DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is a non-final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 7/2/2025. Claims 21, 22 and 34 are currently amended. Claims 32 is cancelled. Claims 21-31 and 33-50 are pending review in this action.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21 and 34 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Upon closer consideration, the subject matter of claim 22 is found to be anticipated by Pan. Refer to rejection below for details.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21 recites, “wherein said protective polymer comprises a polymer selected from a single Li-ion conducting solid polymer electrolyte with a carboxylate anion, a sulfonylimide anion, or sulfonate anion, a sulfonated derivative thereof, or a combination thereof.” Examiner believes that the recitation, “a sulfonated derivative thereof”, pertained to the “crosslinked electrolyte of poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate” which is not part of the polymer choice in the current amendment of instant claim. Support for this can be found from the instant specification Publication pars. [0031,0042,0095]. Further, the recitation, “or a combination thereof”, pertained to the group of polymer choices from previous claim sets, all of which have been omitted, except for “a single Li-ion conducting solid polymer electrolyte with a carboxylate anion, a sulfonylimide anion, or sulfonate anion.” Support for this can be found from the instant specification Publication pars. [0031,0042,0095]. Thus, Examiner suggests the above recitation be amended to recite: --wherein said protective polymer comprises a polymer selected from a single Li-ion conducting solid polymer electrolyte with a carboxylate anion, a sulfonylimide anion, or sulfonate anion--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Pan (US 2019/0115617 A1, cited on IDS of 12/09/2022) .
Regarding claim 22, Pan teaches a prelithiated anode for a lithium-ion battery ([0051]; see also [0097] to [0099], as well as examples in [0113], [0121], [0122] and [0125]), the anode comprising:
an anode active material having a maximum lithium storage capacity, wherein the anode active material is prelithiated to a level of lithium interaction or degree of prelithiation from 1% to 100% of the maximum lithium storage capacity ([0035]; [0045], where the prior art range of 1 to 100% substantially corresponds to the claimed range of 5% to 100%; see also [0037] and Examples 2-4); and
a protective polymer that bonds the anode active material for improving a structural integrity of the prelithiated anode, wherein the protective polymer has a lithium-ion conductivity from 10-8 S/cm to 5 x10-2 S/cm at room temperature ([0032], the protective polymer that wraps around, embraces, or encapsulates a plurality of particles thereby bonds these particles and thus improves the structural integrity of the anode and prevents the exposure of the anode material to the open air; see also [0028], [0035], [0045], [0060], and [0079] regarding the lithium ion conductivity of the polymer), wherein the protective polymer contains a lithium salt dispersed therein and the lithium salt is selected from a group comprising LiPF3(C2F5)3 (i.e., LiPF3(CF2CF3)3) ([0041],[0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23-31, 36-39, 42-43, 45 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2019/0115617 A1), and further in view of Gonzalez Martinez (US 2016/0168086 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Pan teaches a prelithiated anode for a lithium-ion battery ([0051]; see also [0097] to [0099], as well as examples in [0113], [0121], [0122] and [0125]), the anode comprising
an anode active material having a maximum lithium storage capacity, wherein the anode active material is prelithiated to a level of lithium interaction or degree of prelithiation from 1% to 100% of the maximum lithium storage capacity ([0035]; [0045], where the prior art range of 1 to 100% substantially corresponds to the claimed range of 5% to 100%; see also [0037] and Examples 2-4); and
a protective polymer that prevents exposure of the prelithiated anode active material to the open air, wherein the protective polymer has a lithium-ion conductivity from 10-8 S/cm to 5 x10-2 S/cm at room temperature ([0032], the protective polymer that wraps around, embraces, or encapsulates a plurality of particles thereby bonds these particles and thus improves the structural integrity of the anode; see also [0028], [0035], [0045], [0060], and [0079] regarding the lithium ion conductivity of the polymer).
Pan teaches a large variety of polymers that may be selected as the protective polymer ([0028], [0032], [0035], [0045], [0060]), but Pan does not explicitly teach the polymer is selected from a single Li-ion conducting solid polymer electrolyte with a carboxylate anion, a sulfonylimide anion, or sulfonate anion.
Gonzalez Martinez teaches an electrode (anode or cathode) for a Li-ion battery that includes an active material admixed with a solid polymer electrolyte (SPE) wherein single ionic conductive copolymers are used as SPE [Gonzalez Martinez – pars. 0078,0080,0095], and wherein the single ionic conductive polymer may have a sulfonylimide anion (e.g., bis(styrylsulfonylimide) or sulfonate anion for sufficient mechanical stability and conductivity [Gonzalez Martinez – pars. 0007-10,0051-58,0095].
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the single ionic conductive polymer having a sulfonylimide anion (e.g., bis(styrylsulfonylimide) or sulfonate anion of Gonzalez Martinez in order to provide the anode with sufficient mechanical stability and conductivity for the protective polymer of Pan. Such a person would have reasonably expected the polymeric materials of Gonzalez Martinez to be successful as the polymer of Pan since Gonzalez Martinez teaches the materials for protective polymer admixed with anode materials. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved (see MPEP § 2143, B). Additionally, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 23, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that the anode comprises multiple particles of the anode active material, a conductive additive, and a first binder that holds the multiple anode material particles and the conductive additive together to form an anode layer that is supported on a primary surface of a current collector ([0097]; see also [0098] for the preparation method; Example 1, see [0113], includes a conductive material and a binder, which are mixed with the active material particles and applied to a copper current collector; Example 2, having a prelithiated anode active material, repeats this portion of Example 1, see [0121]; [0004], in other words the binder serves to hold together the active material particles and the conductive additive on a surface of the current collector).
Regarding claim 24, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that the anode also includes a conductive additive, and a first binder holds the multiple anode material particles and the conductive additive together to form an anode layer ([0097]; Example 1, see [0113], includes a conductive material and a binder, which are mixed with the active material particles and applied to a copper current collector; Example 2, having a prelithiated anode active material, repeats this portion of Example 1, see [0121]; see also [0004] regarding the function of the binder).
Regarding claim 25, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further teaches that the protective polymer is on a surface of the prelithiated anode ([0032], the protective polymer is on the surface of the anode in virtue of wrapping around, embracing or encapsulating the particles).
Regarding claim 26, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that the anode comprises multiple particles of the anode active material distributed within a carbon phase ([0122], where this coating of multiple anode active material particles yields particles distributed within a carbon phase, i.e. the carbon coating).
Regarding claim 27, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that the anode comprises a film comprising the anode active material and a carbon phase that holds the film together ([0004], where the mixture coated on the current collector may be considered a film, and the binder resin is a carbon-based material that holds the film together; see also [0097], [0098], and Example 2, specifically [0121] and [0113]).
Regarding claim 28, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that the anode active material is selected from the group consisting of: (a) silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), tin (Sn), lead (Pb), antimony (Sb), bismuth (Bi), zinc (Zn), aluminum (Al), titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), and cadmium (Cd): (b) alloys or intermetallic compounds of Si. Ge. Sn. Pb, Sb, Bi, Zn, Al, Ti, Ni, Co. or Cd with other elements; (c) oxides, carbides, nitrides. sulfides. phosphides, selenides, and tellurides of Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, Sb, Bi, Zn, Al, Ti, Fe, Ni, Co, V, or Cd, and their mixtures, composites, or lithium-containing composites; (d) salts and hydroxides of Sn; (e) lithium titanate, lithium manganate, lithium aluminate, lithium-containing titanium oxide, lithium transition metal oxide; (f) carbon or graphite particles; and (g) combinations thereof ([0036]; see also [0047] and Examples 2-4).
Regarding claim 29, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that the anode active material is selected from silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), tin (Sn), SiOX (0 < x < 2.0), SnO2, or a combination thereof ([0036]; see also [0047] and Examples 2-4, in which the anode active material is SnO2, Sn, and Si, respectively).
Regarding claim 30, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that the conductive additive is selected from carbon black, acetylene black, carbon particles, carbon nanotubes, carbon fibers or a combination thereof ([0097]; Example 2 copies the conductive additive of Example 1, which is acetylene black, see [0113] and [0121]).
Regarding claim 31, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that the anode active material is intercalated to a degree of prelithiation from 1% to 100% of the maximum lithium storage capacity ([0045]; the prior art range of 1-100% overlaps the claimed range of 30-100%). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 36, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses a lithium-ion cell comprising the prelithiated anode, a cathode comprising a cathode active material, and an ion-permeable separator disposed between the prelithiated anode and the cathode ([0051]; [0097], where the separator is understood to be ion-permeable in order to yield a functional lithium-ion battery; see also [0043]; regarding the cathode and cathode active material, see [0101] to [0105]).
Regarding claim 37, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that said cathode active material is selected from an inorganic material (lithium oxides, especially lithium cobalt oxide, and lithium iron phosphate are discussed in [0101] to [0105]; these are inorganic materials).
Regarding claim 38, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that said inorganic material is selected from a metal oxide or metal phosphate (lithium cobalt oxide in [0102] and lithium iron phosphate in [0105]).
Regarding claim 39, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that said inorganic material is selected from a lithium cobalt oxide, lithium nickel oxide, lithium manganese oxide, lithium iron phosphate, lithium vanadium phosphate, or lithium mixed metal phosphate ([0101]).
Regarding claim 42, modified Pan teaches all of the limitations as set forth above.
Pan further teaches that there is no limitation on the types of cathode materials for the positive electrode as long as they can pair up with anode materials [0101]. Pan further teaches that the positive electrode active material may also be selected from chalcogen compounds, such as titanium disulfate or molybdenum disulfate ([0101]) which reads on the claimed transition metal dichalcogenide, TiS2, and MoS2.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized, as the cathode material of Pan, the dichalcogenide TiS2 orMoS2 since Pan establishes that there would be a reasonable expectation that such selections would successfully perform as positive electrode active materials. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 43, modified Pan teaches all of the limitations as set forth above.
Pan further teaches that there is no limitation on the types of cathode materials for the positive electrode as long as they can pair up with anode materials [0101]. Pan further teaches that the positive electrode active material may also be selected from chalcogen compounds, such as titanium disulfate or molybdenum disulfate ([0101]) which reads on the claimed transition metal dichalcogenide, TiS2, and MoS2.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized, as the cathode material of Pan, the dichalcogenide TiS2 orMoS2 since Pan establishes that there would be a reasonable expectation that such selections would successfully perform as positive electrode active materials. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 45, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that said metal oxide or metal phosphate is selected from a layered compound LiMO2 (e.g., lithium cobalt oxide, lithium nickel oxide, lithium manganese oxide), spinel compound LiM2O4 (e.g, lithium manganese oxide), olivine compound LiMPO4 (e.g., lithium iron phosphate, lithium mixed metal phosphate) ([0101]).
Regarding claim 46, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Pan further teaches that there is no limitation on the types of cathode materials for the positive electrode as long as they can pair up with anode materials ([0101]). Pan further teaches that the positive electrode active material may also be selected from chalcogen compounds, such as titanium disulfate or molybdenum disulfate ([0101]) which reads on the claimed transition metal dichalcogenide.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized, as the cathode material of Pan, the dichalcogenide TiS2 orMoS2 since Pan establishes that there would be a reasonable expectation that such selections would successfully perform as positive electrode active materials. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Claim(s) 33 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2019/0115617 A1) and Gonzalez Martinez (US 2016/0168086 A1), as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of He (US 2018/0301707 A1, cited on IDS of 12/09/2022).
Regarding claim 33, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Pan as modified thus far does not teach that the protective polymer comprises a high-elasticity polymer having a recoverable elastic strain from 5% to 1000% when measured under tension.
He teaches a high-elasticity polymer as a protective layer in the anode for a lithium-ion battery (Abstract). Specifically, He teaches a number of polymers that may be selected ([0015], [0016], and [0080]). He further teaches that a high-elasticity polymer may have a recoverable elastic strain from 5-1000 % and that 70-300 % is most desirable ([0078], where the property of elastic deformation corresponds to the claimed property of recoverable elastic strain).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the polymer of Pan modified by Gonzalez Martinez to be a high elasticity polymer with a recoverable elastic strain of 5-1000 %, since a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect these polymers to be suitable for use in a protective layer in an anode in a lithium ion battery. Further, He establishes that there would be a reasonable expectation that such selections would successfully perform as high-elasticity polymers. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). Additionally, the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143).
Regarding claim 35, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Modified Pan further teaches that the protective polymer comprises a high-elasticity polymer ([0015], [0016], [0080] of He). He teaches a high-elasticity polymer as a protective layer in the anode for a lithium-ion battery (Abstract). Specifically, He teaches that preferably the “the high-elasticity polymer contains a cross-linked network of polymer chains having an ether linkage, nitrile-derived linkage, benzo peroxide-derived linkage, ethylene oxide linkage, propylene oxide linkage, vinyl alcohol linkage, cyano-resin linkage, triacrylate monomer-derived linkage, tetraacrylate monomer-derived linkage, or a combination thereof in the cross-linked network of polymer chains”, Abstract; see also [0015], [0016], and [0079] to [0090]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized, as the polymer of modified Pan, a high-elasticity cross-linked polymer network as taught by He, since He establishes that there would be a reasonable expectation that such selections would successfully perform as protective polymer materials in an anode, especially given that cross-linked polymers have a unique combination of high elasticity and high lithium ion conductivity ([0079] of He). The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2019/0115617 A1) and Gonzalez Martinez (US 2016/0168086 A1), as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Yoshizawa (US 2015/0263338 A1, cited on IDS of 12/09/2022).
Regarding claim 40, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Pan further teaches that there is no limitation on the types of cathode materials for the positive electrode as long as they can pair up with anode materials ([0101]). Pan does not explicitly teach that said inorganic material is selected from a metal fluoride or metal chloride including the group consisting of CoF3, MnF3, FeF3, VF3, VOF3, TiF3, BiF3, NiF2, FeF2, CuF2, CuF, SnF2, AgF, CuCl2, FeCl3, MnCl2, and combinations thereof.
Yoshizawa teaches a cathode material for a secondary battery ([0002]). Specifically, Yoshizawa teaches that the cathode material includes a metal fluoride, in particular FeF3 ([0011]; see also Examples 1-7 in [0029] ff. and in Table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inorganic material of Pan by substituting the metal fluoride material FeF3 as taught by Yoshizawa, since FeF3 offers a high energy density ([0005]).
Claim(s) 41, 44-45, and 47-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2019/0115617 A1) and Gonzalez Martinez (US 2016/0168086 A1), as applied to claims 37 and 38, respectively, further in view of Wang (US 2015/0044556 A1, cited on IDS of 12/09/2022).
Regarding claim 41, modified Pan teaches all of the limitations as set forth above.
Pan further teaches that there is no limitation on the types of cathode materials for the positive electrode as long as they can pair up with anode materials ([0101]). Pan does not explicitly teach that said inorganic material is selected from a lithium transition metal silicate, denoted as Li2MSiO4 or Li2MaxMbySiO4, wherein M and Ma are selected from Fe, Mn, Co, Ni, or V; Mb is selected from Fe, Mn, Co, Ni, V, Ti, Al, B, Sn, or Bi and x+y is less than or equal to 1.
Wang teaches a cathode for a lithium-ion battery (Abstract). Specifically, Wang teaches that an inorganic material for a cathode active material which may be a lithium transition metal silicate ([0022], such that selecting common transition metals like Fe, Mn, Co or Ni would result in the claimed compound; see also [0106]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cathode material of Pan by selecting the lithium silicate of Wang, and further by selecting a common transition metal such as Fe, Mn, Co and/or Ni as M. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 44, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that said metal oxide may comprise a vanadium oxide ([0101] of Pan), but Pan does not explicitly teach that the metal oxide contains a vanadium oxide selected from the group consisting of VO2, LixVO2, V2O5, LixV2O5, V3O8, LixV3O8, LixV3O7, V4O9, LixV4O9, V6O13, LixV6O13, their doped versions, their derivatives, and combinations thereof, wherein 0.1 < x < 5.
Wang teaches a cathode for a lithium-ion battery (Abstract). Specifically, Wang teaches that the cathode includes a metal oxide that contains a vanadium oxide selected from the group consisting of VO2, LixVO2, V2O5, LixV2O5, V3O8, LixV3O8, LixV3O7, V4O9, LixV4O9, V6O13, LixV6O13, their doped versions, their derivatives, and combinations thereof, wherein 0.1 < x < 5. ([0022]; see also [0106]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cathode material of Pan by selecting a vanadium oxide as taught by Wang. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 45, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further discloses that said metal oxide or metal phosphate may comprise a lithium transition metal oxide, a lithium phosphate, or a lithium mixed metal phosphate ([0101] of Pan), but Pan does not explicitly teach that the metal oxide or metal phosphate is selected from a layered compound LiMO2, spinel compound LiM2O4, olivine compound LiMPO4, silicate compound Li2MSiO4, Tavorite compound LiMPO4F, borate compound LiMBO3, or a combination thereof, wherein M is a transition metal or a mixture of multiple transition metals.
Wang teaches a cathode for a lithium-ion battery (Abstract). Specifically, Wang teaches that the cathode includes a metal oxide or metal phosphate selected from a layered compound LiMO2, spinel compound LiM2O4, olivine compound LiMPO4, silicate compound Li2MSiO4, Tavorite compound LiMPO4F, borate compound LiMBO3, or a combination thereof, wherein M is a transition metal or a mixture of multiple transition metals. ([0022]; see also [0106]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cathode material of Pan by selecting a metal oxide or metal phosphate as taught by Wang. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 47, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Pan further teaches that there is no limitation on the types of cathode materials for the positive electrode as long as they can pair up with anode materials ([0101]). Pan does not explicitly teach that said organic material or polymeric material is selected from Poly(anthraquinonyl sulfide) (PAQS), a lithium oxocarbon, 3,4,9,10- perylenetetracarboxylic dianhydride (PTCDA), poly(anthraquinonyl sulfide), pyrene- 4,5,9,10-tetraone (PYT), polymer-bound PYT, Quino(triazene), redox-active organic material, Tetracyanoquinodimethane (TCNQ), tetracyanoethylene (TCNE), 2,3,6,7,10,11-hexamethoxytriphenylene (HMTP), poly(5-amino-1,4-dyhydroxy anthraquinone) (PADAQ), phosphazene disulfide polymer ([(NPS2)3]n), lithiated 1,4,5,8-naphthalenetetraol formaldehyde polymer, Hexaazatrinaphtylene (HATN), Hexaazatriphenylene hexacarbonitrile (HAT(CN)6), 5-Benzylidene hydantoin, Isatine lithium salt, Pyromellitic diimide lithium salt, tetrahydroxy-p-benzoquinone derivatives (THQLi4), N,N'-diphenyl- 2,3,5,6-tetraketopiperazine (PHP), N,N'-diallyl-2,3,5,6-tetraketopiperazine (AP), N,N'- dipropyl-2,3,5,6-tetraketopiperazine (PRP), a thioether polymer, a quinone compound, 1,4- benzoquinone, 5,7,12,14-pentacenetetrone (PT), 5-amino-2,3-dihydro-1,4-dyhydroxy anthraquinone (ADDAQ), 5-amino-1,4-dyhydroxy anthraquinone (ADAQ), calixquinone, Li4C6O6, Li2C6O6, Li6C6O6, or a combination thereof.
Wang teaches a cathode for a lithium-ion battery (Abstract). Specifically, Wang teaches that the cathode active material is an organic material or polymeric material selected from Poly(anthraquinonyl sulfide) (PAQS), a lithium oxocarbon, 3,4,9,10- perylenetetracarboxylic dianhydride (PTCDA), poly(anthraquinonyl sulfide), pyrene- 4,5,9,10-tetraone (PYT), polymer-bound PYT, Quino(triazene), redox-active organic material, Tetracyanoquinodimethane (TCNQ), tetracyanoethylene (TCNE), 2,3,6,7,10,11- hexamethoxytriphenylene (HMTP), poly(5-amino-1,4-dyhydroxy anthraquinone) (PADAQ), phosphazene disulfide polymer ([(NPS2)3]n), lithiated 1,4,5,8-naphthalenetetraol formaldehyde polymer, Hexaazatrinaphtylene (HATN), Hexaazatriphenylene hexacarbonitrile (HAT(CN)6), 5-Benzylidene hydantoin, Isatine lithium salt, Pyromellitic diimide lithium salt, tetrahydroxy-p-benzoquinone derivatives (THQLi4), N,N'-diphenyl- 2,3,5,6-tetraketopiperazine (PHP), N,N'-diallyl-2,3,5,6-tetraketopiperazine (AP), N,N'- dipropyl-2,3,5,6-tetraketopiperazine (PRP), a thioether polymer, a quinone compound, 1,4- benzoquinone, 5,7,12,14-pentacenetetrone (PT), 5-amino-2,3-dihydro-1,4-dyhydroxy anthraquinone (ADDAQ), 5-amino-1,4-dyhydroxy anthraquinone (ADAQ), calixquinone, Li4C6O6, Li2C6O6, Li6C6O6, or a combination thereof (see [0022] and [0106]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cathode material of Pan by selecting an organic or polymeric material from the list taught by Wang. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 48, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan as modified by Wang teaches that said thioether polymer is selected from Poly[methanetetryl-tetra(thiomethylene)] (PMTTM), Poly(2,4-dithiopentanylene) (PDTP), a polymer containing Poly(ethene- 1,1,2,2-tetrathiol) (PETT) as a main-chain thioether polymers, a side-chain thioether polymer having a main-chain consisting of conjugating aromatic moieties, and having a thioether side chain as a pendant, Poly(2-phenyl-1,3- dithiolane) (PPDT), Poly(1,4-di(1,3-dithiolan-2-yl)benzene) (PDDTB), poly(tetrahydrobenzodithiophene) (PTHBDT), poly[1,2,4,5-tetrakis(propylthio)benzene] (PTKPTB, or poly[3,4(ethylenedithio)thiophene] (PEDTT) ([0022], Wang; see also [0106] of Wang).
Regarding claim 49, modified Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Pan further teaches that there is no limitation on the types of cathode materials for the positive electrode as long as they can pair up with anode materials ([0101]). Pan does not explicitly teach that the cathode material is an organic material which contains a phthalocyanine compound selected from copper phthalocyanine, zinc phthalocyanine, tin phthalocyanine, iron phthalocyanine, lead phthalocyanine, nickel phthalocyanine, vanadyl phthalocyanine, fluorochromium phthalocyanine, magnesium phthalocyanine, manganous phthalocyanine, dilithium phthalocyanine, aluminum phthalocyanine chloride, cadmium phthalocyanine, chlorogallium phthalocyanine, cobalt phthalocyanine, silver phthalocyanine, a metal-free phthalocyanine, a chemical derivative thereof, or a combination thereof.
Wang teaches a cathode for a lithium-ion battery (Abstract). Specifically, Wang teaches that the cathode active material is an organic material contains a phthalocyanine compound selected from copper phthalocyanine, zinc phthalocyanine, tin phthalocyanine, iron phthalocyanine, lead phthalocyanine, nickel phthalocyanine, vanadyl phthalocyanine, fluorochromium phthalocyanine, magnesium phthalocyanine, manganous phthalocyanine, dilithium phthalocyanine, aluminum phthalocyanine chloride, cadmium phthalocyanine, chlorogallium phthalocyanine, cobalt phthalocyanine, silver phthalocyanine, a metal-free phthalocyanine, a chemical derivative thereof, or a combination thereof. ([0022]; see also [0106]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cathode material of Pan by selecting an organic material from the list of phthalocyanine compounds taught by Wang. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2019/0115617 A1) and Gonzalez Martinez (US 2016/0168086 A1), as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Ndzebet (US 2013/0065137 A1, cited on IDS of 12/09/2022).
Regarding claim 50, Pan discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Pan further teaches that said prelithiated anode includes Si that is prelithiated to approximately 1-100%, which overlaps the claimed range of 60-100% (see Example 4, [0124] to [0126], [0045]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05.I).
Pan teaches that the cathode does not need to supply lithium for the cell ([0100]), but Pan does not explicitly teach that the cathode includes a cathode active material that is initially lithium-free.
Ndzebet teaches a cathode for a lithium battery which is compatible with lithiated silicon anodes ([0031]). Specifically, Ndzebet teaches that the cathode active material is initially lithium-free ([0030]; see [0064] ff. for an embodiment using an initially lithium-free cathode material, CuxMnyVYzOw).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cathode of Pan by substituting the cathode of Ndzebet, since the cathode of Ndzebet offers a variety of benefits including increased cell capacity and ease of manufacturing ([0009]).
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2019/0115617 A1) in view of Chung (US 2014/0127578 A1).
Regarding claim 34, Pan teaches a prelithiated anode for a lithium-ion battery ([0051]; see also [0097] to [0099], as well as examples in [0113], [0121], [0122] and [0125]), the anode comprising an anode active material having a maximum lithium storage capacity, wherein the anode active material is prelithiated to a level of lithium interaction or degree of prelithiation from 1% to 100% of the maximum lithium storage capacity ([0035]; [0045], where the prior art range of 1 to 100% substantially corresponds to the claimed range of 5% to 100%; see also [0037] and Examples 2-4); and a protective polymer that prevents exposure of the prelithiated anode active material to the open air, wherein the protective polymer has a lithium-ion conductivity from 10-8 S/cm to 5 x10-2 S/cm at room temperature, wherein said protective polymer is deposited on the surface of the anode active material ([0032], such that the protecting polymer prevents exposure of the prelithiated anode active material to the open air because it wraps around, embraces or encapsulates the anode active material particles; the protective polymer is on the surface of the anode in virtue of wrapping around, embracing or encapsulating the particles; see also [0028], [0035], [0045], [0060], and [0079] regarding the lithium ion conductivity of the polymer).
Pan teaches a large variety of polymers that may be selected as the protective polymer ([0028], [0032], [0035], [0045], [0060]), including elastomers ([0092]), but Pan does not explicitly teach that the protective polymer comprises a high-elasticity polymer.
Chung teaches an anode for a lithium battery comprising an anode protective layer (binder layer) on the surface of the anode active material including a high-elasticity sulfonated elastomeric material including polysulphide rubber ([0029],[0083],[0046-47]).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the polysulphide rubber of Chung for the protective polymer elastomer of Pan. Such a person would have reasonably expected the material of Chung to be suitable for a protective layer for an anode. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved (see MPEP § 2143, B). Additionally, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Conclusion
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751