Conclusion
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of species II in the reply filed on 05/12/2025 is acknowledged. Applicants argument is persuasive and restriction is withdrawn and claims 1-30 are examined below.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 25, 30 invoke 112(f). Specifically, the following claim limitations invoke 112(f):
means for causing a transformer model to: process the point data to identify a set of points based at least in part on the angular subrange
means for performing an action based at least in part on whether the transformer model indicates that the set of points is associated with the object.
means for performing the action comprises: means for providing, via a user interface and based at least in part on the transformer model indicating that the set of points is associated with the object, an indication associated with the object, wherein the indication indicates at least one of: a location of the object, or a type of the object.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structures described in the specification for the § 112 sixth limitations:
means for causing a transformer model to: process the point data to identify a set of points based at least in part on the angular subrange (lidar in light of specification para 59)
means for performing an action based at least in part on whether the transformer model indicates that the set of points is associated with the object (electronic control unit in light of specification para 63).
means for performing the action comprises: means for providing, via a user interface and based at least in part on the transformer model indicating that the set of points is associated with the object(display, a speaker, a haptic feedback component, an audio or visual indicator, and/or the specification para 29).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-8,12-13,15-17,19,21-23,is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102019122189 A1(SIEGEMUND).
Claim 1,13,19,25 (mutatis mutandis). (Original) SIEGEMUND teaches a method, comprising:
obtaining, by a device, point data from a lidar scanner, wherein the point data is associated with an angular subrange of a polar grid of the lidar scanner (para 8-9 note point cloud and lidar scanner);
causing, by the device, a transformer model to:
process the point data to identify a set of points based at least in part on the angular subrange, analyze the set of points based at least in part on a polar distance between the set of points and an origin of the polar grid (para 12,25 note origin), and indicate whether the set of points is associated with an object (para 20 note object detection using algorithm);
and performing, by the device, an action based at least in part on whether the transformer model indicates that the set of points is associated with the object (para 69 note control vehicle based on object data).
Claim 3,15,21,27 (mutatis mutandis). (Original) Siegemund teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transformer model is trained to determine whether the set of points is representative of the object based at least in part on historical data associated with another object within a feature space that corresponds to a polar cell, of the polar grid, that is defined by the polar distance, wherein the historical data includes one or more historical sets of points that are representative of the other object (para 87 note object, para 69 note algorithm stored in memory, para 93 note the method 200 is evaluated by comparing the objects recognized by the method 200 with the object information present in the extended training data set. See figure 2-3, 5 and note grid cell).
Claim 4,16,22,28 (mutatis mutandis). (Original) Siegemund teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transformer model is trained to determine whether the set of points is representative of the object based at least in part on an arrangement of the set of points within a polar cell of the polar grid, and wherein the transformer model is trained based at least in part on historical sets of points associated with another object within a feature space that corresponds to the polar cell (para 87 note object, para 69 note algorithm stored in memory, para 93 note the method 200 is evaluated by comparing the objects recognized by the method 200 with the object information present in the extended training data set. See figure 2-3, 5 and note grid cell).
Claim 5,17,23,29 (mutatis mutandis). (Original) Siegemund teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transformer model comprises: an encoder that translates polar coordinates of the set of points to object query data; and a decoder that predicts whether the set of points is associated with the object based at least in part on the object query data (para 76- 86 note encoding and also note evaluation algorithm).
Claim 6. (Original) Siegemund teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the object query data comprises three dimensional data that is associated with one or more types of objects, wherein the transformer model is trained to identify the one or more types of objects, and wherein a type of the object is one of the one or more types of objects (para 51 note three dimensional grid, para 69 note classes of objects).
Claim 7. (Original) Siegemund teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the decoder is configured to predict whether the set of points is associated with the object based at least in part on a similarity analysis associated with the object query data and reference data associated with the type of the object (para 20 classify objects).
Claim 8. (Original) Siegemund teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transformer model processes the point data based at least in part on a sequence associated with the polar grid, wherein the sequence indicates an order in which individual subsets of the point data that are associated with corresponding polar cells of the polar grid are to be processed (see abstract. Processing data points in a sequence is inherent).
Claim 12. (Original) Siegemund teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the angular subrange corresponds to a range that is a threshold percentage of 360 degrees (see figure 2-3,5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,14,20,26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102019122189 A1(SIEGEMUND) in view of US 20190033459 A1(Tisdale).
Claim 2,14,20,26 (mutatis mutandis) Siegemund teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transformer model is trained to determine whether the set of points is representative of the object based at least in part on historical data […] wherein the other object and the object are a same type […], and wherein the physical distance is associated with the polar distance (para 87 note object, para 69 note algorithm stored in memory, para 93 note the method 200 is evaluated by comparing the objects recognized by the method 200 with the object information present in the extended training data set ).
SIEGEMUND fails but Tisdale teaches that historical data is associated with another scanner that identified another object in an area that is a physical distance from the other scanner, the other scanner is associated with the lidar scanner (para 50 note reference data and another lidar)
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of SIEGEMUND and Tisdale and modify the device such that historical data is associated with another scanner that identified another object in an area that is a physical distance from the other scanner, the other scanner is associated with the lidar scanner. The motivation to do would be to avoid error by comparing data with historic data (Tisdale para 05).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102019122189 A1(SIEGEMUND) in view of US 20200271788 A1 (Lewis).
Claim 9. (Original) Siegemund teaches the method of claim 8. SIEGEMUND fails to explicitly teach wherein the transformer model is configured to selectively determine whether to process a particular subset of the point data based at least in part on whether a previously processed subset of the point data included at least one point. However, Lewis teaches whether to process a particular subset of the point data based at least in part on whether a previously processed subset of the point data included at least one point (note areas of interest are scanned again and empty areas are skipped.).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of SIEGEMUND and METZLER and modify the device such that it can determine whether to process a particular subset of the point data based at least in part on whether a previously processed subset of the point data included at least one point because such processing flexibility allows improved long-range operation.
Claim(s) 10-11,24,30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102019122189 A1(SIEGEMUND) in view of US 20180181789 A1(METZLER).
Claim 10,18,24,30 (mutatis mutandis). (Original) Siegemund teaches the method of claim 1. SIEGEMUND fails but METZLER teaches wherein performing the action comprises: providing, via a user interface and based at least in part on the transformer model indicating that the set of points is associated with the object, an indication associated with the object, wherein the indication indicates at least one of: a location of the object, or a type of the object (para 88 classification, user).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of SIEGEMUND and METZLER and modify the device such that it can provide, via a user interface and based at least in part on the transformer model indicating that the set of points is associated with the object, and the indication indicates a location or a type of the object. The motivation to do so would be to take immediate action if the classification is incorrect (METZLER para 55).
Claim 11. (Original) Siegemund teaches the method of claim 1, SIEGEMUND fails but METZLER teaches wherein performing the action comprises: obtaining, from a user device and based at least in part on the transformer model indicating that the set of points is not associated with the object, feedback associated with an indication that the set of points is not associated with the object; and retraining the transformer model based at least in part on the set of points and the feedback (METZLER para 88,96-99 note user, feedback and training).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of SIEGEMUND and METZLER and modify the device such that it can retrain the transformer model based on feedback from the user when the set of points is not associated with the object because this can be used as training data in a training procedure providing an improved classifier for a class of interest (METZLER para 85).
Conclusion
/SANJIDA NASER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645