DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recited limitation “whether the rotation data indicates a mutual correlation associated with unobstructed advancing of the car or counterweight or both” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the “mutual correlation” is referring to correlation between the rotation data associated with “rotation of at least two of said drive pulley, said first diverting pulley and said second diverting pulley”, or correlation between “the car” and “counterweight”.
For examination purpose, the “mutual correlation” is broadly interpreted as correlation between rotation data.
Regarding claim 5, similar to claim 1, the recited limitation regarding “mutual correlation” renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 6-11, these claims are indefinite because they are either directly or indirectly depend on claim 1 or claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Talonen (EP 2760559 A1) (hereinafter rejections rely on provided equivalent English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Talonen discloses a method for monitoring (e.g. Abstract) a run of a roping (e.g. Fig. 1: 4) interconnecting a car (e.g. Fig. 1: 1) and a counterweight (e.g. Fig. 1: 2) of an elevator and for detecting an abnormal operation condition (e.g. [0036-0039]) during a drive of a drive pulley (e.g. Fig. 1: 6) for moving the car and the counterweight by said roping, wherein the roping runs from the car to the drive pulley via first diverting pulley (e.g. Fig. 1: 7a, 7b) and from the counterweight to the drive pulley via a second diverting pulley (e.g. Fig. 1: 8),
said method comprising the steps of:
monitoring rotation of at least two of said driver pulley, said first diverting pulley and said second diverting pulley by sensing rotation thereof (e.g. Fig. 1: 20a-c & [0036-0039]); and
analysing rotation data associated with said monitoring to determine whether the rotation data indicates mutual correlation (e.g. [0036-0039]: speed difference between pulleys) associated with unobstructed advancing of the car or counterweight or both (e.g. [0036-0039]: stalling), and detecting the abnormal operation condition when the rotation data indicates an absence of such correlation (e.g. [0036-0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Talonen discloses a system for monitoring (e.g. Abstract) a run of a roping (e.g. Fig. 1: 4) interconnecting a car (e.g. Fig. 1: 1) and a counterweight (e.g. Fig. 1: 2) of an elevator and for detecting an abnormal operation condition (e.g. [0036-0039]) during a drive of a drive pulley (e.g. Fig. 1: 6) for moving the car and the counterweight by said roping,
the system comprising:
a first diverting pulley (e.g. Fig. 1: 7a, 7b) coupled to the car, the drive pulley and a second diverting pulley (e.g. Fig. 1: 8) coupled to the counterweight, wherein at least two of said driver pulley, said first diverting pulley and said second diverting pulley are equipped with sensors sensing rotation thereof (e.g. Fig. 1: 20a-c & [0036-0039]), respectively; and
a control unit (e.g. Fig. 9: 18) configured to receive sensor data from said sensors and to analyse the sensor data by monitoring whether the sensor data indicates a mutual correlation (e.g. [0036-0039]: speed difference between pulleys) associated with unobstructed advancing of the car or counterweight or both (e.g. [0036-0039]: stalling) and detecting the abnormal operation condition when the sensor data indicates an absence of such correlation (e.g. [0036-0039]).
Regarding claims 3 and 7-8, Talonen discloses the system is configured to launch an alarm as a response to a detected abnormal difference in the mutual correlation (e.g. [0038]: warning signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talonen (EP 2760559 A1) in view of Yamashita (CN 109890739 A) (hereinafter rejections rely on provided equivalent English machine translation).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Talonen discloses a detection of an abnormal difference in the mutual correlation (see rejection of claims 1 and 5).
Talonen fails to disclose, but Yamashita teaches the system is configured to stop the run of the elevator as a response to a detection of an abnormality (p. 4: stop the elevator when abnormality is determined).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Talonen with the teachings of Yamashita to stop the elevator when abnormality is determined so as to enhance safety for the elevator.
Regarding claim 4, Yamashita teaches a computer program comprising a program code embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium and adapted to cause the method according to claim 1 to be executed on a data-processing system (e.g. p. 5-6).
Regarding claims 9-10, Yamashita teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program comprising a program code adapted to cause the method according to claims 2-3 to be executed on a data-processing system (e.g. p. 5-6).
Regarding claim 11, Talonen discloses the system is configured to launch an alarm as a response to a detected abnormal difference in the mutual correlation (e.g. [0038]: warning signal).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAWING CHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846