said predicted operating duration of the connected object on the basis of said remaining service life
However, Lee teaches obtaining said predicted operating duration of the connected object on the basis of said remaining service life. (Lee, Figure 5, Steps 510-550, [0024] “The estimating the remaining service life of the battery may compare any one of the naturally degraded remaining service life value and the measured degraded remaining service life value with a pre-estimated remaining service life value, and estimate the remaining service life of the battery. [0026] The method for estimating a remaining service life of a battery may farther include storing the estimated remaining service life of the battery. Further, the storing the remaining service life of the battery may update the estimated remaining service life of the battery, and store the same” also see [0053] the measured degraded remaining
service life calculating part 120 calculates the remaining service life of the battery via complicated algorithms and computations, it may calculate a remaining service life that is close to the actual remaining service life of the battery
compared to the naturally degraded remaining service life computed by the naturally degraded remaining service life computing part 110.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Becker’s method for predicting battery storage energy state algorithm to incorporate Lee’s method of estimating battery remaining service life duration as taught by Lee and obtain an accurate battery remaining operation duration with the benefit of optimized battery health condition. (Lee, [0033]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known method/algorithm along with other software programs to evaluate battery storage energy state and determine remaining service life operation duration, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate seismic image or geographic map, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. King et al. (US 2022/0121260 A1) recites “Systems and methods for managing the distribution of electrical power are disclosed. The system can maintain a status of each account of a plurality of accounts. Each account can correspond to an electrical power generation device, an electrical power consumption device, and an electrical power transmission device. The system can generate a first record object in response to the generation of a unit of power. The system can identify a first path identifying a source device and a destination device to transmit the nnit of power. The system can generate a control signal to route the unit of power from the source device to the destination device. The system can update an event tracker to indicate the routing of the unit of power. The system can generate a second record object corresponding to the destination device. The system can update a second account to include the second record object” (Abstract)
b. Ni Scanaill et al. (US 2017 /0170675 A1) discloses “A system and related methods for powering a device module of IoT device with an energy harvesting module. A supercapacitor is charged by the energy harvesting module and discharged to the device module to power the device module. The discharge from the supercapacitor may be scheduled to power demanding tasks to provide sufficient recharging periods for the supercapacitor and avoid discharging the supercapacitor when the supercapacitor is insufficiently charged”(abstract)
.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
supervisor, EMAN ALKAFAWI can be reached on (571) 272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DILARA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 4/14/2026