DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are currently pending and examined below. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 5-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 11 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 contains a newly amended subject matter that was not in claim 2 filed 11/12/2025 “wherein the navigation processor and the control processor that are functionally independent from one another… receiving the movement information representing the planned movement plan… generating the control signals based on the movement information”. There should be proper underlining for a newly amended subject matter.
Claim 11 contains a newly amended subject matter that was not in claim 11 filed 11/12/2025 “wherein if the safety processor judges that the planned movement will or could cause the hazardous situation, the safety processor rejects or modifies the planned movement”. There should be proper underlining for a newly amended subject matter.
Claim 13 contains a newly amended subject matter that was not in claim 13 filed 11/12/2025 “wherein if the safety processor judges that the planned movement will or could cause the hazardous situation, the safety processor rejects or modifies the planned movement”. There should be proper underlining for a newly amended subject matter.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 10, the recitation “movement sensor” lacks proper antecedent basis. The recitation of “movement sensor” first appeared in claim 9. It appears claim 10 should depend on claim 9 to correct the lack of antecedent basis for the recitation of “movement sensor”. The scope of the invention is thus indefinite.
In claims 11 and 13, the recitation “could cause a hazardous situation” is unclear. It is unclear because “could” is subjective, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to reasonably appraise at what degree “could” cause a hazardous situation. The scope of the invention is thus indefinite.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi (US 20240201381 A1) in view of Mustafic et al. (US 20180247544 A1; hereinafter Mustafic).
Regarding claim 1, Afrouzi discloses:
An autonomous mobile robot (robotic device 100; Figs. 1A-1C), comprising:
a drive (processor/controller; [0020]) that receives control signals and that moves the robot in accordance with the control signals (a processor and/or controller that processes and/or controls motors, methods, and operations; [0020]);
a navigation sensor that captures navigation features (cameras, LIDAR, LADAR, stereo imaging, signal detectors and receivers, gyroscope, optical encoder, optical flow sensor, depth sensors and other devices may be used to capture information that the processor of the robotic device may use to localize itself within an internal map of the working environment; [0024]);
further sensors (sensors for detecting obstacles, types of flooring, cliffs, system status, temperature, and the like or sensors for measuring movement; [0020]);
one or more processors (a processor and/or controller that processes and/or controls motors, methods, and operations; [0020]); and
one or more storage media including program instructions executable by the one or more processor such that the one or more processors perform operations (computer-readable medium for storing computer-readable code; [0019]-[0020]) comprising:
receiving navigation information from the navigation sensor (collect observations to determine optimal route for navigating through a working environment; [0024]);
planning a movement for the robot based on the received navigation information (determine optimal route for navigating through a working environment; [0024]);
receiving movement information representing the planned movement plan (determine optimal route for navigating through a working environment; [0024]);
generating the control signals based on the movement information (command a robotic device to navigate; [0025]);
monitoring the robot's movements independent of the navigation information (become stuck, unable to navigate away from the issue; [0026]);
detecting hazardous situations (when a robotic device encounters an operational hazard in the work environment, data pertaining to the operational hazard may be compiled by one or more processors of a robotic device and stored in a memory of the robotic device to be utilized for future use; [0025]);
wherein the planning of the movement for the robot by the one or more processors is based on both the navigation information from the navigation sensor and pre-processed sensor information (a robotic device navigates based an aggregate map containing data representative of successfully completing operations, presence or absence of operational hazards, debris, obstacles, work surface types, and the like; [0031]);
wherein the one or more processors further include a control processor (control system; [0021]) that receives the movement information and generates the control signals based on the movement information ([0021] the control system may respond by commanding the robotic device to move in a specific direction).
Afrouzi does not specifically disclose:
wherein the one or more processors include a safety processor that verifies the movement information received by the one or more processors to determine, while considering current sensor data received from the further sensors, whether a current movement will cause a hazardous situation of the detected hazardous situations,
wherein, if the movement information leads to a safe current movement, the safety processor transfers the movement information to the control processor, and in the event of an unsafe current movement, the safety processor changes or rejects the movement information before it is transferred to the control processor.
However, Mustafic discloses:
wherein the one or more processors include a safety processor that verifies the movement information received by the one or more processors to determine, while considering current sensor data received from the further sensors ([0168] “flight controller 920 may receive and process information from onboard sensors”), whether a current movement will cause a hazardous situation of the detected hazardous situations ([0168] “e.g., to avoid a collision”),
wherein, if the movement information leads to a safe current movement, the safety processor transfers the movement information to the control processor ([0168] “to maintain the UAV 105 on the pre-programmed flight route”), and in the event of an unsafe current movement, the safety processor changes or rejects the movement information before it is transferred to the control processor ([0168] “to deviate from the pre-programmed flight route (e.g., to avoid a collision) … The flight controller 920 may generate control signals that cause the mobility controller 910 to fly the UAV 105 along a route specified by the control signals, which may or may not differ from the pre-programmed flight route”).
Afrouzi and Mustafic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of mobile robot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Afrouzi’s mobile robot to further incorporate Mustafic’s mobile robot for the advantage of maintaining or deviating from flight route which results in collision prevention (Mustafic’s [0168]).
Regarding claim 2, Afrouzi discloses:
wherein the one or more processors includes a navigation processor (navigation system; [0021]), wherein the navigation processor and the control processor (control system; [0021]) that are functionally independent from one another;
wherein the navigation processor performs operations comprising:
receiving the navigation information from the navigation sensor (collect observations to determine optimal route for navigating through a working environment; [0024]); and
planning the movement for the robot based on the received navigation information (determine optimal route for navigating through a working environment; [0024]);
wherein the control processor further performs operations comprising:
receiving the movement information representing the planned movement plan (determine optimal route for navigating through a working environment; [0024]);
receiving the further sensor information from the further sensors (become stuck, unable to navigate away from the issue; [0026]);
pre-processing the further sensor information (maps indicating obstructions at a given height may be encoded in vector graphic formats, bitmap formats, or other formats; [0034]); and
supplying the pre-processed sensor information in a pre-defined format to the navigation processor (use the floor plan map to autonomously navigate the environment during operation, e.g., accessing the floor plan to determine that a candidate route is blocked by an obstacle denoted in the floor plan, to select a route with a route-finding algorithm from a current point to a target point, or the like.; [0035]);
generating the control signals based on the movement information (use the floor plan map to autonomously navigate the environment during operation, e.g., accessing the floor plan to determine that a candidate route is blocked by an obstacle denoted in the floor plan, to select a route with a route-finding algorithm from a current point to a target point, or the like.; [0035]);
wherein the pre-defined format for the pre-processed sensor information is independent of implementation of the further sensors (maps created in different formats is different from sensor information indicated features of work environment; [0033]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Afrouzi discloses:
wherein the one or more processors has a clock generator, with the clock generators being synchronized (a processor and/or controller that processes and/or controls one or more clock or synchronizing devices; [0020]),
wherein the pre-defined format for the pre-processed sensor information comprises a timestamp assigned to the pre-processed sensor information, and wherein the movement information comprises a timestamp, which is assigned to the planned movement (the comprehensive map may contain data suggestive of trends in the work environment. In embodiments, for example, trends regarding operational hazards such as the type of hazard encountered, location of hazard encountered, how often a hazard or hazards are encountered, the date and or time a hazard was encountered and the like data may be utilized for creating a coverage plan; [0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Afrouzi discloses:
the one or more storage media includes a first storage device or storage area and a second storage device or storage areas (the instructions may be distributed on different storage devices associated with different computing devices, for instance, with each computing device having a different subset of the instructions; [0041]);
wherein the first processor executes navigation software stored on the first storage device or storage area which uses a map of an environment of the robot (memory for floor plan map; [0035], [0041]);
wherein the second processor executes control software stored on the second storage device or storage area (Robots or robotic devices may also include a control module for storage of operation modes, command responses to the observed environment or user input, and the like.; [0020], [0045]).
Regarding claim 6, Afrouzi discloses:
wherein the navigation software, when executed on the first processor, causes the first processor to create a map of the environment of the robot based on the information received from the navigation sensor (the control system may receive image data of the observed environment, process the data, and use it to create a map of the environment; [0021]) and determine a position and orientation of the robot on the map (once an aggregate map is generated, a robotic device may be controlled or directed to navigate or operate in locations in a work area based on the values of the portions or cells in the aggregate map; [0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Afrouzi discloses:
wherein the robot further comprises a communication interface that enables communication with external devices, particularly for providing map information and status information of the robot (utilizing a user interface of a communication device paired with the robotic device, such as a mobile device, laptop, tablet, smartphone, or the like, preferences may be set for the robotic device; [0038]).
Regarding claim 8, Afrouzi discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise implementing the planning of the movement for the robot depending on commands which have been received via the communication interface (utilizing a user interface of a communication device paired with the robotic device, such as a mobile device, laptop, tablet, smartphone, or the like, preferences may be set for the robotic device, utilizing an application of a communication device path learning may be initiated and completed, path planning may be set, operational functions may be selected, scheduling information may be selected, and the like; [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Afrouzi discloses:
wherein the further sensors comprise:
a safety sensor, which captures information regarding a direct environment of the robot (detecting operational hazards in the work environment; [0021]-[0022]), a movement sensor, which captures information regarding a current movement of the robot (sensors for measuring movement; [0020]), a status sensor, which captures information regarding a status of the robot (the robotic device may become stuck and inoperable; [0022]), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 10, Afrouzi discloses:
wherein the movement sensor is an odometry sensor (odometer sensors; [0020]), and
wherein the pre-processed sensor data contains information which depends on the sensor signals supplied by the odometry sensor (odometer sensors; [0020]).
Regarding claim 11, Afrouzi does not specifically disclose:
wherein if the safety processor judges that the planned movement will or could cause the hazardous situation, the safety processor rejects or modifies the planned movement.
However, Mustafic discloses:
wherein if the safety processor judges that the planned movement will or could cause the hazardous situation ([0168] “e.g., to avoid a collision”), the safety processor rejects or modifies the planned movement ([0168] “to deviate from the pre-programmed flight route (e.g., to avoid a collision) … The flight controller 920 may generate control signals that cause the mobility controller 910 to fly the UAV 105 along a route specified by the control signals, which may or may not differ from the pre-programmed flight route”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Afrouzi’s mobile robot to further incorporate Mustafic’s mobile robot for the advantage of maintaining or deviating from flight route which results in collision prevention (Mustafic’s [0168]).
Regarding claim 12, Afrouzi discloses:
A method for an autonomous mobile robot (robotic device 100; Figs. 1A-1C), which comprises:
planning, using one or more processors, a movement for the robot based on navigation information (collect observations to determine optimal route for navigating through a working environment; [0024]) which is supplied to the one or more processors by a navigation sensor, which captures navigation features (cameras, LIDAR, LADAR, stereo imaging, signal detectors and receivers, gyroscope, optical encoder, optical flow sensor, depth sensors and other devices may be used to capture information that the processor of the robotic device may use to localize itself within an internal map of the working environment; [0024]);
generating, using the one or more processors, control signals for a drive of the robot based on the planned movement information (command a robotic device to navigate; [0025]);
monitoring, using the one or more processors, the robot's movements independent of the navigation information (become stuck, unable to navigate away from the issue; [0026]);
detecting hazardous situations (when a robotic device encounters an operational hazard in the work environment, data pertaining to the operational hazard may be compiled by one or more processors of a robotic device and stored in a memory of the robotic device to be utilized for future use; [0025]); and
receiving further sensor information from further sensors (sensors for detecting obstacles, types of flooring, cliffs, system status, temperature, and the like or sensors for measuring movement; [0020]), pre-processing the further sensor information (maps indicating obstructions at a given height may be encoded in vector graphic formats, bitmap formats, or other formats; [0034]), and providing pre-processed sensor information in a pre-defined format to the one or more processors (use the floor plan map to autonomously navigate the environment during operation, e.g., accessing the floor plan to determine that a candidate route is blocked by an obstacle denoted in the floor plan, to select a route with a route-finding algorithm from a current point to a target point, or the like.; [0035]);
wherein the planning of the movement for the robot is based on both the information from the navigation sensor and the pre-processed sensor information (a robotic device navigates based an aggregate map containing data representative of successfully completing operations, presence or absence of operational hazards, debris, obstacles, work surface types, and the like; [0031]);
wherein the one or more processors further include a control processor (control system; [0021]) that receives the movement information and generates the control signals based on the movement information ([0021] the control system may respond by commanding the robotic device to move in a specific direction).
Afrouzi does not specifically disclose:
wherein the one or more processors includes a safety processor that verifies the movement information received by the one or more processors to determine, while considering current sensor data received from the further sensors, whether a current movement will cause a hazardous situation of the detected hazardous situations;
wherein, if the movement information leads to a safe current movement, the safety processor transfers the movement information to the control processor, and in the event of an unsafe current movement, the safety processor changes or rejects the movement information before it is transferred to the control processor.
However, Mustafic discloses:
wherein the one or more processors includes a safety processor that verifies the movement information received by the one or more processors to determine, while considering current sensor data received from the further sensors ([0168] “flight controller 920 may receive and process information from onboard sensors”), whether a current movement will cause a hazardous situation of the detected hazardous situations ([0168] “e.g., to avoid a collision”);
wherein, if the movement information leads to a safe current movement, the safety processor transfers the movement information to the control processor ([0168] “to maintain the UAV 105 on the pre-programmed flight route”), and in the event of an unsafe current movement, the safety processor changes or rejects the movement information before it is transferred to the control processor ([0168] “to deviate from the pre-programmed flight route (e.g., to avoid a collision) … The flight controller 920 may generate control signals that cause the mobility controller 910 to fly the UAV 105 along a route specified by the control signals, which may or may not differ from the pre-programmed flight route”).
Afrouzi and Mustafic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of mobile robot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Afrouzi’s mobile robot to further incorporate Mustafic’s mobile robot for the advantage of maintaining or deviating from flight route which results in collision prevention (Mustafic’s [0168]).
Regarding claim 13, Afrouzi does not specifically disclose:
wherein if the safety processor judges that the planned movement will or could cause the hazardous situation, the safety processor rejects or modifies the planned movement.
However, Mustafic discloses:
wherein if the safety processor judges that the planned movement will or could cause the hazardous situation ([0168] “e.g., to avoid a collision”), the safety processor rejects or modifies the planned movement ([0168] “to deviate from the pre-programmed flight route (e.g., to avoid a collision) … The flight controller 920 may generate control signals that cause the mobility controller 910 to fly the UAV 105 along a route specified by the control signals, which may or may not differ from the pre-programmed flight route”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Afrouzi’s mobile robot to further incorporate Mustafic’s mobile robot for the advantage of maintaining or deviating from flight route which results in collision prevention (Mustafic’s [0168]).
Conclusion
/PAYSUN WU/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665