DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-13 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/06/2026 with respect to claims 1-5, 7 and 14-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In re page 7, Applicant states that “This Submission is being filed in response to the Final Office Action mailed November 14, 2024 and the Decision on Appeal of the Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) dated March 6, 2026. The PTAB decision reversed the rejections of claims 6 and 8-13. See PTAB Decision, at 19. Applicant therefore submits that claims 6 and 8-13 are allowable. However, in light of the amendments to independent claims 1 and 14 presented herein, Applicant submits that all of the claims are all in condition for allowance.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. For instance, Kingdon discloses the following: First, recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23. Second, a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25. Also, see paragraphs 21-22, 24, 26, 28-35. From the above passages, Kingdon indeed discloses the following claimed limitations of independent claim 1 that recites “sending, based on a determination that a quantity of requests of the first batch satisfies a threshold quantity of requests, the first batch to a first recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the first batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset; and sending, based on a determination that a quantity of requests of the second batch satisfies the threshold quantity of requests, the second batch to a second recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the second batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset.” See the actual claim rejections further below. As a result, the Applicant’s statements are unsupported by Kingdon.
In fact, Kingdon discloses all the claimed limitations of independent claim 1 that recites “receiving a plurality of requests, wherein each of the plurality of requests comprises a request to store a separate copy of at least a portion of a digital video asset” (see ¶s 21-22 for receiving a plurality of requests, wherein each of the plurality of requests comprises a request to store a separate copy of at least a portion of a digital video asset (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23, furthermore, a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35); “assigning a first subset of the plurality of requests to store the separate copies of the at least the portion of the digital video asset to a first batch of a plurality of batches” (see ¶s 21-23 for assigning a first subset of the plurality of requests to store the separate copies of the at least the portion of the digital video asset to a first batch of a plurality of batches (i.e. a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35); “sending, based on a determination that a quantity of requests of the first batch satisfies a threshold quantity of requests, the first batch to a first recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the first batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset” (see ¶s 21-22 for sending, based on a determination that a quantity of requests of the first batch satisfies a threshold quantity of requests, the first batch to a first recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the first batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23, furthermore, a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35); “assigning a second subset of the plurality of requests to store the separate copies of the at least the portion of the digital video asset to a second batch of the plurality of batches” (see ¶s 21-23 for assigning a second subset of the plurality of requests to store the separate copies of the at least the portion of the digital video asset to a second batch of the plurality of batches (i.e. a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35); “and sending, based on a determination that a quantity of requests of the second batch satisfies the threshold quantity of requests, the second batch to a second recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the second batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset” (see ¶s 21-22 for sending, based on a determination that a quantity of requests of the second batch satisfies the threshold quantity of requests, the second batch to a second recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the second batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23, furthermore, a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35)
Therefore, Kingdon discloses all the claimed limitations of independent claim 1, and the combination of Kingdon and Major discloses all the claimed limitations of independent claim 14 that recites similar features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kingdon et al. (US 2017/0147265 A1)(hereinafter Kingdon).
Re claim 1, Kingdon discloses a method comprising: receiving a plurality of requests, wherein each of the plurality of requests comprises a request to store a separate copy of at least a portion of a digital video asset (see ¶s 21-22 for receiving a plurality of requests, wherein each of the plurality of requests comprises a request to store a separate copy of at least a portion of a digital video asset (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23, furthermore, a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35); assigning a first subset of the plurality of requests to store the separate copies of the at least the portion of the digital video asset to a first batch of a plurality of batches (see ¶s 21-23 for assigning a first subset of the plurality of requests to store the separate copies of the at least the portion of the digital video asset to a first batch of a plurality of batches (i.e. a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35); sending, based on a determination that a quantity of requests of the first batch satisfies a threshold quantity of requests, the first batch to a first recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the first batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset (see ¶s 21-22 for sending, based on a determination that a quantity of requests of the first batch satisfies a threshold quantity of requests, the first batch to a first recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the first batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23, furthermore, a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35); assigning a second subset of the plurality of requests to store the separate copies of the at least the portion of the digital video asset to a second batch of the plurality of batches (see ¶s 21-23 for assigning a second subset of the plurality of requests to store the separate copies of the at least the portion of the digital video asset to a second batch of the plurality of batches (i.e. a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35); and sending, based on a determination that a quantity of requests of the second batch satisfies the threshold quantity of requests, the second batch to a second recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the second batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset (see ¶s 21-22 for sending, based on a determination that a quantity of requests of the second batch satisfies the threshold quantity of requests, the second batch to a second recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the second batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23, furthermore, a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35)
Re claim 2, Kingdon as discussed in claim 1 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature wherein the threshold quantity of requests comprises a predetermined quantity of requests for a batch, and wherein a batch of the plurality of batches satisfies the threshold quantity of requests if the batch comprises a quantity of requests within a range of the predetermined quantity of requests (see ¶s 21-22 for the threshold quantity of requests comprises a predetermined quantity of requests for a batch, and wherein a batch of the plurality of batches satisfies the threshold quantity of requests if the batch comprises a quantity of requests within a range of the predetermined quantity of requests (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraph 24)
Re claim 3, Kingdon as discussed in claim 1 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature further comprising: generating, at the first recording service, an indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch (see ¶s 21-22 for generating, at the first recording service, an indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraph 24); and generating, at the second recording service, an indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch (see ¶s 21-22 for generating, at the second recording service, an indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraph 24)
Re claim 4, Kingdon as discussed in claim 3 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature wherein at least one of the indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch or the indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch comprises at least one of a start time, an end time, a duration, or an identification number (see ¶s 21-22 for at least one of the indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch or the indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch comprises at least one of a start time, an end time, a duration, or an identification number (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23, furthermore, object storage, or object-based storage identifies a storage architecture that stores and manages data as objects, where each object includes a globally unique identifier, data and, metadata corresponding to the data of the object, object-based storage system 104 receives stand-alone client requests, or client requests packaged as batch requests, a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 36, 58)
Re claim 5, Kingdon as discussed in claim 1 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature further comprising: sending, by the first recording service to a first segment recorder, an indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch (see ¶s 21-22 for sending, by the first recording service to a first segment recorder, an indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraphs 24-25, 28-35); sending, by the second recording service to a second segment recorder, an indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch (see ¶s 21-22 for sending, by the second recording service to a second segment recorder, an indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraphs 24-25, 28-35); generating, based on the indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch, and at the first segment recorder, a recording associated with each request of the first batch (see ¶s 21-22 for generating, based on the indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch, and at the first segment recorder, a recording associated with each request of the first batch (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraphs 24-25, 28-35); and generating, based on the indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch, and at the second segment recorder, a recording associated with each request of the second batch (see ¶s 21-22 for generating, based on the indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch, and at the second segment recorder, a recording associated with each request of the second batch (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraphs 24-25, 28-35)
Re claim 7, Kingdon as discussed in claim 1 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature wherein the first recording service is different than the second recording service (see ¶s 22-23 for the first recording service is different than the second recording service (i.e. a recording entity 103 and an object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 21))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kingdon et al. (US 2017/0147265 A1)(hereinafter Kingdon), and further in view of Major (US 2017/0188059 A1)(hereinafter Major).
Re claim 14, Kingdon discloses a method comprising: receiving a plurality of requests, wherein each of the plurality of requests comprises a request to store a separate copy of at least a portion of a digital video asset (see ¶s 21-22 for receiving a plurality of requests, wherein each of the plurality of requests comprises a request to store a separate copy of at least a portion of a digital video asset (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23, furthermore, a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35); assigning a first subset of the plurality of requests to store the separate copies of the at least the portion of the digital video asset to a first batch of a plurality of batches (see ¶s 21-23 for assigning a first subset of the plurality of requests to store the separate copies of the at least the portion of the digital video asset to a first batch of a plurality of batches (i.e. a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35); sending, based on a determination that a quantity of requests of the first batch satisfies a threshold quantity of requests, the first batch to a first recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the first batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset (see ¶s 21-22 for sending, based on a determination that a quantity of requests of the first batch satisfies a threshold quantity of requests, the first batch to a first recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the first batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23, furthermore, a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35); assigning a second subset of the plurality of requests to store the separate copies of the at least the portion of the digital video asset to a second batch of the plurality of batches (see ¶s 21-23 for assigning a second subset of the plurality of requests to store the separate copies of the at least the portion of the digital video asset to a second batch of the plurality of batches (i.e. a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35); and sending the second batch to a second recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the second batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset (see ¶s 21-22 for sending the second batch to a second recording service to cause, for each of the requests of the second batch, storing of the separate copy of the at least the portion of the digital video asset (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23, furthermore, a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 26, 28-35)
Kingdon fails to explicitly teach determining a load associated with the first recording service, based on the load. However, the reference of Major explicitly teaches determining a load associated with the first recording service, based on the load (see ¶ 96 for determining a load associated with the first recording service, based on the load (i.e. the RS-DVR manager 160 assigns the individual RS-DVR systems 162 to recording specific channels or programs corresponding to various recording requests as a function of available capacity and current (and future scheduled) loads on the individual RS-DVR systems 162 as described in fig. 10 paragraph 94))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of Kingdon and Major as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (load) into the system of Kingdon as taught by Major.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of Kingdon as taught by Major for the benefit of having an RS-DVR manager 160 that may support a “cluster group” of RS-DVR systems 162 that are physically located together at a particular data center, where the RS-DVR manager 160 assigns the individual RS-DVR systems 162 to recording specific channels or programs corresponding to various recording requests as a function of available capacity and current (and future scheduled) loads on the individual RS-DVR systems 162, wherein in this capacity, the RS-DVR manager 160 may also identify or otherwise determine the current bandwidth utilization associated with the RS-DVR systems 162, and from there, determine the amount of available backhaul bandwidth associated with the RS-DVR cluster group (i.e., the difference between the allocated backhaul bandwidth and the current utilization) in order to ease the processing time when assigning the individual RS-DVR systems 162 to recording specific channels or programs corresponding to various recording requests as a function of available capacity and current (and future scheduled) loads on the individual RS-DVR systems 162 (see fig. 10 ¶ 94)
Re claim 15, the combination of Kingdon and Major as discussed in claim 14 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein determining the load associated with the first recording service comprises: determining that the first recording service is overloaded with batches. However, the reference of Major explicitly teaches wherein determining the load associated with the first recording service comprises: determining that the first recording service is overloaded with batches (see ¶ 96 for determining the load associated with the first recording service comprises: determining that the first recording service is overloaded with batches (i.e. the RS-DVR manager 160 assigns the individual RS-DVR systems 162 to recording specific channels or programs corresponding to various recording requests as a function of available capacity and current (and future scheduled) loads on the individual RS-DVR systems 162 as described in fig. 10 paragraph 94))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of Kingdon and Major as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (load) into the system of Kingdon as taught by Major.
Per claim 15, Kingdon and Major are combined for the same motivation as set forth in claim 14 above.
Re claim 16, the combination of Kingdon and Major as discussed in claim 14 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Kingdon wherein the second recording service is different than the first recording service (see ¶s 22-23 for the second recording service is different than the first recording service (i.e. a recording entity 103 and an object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 21))
Re claim 17, the combination of Kingdon and Major as discussed in claim 14 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Kingdon wherein the threshold quantity of requests comprises a predetermined quantity of requests for a batch, and wherein a batch of the plurality of batches satisfies the threshold quantity of requests if the batch comprises a quantity of requests within a range of the predetermined quantity of requests (see ¶s 21-22 for the threshold quantity of requests comprises a predetermined quantity of requests for a batch, and wherein a batch of the plurality of batches satisfies the threshold quantity of requests if the batch comprises a quantity of requests within a range of the predetermined quantity of requests (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraph 24)
Re claim 18, the combination of Kingdon and Major as discussed in claim 14 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Kingdon further comprising: sending, by the first recording service to a first segment recorder, an indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch (see ¶s 21-22 for sending, by the first recording service to a first segment recorder, an indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraphs 24-25, 28-35); sending, by the second recording service to a second segment recorder, an indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch (see ¶s 21-22 for sending, by the second recording service to a second segment recorder, an indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraphs 24-25, 28-35); generating, based on the indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch, and at the first segment recorder, a recording associated with each request of the first batch (see ¶s 21-22 for generating, based on the indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch, and at the first segment recorder, a recording associated with each request of the first batch (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraphs 24-25, 28-35); and generating, based on the indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch, and at the second segment recorder, a recording associated with each request of the second batch (see ¶s 21-22 for generating, based on the indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch, and at the second segment recorder, a recording associated with each request of the second batch (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraphs 24-25, 28-35)
Re claim 19, the combination of Kingdon and Major as discussed in claim 18 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Kingdon wherein at least one of the indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch or the indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch comprises at least one of a start time, an end time, a duration, or an identification number (see ¶s 21-22 for at least one of the indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch or the indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch comprises at least one of a start time, an end time, a duration, or an identification number (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23, furthermore, object storage, or object-based storage identifies a storage architecture that stores and manages data as objects, where each object includes a globally unique identifier, data and, metadata corresponding to the data of the object, object-based storage system 104 receives stand-alone client requests, or client requests packaged as batch requests, a batch request, such as batch request 102a, includes information such as a data segment 112 and a copy count 111 to make a specific number of copies of the data segment 112, for example, data segment 112 is two seconds of data corresponding to a particular video of a basketball game, and copy count 111 indicates that five hundred copies of data segment 112 are to be stored in the storage space of object-based storage system 104, for five hundred client devices as described in fig. 1 paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 24, 36, 58)
Re claim 20, the combination of Kingdon and Major as discussed in claim 18 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Kingdon wherein generating the recording associated with each request of the first batch comprises: receiving, at the first segment recorder, at least one segment associated with the indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch, and wherein generating the recording associated with each request of the second batch comprises: receiving, at the second segment recorder, at least one segment associated with the indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch (see ¶s 21-22 for generating the recording associated with each request of the first batch comprises: receiving, at the first segment recorder, at least one segment associated with the indication of segment data for the requests of the first batch, and wherein generating the recording associated with each request of the second batch comprises: receiving, at the second segment recorder, at least one segment associated with the indication of segment data for the requests of the second batch (i.e. recording entity 103 receives one or more client requests and generates one or more batch requests, for example, in a media storage environment, a client device, such as laptop 130c, sends a client request 101a through network 150 to recording entity 103, to record a portion of a particular media item, recording entity 103 aggregates one or more client requests into batch requests, for example, recording entity 103 receives one hundred client requests within a predefined batching time period from one hundred distinct client devices, to record the same two seconds of a particular media item, and translates those one hundred client requests into a single batch request for storage at object-based storage system 104 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 23). Also, see paragraphs 24-25, 28-35)
Conclusion
06/09/2026
/JOSE M. MESA/
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484