DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 2, and 4-11, 119-124, and 126-133 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 12 and 13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-11, filed 07/16/2026, with respect to the rejections
of claims 1, 2, and 4-7, 10, 11, 119-124, 126-133 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the limitation: wherein the upstream filter element has a larger bore diameter than the terminal filter element.
Applicant argues, page 7, that the prior art of Fiebelkorn would not be considered as a replacement for the solid filter section taught by Malgat. Applicant argues that the hollow passage of Fiebelkorn is a tube and embedded within and surrounded by high-density filter material and is thus not bore through the filter but instead a conduit.
The Examiner notes the conduit of the prior art of Fiebelkorn and the bore of the claim limitation both transfer the aerosol generated material from the second section of the filter, through the third portion of the filter, and to the user. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP § 2114.
Additionally the prior art of Fiebelkorn does not discuss the formation of the tube referenced by the applicant but notes the tubes are known in the art and cites additional prior art references including the prior art EP0481596 (Braem, et al). [0005] This reference would be considered when considering the design of the tube. Braem, et al (EP0481596A1) teaches that both the tube and the filter material surrounding the tube can be made from cellulose acetate and also notes that the tube may be formed by a bore. [0012]
Applicant argues, page 6-7, that Fiebelkorn teaches that the prior art teaches the diameter of the bore in the first section and the third section would be "substantially the same as one another.” [0023]
Fiebelkorn teaches the terminal filter passageway has an internal diameter in the range of 0.1 to 3mm. [0010] The prior art of Fiebelkorn further teaches that the that different tubes may have different dimensions in different filter sections. [0010] As such, a person having ordinary skill would consider the addition of the terminal filter passageway and would consider using the diameters taught by Fiebelkorn that the first section would have a larger diameter than the bore diameter of the terminal section.
Applicant argues, page 7-8, there is no motivation provided by any reference for the graduated bore diameter relationship required by the independent claim 1; specifically noting there would be no motivation to combine Malgat and Fiebelkorn. Applicant argues specifically, page 8, the self-obstructing mechanism that is fundamentally taught by Fiebelkorn incompatible with Malgat's heat-not- burn article as the entry to the passageway of the terminal filter element is eventually blocked and the thus the resistance to draw reduction would no longer be applicable.
Fiebelkorn teaches additional prior art references that use passageways through the filter to reduce the initial resistance to draw through the entire article at the beginning of use when the rod of aerosol generating material the longest. These teachings suggest that as the rod becomes shorter, the passageways either collapse [0004] or become blocked [0005] Fiebelkorn also teaches that the ventilation section in the third section “is at least partially blocked” [0011] This teaching would indicate that Fiebelkorn envisages situations where the passageway in the third section is not completely blocked and would still provide some reduction in the resistance to draw.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would further recognize that as the smoking article is consumed the resistance to draw through the filter could increase; however, this increase in the resistance to draw though the filter would be offset by the decrease in the resistance to draw through the material in the rod itself. This reduced filtration though the filter is done not to raise the resistance to draw but to offset the reduction in the filtration within the tobacco rod. [0033]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9-11, 119-124, and 126-133 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malgat, et al (US20160309781A1) and further in view of Zuber, et al (US20140305448A1) and Mironov, et al (US20150296882A1) or England (US20170042221A1), and Fiebelkorn (US 20110048436 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Malgat teaches a rod for generating an aerosol where the rod is comprised of an aerosol generating material. [0002] Malgat teaches that the rod made up of four parts: an aerosol forming substrate, a hollow cellulose acetate tube (upstream filter), a spacer element (intermediate filter), and a mouthpiece filter (terminal filter). [0073] The prior art discloses that the bore of the intermediate filter element is larger than the bore of the upstream filter element. (Figure 2)
Malgat teaches possible overall lengths for the aerosol generating rod but is silent with respect to the lengths of the individual components.
Zuber, directed to the design of aerosol generating articles for use in heat not burn devices, teaches a filter portion of an aerosol generating rod that is comprised of a support element (upstream filter element), a cooling section (intermediate filter element), and a mouth end filter element (terminal filter element). [CITE] Zuber teaches that the support element can have a length between approximately 5 millimeters and 15 millimeters. [0094] Zuber goes on to teach that the mouthpiece element can have a length of between approximately 5 millimeters and 20 millimeters. The teaches of Zuber disclose that there are known configurations of the filter element where the upstream filter element is shorter in length that the terminal filter element.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Malgat by using a length for the upstream that is relatively shorter in length than the terminal filter element as taught by Zuber because both Malgat and Zuber are directed to the design of aerosol generating articles, Zuber teaches the allows the user to insert the aerosol generating rod into the device without damaging the article or the heater while also preventing the aerosol generating material from shifting [0095, 0190], and this involves use of known technique to improve similar products in the same way.
Malgat discloses that the transfer section (intermediate filter element) comprises a thin walled tube but fails to disclose the material of the transfer section being cellulose acetate or polypropylene tow.
Mironov, directed to the design of smoking articles, teaches a smoking article with a transfer section (intermediate filter element) that can be part of the mouthpiece filter segment and that is comprised of a hollow cellulose acetate tube. ([0021]; [0076])
Alternatively, England, directed to the design of cooling elements for smokable material, teaches that the filter of a smoking article can contain tubes that extend through the cooling element to provide a through hole [0013] where the tube that forms the through hole is formed out of polypropylene [0017].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Malgat and Zuber by using cellulose acetate for the intermediate filter section as taught by Mironov or using polypropylene for the intermediate filter section as taught by England because Malgat, Zuber, Mironov, and England are directed to the design of aerosol generating articles, Mironov teaches the use of cellulose acetate helps transfer the aerosols from the aerosol generating substrate to the terminal filter [0021] and England also teaches the tubes are used to pass aerosol between the first and second ends of the filer rod [0013], and this involves use of known technique to improve similar products in the same way.
Malgat, Zuber, Mironov all fail to teach that the terminal filter element would be a hollow filter element.
Fiebelkorn directed to the design of filters for smoking, teaches “a smoking article that has a first, second and third filter section that are along the axis of the article. The third filter section has at least one tube (Abstract) that provides a low resistance path for the smoke to pass through. [0026] Fiebelkorn teaches the terminal filter passageway has an internal diameter in the range of 0.1 to 3mm. [0010] The prior art of Fiebelkorn further teaches that the that different tubes may have different dimensions in different filter sections. [0010] As such, a person having ordinary skill would consider the addition of the terminal filter passageway and would consider using the diameters taught by Fiebelkorn that the first section would have a larger diameter than the bore diameter of the terminal section.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zuber and Mironov by substituting the solid terminal filter with a hollow terminal filter element having a different diameter than the first filter element as taught by Fiebelkorn because Zuber, Mironov, and Fiebelkorn are directed to the design of filters for smoking, Fiebelkorn teaches the addition of the hollow bore in the terminal filter allows for a reduction in the resistance to draw [0026] and this involves using a known technique to improve a similar device.
Regarding claim 2, Malgat teaches that the aerosol generating rod is heated to create the aerosol rather than burned. [0002-0003]
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Malgat teaches that the aerosol generating article has an outer diameter of about 7.2 millimeters and an inner diameter of about 6.9 millimeters. [0074] The prior art teaching of an inner diameter would lead a person having ordinary skill to conclude that the inner diameter would be the diameter of the intermediate filter element (spacer element). As such the range, as taught by Malgat, overlaps the range of the instant claim, and therefore the instant claim is prima facie obvious. See MPEPE 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Malgat discloses that the upstream filter element (support element) has a smaller bore than the intermediate filter element (spacer element). (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 9, Malgat discloses that the terminal filter element (mouthpiece filter) is a solid filter element. (Figure 2)
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Malgat teaches that the heating device for use with the aerosol generating rod comprises a heating element (heating blade) [0079] located in the main body (housing) of the aerosol generating device. [0081]
Regarding claim 119, the prior art teaches the upstream filter element and intermediate filter element are distinct and non-integral elements. Malgat teaches that the aerosol generating rod is comprised of four distinct elements arranged sequentially. [0073]
Regarding claim 120, Malgat teaches that the upstream filter element is a hollow cellulose acetate tube [0073] but is silent as to the upstream filter element is formed of the same material as the intermediate filter element.
As discussed in claim 1, Mironov discloses that the intermediate filter section could be made of cellulose acetate to facilitate the transfer of aerosol from the aerosol generating substrate to the terminal filter section.
Regarding claims 121-124, Malgat discloses a filter design where the transfer section is in abutment with the terminal filter section, interposed and between the terminal filter element and the upstream filter element. Malgat teaches that the filter elements are coaxially aligned and joined using cigarette paper. [0073]
Regarding claims 126-129, as discussed in claim 1, a modified Malgat discloses a spacer element, a single hollow element. (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 130 and 131, Malgat teaches that the aerosol generating rods have layers of homogenized tobacco material and that the aerosol generating material may have an aerosol former content of between about 5% and about 30%. [0052] The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05
Regarding claim 132 and 133, Malgat teaches the aerosol former may be propylene glycol or glycerin. ([0004], [0052])
Conclusion
/V.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755