FINAL ACTION
Amendments and Status of the Claims
2. The supplemental reply filed on 21 August 2026 was not entered because supplemental replies are not entered as a matter of right except as provided in 37 CFR 1.111(a)(2)(ii). The supplemental reply is clearly not limited to placement of the application in condition for allowance, nor does it simplify issues for appeal. In addition, the amendments in the supplemental response repeat amendments already made in the response filed 12 August 2026, and therefore are non-compliant amendments.
3. This action is therefore in response to papers filed 12 August 2026 in which claims 39-41, 49, 57, 59, and 66 were amended, no claims were canceled, and no new claims were added. The amendments filed 12 August 2026 have been thoroughly reviewed and entered.
All previous objections and/or rejections not reiterated below are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments have been thoroughly reviewed and are addressed following the rejections necessitated by the amendments.
4. Claims 39-41, 44-45, 48-49, and 57-69 are under prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 58, 62, and 68-69 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A. The term “complex” in 58 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “complex” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
B. Claim 62 is indefinite in the recitation “the device,” which lacks antecedent basis in the previous recitation of a “sample collection device.”
C. Claim 68 is indefinite in each of the following:
I. The recitation “the plurality of elongated fibers,” which lacks antecedent basis because claim 57 does not recite a “plurality of elongated fibers.”
II. The recitation “the tip portion,” which lacks antecedent basis because there is no previous recitation of a “tip portion.”
D. Claim 69 is indefinite in the recitation “the device,” which lacks antecedent basis in the previous recitation of a “sample collection device.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 39, 41, 57-60, and 63-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apte et al. (PCT International Application Publication No. WO 2015/112352 A2, published 30 July 2015) and Hostettler et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2011/0127177 A1, published 2 June 2011).
Regarding claim 39, Apte et al. teach methods comprising characterizing a microbiome in a subject (i.e., a human; paragraph 0003) comprising providing a kit to a location that is remote from the sample processing network (Abstract), which is then returned to or processing and analysis (paragraph 0013), wherein the kit includes a substantially cylindrical container (i.e. a tube; paragraph 0005) containing a collection element comprising a support body and a collection portion (i.e., a swab; paragraph 0005 and Figure 4b). Apte et al. also teach the swab is used to obtain a fecal or genital sample (paragraph 0008), which is then received in a sample container (paragraph 0010) and further received from the collection site, followed by sequencing the nucleic acid material to generate a microbiome sequence dataset, identifying the microorganisms therein, generating an analysis therefrom, and communicating (i.e., transmitting) the analysis to the subject (i.e., individual; Abstract). Apte et al. further teach the methods have the added advantage of allowing identification of a number of health and disease related states (paragraph 0003). Thus, Apte et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
While Apte et al. teach the kit facilitates drying (i.e., lyophilization; paragraph 0016) of the sample, and that the collection element (i.e., swab) is in the substantially cylindrical container (i.e., tube; Figure 4b), Apte et al. do not teach the drying agent is within the sample collection device.
However, Hostettler et al. teach methods wherein cylindrical test tube 40 comprises a sample collection device, in the form of swab 19 (paragraph 0043), contained therein, wherein the test tube 40 further comprises drying agent 46 (Figure 3 and paragraph 0049). Hostettler et al. further teach the methods have the added advantage of being more rapid and effective at drying samples (paragraph 0007). Thus, Hostetter et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
It is also noted that the courts have held that any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930); Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959)). See MPEP §2144.04 IV C. Thus, any order of steps is an obvious variant of the steps of the cited prior art.
MPEP 716.01(c) makes clear that “[t]he arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record” (In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965)). Thus, counsel’s mere arguments cannot take the place of evidence in the record.
It is noted that the Response above should not be construed as an invitation to file an after final declaration. See MPEP 715.09.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the cited prior art to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in a method having the added advantages of allowing identification of a number of health and disease related states as explicitly taught by Apte et al. (paragraph 0003) and providing more rapid and effective drying of samples as explicitly taught by Hostetter et al. (paragraph 0007). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques of the cited prior art could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques of the cited prior art predictably result in methods and devices suitable for sample collection.
Regarding claim 41, the method of claim 39 is discussed above. Apte et al. teach the sequencing is whole genome sequencing (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 57, Apte et al. teach methods comprising characterizing a microbiome in a subject (i.e., a human; paragraph 0003) comprising providing a kit to a location that is remote from the sample processing network (Abstract), which is then returned to or processing and analysis (paragraph 0013), wherein the kit includes a substantially cylindrical container (i.e. a tube) containing a collection element comprising a support body and a collection portion (i.e., a swab; paragraph 0005 and Figure 4b). Apte et al. also teach the swab is used to obtain a vaginal or fecal sample (paragraph 0008), which is then received in a sample container (paragraph 0010) and further received from the collection site, followed by sequencing the nucleic acid material to generate a microbiome sequence dataset, identifying the microorganisms therein, generating an analysis therefrom, and transmitting the analysis to the subject (i.e., individual; Abstract). Apte et al. further teach the methods have the added advantage of allowing identification of a number of health and disease related states (paragraph 0003). Thus, Apte et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
While Apte et al. teach the kit facilitates drying (i.e., lyophilization; paragraph 0016) of the sample, and that the collection element (i.e., swab) is in the substantially cylindrical container (i.e., tube; Figure 4b), Apte et al. do not teach the drying agent is within the sample collection device.
However, Hostettler et al. teach methods wherein cylindrical test tube 40 comprises a sample collection device, in the form of swab 19 (paragraph 0043), contained therein, wherein the test tube 40 further comprises drying agent 46 (Figure 3 and paragraph 0049). Hostettler et al. further teach the methods have the added advantage of being more rapid and effective at drying samples (paragraph 0007). Thus, Hostetter et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
It is also reiterated that the courts have held that any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. Thus, any order of steps is an obvious variant of the steps of the cited prior art.
Applicant is again cautioned to avoid merely relying upon counsel’s arguments in place of evidence in the record, and that the Response above should not be construed as an invitation to file an after final declaration.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the cited prior art to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in a method having the added advantages of allowing identification of a number of health and disease related states as explicitly taught by Apte et al. (paragraph 0003) and providing more rapid and effective drying of samples as explicitly taught by Hostetter et al. (paragraph 0007). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques of the cited prior art could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques of the cited prior art predictably result in methods and devices suitable for sample collection.
Regarding claim 58, the method of claim 39 is discussed above. Apte et al. teach the sample comprises a complex community of microorganisms; namely, the sample comprises multiple microorganisms (paragraph 00117 and Figure 15A).
Regarding claims 59-60, the method of claim 39 is discussed above Hostetter et al. teach the drying agent is substantially composed of silica (paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 63, the method of claim 57 is discussed above. Apte et al. teach the nucleic acid material is from a microorganism present in the microbiome of a subject (Abstract).
Regarding claim 64, the method of claim 57 is discussed above. Apte et al. teach the sequencing is whole genome sequencing (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 65, the method of claim 57 is discussed above. Apte et al. teach the support body (i.e., the body of the swab) comprises a longitudinal extension, in the form of an elongated shaft relative to the end (Figure 4b), as do Hostettler et al. (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 66, the method of claim 57 is discussed above Hostetter et al. teach the drying agent is silica (paragraph 0011).
10. Claims 40, 62, and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apte et al. (PCT International Application Publication No. WO 2015/112352 A2, published 30 July 2015) and Hostettler et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2011/0127177 A1, published 2 June 2011) as applied to claims 39 and 57 above, and further in combination with Bajaj et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0179726 A1, published 26 June 2014).
Regarding claims 40, 62, and 69, the methods of claims 39 and 57 are discussed above in Section 9.
While Apte et al. teach gut sample (paragraph 0005), neither Apte et al. nor Hostettler et al. teach the fecal sample is representative of microorganisms in the gut.
However, Bajaj et al. teach methods wherein fecal (i.e., stool) samples are taken to characterize (i.e., obtain a signature of) the gut microbiome of a patient, which has the added advantage of assessing the presence or risk of development of encephalopathy in a patient with liver disease (paragraph 0010). Thus, Bajaj et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the cited prior art with those of Bajaj et al. to arrive at the instantly claimed methods with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in methods having the added advantage of assess in the presence or risk of development of encephalopathy in a patient with liver disease as explicitly taught by Bajaj et al. (paragraph 0010). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques Bajaj et al. could have been combined with the cited prior art with predictable results because the known techniques of Bajaj et al. predictably result in methods useful for assessing disease states, which is a stated goal of Apte et al. (paragraph 0003).
11. Claims 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apte et al. (PCT International Application Publication No. WO 2015/112352 A1, published 30 July 2015) and Hostettler et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2011/0127177 A1, published 2 June 2011) as applied to claim 39 above, and further in combination with Triva (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2012/0171712 A1, published 5 July 2012).
Regarding claim 44, the method of claim 39 is discussed above in Section 9.
The previously cited prior art does not teach the swab terminates in a non-absorbent surface.
However, Triva teaches methods using swabs having non-absorbent material on the end, which as the added advantage of allowing quantitative release of the sample (paragraph 0017). Thus, Triva teaches the known techniques discussed above.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the cited prior art with those of Triva to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in a method having the added advantage of allowing quantitative release of the sample as explicitly taught by Triva (paragraph 0017). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques Triva could have been combined with the cited prior art with predictable results because the known techniques of Triva predictably result in methods useful for collecting samples.
Regarding claim 45, the method of claim 44 is discussed above. Hostettler et al. teach the drying agent 46 is in container 40 (Figure 3 and paragraph 0049).
12. Claims 48-49 and 67-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apte et al. (PCT International Application Publication No. WO 2015/112352 A1, published 30 July 2015) and Hostettler et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2011/0127177 A1, published 2 June 2011) as applied to claims 39 and 57 above, and further in combination with Triva (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2012/0150088 A1, published 14 June 2012; hereafter “Triva2”).
Regarding claims 48-49 and 67-68, the methods of claims 39 and 57 are discussed above in Section 9.
The previously cited prior art does not teach the swab comprises elongated fibers.
However, Triva2 teaches methods using swabs having fibers with a long nap (i.e., the elongated fibers of claims 48 and 67; paragraph 0021). The fibers are also hydrophilic (i.e., claims 49 and 68; Abstract), and have the added advantage of allowing rapid absorption of the specimen to be collected (paragraph 0003). Thus, Triva2 teaches the known techniques discussed above.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the cited prior art with those of Triva2 to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in a method having the added advantage of allowing rapid absorption of the specimen to be collected as explicitly taught by Triva2 (paragraph 0003). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques Triva2 could have been combined with the cited prior art with predictable results because the known techniques of Triva2 predictably result in methods useful for collecting samples.
13. Claim 61 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apte et al. (PCT International Application Publication No. WO 2015/112352 A1, published 30 July 2015) and Hostettler et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2011/0127177 A1, published 2 June 2011) as applied to claim 39 above, and further in combination with Sangha (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2012/0220042 A1, published 30 August 2012).
Regarding claim 61, the method of claim 39 is discussed above in Section 9.
The previously cited prior art does not teach the drying agent is in a packet.
However, Sangha teaches methods wherein swab 14 is stored in a tube, in the form of a desiccant chamber, having packets of desiccant 36 therein (Figure 4 and paragraph 0045), which have the added advantage of achieving early stabilization of specimens (Abstract). Thus, Sangha teaches the known techniques discussed above. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the cited prior art with those of Sangha to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in a method having the added advantage of achieving early stabilization of specimens as explicitly taught by Sangha (Abstract). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques Sangha could have been combined with the cited prior art with predictable results because the known techniques of Sangha predictably result in methods useful for collecting samples.
Response to Arguments
14. Applicant's arguments filed 12 August 2026 (hereafter the “Remarks”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons discussed below.
It is noted that Applicant’s arguments filed 21 August 2026 contains the same arguments as the Remarks, in addition to further arguments pertaining to the amendments in the supplemental reply. Those arguments unique to the supplemental reply are not considered as the supplemental reply was not entered.
A. Pages 6-7 of the Remarks discuss the amendments, as well as objections and new matter rejections that are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
B. Pages 7-9 of the Remarks discuss the previous indefiniteness rejections.
With respect to the claimed “complex” community of claim 58, Applicant argues that the ordinarily artisan would understand the cited term, alleging that the term is “commonly understood.”
Applicant has presented no evidence to support this argument. As noted above, Applicant cannot merely rely upon counsel’s arguments in place of evidence in the record. Therefore, the argument is not convincing.
It is reiterated that the Response above should not be construed as an invitation to file an after final declaration.
In addition, while Applicant argues that the term is supported by the surrounding claim language, claim 58 does not contain any other claim language. Claim 39, upon which claim 58 depends, merely recites a “microorganism portion,” and a “set” of microorganisms, but offers no guidance as to the metes and bounds of a “complex” community.
In response to Applicant's argument that the specification provides relevant terminology, the specification does not provide and guidance as to the metes and bounds of a “complex” community.
Further, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus, given that there is no limiting definition of the claimed “complex” community, and that any tangential description in the specification cannot be read into the claims, the rejection is maintained.
C. It is also noted that Applicant has not amended claims 62 and 68-69; therefore, the indefiniteness rejections are maintained.
D. The remaining indefiniteness rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
E. Applicant argues on pages 9-10 of the Remarks that Apte et al. rely upon a fundamentally different preservation approach, as the collection device of Apte et al. allegedly requires reagents therein.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., a container having no chemicals or reagents) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
F. Applicant argues on page 10 that Apte et al. do not teach the claimed dry fecal/gut microbiome workflow. Thus, Applicant argues Apte et al. individually.
In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Specifically, as noted in the rejections above, Hostettler et al. teach the claimed drying agent.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., a container having no chemicals or reagents) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Specifically, it is noted that the claim does not actually include “gut” microbiome workflow, nor does the claim require the claimed drying agent to actively dry anything or produce a modified sample having any particular level of dryness. Therefore, any collection device comprising silica, which is a specifically claimed drying agent in claims 59-60 and 66, meets the requirements of the claimed “drying agent.”
Thus, contrary to Applicant’s assertions on pages 10-11 of the Remarks, the prior art of Hostettler et al. does remedy the alleged deficiencies of Apte et al.
G. In response to Applicant's argument on page 12 of the Remarks that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
H. In response to Applicant’s argument on page 12 of the Remarks that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the specific rationale for combining the references is articulated above..
In addition, it is also noted that the Supreme Court ruling for KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc. (No 04-1350 (US 30 April 2007) forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See Ex parte Smith (USPQ2d, slip op. at 20 (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007).
I. In response to Applicant's argument on pages 12-13 of the Remarks that there is no reasonable expectation of success, Applicant has provided no evidence to support this assertion.
Applicant is again cautioned to avoid merely relying upon counsel’s arguments in place of evidence in the record, and that the Response above should not be construed as an invitation to file an after final declaration.
J. With respect to Applicant’s arguments on pages 12-13 of the Remarks regarding evidence of non-obviousness, Applicant cited “[t]he Examples, but does not provide and specific citations to support the assertion of non-obviousness.
In addition, Applicant’s arguments rely on dry workflow, which is addressed above.
Further, Example 1 provides no details to correlate to the methods as claimed.
Example 2 is limited to a stool sample, whereas the claims also encompass genital samples, and comprise multiple steps not recited in any of the instant claims (freezing, storage, specific sample size, etc.).
In short, there is no evidence in the Examples that the methods performed therein are commensurate in scope with the instant claims. Therefore, the method having the alleged unexpected results is not commensurate in scope with the instant claims. See MPEP 716.02(d).
Applicant is again cautioned to avoid merely relying upon counsel’s arguments in place of evidence in the record, and that the Response above should not be construed as an invitation to file an after final declaration.
K. Applicant’s remaining arguments rely on alleged deficiencies previously addressed, which are unpersuasive for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, the claims remained rejected based on the prior art citations presented in in the rejections above.
Conclusion
15. No claim is allowed.
16. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Robert T. Crow
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/Robert T. Crow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683