DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed on 08/05/2025, claims 1-11 are pending. Claim 1 is currently amended. No claim is canceled, and no claim is newly added. Claims 1-11 are considered in the current Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
The Claims contain limitations which are directed to articles or products worked upon by the claimed apparatus. These limitations are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115 and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) for further details.
Claim limitations which are directed to the ink, curable resin, a medium, ink droplets of color ink, clear ink, and a forming ink, a transparent ink, forming material, the 3D object, irregularities having a 3D shape, and the ultraviolet curing type resin, and limitations thereof are directed to materials or articles worked upon by the claimed apparatus. These limitations are given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed apparatus.
The Claims contain limitations which are directed to intended uses or capabilities of the claimed apparatus. These limitations are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2114, Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) for further details.
Claim limitations which are directed to the capabilities of the inkjet head, curing unit, controller, mode changing unit, color ink heads, clear ink head, and forming material head are given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Eliahu (US 20110285054 A1) in view of Gothait (US 6,644,763).
Regarding claim 1, Eliahu teaches a liquid drop discharge system configured to discharge ink droplets by inkjet printing (fig. 3: a system within a frame 42), the liquid drop discharge system comprising:
an inkjet head (a printing head 34 and at least one colored printing head 36) that discharges ink droplets of an ink (building material) including a curable resin that is curable under predetermined conditions ([0037-0038]: an inkjet printing system 30 including printing heads 34, 36 and at least one curing unit 40; [0039]: the building material may be a photopolymer; here it is implied that the photopolymer is curable under predetermined conditions of the curing unit 40);
a curing unit (curing unit 40) that cures the curable resin ([0037-0039] and fig. 3);
a table shaped member (fabrication tray 32) disposed at a position so as to face the inkjet head ([0037-0039] and fig. 3); and
a controller (controller 44) configured to control operations of at least the inkjet head and the curing unit ([0038]: controller 44 may instruct the print heads to selectively deposit building materials and color additives based on image data generated; [0042]: when executed by a processor or controller, carry out methods disclosed herein; here, it is implied that the curing unit 40 is also controlled by the controller 44),
wherein
the liquid drop discharge system is operable to carry out operations in a printing mode and a 3D object shaping mode, the printing mode being a mode for performing printing on a medium supported on the table shaped member and the 3D object shaping mode being a mode for consecutively depositing the ink in layers on the table shaped member to form a 3D object (figs, 1-3; [0025-0030]: a method for generating a color pattern for 3D object and 2D images data for printing the 3D object; [0035-0036]: generation of a layer bitmap of a 2D object; [0037-0038]: inkjet printing system 30 implementing the printing; here, the system 30 is capable (operable) of carrying out operations of printing a first layer (i.e., the printing mode and/or the 3D object shaping mode, as recited) and consecutive layers (i.e., the 3D object shaping mode, as recited) upon a desired pattern/shape of a printed object); and
[the controller is further configured to receive an instruction to select one of the printing mode and the 3D object shaping mode and to control operations of at least the inkjet head and the curing unit in accordance with the mode selected], and
the printing of the printing mode and the depositing the ink in the 3D object shaping mode are performed by the same inkjet head (fig. 3 and [0037-0040]: by the same inkjet head within the frame 42),
the printing mode forms an image on the medium by fixing the position of the table-shaped member in a vertical direction (fig. 3 and [0037]: a moving frame 42 to enable the printing heads to move above fabrication tray 32 in both X and Y directions; [0012]: a layer formed and adhered layers in a “layer by layer” fashion to create, build up or form in the Z direction a 3D object; [0016]: generating 2D image data is used to selectively deposit materials of different colors based on the 2D image data to produce the 3D colored object; here, it is implied that during the printing of 2D image (i.e., a layer and/or a first layer) the tray 32 is fixed in a vertical direction), and
the three-dimensional object shaping mode is to stack ink layers while changing the position of the table-shaped member in the vertical direction (id.; here, it is implied that during the printing of a 3D object, the tray 32 is moved in a vertical direction upon completing building/printing every 2D layer to produce the 3D object).
Eliahu does not specifically teach the bracketed limitation(s) as presented above, but Gothait teaches the limitation(s) as follows:
Gothait teaches a three-dimensional printing (col. 1 lines 24-26). A 3D printing system comprises a liquid drop discharge system configured to discharge ink droplets by inkjet printing comprising an inkjet head 12, 28 that discharges ink droplets of an ink (fig. 1 and col. 2 lines 30- 33, lines 39- 41, lines 56- 60). Gothait teaches that the controller is further configured to receive an instruction to select one of the printing mode and the 3D object shaping mode (col. 2 lines 27- 35, lines 44- 45 teach first printing a main image 20 on paper 22 with the conventional printing head 12. Based on this step of the method, the conventional printing head 12 is selected first. col. 2 lines 53- 56 teach after receiving a print command from a user, the controller 26 instructs the raised printing head 26 to jet photopolymer 18 onto an area selected for raised printing. Thus, the controller 26 is able to receive instruction to select the printing head 28 which performs the raised printing mode after first printing with the conventional printing head 12) and to control operations of at least the inkjet head and the curing unit in accordance with the mode selected (col. 1 lines 44- 47, col. 2 lines 27- 35, lines 44- 45 teach first printing a main image 20 on paper 22 with the conventional printing head 12. Based on the method, the conventional printing head 12 is selected first and therefore is capable of operating when selected; col. 1 lines 44-47, col. 2 lines 46-64 teach adjusting the output of the photopolymer 18 from each of the nozzles 14 to control the amount disposed from each nozzle to perform raised printing, for example, at an adjusted height of 0.5 mm. The photopolymer with the adjusted amount is interpreted as a forming ink).
Both Eliahu and Gothait teaches a method/system for printing a 3D object based on inkjet heads (Eliahu: fig. 3 and [0002]; Gothait: fig. 1 and col. 1 lines 24-26). Eliahu further discloses that controller 44 may instruct the print heads to selectively deposit building materials and color additives based on image data generated according to embodiments ([0037]) and the color additives may be dispensed before the building material ([0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the inkjet printing system of Eliahu to be instructed to receive an instruction to select one of the printing mode and the 3D object shaping mode as taught by Gothait in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of versatile applications of a 3D printing system not only for printing a 3D object but also for creating conventional 2D images and/or embossed/debossed 2D images by depositing a first layer only, thus expanding creative possibilities of design complexity and enabling its integration to a printing product.
Regarding claim 2, modified Eliahu teaches a mode changing unit that switches between the printing mode and the 3D object shaping mode, wherein the controller receives the instruction from a user to select one of the planar printing mode and the 3D object shaping mode through the mode changing unit (Eliahu: [0038]: controller 44 may instruct the print heads to selectively deposit building materials and color additives based on image data generated; Gothait: Col. 2 lines 27- 35, lines 44- 45 teach first printing a main image 20 on paper 22 with the conventional printing head 12. Based on this step of the method, the conventional printing head 12 is selected first. Col. 2 lines 53- 56 teach after receiving a print command from a user, the controller 26 instructs the raised printing head 26 to jet photopolymer 18 onto an area selected for raised printing; Thus, the disclosed controller is able to receive instruction to select between the printing mode and the 3D shaping mode).
Regarding claim 3, modified Eliahu teaches the liquid drop discharge system is further capable of carrying out an operation in an irregularities forming mode to form irregularities on a planar surface; and the controller receives an instruction to select any one of the planar printing mode, the 3D object shaping mode, and the irregularities forming mode, and controls operations of at least the inkjet head and the curing unit in accordance with the mode selected (Eliahu: figs, 1-3; [0025-0030]: a method for generating a color pattern for 3D object and 2D images data for printing the 3D object; [0035-0036]: generation of a layer bitmap of a 2D object; [0038]: controller 44 may instruct the print heads to selectively deposit building materials and color additives based on image data generated; Gothait: Col. 2 lines 53- 56 teach after receiving a print command from a user, the controller 26 instructs the raised printing head 26 to jet photopolymer 18 onto an area selected for raised printing; Col. 2 lines 65- 67 teach the deposited layers being cured by application of the curing device 18 in communication with the controller 26; In the raised printing mode, the printer of modified Eliahu is capable of printing in an irregularities forming mode depending on a desired printing product, and accordingly the controller is capable of receiving an instruction to perform the raised printing mode; therefore, the controller is capable of switching the claimed irregularities forming mode).
Regarding claim 4, modified Eliahu teaches the curable resin is an ultraviolet curing type resin by being irradiated with ultraviolet light; and the curing unit is an ultraviolet source that emits ultraviolet light to cure the ultraviolet curing type resin (Eliahu: fig. 2-3 and [0037-00039]: photopolymer is cured by the curing unit 40; Gothait: FIG. 1 and Col. 2 lines 30- 33, lines 39- 41, lines 56- 60 teach an interface material 18 being a photopolymer containing a UV curable material; Col. 2 lines 65- 67 teach the curing device applying UV radiation).
Regarding claim 11, modified Eliahu does teach the liquid drop discharge system as set forth in claim 1, wherein the liquid drop discharge system is configured with a plurality of ink heads as the inkjet head, and each of the plurality of ink heads discharges a different ink (Eliahu: fig. 3 and claim 1, [0014, 0037]: a printing head 34 that is used to dispense building material and at least one colored printing head 34 that is used to dispense colorants), wherein the controller is configured to store in advance which ejection unit is to be activated or inactivated in the printing mode and the 3D object shaping mode, wherein the inkjet head is operated by utilizing an activated discharge unit based on stored memory of the controller and according to the printing mode or the 3D object shaping mode selected by the controller (Eliahu: [0003]: formation of colored objects; [0016-0018] describe a method generating color patterns for the 3D objects; [0038]: controller 44 may instruct the print heads to selectively deposit building materials and color additives based on image data generated according to embodiments of the present invention; [0035] and fig. 2: a layer bitmap of a 3D object comprising building material pixels 12, white pixels 14, and color pixels 16).
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eliahu (US 20110285054 A1) and Gothait (US 6,644,763) as applied to claims 1-4, and further in view of Napadensky (US 20140036455 A1).
Regarding claim 5 and 8-10, modified Eliahu teaches as follows:
the curable resin is a UV curing type resin by being irradiated with UV light (Eliahu: fig. 2-3 and [0037-00039]: photopolymer is cured by the curing unit 40; [0039]: the building material may be a photopolymer; Gothait: FIG. 1 and Col. 2 lines 30- 33, lines 39- 41, lines 56- 60, lines 65-67 teach an interface material 18 being a photopolymer containing a UV curable material; here, it would have been obvious to modify the curing unit of Eliahu with a known curing light source (i.e., UV light) as taught by Gothait to cure the photopolymer); and
the controller prompts the inkjet head to perform main scans in which the inkjet head discharges the ink droplets while moving in a main scanning direction which is predetermined (Eliahu: [0037]: Printing heads 34 and 36 may be coupled to a moving frame 42 to enable the printing heads to move above fabrication tray 32 in both X and Y directions; [0038]: Controller 44 may instruct the print heads to selectively deposit building materials and color additives based on image data generated according to embodiments of the present invention; fig. 3 shows a jetting scan direction),
wherein the liquid drop discharge system comprises:
a plurality of color ink heads as the inkjet head, the plurality of color ink heads discharging ink droplets of color inks having different colors (Eliahu: fig. 3 and claim 1, [0014, 0037]: at least one colored printing head 34 that is used to dispense colorants);
a clear ink head that discharges ink droplets of a clear ink that is a transparent ink (Eliahu: fig. 3 and claim 1, [0014, 0037]: at least one colored printing head 34 that is used to dispense colorants); and
a forming material head that discharges ink droplets of a forming ink use to shape the 3D object at least when the 3D object shaping mode is selected (Eliahu: fig. 2-3 and [0037-00039]: the printing head 34 that is used to dispense building material),
wherein
at least when the 3D object that is colored is formed during the 3D object shaping mode selected, the controller prompts the plurality of color ink heads and the clear ink head to discharge ink droplets onto a region to be colored of the 3D object where coloration is visually recognizable from outside the 3D object (Eliahu: [0003]: formation of colored objects; [0016-0018] describe a method generating color patterns for the 3D objects; [0038]: controller 44 may instruct the print heads to selectively deposit building materials and color additives based on image data generated according to embodiments of the present invention) and
the plurality of color ink heads and the clear ink head (Eliahu: inkjet heads 34 and/or 36) are arranged in the main scanning direction in positional alignment with one another in a direction orthogonal to the main scanning direction (Eliahu: fig. 3 and [0037]),
wherein
the liquid drop discharge system comprises first and second light sources as the curing unit, the first and second light sources being ultraviolet light sources that emit ultraviolet light to cure the ultraviolet curing-type resin (Eliahu: [0037]: system 30 may further include at least one curing unit 40; fig. 3 shows the first and the second curing units 40; Gothait: FIG. 1 and Col. 2 lines 30- 33, lines 39- 41, lines 56- 60 teach an interface material 18 being a photopolymer containing a UV curable material; Col. 2 lines 65- 67 teach the curing device applying UV radiation),
the first light source is disposed on one side in the main scanning direction of arrangement of the plurality of color ink heads and the clear ink head (Eliahu: as shown in fig. 3),
the second light source is disposed on another side in the main scanning direction of arrangement of the plurality of color ink heads and the clear ink head (Eliahu: as shown in fig. 3).
However, modified Eliahu (i.e., Gothait in view of Eliahu) does not specifically teach that “the forming material head is disposed outside of a region between the first and second light sources.”
Napadensky teaches a system and method for additive manufacturing of an object using a combination of materials and/or scanning patterns ([0002]). Napadensky teaches that the forming material head (23) is disposed outside of a region between the first and second light sources (FIG. 1B displays the separate head 23 outside of the frame 28; FIG. 1A displays the first and second radiation sources 26 and a plurality of dispensing heads 21 a-d therebetween within the frame 28; [0154] teaches combining various features of the invention of the aforementioned embodiments; thus, combining FIGS. 1A, 1B implies the separate head 23 is disposed outside a region between the first and second radiation sources 26).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the inkjet heads of the head system of modified Eliahu, maintaining its positions within one moving frame, to incorporate the known configuration of the inkjet heads as taught by Napadensky in order to obtain known results or reasonable expectation of successful results of curing the forming material immediately after dispensing without a time delay spent for the moving frame shifting from the forming material head to an immediate light source “through a plurality of inkjet heads” therebetween in a scanning direction. Upon the modification, an ink for 2D/colored image printing and an ink for 3D object building would be respectively cured after dispensing without interference to each other. Moreover, it has been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. Please see In re Janise, 181 F.2d 1019,86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhl, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 6, modified Eliahu, as applied to claim 5, teaches that the forming material head is positioned across the second light source from arrangement of the color ink heads and the clear ink head (Napadensky teaches the forming material head (23) are positioned across the second light source from arrangement of the color ink heads (21) and the clear ink head (21) as FIG. 1A displays a second radiation source 26 disposed to the left of the dispensing heads 21; FIG. 1B displays the separate head 23 outside of the frame 28. FIG. 1A displays the first and second radiation sources 26 within the frame 28; [0154] teaches combining various features of the invention of the aforementioned embodiments; thus, combining FIGS. 1A, 1B implies the separate head 23 is positioned across the second radiation source 26 from arrangement of the dispensing heads 21).
Regarding claim 7, modified Eliahu, as applied to claim 6, does not explicitly teach a third light source as the curing unit, the third light source being an UV light source that emits UV light for curing the UV curing type resin, wherein the third light source is positioned opposite to the second light source across the forming material head in the main scanning direction.
Napadensky teaches a light source as the curing unit, the light source being an ultraviolet light source that emits ultraviolet light for curing the ultraviolet curing type resin ([0104-0105]).
Napadensky does not explicitly teach a third light source, wherein the third light source is positioned opposite to the second light source across the object shaping heads in the main scanning direction.
However, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would recognize these limitations as nothing more than the duplication of parts for a multiple effect and could seek the benefits of an increased control of the curing of the ink and/or an increased curing rate of the ink. Please see In re Harz, 274 F.2d 669, 671, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960) for further details.
Furthermore, it has generally been recognized that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Janise, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gaza, 104 USPQ 400. Thus, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to position the third light source opposite to the second light source (Napadensky: similar to the configuration of FIG. 1A: FIG. 1A displays two radiation sources disposed across the dispensing heads 21 (i.e., one radiation source is to the left, and the other radiation source is to the right of the dispensing heads 21) along a scanning direction) across the forming material head (23) in the main scanning direction (FIGS. 1A, 1B and [0154]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the light sources of the head system of modified Eliahu, maintaining its positions within one moving frame, to incorporate the multiple light sources as taught by Napadensky motivated by reasons set forth in claim 5. Upon the modification, all the inkjet heads of one moving frame (i.e., a liquid drop discharge system) are disposed between at least two radiation sources along a main scanning direction, and thus, having at least three light sources (see Eliahu’s FIG. 3; Napadensky: FIGS. 1A, 1B and [0154]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 (which has been newly amended by the applicant) have been considered but are moot or not persuasive because the new ground of rejection have been made due to the newly added features from the applicant’s latest amendment filed on 08/05/2025.
The basis of the applicant’s argument is based upon the changes regarding the 3D object shaping mode being a mode for “consecutively” depositing the ink in layers, thus effecting a change in the scope of the previously-presented limitation “the printing of the printing mode and the depositing the ink in the 3D object shaping mode are performed by the same inkjet head the inkjet head” as recited in claim1.
After further search and reconsideration, the Eliahu reference is applied to the rejection as a primary reference. When Eliahu is modified by Gothait’s teaching, modified Eliahu does teach/suggest all the claimed limitations as recited in claim 1 and the motivation to combine.
Moreover, the applicant alleged that “the 3D object shaping mode being a mode for consecutively depositing the ink in layers” means that the depositing the ink in multiple layers are performed without interruption or stopping. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. During the 3D printing mode, the depositing the ink in multiple layers can be interrupted or stopped as a routine or conventional operation of 3D printing – e.g., to form a desired pattern of discontinues in 2D image or for changing a direction of printing within a layer, or to redirecting the printing head for building a following layer, etc.
Regardless of the resolution of this argument, modified Eliahu teaches all the claimed limitation as the limitation “consecutively depositing the ink in layers” being interpreted as at least without switching the printing head (i.e., using the printing head within the frame 42 of Eliahu) for consecutively depositing the ink in layers in the 3D object shaping mode to form a 3D object, which is in the same way as disclosed in Instant Specification by having the structurally similar liquid drop discharge system (see Eliahu: fig. 3; Instant Invention: fig. 1).
Thereby, after reconsideration, claims 1-11 remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuk (US 20150183162 A1) teaches a three-dimensional (3D) printer sprays, wherein the 2D stage 108 may be moved downward along the z-axis as much as the thickness of the second layer 304 (abstract, [0068], FIGS. 3A-3G).
Moore (US 9,067,446 B1) teaches a 3D printer, wherein a build substrate 20 is moved in a vertical direction via an actuator 42 (abstract, FIG. 1).
Goi (US 20170021641 A1) teaches an actinic radiation-curable inkjet white ink and an image forming method and apparatus, and the apparatus includes a plurality of ink heads and a plurality of light sources (abstract, [0178]- [0179], FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B).
/INJA SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744