Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Priority is being given to 05/04/2020.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the amendments filed on 01/02/2026.
Claims 1-7, 10-11, and 17 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1, 10, and 17 are currently amended.
Claims 1-7, 10-11, and 17 are currently rejected.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are addressed towards the amended claims in terms to the mapping of Braun. The amendments overcome the rejection of Braum however Chaillou has been found in an updated search to teach the amended limitations as shown in the updated rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10-11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckett (US 2006/0182588), herein Beckett in view of Bailey (US 2021/0300744), herein Bailey, Imaoka et. al. (US 2021/0261393), herein Imaoka, and Chaillou (WO 2020043992), herein Chaillou.
Regarding claim 1:
Beckett teaches:
An industrial truck (A fork lift truck for moving a load, comprising a load bearing member (3) for carrying the load [abstract]), comprising:
a vehicle body (see at least figs. 1a and 1b);
a lifting frame which extends substantially vertically from the vehicle body (Referring to FIGS. 1A and 1B a typical known fork truck assembly is carried on wheels 1. The chassis is of solid construction, and the wheels are fitted without suspension. Forks 2 are elevated along with the fork mast 3 for the purpose of reaching extended heights. [0027]);
wherein each of the load wheels stands on a ground (fig. 1, front wheels 1),
at least one further wheel (fig. 2, rear axle 7 which contains the rear wheel as shown in fig. 1), which also stands on the ground and is configured to drive the industrial truck in a steered manner to a movement on the grounds (examiner notes that the rear wheel of this fork lift is inherently steerable to control the motion of the vehicle on the ground as is well known in the art, but is not explicitly described in this reference due to the thrust of the invention relating to the leveling motors on the front wheels.);
at least one actuator (fig. 3, servovalves 15) arranged between the vehicle body and the [single] load wheel axle (see at least fig. 3, wheel 1 is mounted on an axle that is connected through suspension arm 8 to the body via pivot bearing 9 with the servovalves 15 acting on the suspension arm which is between the body and wheel axle.), wherein the actuator is configured and arranged to adjust a relative position of [single] load wheel with respect to the vehicle body by causing the load wheel axle to pivot relative to the vehicle body (Thus, the height of the front wheels 1 can be adjusted within small tolerances by the electrically operated servovalves 15. The cranked bearing 14 allows movements of the servovalves 15 to be translated into small vertical movements of the wheel 1 and thus the wheel can be moved with considerable sensitivity. [0030]);
at least one detection unit (fig. 2, sensors 4 and 5), which is configured to detect a current operating parameter of the industrial truck and to output corresponding data (Sensors 4 are fixed to the chassis and allow the elevational difference between the front and back axles 6 and 7 to be evaluated. In addition, sensor 5 is fixed to the chassis axle 6 between the right wheel track and the left wheel track to allow the elevational difference between the front wheels 1 to be evaluated. [0028]); and
a control unit (a system is provided for maintaining the vertical alignment of the mast of a fork truck whilst travelling on undulating and irregular surfaces, which compensates for the irregularity of the floor and associated dynamic forces, by typically adjusting the ride height of one or more wheels automatically, so as to control the tilt of the fork truck between the wheel track and the elevational difference between the front and rear axle. [0011]; The suspension system is fixed independently to each of the front wheels 1 of a fork truck, and is activated through a servo system by sensor 4 to control the elevational difference between the front 6 and the rear axle 7 and a sensor fixed to the front axle 5 to control the elevational difference between each of the front and wheel tracks. [0031]; The position of the subframe 19 relative to the chassis is controlled by a hydraulic piston 20 activated in dependence on the local elevation of the surface. It will be appreciated that this suspension arrangement could be used in conjunction with the first example, and that (likewise) the suspension arrangement of the first example could be used in conjunction with this example. [0038]; ) having an associated memory unit (the fork lift truck has a memory unit in which is stored data corresponding to the variance in the flatness of the surface of the path to be travelled [0034]), wherein the control unit is operationally coupled to the at least one actuator and the at least one detection unit (a system is provided for maintaining the vertical alignment of the mast of a fork truck whilst travelling on undulating and irregular surfaces, which compensates for the irregularity of the floor and associated dynamic forces, by typically adjusting the ride height of one or more wheels automatically, so as to control the tilt of the fork truck between the wheel track and the elevational difference between the front and rear axle. [0011]; The suspension system is fixed independently to each of the front wheels 1 of a fork truck, and is activated through a servo system by sensor 4 to control the elevational difference between the front 6 and the rear axle 7 and a sensor fixed to the front axle 5 to control the elevational difference between each of the front and wheel tracks. [0031]) wherein the control unit is configured to:
define a target state of the industrial truck (the vertical height of the wheels has been adjusted in order to maintain the chassis of the truck in a level state [0039]);
receive data from the detection unit (Sensor 4 activates the suspension system on one of the front wheels 1 in order to control the elevation difference between the rear axle and the front wheel 1. At the same time sensor 5 activates the system on the other front wheel 1 thereby maintaining the correct elevation difference between the front wheels 1. [0032]);
determine an actual state of the industrial truck based on the detected the operating parameter of the industrial truck (The suspension system is fixed independently to each of the front wheels 1 of a fork truck, and is activated through a servo system by sensor 4 to control the elevational difference between the front 6 and the rear axle 7 and a sensor fixed to the front axle 5 to control the elevational difference between each of the front and wheel tracks. [0032]; Sensor 4 activates the suspension system on one of the front wheels 1 in order to control the elevation difference between the rear axle and the front wheel 1. At the same time sensor 5 activates the system on the other front wheel 1 thereby maintaining the correct elevation difference between the front wheels 1. [0032]);
calculate effects of possible adjustments of the relative position of the load wheel with respect to the vehicle body on the actual state of the industrial truck (the fork truck is fitted with an active servo-assisted controlled suspension system that enables the wheels of the truck to have at least a degree of automatic height adjustment. Thus, when a truck confronts a bump or a hollow the ride height of the wheel is adjusted to compensate for that irregularity thereby ensuring that the vehicle remains level so that the mast remains vertical to its horizontal axis. Typically, by adjusting one or more of the wheels, the irregularity of the surface of the floor is compensated for and the mast remains vertical in both axes. [0012]; examiner notes that since the process is automatic, it is inherently calculating the effects of the actuators to maintain a level chassis while the ground is dynamically changing under it.); and
instruct the at least one actuator to apply the adjustment to adjust the relative position of the load wheel with respect to the vehicle body to [proactively] counteract the [predicted] vibration of the industrial truck (his invention provides for a system that maintains the levelness of the fork truck and thus stabilizes the verticality of its mast as the truck actively operates at varying speeds encountering and reacting to dynamic influences during the process of locating storage positions in high-rise, narrow aisle racking installations. [0010]) and shift the actual state of the industrial truck to the target state (a system is provided for maintaining the vertical alignment of the mast of a fork truck whilst travelling on undulating and irregular surfaces, which compensates for the irregularity of the floor and associated dynamic forces, by typically adjusting the ride height of one or more wheels automatically, so as to control the tilt of the fork truck between the wheel track and the elevational difference between the front and rear axle. [0011]; By controlling the elevation difference between the front and rear axles as well as that between the front wheel track, the system is designed to maintain the chassis of the fork truck in a level state, both when the vehicle is stationary and in motion. [0033]).
Beckett does not explicitly teach, however Bailey teaches:
a single load wheel axle configured to carry two load wheels lying opposite one another (fig. 2, axle 122 and wheels 112), wherein each of the load wheels stands on a ground (A ground-engaging structure 112 is mounted to both the first axle 120 and the second axle 122. In particular, each ground-engaging structure 112 is a pair of ground-engaging wheels where only one wheel of each pair is visible in FIG. 1. [0095]) and is connected to the single load wheel axle at a center of the load wheel (fig. 2, shows axle 122 connected to wheels 112 at the center.), and wherein the single load wheel axle is suspended on the vehicle body such that the single load wheel axle can pivot about a pivot axle running horizontally perpendicular to the load wheel axle (In the illustrated embodiment, the first axle 120 is an oscillating axle configured to allow the first axle 120 to be pivotable with respect to the machine body 102 about a sway axis 124. The sway axis 124 is perpendicular to both the first axle 120 and the second axle and runs generally through the mid-points of both axles 120, 122; the sway axis 124 being generally aligned with the x-direction in FIG. 1. In FIG. 1, the section of the sway axis 124 that runs through the middle of the working machine 100 is represented as a dotted line in order to indicate that the sway axis 124 is not located to a side of the working machine 100. [0101]) or by means of a resilient element (In alternative embodiments (not shown), the working machine 100 may include independent active suspension (e.g. air suspension) between one or both axles 120, 122 and the machine body 102. For example, the working machine 100 may include independently extendible and retractable dampers proximate each wheel 112. In such embodiments, the active suspension may be actuated to pivot the machine body 102, and therefore the load handling apparatus 104, about the sway axis 124, without requiring the sway actuator 230. [0114]);
at least one actuator (fig. 2, sway actuator 230) arranged between the vehicle body (fig. 2, machine body 102) and the at least one load wheel axle (second axle 122), wherein the actuator is configured and arranged to adjust a relative position of at least one load wheel with respect to the vehicle body by causing the load wheel axle to pivot relative to the vehicle body (The sway actuator 230 is extendible and retractable such that extension of the sway actuator 230 pivots the machine body 102 with respect to the second axle 122 about the sway axis 124 in an anti-clockwise direction indicated by the arrow 235 in FIG. 2. Although not shown, it will be appreciated that retracting the sway actuator 230 would pivot the machine body 102 with respect to the second axle 122 about the sway axis 124 in a clockwise direction in FIG. 2. [0108]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beckett to include the teachings as taught by Bailey with a reasonable expectation of success. Bailey teaches the benefits of “The controller helps to maintain lateral stability of a working machine by limiting lateral roll (i.e. sway) movement of the working machine's load handling apparatus based on the two signals. Advantageously, the controller may use the two signals to permit a movement range through which the load handling apparatus can rotate about the sway axis that is considered safe dependent on the state and position of the machine. Thus, the controller may help to increase the allowable sway range of a working machine to better enable sway operations; e.g. for stacking and de-stacking operations on uneven ground without adding appreciably to the cost and complexity of the working machine. [Bailey, 0010]]”. Bailey is also in the same field of endeavor as Beckett.
Beckett in view of Bailey do not explicitly teach, however Imaoka teaches:
determine an upcoming change in the actual state of the industrial truck based on the current operating parameter of the industrial truck (As illustrated in FIG. 6, the second vibration suppression system 26 includes a vibration generation source detection apparatus 29, such as an optical apparatus, which detects a vibration generation source (disturbance element) 28 such as recesses and projections on the road surface of a traveling path 27 in front of the loading vehicle 1 in the traveling direction or an obstacle on the traveling path 27, a vibration prediction apparatus 30 that analyzes and predicts the degree of vibration generated by the vibration generation source 28 detected by the vibration generation source detection apparatus 29, and, by extension, the degree of load sway [0063]);
calculate effects of possible adjustments of the relative position of the at least one load wheel with respect to the vehicle body on the actual state of the industrial truck (As illustrated in FIG. 9, the vibration suppression system (vibration suppression mechanism) 31 for the loading vehicle according to the present embodiment includes an accelerometer (sensor) 32, such as a piezoelectric element sensor, for detecting a parameter indicating acceleration along the vertical direction of at least one of the vehicle main body 3 and the load handling apparatus 6, the controller (control apparatus) 33 that receives a detection result of the accelerometer 32 and outputs a feedback command based on the detection result of the accelerometer 32, and an actuator (braking force generating apparatus, vibration control actuator) 34 that is provided between the wheels 2 and the vehicle main body 3 and is drive-controlled to suppress vibration of the vehicle main body 3 (and by extension, the load handling apparatus 6 and the load 4) by the feedback command output from the controller 33. [0076]; as illustrated in FIG. 7, the second vibration suppression system 26 includes calculators such as a multiplier 43 and a divider 44 similar to those in the first embodiment, a PID control apparatus 45, a load correction apparatus 46, and a feed-forward controller 47 (the controller 22) that outputs a feed-forward command so as to cancel vibration [0064]) wherein the effects include a predicted vibration (a feed-forward command so as to cancel vibration that is predicted by the vibration prediction apparatus 30 using the vehicle model 42, the vibration acting on the load handling apparatus 6 and the load 4 and being generated by the vibration generation source 28 detected by the vibration generation source detection apparatus 29. [0064]; The controller 33 then issues a feedback command to the actuator 34 to achieve a damping force in the opposite direction from the velocity component so that the calculated velocity component is 0 (zero) [0086]);
determine an adjustment to the at least one actuator (In the vibration suppression system 31 for the loading vehicle 1 and the loading vehicle 1 according to the present embodiment having the above-described configuration, the accelerometer 32 in FIGS. 9 and 10 monitors the sway of the vehicle main body 3 and the like, and the actuator 34 is operated by feedback control accordingly to suppress the vibration. [0078]) to counteract the predicted vibration (The controller 33 then issues a feedback command to the actuator 34 to achieve a damping force in the opposite direction from the velocity component so that the calculated velocity component is 0 (zero) [0086]; the second vibration suppression system 26 includes calculators such as a multiplier 43 and a divider 44 similar to those in the first embodiment, a PID control apparatus 45, a load correction apparatus 46, and a feed-forward controller 47 (the controller 22) that outputs a feed-forward command so as to cancel vibration [0064] [0064]); and
instruct the at least one actuator to apply the adjustment to adjust the relative position of the load wheel with respect to the vehicle body (an actuator (braking force generating apparatus, vibration control actuator) 34 that is provided between the wheels 2 and the vehicle main body 3 and is drive-controlled to suppress vibration of the vehicle main body 3 (and by extension, the load handling apparatus 6 and the load 4) by the feedback command output from the controller 33 [0076]) to proactively counteract the predicted vibration of the industrial truck (The controller 33 then issues a feedback command to the actuator 34 to achieve a damping force in the opposite direction from the velocity component so that the calculated velocity component is 0 (zero) [0086]) and shift the actual state of the industrial truck toward the target state (as illustrated in FIG. 10, the load is transmitted to the vehicle main body 3 (the loading vehicle 1) by the tire-ground contact force and the inertial force due to acceleration/deceleration, and the acceleration detected by the accelerometer 32 is integrated by a calculator 51 to calculate the velocity component in the vertical direction of the vehicle main body 3. [0085]; A feed-forward command to offset the vibration displacement is then output from the controller 22 (the feed-forward controller 47) to control the drive of the actuator 23 based on the feed-forward command. As a result, it is possible to perform control in advance to minimize load sway [0068]); and
at least one damping element (fig. 9, variable damping apparatus 35) arranged for dampening a pivoting movement and vibrations (The controller 33 then issues a feedback command to the actuator 34 to achieve a damping force in the opposite direction from the velocity component so that the calculated velocity component is 0 (zero) [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beckett in view of Bailey to include the teachings as taught by Imaoka with a reasonable expectation of success. Imaoka teaches the benefits that “it is possible to realize an active vibration control system that operates the actuator to dampen vibration based on the skyhook theory, and it is also possible to effectively suppress vibration with a higher response than in the related art. [Imaoka, 0100]”.
Chaillou also teaches:
a single load wheel axle (fig. 4, front axle 5) configured to carry two load wheels lying opposite one another (fig. 4, wheels 7B), wherein each of the load wheels stands on a ground (fig. 1b shows vehicle with wheels on the ground.) and is connected to the single load wheel axle at a center of the load wheel (fig. 4, shows wheels 7b connected in the center directly to the axle.), and wherein the single load wheel axle is suspended on the vehicle body (fig. 4, shows chassis 2 above the axle 5 connected via pivot link 26) such that the single load wheel axle can pivot about a pivot axle running horizontally perpendicular to the load wheel axle (The front axle 5 is also an oscillating axle coupled to the chassis by a pivot link 26 of pivot axis parallel to the longitudinal axis of the machine 1 [page 5]) or by means of a resilient element (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.);
at least one actuator arranged between the vehicle body and the single wheel axle (fig. 4, hydraulic actuator 10), wherein the actuator is configured and arranged to adjust a relative position of at least one load wheel with respect to the vehicle body by causing the load wheel axle to pivot relative to the vehicle body (This hydraulic distributor 17 thus allows the return or exit of the rod or jacks forming the actuator 10 according to the wish of the operator of the machine. The control of this actuator 10 causes a relative pivoting movement of the front axle 5 and of the chassis 2 to the position desired by the operator of the vehicle. [page 7]);
Beckett in view of Bailey and Imaoka does not explicitly teach, however Chaillou teaches:
at least one damping element (fig. 4, dampers 11) arranged for dampening a pivoting movement and vibrations of the single load wheel axle caused by the actuator (one of the dampers allows damping when the front axle 5 pivots in a direction corresponding, for example, to an upward movement of the left front wheel while the other damper allows damping when the axle 5 front pivots in a direction corresponding for example to an upward movement of the right front wheel. [page 5]), the damping element further arranged between the vehicle body and the single load wheel axle (see at least fig. 4 showing dampers connected to the system between the chassis 2 and the axle 5.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beckett in view of Bailey and Imaoka to include the teachings as taught by Chaillou with a reasonable expectation of success. Chaillou teaches the benefits of “to provide a lifting device whose design makes it possible to increase the driving comfort of the driver without compromising the safety of the device. To this end, the subject of the invention is a lifting device comprising a chassis, a lifting arm mounted on said chassis, movable at least pivotally between a high position and a low position, at least one sensor for measuring the inclination of the lifting arm relative to the chassis, said chassis being a rolling chassis equipped with at least one front axle and one rear axle, the rear axle being pivotally mounted about an axis parallel to the longitudinal axis of the vehicle, at least one of the axles being fitted with a suspension, characterized in that the pivoting rear axle is mounted to pivot freely within an angular range delimited by two stops carried by said chassis, in that the front axle is coupled to the chassis by a pivot link with an axis parallel to the longitudinal axis of the machine, in that the suspension equips the front axle to allow the relative pivoting between the front axle and the chassis to be damped, in that said suspension is an activatable/reactivable suspension, and in that said suspension is deactivated at least when the angle value measured by the sensor for measuring the inclination of the lifting arm is greater than a predetermined threshold value [Chaillou, page 3]”.
Regarding claim 4:
Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent:
Beckett further teaches:
wherein the at least one detection unit is associated with the at least one load wheel (Sensor 4 activates the suspension system on one of the front wheels 1 in order to control the elevation difference between the rear axle and the front wheel 1. At the same time sensor 5 activates the system on the other front wheel 1 thereby maintaining the correct elevation difference between the front wheels 1. [0032]).
Regarding claim 5:
Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent:
Beckett further teaches:
wherein the at least one of the detection unit is associated with one or more of the vehicle body, the lifting frame, or a component of the industrial truck connected to the vehicle body or the lifting frame (FIG. 2 is a simplified plan of the chassis 3 of a fork truck according to one embodiment of the present invention. Sensors 4 are fixed to the chassis and allow the elevational difference between the front and back axles 6 and 7 to be evaluated. In addition, sensor 5 is fixed to the chassis axle 6 between the right wheel track and the left wheel track to allow the elevational difference between the front wheels 1 to be evaluated. [0028]).
Regarding claim 6:
Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent:
Beckett further teaches:
wherein at least one spatial characteristic diagram (an electronic profiler that retains a record of surface irregularities [0035]) is stored in the memory unit of the control unit (In this embodiment, the truck has two special parts, namely, an electronic profiler that retains a record of surface irregularities, and an active suspension unit that is fitted so as to be operated via a suitable algorithm to compensate for the irregular surface as reflected by the data stored on the electronic profiler, which contain information regarding all the aisles. The data may be stored on removable data storage media such as flash cards. A tachometer specific to each aisle may be switched on and off at the beginning and end of each aisle automatically. [0035]), wherein the control unit is configured to determine an upcoming change in the actual state of the industrial truck (an active suspension unit that is fitted so as to be operated via a suitable algorithm to compensate for the irregular surface as reflected by the data stored on the electronic profiler, which contain information regarding all the aisles [0035]) based on current movement parameters of the industrial truck (A tachometer specific to each aisle may be switched on and off at the beginning and end of each aisle automatically. [0035]) and the at least one spatial characteristic diagram (a suitable algorithm to compensate for the irregular surface as reflected by the data stored on the electronic profiler [0035]).
Regarding claim 7:
Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent:
Beckett further teaches:
further comprising at least one receiving device configured to receive data from an external means (GPS units allow position determination, although the units presently available for non-military use may be insufficiently accurate. Visible or otherwise detectable markers could be distributed around the warehouse, for example in or above the aisles, or on the ceiling, and suitable optical or other detectors on the truck/simulator could detect them or receive signals from them. [0037]), wherein the data represent information about the position or the surroundings of the industrial truck (The fork truck and the simulator can determine their position via a range of methods [0037]).
Regarding claim 10:
Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou teaches all the limitations of claim 8, upon which this claim is dependent:
Chaillou further teaches:
further comprising at least two actuators spaced apart from one another between the single load wheel axle and the vehicle body (fig. 5, actuators 10 on each size of the chassis 2).
Regarding claim 11:
Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent:
Bailey further teaches:
further comprising a guide unit for mounting the load wheel axle in the plane (fig. 2, pivotable joint 234 as well as other connecting structure shown in fig. 2.), wherein the guide unit is spanned by a vertical direction and an extension direction of the load wheel axle (The pivot joint and mounting structure span across the y and z direction (x and z direction as shown by applicant) which allows the axle to pivot around the x axis but maintains its orientation relative to the other two axes.).
Regarding claim 17:
Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou teaches all the limitations of claim 10, upon which this claim is dependent:
Chaillou further teaches:
further comprising an element for load compensation between the single load wheel axle and the vehicle body (The front axle 5 is also an oscillating axle coupled to the chassis by a pivot link 26 of pivot axis parallel to the longitudinal axis of the machine 1. The realization of a pivoting or oscillating axle allows the wheels of the machine to better follow the soil profile, especially in the case of uneven soil. This front axle 5 is equipped with a suspension 9 to dampen the pivoting movements of the front axle 5 relative to the chassis 2 [page 5]).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckett (US 2006/0182588), herein Beckett in view of Bailey (US 2021/0300744), herein Bailey, Imaoka et. al. (US 2021/0261393), herein Imaoka, and Chaillou (WO 2020043992), herein Chaillou in view of Shah et. al. (US 2019/0194005), herein Shah.
Regarding claim 2:
Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent:
Beckett further teaches:
wherein the at least one detection unit is configured to detect at least one of:
an inclination of the vehicle body relative to one or more of the ground or a horizontal (FIG. 2 is a simplified plan of the chassis 3 of a fork truck according to one embodiment of the present invention. Sensors 4 are fixed to the chassis and allow the elevational difference between the front and back axles 6 and 7 to be evaluated. In addition, sensor 5 is fixed to the chassis axle 6 between the right wheel track and the left wheel track to allow the elevational difference between the front wheels 1 to be evaluated. [0028]); and
Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou does not explicitly teach, however Shah teaches:
one or more of: an acceleration (Robotic system 100 may include sensor(s) 112 arranged to sense aspects of robotic system 100. Sensor(s) 112 may include one or more force sensors, torque sensors, velocity sensors, acceleration sensors, [0064]), a speed (Robotic system 100 may include sensor(s) 112 arranged to sense aspects of robotic system 100. Sensor(s) 112 may include one or more force sensors, torque sensors, velocity sensors, acceleration sensors, [0064]), an inclination of at least one component of the industrial truck (examiner is interpreting this limitations in the alternative.), a load carried by the industrial truck with respect to the ground (examiner is interpreting this limitations in the alternative.), or at least one other component of the industrial truck (examiner is interpreting this limitations in the alternative.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou to include the teachings as taught by Shah with a reasonable expectation of success. This combination is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Shah teaches a robotic fork lift system that incorporates additional sensors to provide a higher level of control versus the teachings of Beckett. Adding additional sensors to allow for better control would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing.
Regarding claim 3:
Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent:
Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou does not explicitly teach, however Shah teaches:
further comprising at least one additional detection unit configured to detect at least one property of the surroundings of the industrial truck and to output corresponding data to the control unit (Sensor(s) 112 may provide sensor data to processor(s) 102 (perhaps by way of data 107) to allow for interaction of robotic system 100 with its environment, as well as monitoring of the operation of robotic system 100. The sensor data may be used in evaluation of various factors for activation, movement, and deactivation of mechanical components 110 and electrical components 116 by control system 118. For example, sensor(s) 112 may capture data corresponding to the terrain of the environment, location and/or identity of nearby objects (e.g., pallets, environmental landmarks), which may assist with environment recognition and navigation. In an example configuration, sensor(s) 112 may include RADAR (e.g., for long-range object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), LIDAR (e.g., for short-range object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), SONAR (e.g., for underwater object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), VICON® (e.g., for motion capture), one or more cameras (e.g., stereoscopic cameras for three-dimensional (3D) vision), a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver, and/or other sensors for capturing information of the environment in which robotic system 100 is operating. Sensor(s) 112 may monitor the environment in real time, and detect obstacles, elements of the terrain, weather conditions, temperature, and/or other aspects of the environment. [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beckett in view of Bailey, Imaoka, and Chaillou to include the teachings as taught by Shah with a reasonable expectation of success. This combination is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Shah teaches a robotic fork lift system that incorporates additional sensors to provide a higher level of control versus the teachings of Beckett. Adding additional sensors to allow for better control would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Scott R. Jagolinzer
Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/S.R.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665