Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to amendments submitted on 2/03/2025. Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but they are moot in view of additional evidence and new prior art.
3. Claims 1-3 and 6-16 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by KUENZI et al. (WO 2018213008 A1) in view of DEPAOLA et al. (WO 2013191705 A1) and further in view of Scoville et al. (US 20190100405 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 6 and 12, KUENZI shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses (see pars. 33-47) methods and their corresponding apparatus system comprising:
advertising a state of an accessing device associated with premises (i.e. obtaining a status of a premises associated access device 510… The status parameters may include a door status parameter 602 and a lock status parameters 604. The door status parameter 602 may depict whether the door 205 is open/closed. The lock status parameter 604 may depict whether the door lock 510 is engaged/disengaged. The remote device 306 evaluates these status parameters 602, 604 and determines whether a person is on their way to an elevator 204 in response to the status parameters 602, 604.);
transmitting the state of the accessing device to a user device (communicating the status of the access device to a user device 208);
receiving, at the accessing device from the user device, or prompting a user of a user device (208), a request along with information provided by a user to call an elevator after transmitting the state (i.e. see Figs. 1-2, controller 206 communicates with user device 208 via user interface 255. The user mobile device 208 may request confirmation through a pop-up within a user interface 255 of the user mobile device 208. In the pop-up on the user mobile device 208 may request for a person to confirm that they are actually heading to the elevator bank prior to transmitting an elevator call request 608, see pars. 38-40, 43),
implicitly discloses (Emphasis added) relaying as an intermediary between the user device and a server, the request and the information to the server for automatically calling the elevator (i.e. If the user mobile device 208 has determined that the person is on their way to an elevator bank to get an elevator 204 then the user mobile device 208 may request confirmation on the user mobile device 208 or automatically transmit an elevator call request 608 to the controller 206 and the controller 206 will call an elevator 204. The user mobile device 208 may request confirmation through a pop-up within a user interface 255 of the user mobile device 208. In the pop-up on the user mobile device 208 may request for a person to confirm that they are actually heading to the elevator bank prior to transmitting an elevator call request 608. Also par. 2, discloses different elevator system configurations have been introduced that allow passengers to indicate a desired destination from outside of an elevator car. Some such systems include a kiosk or passenger interface in a lobby. Passengers can enter desired destinations using the kiosk.),
implicitly discloses (Emphasis added) wherein the server communicates with a third party provider to initiate calling of the elevator based on the information, and wherein the third party provider comprises a service provider external to the premises, (see Figs. 1-4, i.e. the state associated with the access device includes an open state or a closed state of the access device 510; information comprises input provided by the user in response to a pop-up by the user device; the user mobile device 208 may communicate with the controller and/or door lock 510 through the communication module 254. In light of the above disclosure, it is also easily conceivable that the setup server communicates with a third party provider to initiate a call of said elevator based on said information… (see user communication and interface within user mobile device, i.e. “pop-up”, Fig. 2, pars. 36-47… the user mobile device 208 may use GPS and/or any similar location determination system to determine walking speed. In another non-limiting example, the remote device 306 (which may be mobile device 208 in some embodiments) may determine the destination floor as part of the elevator call request 608. The destination floor may be determined in numerous ways including but not limited to: by previous elevator call requests (i.e. go to the same floor the requested before); by the time-of-day (at this time they usually go up; at that time they usually go down or to some floor); by the user selecting a destination floor as part of the pop-up on user interface 255 of the mobile device 208; or by a selected schedule (at this time go here, at that time go there) or by a default floor setting (always select this floor). Alse par. 2 discloses different elevator system configurations have been introduced that allow passengers to indicate a desired destination from outside of an elevator car. Some such systems include a kiosk or passenger interface in a lobby. Passengers can enter desired destinations using the kiosk.).Thus, to the extent that a claim to which it is dependent is not inventive, neither is an inventive claim set forth above.
Although KUEZI implicitly discloses transmitting a request to the access device and receive and provide state information (i.e. "user mobile device" communicates with the "controller"… The communication module 254 may implement one or more communication protocols such as to indicate that the door lock and user mobile device communicate with one another over (see par.40; over a wireless network, such as 802. 1 Ix (WiFi), short-range radio (Bluetooth), cellular, satellite, etc.; and implicitly discloses the server communicates with a third party provider to initiate calling of the elevator based on the information)
However, it is not explicitly shown or disclosed that the user device includes a transceiver configured to advertise a state of the accessing device and a receiver configured to receive, from the transceiver of the accessing device, and a transmitter configured to transmit a request along with the information provided by the user to the accessing device for automatically calling an elevator and/or that the server communicates with a third party provider to initiate calling of the elevator based on the information..
As evidence, DEPAOLA further shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses (see pars. 13-23) the user device (i.e. 32 within 20) includes a transceiver (i.e. 34) configured to advertise a state of the accessing device and a receiver (i.e. 36) configured to receive, from the transceiver of the accessing device, and a transmitter configured to transmit a request along with the information provided by the user to the accessing device for automatically calling an elevator (i.e. an entrance means 38 controls whether an elevator passenger is provided with the required access; the entry device 38 may be a turnstile, for example, to control whether someone is permitted to enter the building, elevator lobby, or restricted area within the building. In such instances, the request indicates a need to enter the building or hallway… A user opens an application to attempt to gain access to the elevator system. At 42, the wireless communication device 32 transmits a request indicating a desire for at least access to an elevator car. The request may be manually initiated by user input or automatically initiated once the associated application is open. The request in some examples includes an indication of the desired destination of the elevator passenger. At 44, the wireless communication device 32 receives an indication of the access credential. At 46, the wireless communication device 32 provides the received access credential to the credential receiver 36 for obtaining the desired access).
DEPAOLA further shows (Figs. 1-4) and implicitly discloses (emphasis added) wherein the server communicates with a third party provider to initiate calling of the elevator based on the information, and wherein the third party provider comprises a service provider external to the premises (pars. 13-27 and 36, i.e. An elevator passenger uses the wireless communication device 32 to provide a request indicating a desire for access to the elevator system. In one example, the request includes an indication of a desired destination of the elevator passenger. The access controller 30 receives the request from the wireless communication device 32. If the request satisfies a selected criterion, such as originating from a recognized wireless communication device 32 or including an identifier of an authorized elevator passenger with the request, the access controller 30 provides an indication of an access credential to the wireless communication device 32…the remote device 306 may communicate over a wireless network, such as 802. l lx (WiFi), short-range radio (Bluetooth), cellular, satellite, etc. In some embodiments, the remote device 306 may include, or be associated with (e.g., communicatively coupled to) a networked element, such as kiosk, beacon, lantern, bridge, router, network node, building intercom system, thermostat, set top box, etc. The networked element may communicate with the door lock 510 using one or more communication protocols or standards. In other embodiments, the door lock 510 may establish communication with a remote device 306 that is not associated with a networked element in the building 202. In example embodiments, the door lock 510 communicates with the remote device 306 over multiple independent wired and/or wireless networks., see also Figs. 1-4).
Thus, given the teaching of DEPAOLA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of KUEZI to include communication protocols such a transceivers, receivers and transmitter as taught by DEPAOLA and to further communicate with a third party provider to initiate calling of the elevator based on the information in order to advise the user when the access credential at least temporarily indicates that the desired access should be granted consequently improving the system reliability as to advise or control the elevator system access when should be limited for security reasons.
Moreover, in light of compact prosecution and added limitations as amendments, Scoville further discloses (par. 30) and shows (Figs. 1-3) an elevator request authorization system is provided and includes a second server configured to grant an elevator use token upon request from a first server registerable with the second server for establishing secure communications between the second server and the first server; and relaying, using the accessing device as an intermediary between the user device and a server, the request and the information to the server through a service network for automatically calling the elevator, wherein the server communicates with a third party provider to initiate calling of the elevator based on the information, and wherein the third party provider comprises a service provider external to the premises (i.e. The elevator request authorization system 20 includes a remote, third party, trusted third party or first server (hereinafter referred to as a “first server”) 21, which may be but is not required to be remote from the building 10 and which is accessible by a mobile or portable computing device (hereinafter referred to as a “mobile device”) 22 of the user and an elevator or second server (hereinafter referred to as a “second server”) 23 that may be remote from or local to the building 10… authorization is provided and includes registering a first server 21 with a second server 23 as a trusted entity for establishing secure communications between the second server 23 and the first server 21 (201), receiving, at the first server 21, an elevator request relating to elevator usage by a user (202), authenticating and authorizing, at the first server, the user and the elevator usage by the user to which the elevator request relates, respectively (203), requesting via the secure communications, by the first server 21, an elevator use token from the second server 23 upon completion of the authenticating and authorizing (204), issuing, by the second server 23, the elevator use token to the first server 21 responsive to the requesting (205) and delivering or forwarding the elevator use token to the user (206). Subsequently, the method may include issuing the elevator request along with the elevator use token from the user to the elevator system 13 (207) and issuing, from the elevator system 13 to the user, a notification in response to the issuance of operation 207 (208),… the first server 21 is registerable with the second server 23 as a trusted entity for establishing secure communications between the second server 23 and the first server 21. Such registration may be conducted prior to the registration of the user with the first server 21 and, if successful, results in the second server 23 issuing an administration key to the first server 21. The administration key could be an encryption key, a digital certificate that is used to validate any hypertext transfer protocol within a connection encrypted by transport layer security (HTTPS) request going from the first server 21 to the second server 23, a token that is included with an application programming interface (API) call to the second server 23 or any other such method of authenticating and validating that a client is trusted by a service. The administration key is subsequently held by the first server 21 and is operable for establishing and supporting secure communications between the first server 21 and the second server 23. see Fig. 2 and pars. 30, 32, 35, 37, 44).
Hence, given the teaching of Scoville, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of KUEZI as modified by DEPAOLA to clearly and explicitly relaying an accessing device intermediary between the user device and a server which communicates with a third party provider to initiate calling of the elevator, so the user can reliably request the elevator using a token from the second server via the secure communications from anywhere (from interior or exterior) upon authentication using an intermediate communication and authorization and to deliver the elevator use token to the user upon receipt, consequently improving the system calling reliability.
In regards to claim 2, KUENZI shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses wherein the state associated with the accessing device includes an open state or a close state of the accessing device (see elements 602/604, door status parameter, Fig. 2, pars. 36-49).
In regards to claim 3, KUENZI shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses wherein the information includes input provided by the user in response to a prompt by the user device (see user communication and interface within user mobile device, i.e. “pop-up”, Fig. 2, pars. 39-47).
In regards to claim 7, KUENZI shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses further comprising, estimating a time by the user device for the user to reach the elevator (see pars. 4-21; 38, 43, 48; i.e. the remote device 306 may determine an estimated time of arrival 610 of the person at the elevator bank and transmit the estimated time of arrival 610 to the controller 206. The controller 206 may utilize the estimated time of arrival 610 to time the elevator call 608 so that an elevator 204 will arrive at about the same time the person arrives at the elevator).
In regards to claim 8, KUENZI shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses wherein the state associated with the accessing device includes an open state or a close state of the accessing device (see elements 602/604, door status parameter, Fig. 2, pars. 36-49).
In regards to claim 9, KUENZI shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses, wherein the information includes input provided by the user in response to a prompt by the user device (see user communication and interface within user mobile device, i.e. “pop-up”, Fig. 2, pars. 39-47).
In regards to claim 10, KUENZI shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses wherein the prompt includes one or more questions posed to the user with respect to the state (see user communication and interface within user mobile device, i.e. “pop-up”, Fig. 2, pars. 39-47).
In regards to claim 11, KUENZI shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses wherein the questions posed to the user include a question related to use of the elevator, a question related to exit from the premises, a question related to a destination floor of the user, or a question related to using any facility in the premises (see user communication and interface within user mobile device, i.e. “pop-up”, Fig. 2, pars. 39-47).
In regards to claim 13, KUENZI shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses wherein the state associated with the accessing device includes an open state or a close state of the accessing device (see elements 602/604, door status parameter, Fig. 2, pars. 36-49).
In regards to claim 14, KUENZI shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses wherein the information includes input provided by the user in response to a prompt by the user device (see user communication and interface within user mobile device, i.e. “pop-up”, Fig. 2, pars. 36-47).
In regards to claim 15, KUENZI shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses wherein the prompt includes one or more questions posed to the user with respect to the state (see user communication and interface within user mobile device, i.e. “pop-up”, Fig. 2, pars. 36-47).
In regards to claim 16, KUENZI shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses wherein the questions posed to the user include a question related to use of the elevator, a question related to exit from the premises, a question related to a destination floor of the user (par. 43), or a question related to using any facility in the premises (see user communication and interface within user mobile device, i.e. “pop-up”, Fig. 2, pars. 33-47).
Related Prior Arts
6. The following related prior arts made of record are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure to further show the general state of the art and may be applied alone or in combination for rejection of the claims.
WANG (CN 108275547 A) discloses an elevator emergency communication management system and method, wherein the system comprises a lift car is set in the communication terminal, the lift machine room main machine, the first maintenance main communication terminal, cloud service centre, a second maintenance body communication terminal and a third party elevator management platform, the communication terminal host in the car connected with the elevator machine room, cloud service centre respectively connected with the communication terminal in the car, the first maintenance body communication terminal and a third party elevator management platform third party elevator management platform, third party elevator management platform third party elevator management platform and the first maintenance body communication terminal and communication terminal main body connected with the second maintenance. cloud service centre comprises an access server, a data server and a management terminal. The invention combines the traditional call line and third party elevator management platform third party elevator management platform through the wireless communication network of the telecom operator, establishing a multi-effective contact of platform, realizing data connection.
Conclusion
/Jorge L Carrasquillo/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837