DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
AIA Status of the Claims
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/21/2026, have been fully considered.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn.
Specifically, the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable based primarily on Currais et al (WO 2017/015660; of record) has been WITHDRAWN in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, rendering Applicant’s arguments moot.
The claims are NEWLY rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable based primarily on Maze et al (US 2016/0333088).
The rejection of claims on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting over copending Application No. 17/435,683 has been modified based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 70 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 70 is drawn to the method of claim 60, wherein the subject, or subject at risk, is at least 60 years of age”.
Claim 60 does not provide antecedent basis for the limitation in claim 70 of a “subject at risk”.
As such, claim 70 is rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 60 and 69-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Maze et al (US 2016/0333088) in view of Chen et al (Critical Care 19:159, 12 pages, 2015), Daugherty et al (Neuropharmacology 129:26-35, 2018), and Currais et al (WO 2017/015660; of record).
As amended, claim 60 is drawn to a method of preventing, reducing the severity of, delaying the onset of, or treating Post-Intensive Care Cognitive Dysfunction (PICCD) in a subject (more specifically, wherein the PICCD comprises a presentation of, or worsening of memory loss, etc. (claim 69)), comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula IV:
(aka J147),
wherein the subject is and has been operably connected to a ventilator for at least one day.
Maze et al teach a “method... for preventing or reducing cognitive decline in a patient following a planned inflammatory trigger” such as “a surgical procedure” (Abstract) and, more specifically, “for preventing post-operative cognitive dysfunction (POCD) in said patient” (Paragraph 0012) – wherein, “[b]y ‘post operative cognitive dysfunction’, we include deterioration of intellectual function reflected as memory and concentration impairment presenting in that patient after that patient has undergone a surgical procedure” (Paragraph 0015) – “the method comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a Tumor Necrosis Factor alpha (TNF-α) antagonist to said patient” (Paragraph 0008) wherein, as further demonstrated by Maze et al, “anti-TNFα reduced the amount of systemic IL-1β” and “also reduced the systemic levels of IL-6” (Paragraph 0102; see also Figure 14).
As such, the method of Maze et al differs from the instantly claimed method in the following ways:
(a) Maze et al does not teach treating PICCD in a subject that is and has been operably connected to a ventilator for at least one day; and
(b) Maze et al teaches the administration of a Tumor Necrosis Factor alpha (TNF-α) antagonist but does specify administration of J147.
Yet, as to (a): as taught by Chen et al, “[p]atients undergoing surgery frequently develop neuropsychological disturbances, including cognitive decline or memory impairment, and routine clinical procedures such as mechanical ventilation (MV) may affect acute-phase brain outcome” (Abstract; see also Page 1, Column 1: critical care patients who undergo long-term MV show distinctive neurological impairment, including memory and cognitive decline”). Significantly, as further taught by Chen et al, “[o]ur data suggest that prolonged MV further aggravates cognitive decline after surgery that may stem from upregulation of hippocampal IL-1β, IL-6 and TNFα” (Page 11, Column 1).
Accordingly, in further view of Chen et al, it would have been prima facie obvious to apply the method of Maze et al to the treatment of PICCD in a subject that is and has been operably connected to a ventilator for at least one day. It would have been obvious to do so considering that Chen et al teach that “prolonged MV further aggravates cognitive decline after surgery... from upregulation of hippocampal IL-1β, IL-6 and TNFα” and Maze et al teach administration of TNF-α to reduce the amounts of TNF-α, IL-1β and IL-6.
And, as to (b): as further taught by Maze et al, “[b]y ‘TNFα antagonist’ we include the meaning that the antagonist is any compound that antagonizes, thus decreases or ablates, the effects of TNFα. Thus the antagonist may be a compound that targets TNFα itself” wherein “[b]y ‘targeting TNFα itself’ we mean blocking or reducing the transcription, translation, post-translational modification of precursors, or release of TNFα from cells where it is synthesized” (Paragraph 0055).
And, as taught by Daugherty et al, “J147 reverses cognitive impairment in a mouse model of Alzheimer’s disease, and enhances memory in both transgenic AD mice, and aged wild type mice” (Page 2) and, “in the streptozotocin-induced mouse model of type I diabetes... systemic J147 treatment was confirmed to decrease TNFα pathway activation and several other markers of neuroinflammation in the CNS” (Abstract).
Similarly, as taught by, Currais et al – disclosing “agents to treat or prevent neurodegenerative disease” (Abstract) wherein “[e]xamples of such diseases include… Alzheimer’s disease… mild cognitive impairment, dementia (including, for example, frontotemporal dementia, AIDS dementia, and the like)” and so on (Page 15, Lines 28-33; see also Page 45, Lines 14-20) – “J147 improves locomotor and cognitive function in old SAMP8 mice” (Page 6, Lines 18-25 and Figures 2A-2G) which function as “a model for sporadic AD and dementia” (Page 3, Lines 1-2), results in “an overall decrease in the expression of inflammatory markers in old mice, indicative of a reduction in stress-associated inflammation” (Page 60, Lines 4-5), “restored… inflammation to those approaching the young phenotype” (Page 4, Lines 4-6; see also Figures 5A-5G) and, significantly, reduces TNFα expression in aging mice with (Figures 22B).
Accordingly, in further view of Daugherty et al and Currais et al, it would have been prima facie obvious to administer J147 as the TNFα antagonist in the method of Maze et al in view of Chen et al. The simple substitution of one known agent that targets TNFα itself (i.e., J147 as taught by Daugherty et al and Currais et al) for another known agent that targets TNFα itself (as taught by Maze et al) is prima facie obvious.
For all the foregoing reasons, claims 60 and 69 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 70 is drawn to the method of claim 60, wherein the subject is at least 60 years of age.
As taught by Maze et al, “[w]hen the patient is a human, it is envisaged that they may be often over 50 years of age” (Paragraph 0054).
As such, claim 70 is also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 60 and 69-70 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 17/435,683 in view of Maze et al (US 2016/0333088), Chen et al (Critical Care 19:159, 12 pages, 2015), Daugherty et al (Neuropharmacology 129:26-35, 2018), and Currais et al (WO 2017/015660; of record).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The ‘683 claims are similarly drawn to a method of reducing, delaying the onset of, or treating post-operative cognitive dysfunction in a subject in need thereof (over the age of 60 (claim 8)), wherein the POCD is induced by, or is a result of a surgery, comprising administering a compound of Formula I which embraces J147.
It would have been obvious to apply the ‘683 method to a subject a risk that is and has been operably connected to a ventilator for at least one day (as instantly claimed) in view of Maze et al, Chen et al, Daugherty et al, and Currais et al for the reasons discussed above. Namely, because the prior art teach that “prolonged MV further aggravates cognitive decline after surgery... from upregulation of hippocampal IL-1β, IL-6 and TNFα” and, further, that J147 reduces TNFα in the CNS.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/CRAIG D RICCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611