DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office action is responsive to amendment filed on 01/14/2026. Claims 16-17, and 47-56, and 58-61 are pending. The amendment have overcome the claims objection as set forth in previous office action.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 on page 8-9, “the cited portions Mittal fail to disclose all the subject matter of amended claim 1, such as the both the first NMOS and the third PMOS that are coupled to the second NMOS.” Applicant further compare figure 1 of the application to figure 3 of Mittal and asserted that “Consider below FIG. 1 of the application as an example. The recited first PMOS may be considered directed to PMOS 136, the first NMOS directed to NMOS 138, the second NMOS directed to 140, the second PMOS directed to PMOS 134, and the third PMOS directed to PMOS 144. Therefore, comparing to Mittal's FIG. 3, Mittal only discloses one NMOS "BN," not an additional PMOS, that is coupled to NMOS "AN."
While Examiner agrees that there is a different between figure 1 of the application and figure 3 of Mittal. However, applicant's argument that the reference fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the particular configuration of PMOS 136, NMOS 138, NMOS 140, PMOS 145, and PMOS 144 as illustrated in figure 1 of the application) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In other words, figure 1 illustrates PMOS 136, NMOS 138, NMOS 140, PMOS 145, and PMOS 144, which are directly coupled to each other, but the claim merely recite “coupled to”, and as explained in the Claim Interpretation section, “coupled to” is not necessarily be interpreted as directly coupled, but can be interpreted as indirectly coupled through intervene components. Accordingly, Mittal teaches all the subject matter of amended claim 1, including both the first NMOS and the third PMOS that are coupled to the second NMOS, see rejection below for details.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner interprets the phrase “coupled to” as recited in the claims as connected directly or indirectly through intervene components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 47-56 and 59-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mittal et al - US 20200144245 (hereinafter Mittal).
Regarding claim 47, Mittal teaches a circuit (figure 3 illustrates a circuit 300) comprising:
a first inverter having an input and an output (figure 3 circuit 300 comprises circuit 302 having an inverter for A to AN [i.e., a first inverter having an input and an output]);
a first pass gate having a first input, a second input, a third input and an output (figure 3 circuit 304 comprises a transmission gate [i.e., a first pass gate] having AN input [i.e., a first input], B input, BN input and an output) wherein the output of the first inverter is coupled to the first input of the first pass gate (figure 3 circuit 304 AN [i.e., the output of the first inverter] coupled to the first input AN of the transmission gate);
a first P-type Metal Oxide Semiconductor (PMOS) transistor having a gate, source and drain (figure 3 circuit 304 includes PMOS and NMOS stack having 4 transistors connected in series, wherein the top PMOS [i.e., a first PMOS transistor] having gate, source and drain, wherein AN is input as gate, hereinafter as AN PMOS) wherein the drain of the first PMOS transistor is coupled to the output of the first pass gate (figure 3 circuit 304 AN PMOS having drain coupled to the output of the transmission gate) and the gate of the first PMOS transistor is coupled to the output of the first inverter (figure 3 circuit 304 AN PMOS having gate coupled to AN [i.e., the output of the first inverter]);
a first N-type Metal Oxide Semiconductor (NMOS) transistor having a gate, source and drain (figure 3 circuit 304 illustrates the bottom NMOS [i.e., first NMOS transistor] of PMOS and NMOS stack, wherein AN input as gate, hereinafter AN NMOS) wherein the drain of the first NMOS transistor is coupled to the drain of the first PMOS transistor and to the output of the first pass gate (figure 3 circuit 304 illustrates drain of AN NMOS and drain of AN PMOS are coupled via B PMOS and BN NMOS transistors as illustrated in the PMOS and NMOS stack and also coupled to the output of the transmission gate), and the gate of the first NMOS transistor is coupled to the output of the first inverter (figure 3 circuit 304 the gate of AN NMOS is coupled to AN [i.e., the output of the first inverter]);
a second inverter having an input and an output (figure 3 circuit 304 inverter that generate AXNORB [i.e., a second inverter] having an input and an output) wherein the input of the second inverter is coupled to the drain of the first PMOS transistor, to the drain of the first NMOS transistor and to the output of the first pass gate (figure 3 circuit 304 input of the AXNORB inverter is coupled to the drain of AN PMOS [i.e., drain of the first PMOS], drain of AN NMOS [i.e., drain of the first NMOS] and output of the transmission gate [i.e., output of the first pass gate]);
a second NMOS transistor having a gate, drain and source (figure circuit 304 illustrates BN NMOS [i.e., a second NMOS transistor] of the PMOS and NMOS stack) wherein the drain of the second NMOS transistor is coupled to the source of the first NMOS transistor (figure 3 circuit 304 drain of BN NMOS is coupled to the source of AN NMOS of the PMOS and NMOS stack [i.e., drain of the first NMOS]);
a second PMOS transistor having a gate, source and drain (figure circuit 304 illustrates B PMOS [i.e., a second PMOS transistor] of the PMOS and NMOS stack) wherein the drain of the second PMOS transistor is coupled to the source of the first PMOS transistor (figure 3 circuit 304 drain of B PMOS is coupled to source of AN PMOS [i.e., the first PMOS]); and
a third PMOS transistor having a gate, source and drain (figure 3 circuit 304 the top PMOS of the transmission gate, wherein the top PMOS receives BN for gate input, such top PMOS corresponds to a third PMOS) wherein the drain of the third PMOS transistor is coupled to the drain of the second NMOS transistor and to the source of the first NMOS transistor (figure 3 circuit 304 the drain of top PMOS of the transmission gate coupled to drain of BN NMOS [i.e., the second NMOS] and the source of AN NMOS [i.e., the first NMOS]).
Regarding claim 48, Mittal teaches the circuit of claim 47 further comprising;
a second pass gate having a first input, a second input, a third input and an output (figure 3 circuit 308 top transmission gate [i.e., a second pass gate] having AXORB, AXNORB, and BN as first, second, and third inputs, respectively, and an output) wherein the first input of the second pass gate is coupled to the input of the second inverter, to the drain of the first PMOS transistor and to the drain of the first NMOS transistor (figure 3 circuit 308 the AXORB input of the top transmission gate is coupled to AXORB [i.e., input of the second inverter], to the drain of AN PMOS and to the drain of AN NMOS of the PMOS and NMOS stack as illustrated in circuit 304);
a third pass gate having a first input, a second input, a third input and an output (figure 3 circuit 308 bottom transmission gate [i.e., a third pass gate] having AXNORB, AXORB, and CIN as input respectively, and an output) wherein the first input of the third pass gate is coupled to the output of the second inverter (figure 3 circuit 308 AXNORB input of the bottom transmission is coupled to AXNORB [i.e., the output of the second inverter]); and
a third inverter having an input and an output wherein the input of the third inverter is coupled to the output of the second pass gate and to the output of the third pass gate (figure 3 circuit 308, inverter that generates CO [i.e., a third inverter] having input coupled to the top and bottom transmission gates).
Regarding claim 49, Mittal teaches the circuit of claim 48 further comprising;
a fourth inverter having an input and an output (figure 3 circuit 302 illustrates a ci inverter that converts to CIN [i.e., a fourth inverter having an input and an output]);
a fourth pass gate having a first input, a second input, a third input and an output (figure 3 circuit 306 illustrates a transmission gate having CIN, AXORB, AXNORB as 3 inputs and an output) wherein the first input of the fourth pass gate is coupled to the output of the fourth inverter (figure 3 circuit 306 CIN input of the transmission gate [i.e., the first input of the fourth pass gate] is coupled to CIN [i.e., output of the fourth inverter]), the second input of the fourth pass gate is coupled to the drain of the first PMOS transistor (figure 3 circuit 306 AXORB input of the transmission gate [i.e., the second input of the fourth pass gate] is coupled to drain of AN PMOS of the PMOS and NMOS stack in circuit 304 [i.e., the first PMOS transistor] via the AXORB signal), the third input of the fourth pass gate is coupled to the output of the second inverter (figure 3 circuit 306 AXNORB input of the transmission gate [i.e., the third input of the fourth pass gate] is coupled to AXNORB, wherein AXNORB as illustrated in circuit 304 is output of the inverter [i.e., output of the second inverter]);
a fifth pass gate having a first input, a second input, a third input and an output (figure 3 circuit 306 illustrates PMOS and NMOS stack in series having at least 3 inputs and an output, wherein transistor acts like a switch that allows signal to pass depends on the input of the gate. Thus, such PMOS AND NMOS stack in series corresponds to a fifth pass gate) wherein the first input of the fifth pass gate is coupled to the output of the first inverter (figure 3 circuit 306 the PMOS and NMOS stack includes an NMOS having an AXORB input [i.e., the first input of the fifth pass gate] coupled to AXORB, which is also coupled to AN [i.e., the output of the first inverter] as illustrated in figure 3 circuit 304), second input of the fifth pass gate is coupled to the output of the second inverter (figure 3 circuit 306 the PMOS and NMOS stack includes a PMOS having an AXNORB input [i.e., the second input of the fifth pass gate] is coupled to AXNORB [i.e., output of the second inverter]) and the third input of the fifth pass gate is coupled to the drain of the first PMOS transistor (figure 3 circuit 306 the PMOS and NMOS stack includes an NMOS having CIN input [i.e., the third input of the fifth pass gate] is coupled to the AXORB, which is coupled to the drain of the AN PMOS [i.e., the first PMOS transistor] as illustrated in circuit 304); and
a fifth inverter having an input and an output wherein the input of the fifth inverter is coupled to the output of the fourth pass gate and to the output of the fifth pass gate (figure 3 circuit 306 the inverter that generate SUM [i.e., a fifth inverter having an input and an output], wherein the input of SUM inverter is coupled to output of transmission gate [i.e., output of fourth pass gate] and the output of PMOS and NMOS stack [i.e., output of the fifth pass gate]).
Claim 50 recites an apparatus having similar limitation as the apparatus of claims 47-49. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons. Furthermore, Mittal also teaches an adder (figure 3 [0021] describes a full adder circuit)
Regarding claim 51, Mittal teaches the adder of claim 50, wherein the first inverter comprises a PMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, and an NMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, wherein the gates of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled the input of the first inverter, and drains of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled the output of the first inverter (figure 3 circuit 302 illustrates AN inverter that invert A to AN having PMOS AND NMOS, wherein the gates of NMOS AND PMOS transistors are coupled to the input and drains are coupled to the output of the AN inverter).
Regarding claim 52, Mittal teaches the adder of claim 50, wherein the second inverter comprises a PMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, and an NMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, wherein the gates of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled the input of the second inverter, and drains of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled the output of the second inverter (figure 3 circuit 304 illustrates inverter that generates AXNORB having PMOS AND NMOS, wherein the gates of NMOS AND PMOS transistors are coupled to the input and drains are coupled to the output of the AXNORB inverter).
Regarding claim 53, Mittal teaches the adder of claim 50, wherein the third inverter comprises a PMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, and an NMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, wherein the gates of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled the input of the third inverter, and drains of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled the output of the third inverter (figure 3 circuit 308 illustrates inverter that generates CO having PMOS AND NMOS, wherein the gates of NMOS AND PMOS transistors are coupled to the input and drains are coupled to the output of the CO inverter).
Regarding claim 54, Mittal teaches the adder of claim 50, wherein the fourth inverter comprises a PMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, and an NMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, wherein the gates of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled the input of the fourth inverter, and drains of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled the output of the fourth inverter (figure 3 circuit 302 illustrates inverter that generates CIN having PMOS AND NMOS, wherein the gates of NMOS AND PMOS transistors are coupled to the input and drains are coupled to the output of the CIN inverter).
Regarding claim 55, Mittal teaches the adder of claim 50, wherein the fifth inverter comprises a PMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, and an NMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, wherein the gates of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled the input of the fifth inverter, and drains of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled the output of the fifth inverter (figure 3 circuit 306 illustrates inverter that generates SUM having PMOS AND NMOS, wherein the gates of NMOS AND PMOS transistors are coupled to the input and drains are coupled to the output of the SUM inverter).
Regarding claim 56, Mittal teaches the adder of claim 50, wherein the first pass gate comprises a PMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, and an NMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, wherein the drains of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled to each other, and sources of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled to each other (figure 3 circuit 304 illustrates transmission gate having input AN, B, and BN [i.e., the first pass gate] having a PMOS transistor and a NMOS transistor, wherein the drains are coupled to each other and the sources are coupled to each other).
Regarding claim 58, Mittal teaches the adder of claim 50, wherein the second pass gate comprises a PMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, and an NMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, wherein the drains of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled to each other, and sources of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled to each other (figure 3 circuit 308 illustrates top transmission gate having input BN, AXORB, AXNORB [i.e., the second pass gate] having a PMOS transistor and a NMOS transistor, wherein the drains are coupled to each other and the sources are coupled to each other).
Regarding claim 59, Mittal teaches the adder of claim 50, wherein the third pass gate comprises a PMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, and an NMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, wherein the drains of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled to each other, and sources of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled to each other (figure 3 circuit 308 illustrates bottom transmission gate having input CIN, AXORB, AXNORB [i.e., the third pass gate] having a PMOS transistor and a NMOS transistor, wherein the drains are coupled to each other and the sources are coupled to each other).
Regarding claim 60, Mittal teaches the adder of claim 50, wherein the fourth pass gate comprises a PMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, and an NMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, wherein the drains of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled to each other, and sources of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled to each other (figure 3 circuit 306 illustrates a transmission gate having input CIN, AXORB, AXNORB [i.e., the fourth pass gate] having a PMOS transistor and a NMOS transistor, wherein the drains are coupled to each other and the sources are coupled to each other.
Regarding claim 61, Mittal teaches the adder of claim 50, wherein the fifth pass gate comprises a PMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, and an NMOS transistor having a gate, drain and a source, wherein the drains of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled to each other, and sources of the NMOS and PMOS transistors are coupled to each other (figure 3 circuit 308 illustrates a PMOS and NMOS stack [i.e., the fifth pass gate] having an AXNORB PMOS and an AXORB NMOS transistor, wherein the drains of the PMOS and NMOS coupled to each other and the sources of the PMOS and NMOS are coupled to each other).
Conclusion
/HUY DUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2183 (571)272-2764
/ANDREW CALDWELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2182