DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/27/2024 with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the following:
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2009082585A granted to Masato et al. (previously presented) in view of US Pat Pub No 20190231083 to Hsu et al. (hereinafter “Hsu”) and JP2016179035 granted to Yuanyang et al. (previously presented).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato as modified by Hsu and Yuanyang as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of WO2015137433A1 granted to Takashima et al. (previously presented).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “; and” in its line 14. It is unclear whether there are limitations that were intended to be added that were omitted.
Claim 3 recites “sensor for detecting periodic biological information of a living body subject based on air pressure from the mat for detecting biological information”; it is unclear how the sensor detects periodic information based on air pressure from the mat. Is the sensor detecting biological information from the air pressure? Is the air pressure determining the periodicity of the measurement? Is the sensor capable of sensing only when the air pressure is at a specific level?
Claims 4-8 are rejected for depending on rejected claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2009082585A granted to Masato et al. (hereinafter “Masato” – provided on IDS) in view of US Pat Pub No 20190231083 to Hsu et al. (hereinafter “Hsu”) and JP2016179035 granted to Yuanyang et al. (hereinafter “Yuanyang” – provided on IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Masato discloses a mat for detecting biological information (para 0015, 0025 “apparatus”, specifically the embodiment shown in para 0028, fig. 8,), comprising: an air bag (para 0006, 0028 “deformable air container 3”, fig. 8) formed in an elongated shape and configured to output air (para 0012, 0014-0016, etc. discussing “pressure sensor”, “biological information” “detection device 7 connected by an air pipe”, “the air container 3 and the detection device 7 may be connected by an air pipe, and a configuration in which internal air pressure fluctuation detection means such as a microphone or a pressure sensor is provided on the detection device 7 side may be employed”); a plate-shaped cushion member having a thickness substantially the same as that of the air bag, in which the air bag is formed in a central portion, and in which the air bag is fitted (para 0028 “cushion 14” shown in fig. 8 showing the cushion 14 and air container 3 to have substantially the same thickness); and a pair of plate-shaped members, and provided so as to sandwich the plate-shaped cushion member (para 0028, “cushion member is interposed between the first plate 1 and the second plate 2”).
But fails to disclose wherein the air bag is configured to output air in response to
Hsu, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches the sensor is further configured to send a signal (representing the pressure measurement) to the pressure control device to facilitate adjusting the air pressure of the compressible cell (para 0032, see para 0027, specifically the last few lines. Also see para 0028, 0039, 0046-0047, 0089, etc.) which allows for reducing skin pressure concentration to a particular region of the body of the user (para 0039). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Masato with the teachings of Hsu, because doing so would allow for controlling the compressible cells (i.e., air bag(s)) to provide the predictable result of reducing skin pressure concentration to a particular region of the body of the user.
Masato as modified by Hsu renders obvious the limitations above. Hsu discloses various materials (para 0025) but the mentioned references fail to disclose the plate-shaped members to be synthetic resin, each having a size substantially the same as the cushion member and to be bendable as a whole.
Yuanyang, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches a similar apparatus (mattress 2a) having a pressure sensitive tube in combination with a pressure receiving unit to detect internal pressure changes as to detect biological signals (para 0034). The first and second plates (26/28) are made of hard resin, having a thickness of about 3 mm (para 0046) and are allowed to deform to transmit pressure on sensing tube 22 that has an inner diameter set to a value of about 2 to 5 mm (about 3 mm), and a wall thickness of 1 mm (para 0044, 0048). The deformable plates that sandwich the pressure sensitive tube allow detecting biological signals of a user with high precision (para 0085). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Masato as modified by Hsu with the teachings of Yuanyang to provide the predictable result of detecting biological signals with a higher precision.
Regarding claim 2, Masato as modified by Hsu and Yuanyang renders obvious the mat for detecting biological information according to claim 1, wherein the air bag has a cushion material having a predetermined thickness therein (Masato, fig 8, Hsu para 0064, Yuanyang, para 0044, 0048; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the “predetermined thickness” is considered to be any thickness).
Regarding claim 3, Masato discloses a device for detecting biological information, comprising: a mat for detecting biological information (para 0015, 0025 “apparatus”, specifically the embodiment shown in para 0028, fig. 8), comprising a sensor for detecting periodic biological information of a living body subject based on air pressure from the mat for detecting biological information (para 0015-0017 “biological information is collected by the detection device 7”); an air bag (para 0006, 0028 “deformable air container 3”, fig. 8) formed in an elongated shape and configured to output air according to pressure from a living body (para 0012, 0014-0016, etc. discussing “pressure sensor”, “biological information” “detection device 7 connected by an air pipe”, “the air container 3 and the detection device 7 may be connected by an air pipe, and a configuration in which internal air pressure fluctuation detection means such as a microphone or a pressure sensor is provided on the detection device 7 side may be employed”); a plate-shaped cushion member having a thickness substantially the same as that of the air bag, in which the air bag is formed in a central portion, and in which the air bag is fitted (para 0028 “cushion 14” shown in fig. 8 showing the cushion 14 and air container 3 to have substantially the same thickness); and a pair of synthetic resin plate-shaped members (para 0028, “cushion member is interposed between the first plate 1 and the second plate 2”); and
But fails to disclose wherein the air bag is configured to output air in response to
Hsu, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches the sensor is further configured to send a signal (representing the pressure measurement) to the pressure control device to facilitate adjusting the air pressure of the compressible cell (para 0032, see para 0027, specifically the last few lines. Also see para 0028, 0039, 0046-0047, 0089, etc.) which allows for reducing skin pressure concentration to a particular region of the body of the user (para 0039). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Masato with the teachings of Hsu, because doing so would allow for controlling the compressible cells (i.e., air bag(s)) to provide the predictable result of reducing skin pressure concentration to a particular region of the body of the user.
Masato as modified by Hsu renders obvious the limitations above. Hsu discloses various materials (para 0025) but the mentioned references fail to disclose the plate-shaped members to be synthetic resin, each having a size substantially the same as the cushion member and to be bendable as a whole.
Yuanyang, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches a similar apparatus (mattress 2a) having a pressure sensitive tube in combination with a pressure receiving unit to detect internal pressure changes as to detect biological signals (para 0034). The first and second plates (26/28) are made of hard resin, having a thickness of about 3 mm (para 0046) and are allowed to deform to transmit pressure on sensing tube 22 that has an inner diameter set to a value of about 2 to 5 mm (about 3 mm), and a wall thickness of 1 mm (para 0044, 0048). The deformable plates that sandwich the pressure sensitive tube allow detecting biological signals of a user with high precision (para 0085). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Masato with the teachings of Yuanyang to provide the predictable result of detecting biological signals with a higher precision.
Regarding claim 4, Masato as modified by Hsu and Yuanyang renders obvious the device for detecting biological information according to claim 3, wherein the mat for detecting biological information outputs air corresponding to a motion transmitted from the living body (Masato, para 0016; mat outputs air in response to movements; Hsu para 0082, 0089).
Regarding claim 5, Masato as modified by Hsu and Yuanyang renders obvious the device for detecting biological information according to claim 4, wherein the biological information detection unit detects a respiration rate or a heart rate of the subject as the biological information (Masato, para 0025 “heart rate”, “respiration”, Hsu, para 0082).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato as modified by Hsu and Yuanyang as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of WO2015137433A1 granted to Takashima et al. (hereinafter “Takashima” – provided on IDS).
Regarding claim 6, Masato as modified by Hsu and Yuanyang renders obvious the device for detecting biological information according to claim 5, but fails to explicitly disclose further comprising: a transmitting unit for transmitting the biological information detected by the biological information detecting unit to an information terminal device.
Takashima, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches a similar device and apparatus having a communication unit for transmitting and receiving information to and from the outside with an information terminal device and a biological information management server to manage biological information (para 0032-0035 and 0039). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Masato as modified by Hsu and Yuanyang with the teachings of Takashima to provide the predictable result of transmitting/receiving and managing the measured biological information.
Regarding claim 7, Masato as modified by Hsu, Yuanyang and Takashima renders obvious the device for detecting biological information according to claim 6, wherein the information terminal device has an output unit that outputs information based on biological information transmitted from the transmission unit (Takashima, para 0015, 0032-0035 and 0039).
Regarding claim 8, Masato as modified by Hsu, Yuanyang and Takashima renders obvious a system for distributing biological information, comprising: the device for detecting biological information according to claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7); an information terminal device capable of communicating; and a server device that receives biological information transmitted from the biological information detection device and transmits to the information terminal device at least one of the biological information and information on the state of the detection target person based on the biological information (Takashima, para 0011-0019 discussing “biometric information communication”, 0032-0035 and 0039,and “alert information”, also see rejection of claims 6-7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20040201487A1 to Benson et al.
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796