DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHILDERS et al. (US 2005/0098173 in view of HENDRY, JR. et al. (US 2016/0158782) and BOWEN et al. (US 2016/0157524).
With respect to claim 9, CHILDERS et al. discloses an inhalation device comprises a device for providing inhalable compounds, such as nicotine (Abstract; Paragraph [0004]). The device comprises a memory, 16, (Paragraph [0015]) and control electronics, 14 configured to determine a dose of nicotine previously consumed by the user (Paragraphs [0036], [0037], [0045] and [0046]) as well as the number of dosages to be consumed in the future (e.g, past and next dosage), in order to reduce nicotine cravings. Determine a threshold for the user to prevent harmful amounts of nicotine to be consumed (Paragraph [0044]), and if the total amount is above the threshold, a lockout mechanism, 15, is activated (Paragraph [0044]) otherwise, the lockout mechanism is implicitly not engaged and the user is implicitly allowed to dispense nicotine.
CHILDERS et al. does not explicitly disclose the claimed accelerometer. HENDRY, JR. et al. discloses a gesture recognition user interface for an aerosol delivery device (Abstract; Title). The device comprises an accelerometer for recognizing defined gestures (Paragraphs [0004], [0053], [0054], [0058], [0059]). These detected gestures control various functions of the device, such as altering a locked state of the device (Paragraph [0062]). Thus, the controller is configured to monitor motions of the hand and assign an appropriate electrical signal to the gesture. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide an accelerometer in the device of CHILDERS et al., and to allow a processor to recognize hand gestures of the user so that the device can assign an electrical signal to said hand gesture, and then assign an appropriate action to said hand gesture. Thus, in the event that the user is fidgeting, the processor is then capable of determining a craving by the user.
CHILDERS et al. does not explicitly disclose that a signal to dispense the dose of nicotine. BOWEN et al. discloses that an alert is made to the user when a threshold dosage has been reached or exceeded (Paragraphs [0007]) and the device can be disabled upon reaching the total dose during the time period (e.g., usage is monitored to not exceed a dosage limit) (Paragraph [0022] and [0026]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of CAMERON to provide feedback via alerts to the user, as taught by BOWEN et al., so that the user can be notified that the appropriate dose has been reached and the device is being disabled. The status prior to the alert represents the claimed signal to dispense the claimed dosage.
With respect to claim 11, CHILDERS et al. discloses that the point in time of a regiment determines the appropriate dispensation of nicotine (Paragraph [0015]).
With respect to claim 13, CHILDERS et al. discloses that the type of product is determined (Paragraph [0023]).
With respect to claim 14, CHILDERS et al. discloses the cessation regimen is determined (Paragraph [0026]) based on behavior (Paragraph [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17, 19 and 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 15, the cited are does not teach or suggest the claimed carriage.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745