DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed 11/08/2025 have been entered. No arguments provided. Claims 14-28 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a force feedback" in sections h and j.
Claim 14 and dependent claim 15 both recite “a home position”, similarly see claims 16 and dependent 17.
Claim 16 recites “an offset” 6 times.
Claim 17 in dependence to claim 16 recites “an offset” 3 times.
Claim 20 in dependence to claim 17 recites “an offset” 5 times.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotera (US 2018/0304391) in view of Garvey (US 2014/0157610 A1) and Dearman (US 2011/0210110) and Lindbom (US 4,629,860).
Regarding claim 14, Kotera discloses a method for fabricating a weldment on work material using a highly mobile collaborative robot welding system, the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system including at least one programmable collaborative robot (1) having segments (segment such as rotary barrel 2 and wrist elements 5/6/7), a welding implement (8) operatively connected to a distal end (where implement 8 attaches to robot arm, see figure 1a) of the programmable robot arm, a teach pendant (21a), a power supply (23), and a control system (21) including control program software (nature of computer machine control), the method comprising the steps of:
A. either moving the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system to the work material or bringing the work material to the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system (nature of welding material being within proximity of operation to welder (for teaching/welding), see figure 1a having work material W within operational range of robot 1);
b. powering on the power supply and the at least one programmable collaborative robot (providing power delivery to robotic drive and computers as necessitated by robotics and computer machine control for operation of teaching and learning);
c. aligning the work material in accordance with a prescribed joint configuration set forth in associated design drawings and specifications (alignment of workpiece relative to arm as positioned for welding in teaching of weld path(s) “an operator moves the robot 1 by the teach pendant 21a or hand guide and iteratively determines a position of the tip of the welding wire 20 protruding from the tip of the welding torch 8 at a desired teaching position of the workpiece. Alternatively, an operator may move the robot 1 as described above and determine a position of the workpiece gripped by the robot 1 relative to the welding torch fixed to a predetermined position.” Emphasis added [0028]);
d. selectively engaging and disengaging a programming or hand-guided jog mechanism operatively connected to the programmable robot arm and the welding implement (operator selectively engaging in jogging by hand the robot arm in the iterative teaching/programming weld path to alignment of workpiece, see above [0028]) whereby a hand-guided jogging mode is selectively engaged or disengaged at any point in a welding process (operator of the jog may provide stop positions and multiple positions and weld paths “When the robot 1 and the wire feeding device 30 are stopped in the step S26, the tip of the welding wire 20 contacts the workpiece W while the welding wire 20 protrudes by the predetermined length L0 from the tip of the welding torch 8. Thus, a stop position of the robot 1 in this state is taught as a teaching position and stored in the storage section 21d. Subsequently, the operator moves the robot 1 toward a next teaching position and iteratively repeats the processing described above. Accordingly, a welding path is taught.” [0040]);
e, moving the programmable robot arm and the welding implement to the work material (as necessitated by teaching weld paths relative to workpiece, see above [0028/0040]);
f. selecting a weld path (where path is necessitated to workpiece, see above carrying out of selection in teaching weld path [0028/0040]);
g. performing a clearance air move (operator moving welding device to initial position in teaching welding path, see above [0028/0040]) whereby the programmable robot arm and the welding implement are not in contact with the work material (contact being for teaching welding positions see above [0003]) and are moved to a home (where robotic arm is positioned away from welding/teaching positions at workpiece, as shown in figure 1a) position in the collaborative robot's working space for initiating the creation of the selected weld path (robot arm before/after either training or welding, see figure 1a where robot arm is anticipated away from workpiece, where operator or programming brings arm relative to workpiece for workpiece associated events, see above [0028]);
h. manually moving the programmable robot arm and welding implement to appoint where a
i, setting a weld start point at the initial contact point (weld path created by contact detection to workpiece, start point as a weld contact, see above [0003]);
j. selectively creating one or more successive way points (contact points create weld path see above [0003]) along the weld path by moving the programmable robot arm and the welding implement manually (manual jogging teaching see above [0028]) along the weld path to each of one or more successive points where a
k. saving the selectively created waypoints in a program in the least one programmable collaborative robot (teaching positions, taught indicated stored for welding, see above [0003]);
l. creating a weld end point (were teaching the iteratively made path(s) ends, see relation of teaching positions to weld path taught above [0003/0028/0040]):
m. creating a depart point (at last weld waypoint, departion as shown in figure 1a, where welding robot is distanced from workpiece in view of the end point being the last process taught as disclosed above [0003/0028/0040]);
n. saving the weld end point (all points are saved as part of processing iterative weld path through feedback, as disclosed above [0003/0028/0040]) and the weld depart point in the program in the least one programmable collaborative robot (while the figure 1a depicting the robot moved away from the workpiece, it is not disclosed as a manual movement or as programmed movement in reaching the workpiece (for creating way points or welding), however it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed, to automate the movement, see MPEP 2144.04 B. III Automating a Manual Activity, because providing an automatic means to replace a manual activity accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art);
o. executing the program to fabricate the weldment (as natural fulfilment to teaching a weld path as disclosed above); and
p. ending the program upon completion of the weldment (conclusion of welding programed weld path, leaving no further taught/learned weld path steps to run, beyond the akin to Applicants included “depart” or other end processes etc. of welding, because as best understood “depart” is part of the “completion of weldment” by the ordering of processing’s above).
Kotera is silent regarding force feedback determining position of processing equipment relative to workpiece.
However Garvey teaches force feedback determining position of processing equipment relative to workpiece (obviousness of equivalency, see MEP 2144.06 II. Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose, force feedback is known exchangeable with electrical contact feedback in the art of material processing “The common touch probe technology measurement method routinely involves four distinct phases for each discrete point. During the first phase the probe is maneuvered along a safe path to a point in space that is along a normal vector from the surface feature of interest. The second phase involves maneuvering the probe along the normal vector until contact with the feature is detected by the probe (mechanism of contact detection internal to the probe body can be a set of contacts, strain gage(s), or optically).”, emphasis added [0007]).
The advantage of force feedback determining position of processing equipment relative to workpiece, is to provide the feedback in a processing apparatus through known exchangeable used in the field of processing, “The second phase involves maneuvering the probe along the normal vector until contact with the feature is detected by the probe (mechanism of contact detection internal to the probe body can be a set of contacts, strain gage(s), or optically).”.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Garvey before him or her, to modify the electrical contact feedback of Kotera with the force feedback known exchangeable to Garvey, because both electrical contact and force detection are known in the art of material processing as exchangeable to the purpose of feature detection relative to processing apparatus.
Examiner notes in regards to equivalency between feedback systems, Kotera anticipates variations to the contact positioning system to enhance accuracy over a wires nature to curve “A teaching jig may be used in some cases to avoid a welding wire being curved. In this case, however, the teaching jig needs to be separately prepared, which is complicated” Kotera [0006].
Kotera is silent regarding having intuitive graphical interactive programming features.
However Lindbom teaches having intuitive graphical interactive programming features (graphical interface provides assistance to selection/programming “The control module 12 further includes a graphics display for providing the user with status information and for use in assisting the user in the selection of various welding-related operations.” (column 3, lines 39-44).
The advantage of having intuitive graphical interactive programming features, is to assist the user in operating/selecting programming functions of a robotic welding apparatus “The control module 12 further includes a graphics display for providing the user with status information and for use in assisting the user in the selection of various welding-related operations.” (column 3, lines 39-44).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Lindbom before him or her, to modify the control system of Kotera to include the graphical interface of Lindbom, because providing graphics to a display/input of a robotic welding system assists the user in providing operational modifiers.
Additionally Dearman teaches teaching programmed coordinates outside of the welding path (home and departures and clearance moves may be away from workpiece “Controller 10 will register joint start, end, and path points in preparation for commencing the work activity.” [0032]).
The advantage of providing teaching of path sections beyond the operationally welding path is to prepare for welding operations “Controller 10 will register joint start, end, and path points in preparation for commencing the work activity.” [0032].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Dearman before him or her, to modify the automated welding system of Kotera with the taught paths beyond welding path of Dearman, because teaching additional pathing beyond the welding path enables preparation between weld actions (pre-start of weld /post-finish of weld positioning of robotic arm).
Regarding claim 15, Kotera as modified teaches the method of claim 14, wherein step f, the step of selecting a weld path comprises step
q, selecting and initiating a pattern work flow subroutine robot program to establish a weld path pattern (selection being a relevant event to workpiece design/weld associated placement, teachings associated to workpiece being stored to memory for carrying out welding path as nature of teaching welding path), the step of selecting and initiating a pattern work flow subroutine robot program to establish a weld path pattern further comprising the steps of:
r. engaging the hand-guided jogging mode (operator initiating hand guided jogging Subsequently, the operator moves the robot 1 toward a next teaching position and iteratively repeats the processing described above. Accordingly, a welding path is taught.” [0040]));
s. moving the programmable robot arm and welding implement to a select a weld path pattern start point or position (weld path created by contact detection to workpiece, start point as a weld contact, see above [0003]);
t. saving the weld path pattern start point or position in a pattern workflow subroutine robot program (teaching path are saved waypoints/positions for purpose to create/implement finalized welding path profile after completion of training, see above [0003]);
u, reengaging the hand-guided jogging mode (operator reengagement of movement of the hand guided robot to next point between teaching positions, iterative teaching -“an operator moves the robot 1 by the teach pendant 21a or hand guide and iteratively determines a position of the tip of the welding wire 20 protruding from the tip of the welding torch 8 at a desired teaching position of the workpiece.” Emphasis added [0028]));
v. moving the programmable robot arm and the welding implement to a weld path pattern end point (conclusion of weld path of hand guided jogging, see above iterative positions [0028]) or position;
w. saving the weld path pattern end point or position in the pattern workflow subroutine robot program (save function as part of teaching and intended use of teachings in welding path operation);
x. determining the number of weld path pattern path iterations required to define a weld path pattern (the number of weld paths are taught/learned and implemented/accounted for welding operation as the intended function of teaching a weld path, see above citation to [0003]);
y. entering the number of pattern path iterations determined in step x into the pattern workflow subroutine robot program (teach points (iteratively as a number) are implemented to weld path processing in order to carry out welding on path);
z. entering a starting iteration portion of the pattern workflow subroutine robot program (where weld path is started on workpiece, either during teaching or operation);
aa. determining a set of program nodes needed to define the weld path pattern (nodes or path processing coordinates/way points are part of machine control translation for carrying out welding process path of Kotera see above [0003]. It is understood the nodes of the present application are a copy paste of the waypoints in defining the weld path, see Applicants specifications at [0134] -“the programmer defines any number of program nodes and essentially "copies, pastes, translates" that set of program nodes and all necessary robot motions along a defined linear "pattern path" for the defined number of iterations.”);
bb. entering into the pattern workflow subroutine robot program the set of program nodes and all necessary robot motions and processes required in the prescribed weld specifications to complete the weld path (robot motions as necessary to processing path control of carrying out learned process path);
cc. executing the pattern workflow subroutine robot program whereby a weld path pattern is calculated (wherein learned points are provided/converted to process path determination/operation as part of a learned welding path system);
dd. performing a clearance air move whereby the programmable robot arm and the welding implement are moved to a home position for creating a weld path (see figure 1a depicting the robot moved away from the workpiece, it is not disclosed as a manual movement or as programmed movement in reaching the workpiece (for creating way points or welding), however it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed, to automate the movement, see MPEP 2144.04 B. III Automating a Manual Activity, because providing an automatic means to replace a manual activity accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, additionally see Dearman [0032] as already modifying, providing pre weld path coordinates); and
ee. performing a welding operation (performing welding as the intended end result of teaching a welding path, it is unclear if this is the same operation as provided in parent claim 14 “o. executing the program to fabricate the weldment” (second to last line)).
Claim(s) 16-20, 23, 24, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotera in view of Dearman and Lindbom.
Regarding claim 16, Kotera discloses a method for fabricating a weldment on work material using a highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system, the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system including at least one programmable collaborative robot (1) having
a. either moving the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system to the work material or bringing the work material to the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system (nature of welding material being within proximity of operation to welder (for teaching/welding), see figure 1a having work material W within operational range of robot 1, see independent claim 14 in regards to movement automation MPEP 2144.04 B. III.);
b. powering on the power supply and the at least one programmable collaborative robot (providing power delivery to robotic drive and computers as necessitated by robotics and computer machine control for operation of teaching and learning);
c. determining if the work material is aligned and in position in accordance with a prescribed joint configuration set forth in associated design drawings and specifications (workpiece as positioned for being welding in teaching of weld path(s) associated thereto “an operator moves the robot 1 by the teach pendant 21a or hand guide and iteratively determines a position of the tip of the welding wire 20 protruding from the tip of the welding torch 8 at a desired teaching position of the workpiece. Alternatively, an operator may move the robot 1 as described above and determine a position of the workpiece gripped by the robot 1 relative to the welding torch fixed to a predetermined position.” Emphasis added [0028]);
d. selectively engaging and disengaging a programming or hand-guided jog mechanism operatively connected to the programmable robot arm and the welding implement (operator selectively engaging in jogging by hand the robot arm in the iterative teaching/programming weld path to alignment of workpiece, see above [0028]) where by a hand-guided jogging mode is selectively engaged or disengaged at any point in a welding process;
e, moving the programmable robot arm and the welding implement to the work material (as necessitated by teaching weld paths relative to workpiece, see above [0028/0040]);
f. if the work material is not aligned and not in position in accordance with prescribed joint configuration set forth in associated design drawings and specifications (workpiece as positioned for being welding in teaching of weld path(s) associated thereto “an operator moves the robot 1 by the teach pendant 21a or hand guide and iteratively determines a position of the tip of the welding wire 20 protruding from the tip of the welding torch 8 at a desired teaching position of the workpiece. Alternatively, an operator may move the robot 1 as described above and determine a position of the workpiece gripped by the robot 1 relative to the welding torch fixed to a predetermined position.” Emphasis added [0028]), selecting and initiating a search offset work flow subroutine robot program (the “determine a position” [0028] is best understood as a automated search. however a manual search would still provide obviousness to an automated search routine because at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art, to automate workpiece placement search, see MPEP 2144.04 B. III Automating a Manual Activity, providing an automatic means to replace a manual activity that accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. Providing the robotic arm position detection system (physical and computational) with the search position for modified placement of weld path would be obvious to automation/programming), whereby an offset weld path may be created (offset updated to determine relative position of welder to robot (see above [0028]), because the position of the workpiece has updated/changed, the coordinates of the weld path have changed to the fixed predetermined position of the workpiece, see above [0028]);
g. selecting and entering into the search offset workflow subroutine either a command to turn off all off sets stored in the search offset work flow subroutine robot program, or a command to turn on an offset that is saved in the search offset workflow subroutine robot program for a particular named or previously identified offset, or a command to enter a selected offset value and an offset reference feature to manually activate the search offset work flow subroutine robot program (the workpiece position, through selection of detection function, is referenced to the robotic arm for adjustment thereto welding path, the saved adjustments from detection event would be applied to arrive at new weld path of the new determined position of the workpiece, see above [0028]);
h. executing the search off set work flow subroutine robot program whereby offsets stored in the search offset workflow are turned off or an offset is selected and an offset weld path is calculated (each search detection event providing determination of workpiece relative to robot arm, would be newly applying the taught offset to the original path in order to relatively apply the path to workpiece, see above [0028]);
t. performing a clearance air move whereby the programmable robot arm and the welding implement are moved to a home position for creating an offset weld path (figure 1a depicting the robot moved away from the workpiece is not disclosed as a manual movement or as programmed movement, however it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed, to automate the movement to and from away position, see MPEP 2144.04 B. III Automating a Manual Activity, because providing an automatic means to replace a manual activity accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, therefore bringing the robotic arm away from and to the workpiece during teaching/welding path operation would be obvious to automation/programming, additionally see Dearman [0032] as already modifying providing pre weld path coordinates); and
j. performing a welding operation (performing welding as the intended end result of teaching a welding path).
Kotera is silent regarding having intuitive graphical interactive programming features.
However Lindbom teaches having intuitive graphical interactive programming features (graphical interface provides assistance to selection/programming “The control module 12 further includes a graphics display for providing the user with status information and for use in assisting the user in the selection of various welding-related operations.” (column 3, lines 39-44).
The advantage of having intuitive graphical interactive programming features, is to assist the user in operating/selecting programming functions of a robotic welding apparatus “The control module 12 further includes a graphics display for providing the user with status information and for use in assisting the user in the selection of various welding-related operations.” (column 3, lines 39-44).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Lindbom before him or her, to modify the control system of Kotera to include the graphical interface of Lindbom, because providing graphics to a display/input of a robotic welding system assists the user in providing operational modifiers.
Additionally Dearman teaches teaching programmed coordinates outside of the welding path (home and departures and clearance moves may be away from workpiece “Controller 10 will register joint start, end, and path points in preparation for commencing the work activity.” [0032]).
The advantage of providing teaching of path sections beyond the operationally welding path is to prepare for welding operations “Controller 10 will register joint start, end, and path points in preparation for commencing the work activity.” [0032].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Dearman before him or her , to modify the automated welding system of Kotera with the taught paths beyond welding path of Dearman, because teaching additional pathing beyond the welding path enables preparation between weld actions (pre-start of weld /post-finish of weld positioning of robotic arm).
Regarding claim 17, Kotera as modified teaches the method of claim 16 where in step j, the step of performing a welding operation includes the steps of:
k. selectively engaging the hand-guided jogging mode (operator selectively engaging in jogging by hand the robot arm in the iterative teaching/programming weld path to alignment of workpiece, see above [0028]) and performing a clearance move whereby a home position is created (see figure 1a depicting the robot moved away from the workpiece, it is not disclosed as a manual movement or as programmed movement, however it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed, to automate the movement to and from away/home position, see MPEP 2144.04 B. III Automating a Manual Activity, because providing an automatic means to replace a manual activity accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, therefore bringing the robotic arm away from and to the workpiece between steps of operations (teaching/welding path operation) would be obvious to automation/programming, additionally see Dearman [0032] as already modifying providing pre weld path coordinates).
I. selecting and initiating a search part subroutine robot program (determination of workpiece position relative to robot performed by search “an operator moves the robot 1 by the teach pendant 21a or hand guide and iteratively determines a position of the tip of the welding wire 20 protruding from the tip of the welding torch 8 at a desired teaching position of the workpiece. Alternatively, an operator may move the robot 1 as described above and determine a position of the workpiece gripped by the robot 1 relative to the welding torch fixed to a predetermined position.” Emphasis added [0028]) whereby a one-dimensional linear search adapted to identify a program offset or displacement that shifts a program in response to detected positional, rotational or distortional inconsistencies in the work material or unrepeatable configurations of a part to be processed (the “determine a position” [0028] is best understood as an automated search. however a manual search would still provide obviousness to an automated search routine because at the time the invention as filed it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art, to automate workpiece the placement search, see MPEP 2144.04 B. III Automating a Manual Activity, providing an automatic means to replace a manual activity accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, therefore providing the robotic arm position detection system (physical and computational) with the search position for modified placement of weld path would be obvious to automation/programming);
m. moving the programmable robot arm and the welding implement in hand guided jogging mode to a selected point that is in contact with the work material or part (as disclosed above [0028]);
n. saving the selected point in the search part subroutine robot program as a search start point (all points are saved iteratively as already disclosed [0040], a first point necessarily being present for starting weld path);
o. selecting an offset name for storage and retrieval of a resultant off set or displacement value from the search part subroutine robot program (computer functions that are stored may be accessed by assigned identifiers/names enabling retrieval/use);
p. entering a search distance and a reference feature upon which an offset or displacement value may be calculated (“determined” [0028] position based on workpiece detected features (positional changes there between), the path now relative to work piece determined position is a calculation adjustment);
q. initiating a search (function preceding the determination of position of workpiece)
r. moving the programmable robot arm and the welding implement in a programmed search direction until the welding implement contacts the work material or the part (as disclosed above, see MPEP 2144.04 B. III. And [0028], the search/determination of workpiece would be obvious to automation); whereby a force (force feedback as already modified by Garvey [0007]) feedback signal is generated by the control system in response to the welding implement contacting the work material or the part whereby a new contact point is generated (as disclosed above, see MPEP 2144.04 B. III. And [0028], the search/determination of workpiece would be obvious to automation);
s. halting the motion of the programmable robot arm and the welding implement in response to the force feedback signal (as disclosed above, see MPEP 2144.04 B. III. And [0028], the search/determination of workpiece would be obvious to automation);
t. comparing the new contact point to the reference feature (determined position based on workpiece features (positional changes there between);
u. calculating an offset or displacement value (the modification to path would be a calculation based on positional value changes);
v. storing the offset or displacement value in the offset name in the search part subroutine robot program (storing as enabling to use data non-simultaneously from iterative accumulation of waypoints);
w. generating a weld path (as part of the ability to run the amended weld path); and
x. performing a welding operation (as functional form of the created weld path).
Regarding claim 18, Kotera as modified teaches the method of claim 17, further including step y, a step of overriding the search distance entered at step p;
entering a different search distance (the jogging search having a distance is in purpose to determining feature locations of the part for orientation, as disclosed previously [0028] and MPEP 2144.04 B. III Automating a Manual Activity. The amount of desired search distance from jogging the robotic arm towards workpiece feature is dependent to distance the robotic arm is to workpiece, where a further distance would predictably result in a further jog, as such it would be obvious under Routine Optimization (see MPEP 2144.05 II. A) to provide the search within a search distance correlated to expected range of workpiece, see figure 1a where robotic arm is well distanced relative to workpiece), and repeating steps q though w (as provided in parent claim 17).
Regarding claim 19, the method of claim 18 further including step z, a step of initiating a search at step q at a preselected off set whereby a compounded two or three-dimensional search is created (the identifying features of the workpiece provide the relative position of workpiece. The features to provide relevant orientation are determinable from having at least 2 point identified planes for two dimensional orientation and at least 3 point identified planes for three dimensional orientation, “an operator may move the robot 1 as described above and determine a position of the workpiece gripped by the robot 1 relative to the welding torch fixed to a predetermined position.” Emphasis added [0028]).
Regarding claim 20, Kotera as modified teaches the method of claim 17 further including after performing step w, performing the following steps:
aa. selecting and entering into the search offset workflow subroutine either a command to turn off all offsets stored in the search offset workflow subroutine robot program, or a command to turn on an offset that is saved in the search offset workflow subroutine robot program for a particular named or previously identified offset, or a command to enter a selected offset value and an offset reference feature to manually activate the search offset workflow subroutine robot program (function that enables a search/determination routine of work piece position as disclosed previously, see [0028]);
bb. executing the search offset workflow subroutine robot program whereby offsets stored in the search offset workflow are turned off or an offset is selected and an offset weld path is calculated (creation of and or use of offsets in provided amended weld path see previous citations to [0028]);
cc. performing a clearance air move whereby the programmable robot arm and the welding implement are moved to a home position (figure 1a depicting the robot moved away from the workpiece is not disclosed as a manual movement or as programmed movement, however it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed, to automate the movement to and from away/home position, see MPEP 2144.04 B. III Automating a Manual Activity, because providing an automatic means to replace a manual activity accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, therefore bringing the robotic arm away from and to the workpiece during teaching/welding path operation would be obvious to automation/programming, additionally see Dearman [0032] as already modifying providing pre weld path coordinates) for creating an offset weld path (creation of and or use of offsets in provided amended weld path see previous citations to [0028]); and
dd, generating another weld path (operator related function that enables a search/determination routine as disclosed previously regarding [0028] or where the weld path is performed as nature of creating weld path. See previously cited [0003]); and
ee. either returning to and executing steps y through bb, or;
ff. performing a welding operation (as necessary to run the amended weld path).
Regarding claim 23, Kotera discloses a method of manually generating a weld template adapted for use in a method for fabricating a weldment on work material using a highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system, the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system including at least one programmable collaborative robot (1) having
a. either moving the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system to the work material or bringing the work material to the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system (as necessitated by teaching weld paths relative to workpiece, see above [0028/0040]);
b. powering on the power supply and the at least one programmable collaborative robot (providing power delivery to robotic drive and computers as necessitated by robotics and computer machine control for operation of teaching and learning);
c. determining if the work material is aligned and in position in accordance with a prescribed joint configuration set forth in associated design drawings and specifications (workpiece as positioned for being welding in teaching of weld path(s) associated thereto “an operator moves the robot 1 by the teach pendant 21a or hand guide and iteratively determines a position of the tip of the welding wire 20 protruding from the tip of the welding torch 8 at a desired teaching position of the workpiece. Alternatively, an operator may move the robot 1 as described above and determine a position of the workpiece gripped by the robot 1 relative to the welding torch fixed to a predetermined position.” Emphasis added [0028]);
d. selectively engaging and disengaging a program or hand-guided jog mechanism operatively connected to the programmable robot arm and the welding implement (operator selectively engaging in jogging by hand the robot arm in the iterative teaching/programming weld path to alignment of workpiece, see above [0028]) whereby a hand-guided jogging mode is selectively engaged or disengaged at any point in a welding process (operator of the jog may provide stop positions and multiple positions and weld paths “When the robot 1 and the wire feeding device 30 are stopped in the step S26, the tip of the welding wire 20 contacts the workpiece W while the welding wire 20 protrudes by the predetermined length L0 from the tip of the welding torch 8. Thus, a stop position of the robot 1 in this state is taught as a teaching position and stored in the storage section 21d. Subsequently, the operator moves the robot 1 toward a next teaching position and iteratively repeats the processing described above. Accordingly, a welding path is taught.” [0040]);
e, moving the programmable robot arm and the welding implement to the work material (as necessitated by teaching weld paths relative to workpiece, see above [0028/0040]);
f. selecting and initiating a weld path template work flow subroutine robot program adapted to generate a weld path template (where memory is stored/drawn from for creating/implementing weld path “a storage section 21d, such as a memory, that stores a stop position of the robot 1 as a teaching position.” [0027]);
g. performing a clearance air move whereby the programmable robot arm and the welding implement are moved manually to and positioned at a selected approach point and entering the approach point (robot position before initial weld point) in to the weld path template work flow subroutine robot program (where robot is moved to start or learn weld path);
h. selecting a weld start waypoint (iterative waypoints teach welding path “a position in which a tip of the welding wire contacts a subject to be welded (hereinafter simply referred to as a “workpiece”) is iteratively stored as a teaching position, as described above, and this teaches a welding path.” [0003], manual jogging disclosed above [0028/0040]);
i. manually positioning the programmable robot arm and the welding implement at the weld start waypoint and entering the weld start waypoint in to the weld path template workflow subroutine robot program (iterative manually moved waypoints teach welding path “a position in which a tip of the welding wire contacts a subject to be welded (hereinafter simply referred to as a “workpiece”) is iteratively stored as a teaching position, as described above, and this teaches a welding path.” [0003], manual jogging disclosed above [0028/0040]);
j. selecting the weld process data by manually tracing out the weld path by creating one or more weld through way points (iterative waypoints disclosed above [0003]), at least one weld end way point (last weld way point, iterative as disclosed above [0003]), and a depart point (at last weld waypoint, robot arm departs workpiece as shown in figure 1a, machine automation operation depending to programmed directive of memory) in hand-guided jogging mode and entering all of the one or more weld throughway points (as part of completing a welding path, see above [0028/0040]), the at least one weld end way point (as part of completing a welding path, see above [0028/0040]), and the depart point (as part of completing a welding path, see above [0028/0040]) into the weld path template workflow subroutine robot program, thereby generating a weld path template (as a finished weld path for welding “a position in which a tip of the welding wire contacts a subject to be welded (hereinafter simply referred to as a “workpiece”) is iteratively stored as a teaching position, as described above, and this teaches a welding path.” [0003]);
k. returning the programmable robot arm and the welding implement to the weld start waypoint (as part of starting a weld path);
l. Selecting a welding process to be executed by the programmable robot arm and the welding implement as the programmable robot arm and the welding implement move along the weld path from the weld start point through the one or more weld through way points, and the at least one weld end point (selection of implimenting welding along created weld path from iteratively taught weld path, see above [0003]); and
m. executing the selected welding process and the weld path template whereby a weld path is generated (result of implementing created weld path, see above [0003]).
Kotera is silent regarding having intuitive graphical interactive programming features.
However Lindbom teaches having intuitive graphical interactive programming features (graphical interface provides assistance to selection/programming “The control module 12 further includes a graphics display for providing the user with status information and for use in assisting the user in the selection of various welding-related operations.” (column 3, lines 39-44).
The advantage of having intuitive graphical interactive programming features, is to assist the user in operating/selecting programming functions of a robotic welding apparatus “The control module 12 further includes a graphics display for providing the user with status information and for use in assisting the user in the selection of various welding-related operations.” (column 3, lines 39-44).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Lindbom before him or her , to modify the control system of Kotera to include the graphical interface of Lindbom, because providing graphics to a display/input of a robotic welding system assists the user in providing operational modifiers.
Additionally Dearman teaches teaching programmed coordinates outside of the welding path (home and departures and clearance and approach moves may be away from workpiece “Controller 10 will register joint start, end, and path points in preparation for commencing the work activity.” [0032]).
The advantage of providing teaching of path sections beyond the operationally welding path is to prepare for welding operations “Controller 10 will register joint start, end, and path points in preparation for commencing the work activity.” [0032].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Dearman before him or her , to modify the automated welding system of Kotera with the taught paths beyond welding path of Dearman, because teaching additional pathing beyond the welding path enables preparation between weld actions (pre-start of weld /post-finish of weld positioning of robotic arm).
Regarding claim 24, Kotera discloses a method of automatically generating a weld template adapted for use in a method for fabricating a weldment on work material using a highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system, the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system including at least one programmable collaborative robot having
a. either moving the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system to the work material or bringing the work material to the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system (as necessitated by teaching weld paths relative to workpiece, see below [0028/0040]);
b. powering on the power supply and the at least one programmable collaborative robot (providing power delivery to robotic drive and computers as necessitated by robotics and computer machine control for operation of teaching and learning);
c. determining if the work material is aligned and in position in accordance with a prescribed joint configuration set forth in associated design drawings and specifications (workpiece as positioned for being welding in teaching of weld path(s) associated thereto “an operator moves the robot 1 by the teach pendant 21a or hand guide and iteratively determines a position of the tip of the welding wire 20 protruding from the tip of the welding torch 8 at a desired teaching position of the workpiece. Alternatively, an operator may move the robot 1 as described above and determine a position of the workpiece gripped by the robot 1 relative to the welding torch fixed to a predetermined position.” Emphasis added [0028]);
d. selectively engaging and disengaging a programming or hand-guided jog mechanism operatively connected to the programmable robot arm and the welding implement (operator selectively engaging in jogging by hand the robot arm in the iterative teaching/programming weld path to alignment of workpiece, see above [0028]) whereby a hand-guided jogging mode is selectively engaged or disengaged at any point in a welding process (operator of the jog may provide stop positions and multiple positions and weld paths “When the robot 1 and the wire feeding device 30 are stopped in the step S26, the tip of the welding wire 20 contacts the workpiece W while the welding wire 20 protrudes by the predetermined length L0 from the tip of the welding torch 8. Thus, a stop position of the robot 1 in this state is taught as a teaching position and stored in the storage section 21d. Subsequently, the operator moves the robot 1 toward a next teaching position and iteratively repeats the processing described above. Accordingly, a welding path is taught.” [0040]);
e. moving the programmable robot arm and the welding implement to the work material (as disclosed above the arm is moved to work material for teaching/welding [0028/0040]);
f. selecting and initiating a weld path template workflow subroutine robot program adapted to generate a weld path template (workflow of storing waypoints, as disclosed above and at “a position in which a tip of the welding wire contacts a subject to be welded (hereinafter simply referred to as a “workpiece”) is iteratively stored as a teaching position, as described above, and this teaches a welding path.” [0003]);
g. selecting an automatically positioned approach point from the weld path template workflow subroutine robot program (where robotic arm moves to first iterative way point for welding [0003], see figure 1a depicting the robot moved away from the workpiece, it is not disclosed as a manual movement or as programmed movement in reaching the workpiece (for creating way points or welding), however it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed, to automate the movement, see MPEP 2144.04 B. III Automating a Manual Activity, because providing an automatic means to replace a manual activity accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art);
h. selecting a weld start way point (initial iterative waypoint see above [0003]) in a hand-jogging mode and entering the weld start waypoint into the weld path template workflow subroutine robot program (waypoints as disclosed above [0003], hand jogging as disclosed above [0028]);
i. selecting the weld process data by manually tracing out the weld path thereby creating one or more weld through way points and a weld endpoint in hand-guided jogging mode and entering all of the one or more weld through way points and a weld end point into the weld path template workflow subroutine robot program (iterative manually moved waypoints teach welding path “a position in which a tip of the welding wire contacts a subject to be welded (hereinafter simply referred to as a “workpiece”) is iteratively stored as a teaching position, as described above, and this teaches a welding path.” [0003], manual jogging disclosed above [0028/0040]);
j. selecting an automatic depart position (robotic arm position after last welding waypoint);
k. returning the programmable robot arm and the welding implement to the weld start waypoint (as part of starting a weld path);
l. selecting a welding process to be executed by the programmable robot arm and the welding implement as the programmable robot arm and the welding implement move along the weld path from the weld start point through the one or more weld through way points, the weld end point, and the automatic depart position (selection of implementing welding along created weld path from iteratively taught weld path, see above [0003]); and
m. executing the selected welding process and the weld path template whereby a weld path is generated (result of implementing created weld path, see above [0003]).
Kotera is silent regarding having intuitive graphical interactive programming features.
However Lindbom teaches having intuitive graphical interactive programming features (graphical interface provides assistance to selection/programming “The control module 12 further includes a graphics display for providing the user with status information and for use in assisting the user in the selection of various welding-related operations.” (column 3, lines 39-44).
The advantage of having intuitive graphical interactive programming features, is to assist the user in operating/selecting programming functions of a robotic welding apparatus “The control module 12 further includes a graphics display for providing the user with status information and for use in assisting the user in the selection of various welding-related operations.” (column 3, lines 39-44).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Lindbom before him or her , to modify the control system of Kotera to include the graphical interface of Lindbom, because providing graphics to a display/input of a robotic welding system assists the user in providing operational modifiers.
Additionally Dearman teaches teaching programmed coordinates outside of the welding path (home and departures and clearance moves may be away from workpiece “Controller 10 will register joint start, end, and path points in preparation for commencing the work activity.” [0032]).
The advantage of providing teaching of path sections beyond the operationally welding path is to prepare for welding operations “Controller 10 will register joint start, end, and path points in preparation for commencing the work activity.” [0032].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Dearman before him or her , to modify the automated welding system of Kotera with the taught paths beyond welding path of Dearman, because teaching additional pathing beyond the welding path enables preparation between weld actions (pre-start of weld /post-finish of weld positioning of robotic arm).
Regarding claim 27, Kotera as modified teaches the method of claim 23, Kotera as already modified teaches further including step n wherein the weld process data selected and entered into the weld path template workflow subroutine robot program is saved to a named path file (name/identifier for memory of weld path selected for use, see memory below [0027]) which maybe subsequently retrieved (where memory is stored/drawn from for creating/implementing weld path “a storage section 21d, such as a memory, that stores a stop position of the robot 1 as a teaching position.” [0027]), whereby a root workflow template is created (template of weld path created for welding operation“and this teaches a welding path.” [0003].
Regarding claim 28, Kotera as modified teaches the method of claim 24, Kotera as already modified teaches further including step n wherein the weld process data selected and entered into the weld path template workflow subroutine robot program is saved to a named path file (name/identifier for memory of weld path selected for use, see memory below [0027]) which may be subsequently retrieved (where memory is stored/drawn from for creating/implementing weld path “a storage section 21d, such as a memory, that stores a stop position of the robot 1 as a teaching position.” [0027]), whereby a root workflow template is created (template of weld path created for welding operation “and this teaches a welding path.” [0003].
Claim(s) 21, 22, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotera in view of Dearman, Lindbom and Krobath (US 5,614,117).
Regarding claim 21, Kotera discloses a method of generating a weld tack template adapted for use in a method for fabricating a weldment on work material using a highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system, the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system including at east one programmable collaborative robot (1) having including control program software (nature of computer machine control), the method of generating a weld
a, either moving the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system to the work material or bringing the work material to the highly-mobile collaborative robot welding system (as necessitated by teaching weld paths relative to workpiece, see above [0028/0040]);
b. powering on the power supply and the at least one programmable collaborative robot (providing power delivery to robotic drive and computers as necessitated by robotics and computer machine control for operation of teaching and learning);
c. determining if the work material is aligned and in position in accordance with a prescribed joint configuration set forth in associated design drawings and specifications (workpiece as positioned for being welding in teaching of weld path(s) associated thereto “an operator moves the robot 1 by the teach pendant 21a or hand guide and iteratively determines a position of the tip of the welding wire 20 protruding from the tip of the welding torch 8 at a desired teaching position of the workpiece. Alternatively, an operator may move the robot 1 as described above and determine a position of the workpiece gripped by the robot 1 relative to the welding torch fixed to a predetermined position.” Emphasis added [0028]);
d, selectively engaging and disengaging a programming or hand-guided jog mechanism operatively connected to the programmable robot arm and the welding implement (operator selectively engaging in jogging by hand the robot arm in the iterative teaching/programming weld path to alignment of workpiece, see above [0028]) whereby a hand-guided jogging mode is selectively engaged or disengaged at any point in a welding process (operator of the jog may provide stop positions and multiple positions and weld paths “When the robot 1 and the wire feeding device 30 are stopped in the step S26, the tip of the welding wire 20 contacts the workpiece W while the welding wire 20 protrudes by the predetermined length L0 from the tip of the welding torch 8. Thus, a stop position of the robot 1 in this state is taught as a teaching position and stored in the storage section 21d. Subsequently, the operator moves the robot 1 toward a next teaching position and iteratively repeats the processing described above. Accordingly, a welding path is taught.” [0040]);
e. moving the programmable robot arm and the welding implement to the work material (as necessitated by teaching weld paths relative to workpiece, see above [0028/0040]);
f. manually positioning the programmable robot arm and the welding implement at a selected approach point in hand-guided jogging mode and entering the approach point into a weld
g. manually positioning the programmable robot arm and the welding implement in hand-guided jogging mode at one or more selected referred to as a “workpiece”) is iteratively stored as a teaching position, as described above, and this teaches a welding path.” [0003], manual jogging disclosed above [0028/0040]);
h. selecting a
i. selecting a depart point (at last weld waypoint, depart as shown in figure 1a, where welding robot is distanced from workpiece in view of the end point being the last process taught as disclosed above [0003/0028/0040]);
j. manually positioning the programmable robot arm and the welding implement in hand-guided jogging mode at the depart point and entering the depart point into the weld
Kotera is silent regarding having intuitive graphical interactive programming features.
However Lindbom teaches having intuitive graphical interactive programming features (graphical interface provides assistance to selection/programming “The control module 12 further includes a graphics display for providing the user with status information and for use in assisting the user in the selection of various welding-related operations.” (column 3, lines 39-44).
The advantage of having intuitive graphical interactive programming features, is to assist the user in operating/selecting programming functions of a robotic welding apparatus “The control module 12 further includes a graphics display for providing the user with status information and for use in assisting the user in the selection of various welding-related operations.” (column 3, lines 39-44).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Lindbom before him or her , to modify the control system of Kotera to include the graphical interface of Lindbom, because providing graphics to a display/input of a robotic welding system assists the user in providing operational modifiers.
Kotera is silent regarding the welding processes being a tack welding process.
However Krobath teaches the welding process of tack welding known to welding apparatus (“Mig and tig welders are in widespread use today. Mig welders are commonly employed for joining metal plates or panels which are substantially the same in thickness. Such materials may be tack welded, stitch welded or otherwise joined.” (column 1, lines 11-15)).
The advantage of the welding processing being a tack welding process is to provide a mig/tig system with the capabilities know commonly for joining materials (“Mig and tig welders are in widespread use today. Mig welders are commonly employed for joining metal plates or panels which are substantially the same in thickness. Such materials may be tack welded, stitch welded or otherwise joined.” (column 1, lines 11-15).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Krobath before him or her, to modify the control system of Kotera to include the known to tig/mig joining methods of Krobath, because tack welding is commonly employed to join materials.
Additionally Dearman teaches teaching programmed coordinates outside of the welding path (home and departures and clearance moves may be away from workpiece “Controller 10 will register joint start, end, and path points in preparation for commencing the work activity.” [0032]).
The advantage of providing teaching of path sections beyond the operationally welding path is to prepare for welding operations “Controller 10 will register joint start, end, and path points in preparation for commencing the work activity.” [0032].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Dearman before him or her , to modify the automated welding system of Kotera with the taught paths beyond welding path of Dearman, because teaching additional pathing beyond the welding path enables preparation between weld actions (pre-start of weld /post-finish of weld positioning of robotic arm).
Regarding claim 22, Kotera as modified teaches the method of claim 21, Kotera as already modified teaches wherein the selection of the approach point in step f is performed automatically from data stored in the weld tack template workflow subroutine robot program (Automation (see above MPEP 2144.04 B III) of an iterative point system drawing from memory, as disclosed previously [0003,0027]).
Regarding claim 25, Kotera as modified teaches the method of claim 23, Kotera as already modified teaches wherein the weld process data selected and entered into the weld path template workflow subroutine robot program further includes a
Kotera is silent regarding the welding processes being a stich welding process.
However Krobath teaches the welding process of stich welding known to welding apparatus (“Mig and tig welders are in widespread use today. Mig welders are commonly employed for joining metal plates or panels which are substantially the same in thickness. Such materials may be tack welded, stitch welded or otherwise joined.” (column 1, lines 11-15)).
The advantage of the welding processing being a stich welding process is to provide a mig/tig system with the capabilities know commonly for joining materials (“Mig and tig welders are in widespread use today. Mig welders are commonly employed for joining metal plates or panels which are substantially the same in thickness. Such materials may be tack welded, stitch welded or otherwise joined.” (column 1, lines 11-15).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Krobath before him or her, to modify the control system of Kotera to include the known to tig/mig joining methods of Krobath, because stitch welding is commonly employed to join materials.
Regarding claim 26, Kotera as modified teaches the method of claim 24, Kotera as already modified teaches wherein the weld process data selected and entered into the weld path template workflow subroutine robot program further includes an automatically positioned
Kotera is silent regarding the welding processes being a stich welding process.
However Krobath teaches the welding process of stich welding known to welding apparatus (“Mig and tig welders are in widespread use today. Mig welders are commonly employed for joining metal plates or panels which are substantially the same in thickness. Such materials may be tack welded, stitch welded or otherwise joined.” (column 1, lines 11-15)).
The advantage of the welding processing being a stich welding process is to provide a mig/tig system with the capabilities know commonly for joining materials (“Mig and tig welders are in widespread use today. Mig welders are commonly employed for joining metal plates or panels which are substantially the same in thickness. Such materials may be tack welded, stitch welded or otherwise joined.” (column 1, lines 11-15).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kotera and Krobath before him or her, to modify the control system of Kotera to include the known to tig/mig joining methods of Krobath, because stitch welding is commonly employed to join materials.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761