DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, the Figures do not appear to depict “at least two neighboring coils”. The Figures also do not appear to depict coils “surrounding the array”. Therefore, these features must be shown or canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 5, 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. More specifically, the specification does not appear to provide support for coils “surrounding the array”. Paragraph [0026] of the specification indicates that neighboring coils may be provided, and paragraphs [0026], [0032] and [0065] describe how the coils surround individual vessels. Fig. 1 additionally shows how the coils surround individual vessels. However, there appears to be no description of how the coils may be configured to surround the entire array of vessels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 14 and 16-20-are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bentley (US 20140216917) in view of Hormann (US 6258323).
With respect to claims 1 and 14, Bentley discloses a device and kit comprising at least one vessel (Figure 3:12) having an axis of rotational symmetry. A single digit number of magnets (Figure 4:100) are disposed inside each vessel, wherein the largest dimension of the magnets is smaller than ½ the smallest dimension of each of the vessels. This is shown in Figs. 4 and 12A-12D. In the alternative, mere changes in size and shape that affect device operation in a predictable way are considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04. A power source (Figure 10:88) is configured to deliver pulsed current to at least two neighboring coils (Figure 10:86a-86e) surrounding each vessel, wherein the coils are configured to trigger movement of each magnet with acoustic to ultrasonic frequency in three dimensions. The coils have one to one thousand windings, and the distance between the at least two neighboring coils is shown in Figs. 10 and 12 to be approximately the largest dimension of the magnets 100. Bentley does not mention lysing cells or using lysis beads. Furthermore, the neighboring coils have an axis of rotational symmetry that is aligned with the axis of rotational symmetry of the vessel. Bentley, however, does not appear to show an array of vessels.
Hormann discloses a device comprising an array of vessels (Figure 2:4), wherein each vessel includes a single digit number of magnets (Figure 2:96) inside. A power source is configured to deliver pulsed current to at least one coil comprised of an electric conductor (Figure 2:98) surrounding the array. The at least one coil is configured to trigger movement of each magnet with acoustic to ultrasonic frequency, wherein the movement is in three dimensions and does not involve lysis beads (“Means 98 for selectively propelling agitator 96 positioned in each of reaction vessel 4 typically include induction coils that produce motion due to magnetic force on agitator 96”). This is described in column 10, lines 29-59.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to use the Bentley coils to agitate the contents of a plurality of vessels arranged as an array. Hormann teaches that this would allow one to simultaneously and controllably conduct multiple processes under the same or different reaction conditions. Hormann additionally shows how an array of vessels may be arranged in communication with a coil configuration without significantly increasing the overall size of the apparatus. Those of ordinary skill would have recognized that this improvement would enable high-throughput screening, synthesis, testing, processing, etc.
With respect to claims 4, 5 and 16-18, Bentley and Hormann disclose the combination as described above. The Bentley power source is fully capable of delivering a pulsed current and operating at a wide variety of frequencies, including those between 2 kHz and 1 MHz. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
In the event that recitations relating to operating frequency and current do not represent intended use recitations, it still would have been obvious to operate the Bentley system by using the power source to deliver different pulsed currents at different frequencies to the coil. It would have been obvious to select a coil having essentially any number of windings, such as those having 2 windings. It is within the ability of one of ordinary skill to optimize the operating parameters of a prior art system. Here, one of ordinary skill would have understood that modifying the operation of the power source and coils would affect predictably affect mixing within the vessel.
With respect to claims 19 and 20, Bentley and Hormann disclose the combination as described above. Bentley depicts coils having 1 to 10 windings. It would have been obvious to select a coil having essentially any number of windings, such as those having 2 windings.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s amendment filed 18 August 2026, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the Bentley reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN A BOWERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799