DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2019/070312 filed on 07/29/2019 which claims benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/712,439 filed on 07/31/2018.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
By Applicant’s amendment filed on May 14, 2026, claims 1, 6 and 24 have been amended. Claims 2-5, 7-9, 29 and 30 were previously cancelled. Claims 6, 12-23 and 26-28 and 31-36 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 10-11, 24 and 25 are being examined as they read on the elected species.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the compounds disclosed in Sherer are distinct from the claimed compounds, and the fact that a claimed species or subgenus may be encompassed by a prior art genus is not sufficient by itself to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. Applicant argues that one must make multiple selections from the disclosure of Sherer to arrive at the instant compounds. Applicant argues that the Examiner relies on the compound numbers 553-567 as supplying the motivation for the suggested combinations, but that Sherer does not provide a motivation to look to compound numbers 553-567 from among the other disclosed compounds, nor does Sherer provide a motivation to modify the compounds in the particular way to arrive at the claimed compounds. Applicant argues that Sherer does not teach preferred compounds and provides no motivation to select a lead compound and modify it to arrive at the claimed compounds. Applicant further argues that Sherer does not teach any preference for -OMe as an R1 substituent. Thus Applicant argues that there is no motivation to arrive at a compound as claimed based on the teachings of Sherer.
These arguments are found not persuasive since claim 1 of the instant application claims a compound of formula I-a
wherein R1 is selected as CF3 or OMe; each R4 and R5 is independently -H, -R, halogen, -haloalkyl, -OR, -SR, -CN, -NO2, -SO2R, -SOR, -C(O)R, -CO2R, -C(O)N(R)2, -NRC(O)R, -NRC(O)N(R)2, -NRSO2R, or -N(R)2. Thus the claims of the instant application are drawn to a subgenus fully disclosed in Sherer.
Sherer et al. teaches a compound of formula I-b
wherein ring A is
X is CH2; R1 is -CF3 or -OMe, each R4 and R5 is the same as claimed in the instant claims which is independently -H, -R, halogen, -haloalkyl, -OR, -SR, -CN, -NO2, -SO2R, -SOR, -C(O)R, -CO2R, -C(O)N(R)2, -NRC(O)R, -NRC(O)N(R)2, -NRSO2R, or -N(R)2 , n and p may be 0 ([0066], [0069]-[0071], [0075]-[0076], [0090], [0108] and [0128]). Sherer et al. specifically exemplify compounds having the same core structure as the compounds claimed in the instant claims (see Table 1 compound numbers 553-567). Based on the teachings of Sherer et al., a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to selected any of the compounds disclosed therein with a reasonable expectation of similar success including compounds 553-567 which are taught as being very potent compounds (page 345). The only difference between said compounds 553-567 of Sherer et al. and the claimed compounds is the R1 substituent. However, Sherer et al. specifically teaches throughout that in certain embodiments R1 can be selected as -CF3 or -OMe [0084]-[0085].
Applicant’s elected species has the following structure:
. Sherer et al. specifically discloses compound 553
on page 167.
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and/or similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and/or function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
In the instant case, Sherer specifically teaches that in the place of methyl, R1 may be selected as -H, -CHF2, -CF3, -OMe or -CN [0066]. These teachings of Sherer provide the requisite motivation to make the claimed elected species compound with the expectation that these compounds similar in structure will have similar properties and given the teachings that R1 is variable and can be selected as OMe instead of Me.
Thus even though Sherer discloses alternatives for R1, a prima facie case of obviousness can still be established since picking one of a finite number of known solutions to a known problem is prima facie obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007).
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute -OMe for the methyl group for R1 in the above compound with a reasonable expectation of success since Sherer et al. specifically teaches that -OMe is a suitable substituent for R1. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare compound 553 of Sherer et al. by substituting the R1 position with -OMe to arrive at a compound as claimed.
It must be remembered that "[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect ....the combination is obvious". KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the various combinations of features claimed from within the prior art disclosure to arrive at the instantly claimed subject matter.
Applicant’s argument that one must make multiple selections from the disclosure of Sherer to arrive at the instant compounds is found not persuasive since as detailed above, Sherer specifically discloses compound 553 which differs only in the R1 substituent. Moreover as detailed above, Sherer discloses other compounds falling within the genus of claimed compounds of instant claim 1 (see Table 1 compound numbers 553-567).
With respect to Applicant’s lead compound analysis, the rejected claims do not fall into the paradigm established by the lead compound analysis. Otsuka applied the lead compound analysis in the context of a claim to the specific compound, Ariprazole and was not drawn to a genus claim of thousands of compounds as in the instant fact pattern. Otsuka Pharm. Co., Ltd. v. Sandoz, Inc., 678 F.3d 1280, 1284 (Fed. Cir. 2012). Unlike Otsuka’s claim to a schizophrenia treating composition, the instant rejected claims do not encompass any particular “pertinent properties” or functional requirements nor is the formulation in claim 25 directed to any particular disease. Therefore, even the attempt to apply the lead compound analysis fails because the claims lack one specific activity or function to serve as the target for optimization using a lead compound. See Takeda, 492 F.3d 1353; Otsuka, 678 F.3d at 1285; and Daiichi, 619 F.3d at 1347.
Therefore, the lead compound analysis is inappropriate and rejected in favor of a fact pattern for which the analysis is appropriate. See KSR. Intern. Col. v. Teleflex Inc.,550 US 398, 419 (2007). In addition, as detailed above, consistent with Dillon, the Examiner has identified compound 553 of Sherer as a species structurally similar to the claimed genus of compounds, differing only in the R1 group. The Examiner further recognizes that Sherer suggests generic structures which teach the placement of substituents including -OMe substituents at that position. In response, Applicant has provided no evidence of secondary considerations. Thus, Applicant’s arguments are found not persuasive.
Thus, for reasons of record and for the reasons detailed above, the previous rejection under 35 USC 103 is hereby maintained and reproduced below.
With respect to the double patenting rejections, Applicant argues that the instant claims are non-obvious over, and are patentably distinct from, the claims of the '134 patent and the claims of the co-pending '917 application for at least the reasons discussed above and the double patenting rejections should therefore be withdrawn.
These arguments are found not persuasive for the same reasons as detailed above. Patent ‘134 specifically claims compound 553 and furthermore teaches that R1 may be selected as methyl or -OMe. Thus substituting -OMe for methyl for compound 553 to arrive at the claimed elected species is prima facie obvious for the same reasons as detailed above. In addition, the compounds as claimed are drawn to a subgenus that is fully disclosed in the claims of copending ‘917. Thus Applicant’s arguments are found not persuasive for the same reasons as detailed above.
Accordingly, the previous double patenting rejections are hereby maintained and reproduced below.
This action is FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10-11, 24 and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,629,134 B2 (Provided on IDS). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims of the instant application and the cited claims of ‘134 are drawn to compounds having the following structure
wherein R1 may be selected as -OMe or -CF3 as a suitable alternative for -CH3.
Thus the cited claims of the instant application would be rendered obvious over the cited claims of ‘134.
Claims 1, 10-11, 24 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/923,917 (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0059157 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims of the instant application and the cited claims of copending ‘917 are drawn to the same compounds.
Thus the cited claims of the instant application would be anticipated over the cited claims of copending ‘917.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-11, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherer et al. U.S. Publication No. 2017/0174653 A1 (Provided on IDS).
Claims 1, 10-11, 24 and 25 of the instant application claim a compound for formula I such as
(example 151).
Sherer et al. teaches compounds of formula (I)
[0006] and [0063]-[0126]. Sherer et al. specifically discloses compound 553
(page 167). Sherer et al. further teaches compositions comprising said compounds and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier [0143]-[0157].
Sherer et al. does not specifically exemplify the compound as detailed above.
However, Sherer et al. specifically teaches compound 553:
(page 167). Sherer et al. further teaches exemplary compounds of formula I
are wherein R1 is -H, -CHF2, -CF3, -OMe or -CN [0066].
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute -OMe for the methyl group for R1 in the above compound with a reasonable expectation of success since Sherer et al. specifically teaches that -OMe is a preferred substituent for R1. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare compound 553 of Sherer et al. by substituting the R1 position with -OMe to arrive at the compound as disclosed in the instant application.
Thus the cited claims of the instant application are rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
Conclusion
Claims 6, 12-23, 26-28, 31-36 are withdrawn. Claims 2-5, 7-9 and 29-30 are cancelled. Claims 1, 10-11, 24 and 25 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARA R. MCMILLIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623
KRM