DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1,13 and 24 has been amended.
Claims 2 and 3 have been canceled
Claims 1 and 4-24 are pending and examined as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,4-9,11-14,16-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnold et al (CN104643960).
With regards to claim 1, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses a blade hub assembly for a kitchen device (stirrer 6, Fig. 4)having a receiving aperture with a profile (support 26 has an accommodation section 33 with fixture 37, Fig. 3), the assembly having a rotational axis about which the assembly is driven (rotational axis around the X axis of cutter group 13, Fig. 4), the assembly comprising a hub body , the hub body having: a first profile; and a second profile (engagement head 14 having a first profile and a cylindrical section 18 having a second profile, Fig. 4), the hub body being insertable in the receiving aperture in an insertion direction (engagement head 14 and cylindrical section 18 are insertable into support 26 in an insertion direction x, Fig. 12), and wherein the second profile is angularly offset from the first profile about the insertion direction (the cylindrical section 18 is offset along the X direction from the engagement head 14,when the engagement head 14 is aligned with the round containing part 33, the cylindrical section 18 interferes with the round containing part 33, Fig. 12), the first and second profile are arranged such that, when the first profile is aligned with the aperture profile, the second profile interferes with the aperture profile (engagement head 14 is inserted into round containing part 33 first and followed by cylindrical section 18 having a profile with fixing flange 19 that interferes with a rotating locking flange 20, Fig. 6); wherein the first and second profile are adapted to engage the kitchen device to fasten the blade hub assembly to the kitchen device (the cylindrical section 18 and engagement 14 are inserted into the stirrer 6 through the bottom 5, Fig. 1 and 4); the first and second profile are adapted to engage the kitchen device to fasten the blade hub assembly to a floor of a vessel of the kitchen device (engagement head 14 has a profile and cylindrical section 18 has a holding flange that interact with corresponding fixture 37 to fasten stirrer 6 to the bottom of stirred vessel 5, Fig. 12);the aperture profile includes at least one recess (accommodation section 33 having a recess in between adjacent corresponding fixtures 37, Fig. 11); and the first profile and the second profile include at least one protrusion to be received in the recess (engagement head 14 and cylindrical section 18 are insertable into support 26 in an insertion direction x, Fig. 12); such that, when the blade hub assembly moves linearly under the influence of gravity, at any rotational position of the blade hub assembly relative to the vessel about the insertion direction at least one of the first or second profile will interfere with the aperture profile to inhibit the movement of the blade hub assembly under the influence of gravity (depending on the rotation of the fastening bracket 26 relative to the agitating vessel 4 and thus also relative to the rotation of the agitator 6 which is fixed in a rotationally fixed manner, the fastening flange 19 slides with its side wall 23 along a rising ramp 36, wherein the annular fastening element 34 is moved axially into the receptacle 33 against the force of the spring 35,page 8, lines 31-36).
With regards to claim 4, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein the number of recesses and the number of protrusions of the second profile is the same (6 flanges 20, Fig. 6 and 6 fixing flanges 19, Fig. 9).
With regards to claim 5, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein the protrusion is tapered in the insertion direction with respect to the recess (fixing flanges 19 are tapered in a X direction along the penetrating member 10, Fig. 5).
With regards to claim 6, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein the first profile includes at least one protrusion, and the protrusion is adapted to resist a torque applied by the recess (the stirrer 6 or the penetration member 10 together is torsionally fixed at the bottom of the stirring container 5 and the inserting section 11, paragraph 0072, lines 5-8).
With regards to claim 7, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein the aperture profile includes six recesses and the first profile includes six protrusions (penetrating component 10 has 6 fixing flanges and the engagement head 14 has 6 protrusions, Fig. 6 and 9).
With regards to claim 8, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein the second profile has fewer protrusions than the first profile (penetrating component 10 has 3 fixing flanges and the engagement head 14 has 6 protrusions, Fig. 5).
With regards to claim 9, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein the number of protrusions in the second profile is a multiplicative factor of the number of protrusions in the first profile (penetrating component 10 has 3 fixing flanges and the engagement head 14 has 6 protrusions which is a 2 times multiplier, Fig. 5).
With regards to claim 11, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein the protrusion of the second profile is adapted to support the blade hub assembly (securing flanges 19 support the crosswise cutter group 13, Fig. 4).
With regards to claim 12, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein the protrusions of the second profile are equal or smaller than the protrusions of the first profile (securing flange 19 is smaller than the star shaped protrusions on the engaging head 14, Fig. 5).
With regards to claim 13, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses a blade hub assembly for a kitchen device (stirrer 6, Fig. 12) having a receiving aperture (support 26 has an accommodation section 33 with fixture 37, Fig. 3), the assembly having a rotational axis about which the assembly is driven (rotational axis around the X axis of cutter group 13, Fig. 12), the assembly comprising a hub body having a cylindrical shape (penetration piece 10 having engagement head 14 and cylindrical section 18 are cylindrical, Fig. 12) that is insertable in the receiving aperture in an insertion direction (engagement head 14 and cylindrical section 18 are insertable into support 26 in an insertion direction x, Fig. 12), the hub body having a number of first protrusions and a number of second protrusions, the second protrusions being angularly offset about the axis, and axially spaced along the axis, from the first protrusions (penetrating member 10 has radial end surface 22 , and engaging head 14 is star shaped having its own protrusions, paragraph 0050,lines 1-3);wherein each of the second protrusions is positioned circumferentially between two of the first protrusions such that the first protrusions and the second protrusions define complementary circumferential geometries that would not overlap if positioned in a same axial region of the hub body as seen below:
the first and second profile are adapted to engage the kitchen device to fasten the blade hub assembly to the kitchen device (the cylindrical section 18 and engagement 14 are inserted into the stirrer 6 through the bottom 5, Fig. 1 and 4).
With regards to claim 14, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein: the first protrusions are angularly equally distributed about the axis (engaging head 14 is star shaped having its own protrusions around its axis, paragraph 0050, lines 1-3); and the second protrusions are angularly equally distributed about the axis (penetrating member 10 has radial end surface 22 around its axis, Fig. 7).
With regards to claim 16, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses a vessel assembly for a kitchen device (kitchen machine 1, Fig. 1), the assembly comprising a bowl having a receiving aperture (stirring container 4 having a stirring container holding part 2, Fig. 1); a blade hub assembly for a kitchen device (stirrer 6, Fig. 4)having a receiving aperture with a profile (penetrating component 10, Fig. 4), the assembly having a rotational axis about which the assembly is driven (rotational axis around the X axis of cutter group 13, Fig. 4), the assembly comprising a hub body , the hub body having: a first profile; and a second profile (engagement head 14 having a first profile and a cylindrical section 18 having a second profile, Fig. 4), the hub body being insertable in the receiving aperture in an insertion direction (penetrating component 10 is inserted into the round containing part 33, Fig. 12), and wherein the first and second profile are arranged such that, when the first profile is aligned with the aperture profile, the second profile interferes with the aperture profile (engagement head 14 is inserted into round containing part 33 first and followed by cylindrical section 18 having a profile with fixing flange 19 that interferes with a rotating locking flange 20, Fig. 6); blade hub assembly for a kitchen device (stirrer 6, Fig. 4)having a receiving aperture with a profile (support 26 has an accommodation section 33 with fixture 37, Fig. 3), the assembly having a rotational axis about which the assembly is driven (rotational axis around the X axis of cutter group 13, Fig. 4), the assembly comprising a hub body , the hub body having: a first profile; and a second profile (engagement head 14 having a first profile and a cylindrical section 18 having a second profile, Fig. 4), the hub body being insertable in the receiving aperture in an insertion direction (engagement head 14 and cylindrical section 18 are insertable into support 26 in an insertion direction x, Fig. 12), and wherein the second profile is angularly offset from the first profile about the insertion direction (the cylindrical section 18 is offset along the X direction from the engagement head 14,when the engagement head 14 is aligned with the round containing part 33, the cylindrical section 18 interferes with the round containing part 33, Fig. 12), the first and second profile are arranged such that, when the first profile is aligned with the aperture profile, the second profile interferes with the aperture profile (engagement head 14 is inserted into round containing part 33 first and followed by cylindrical section 18 having a profile with fixing flange 19 that interferes with a rotating locking flange 20, Fig. 6); wherein the first and second profile are adapted to engage the kitchen device to fasten the blade hub assembly to the kitchen device (the cylindrical section 18 and engagement 14 are inserted into the stirrer 6 through the bottom 5, Fig. 1 and 4); the first and second profile are adapted to engage the kitchen device to fasten the blade hub assembly to a floor of a vessel of the kitchen device (engagement head 14 has a profile and cylindrical section 18 has a holding flange that interact with corresponding fixture 37 to fasten stirrer 6 to the bottom of stirred vessel 5, Fig. 12);the aperture profile includes at least one recess (accommodation section 33 having a recess in between adjacent corresponding fixtures 37, Fig. 11); and the first profile and the second profile include at least one protrusion to be received in the recess (engagement head 14 and cylindrical section 18 are insertable into support 26 in an insertion direction x, Fig. 12); such that, when the blade hub assembly moves linearly under the influence of gravity, at any rotational position of the blade hub assembly relative to the vessel about the insertion direction at least one of the first or second profile will interfere with the aperture profile to inhibit the movement of the blade hub assembly under the influence of gravity (depending on the rotation of the fastening bracket 26 relative to the agitating vessel 4 and thus also relative to the rotation of the agitator 6 which is fixed in a rotationally fixed manner, the fastening flange 19 slides with its side wall 23 along a rising ramp 36, wherein the annular fastening element 34 is moved axially into the receptacle 33 against the force of the spring 35,page 8, lines 31-36);
with the hub being inserted in the receiving aperture in an insertion direction (stirrer 6 inserted into the bottom of the stirring container 5, Fig. 12); and a locking member adapted to secure the blade hub assembly to the bowl (locking flanges 20, Fig. 12).
With regards to claim 17, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein the locking member is movable between a secure position and a first free position (a rotational locking of the inserted state, in the inserted state, paragraph 0072, lines 3-5), and wherein the locking member has a locking profile adapted to engage the second profile of the blade hub assembly such that in the secure position, the locking profile engages the second profile and secures the blade hub assembly to the vessel (when the stirrer 6 a further movement in the insertion direction, the opening 25 along the radially inwardly protruding profile section according to the correct rotation angle orientation embedded in the axial groove 21, so as to move the further axial holding has been reached in the process of rotary angle position, opening 25 of radial extension until it reaches a rotational locking of the inserted state, in the inserted state, the rotating locking flange 20 is inserted has such a profile, paragraph 0072, lines 1-5); and in the first free position, the blade hub assembly is angularly movable about the insertion direction with respect to the vessel (the penetration member 10 surrounds the agitator shaft 9 can freely rotate relative to the penetration member 10 around axis X, paragraph 0072, lines 6-7).
With regards to claim 18, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein, when the locking member is in the first free position (when the radial end face 22 and the rotary locking flange 20 are not overlapped, Fig. 6), the blade hub assembly is angularly movable about the insertion direction to a second free position, wherein, in the second free position, the blade hub assembly is removable from the receiving aperture (where the stirrer 6 can be removed from the assembly, Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 19, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein, when the locking member is moved from the secure position to the first free position, the blade hub assembly is supported by the aperture profile contacting the second profile (the penetration member 10 surrounds the agitator shaft 9 can freely rotate relative to the penetration member 10 around axis X, paragraph 0072, lines 6-7).
With regards to claim 22, Arnold et al (‘960) wherein the receiving aperture includes at least one recess and the at least one recess receives the first protrusions and the second protrusions (spring 35 is a recess between corresponding fixtures 37 wherein the spring 35 receives the protrusions of penetration member 10, Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10,15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold et al (‘960) as applied to claim 1,14 and 15 above, and further in view of Arnold et al (‘960).
With regards to claim 10, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein the first profile and the second profile include protrusions to be received in the recess (penetrating member 10 has radial end surface 22, and engaging head 14 is star shaped having its own protrusions, paragraph 0050, lines 1-3).
Arnold et al (‘960) does not disclose wherein the first profile and the second profile include protrusions to be received in the recess, and wherein the protrusions of the first profile are spaced from the protrusions of the second profile by a distance of between 10 mm to 35 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use the stirrer of Arnold et al (‘960), since the applicant has not disclosed that the distance between 10mm and 35mm solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with the stirrer of Arnold et al (‘960).
With regards to claim 15, Arnold et al (‘960) does not disclose wherein an angular distance between the second protrusions is twice an angular distance between the first protrusions. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use the stirrer of Arnold et al (‘960), since the applicant has not disclosed wherein an angular distance between the second protrusions is twice an angular distance between the first protrusions solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with the stirrer of Arnold et al (‘960).
With regards to claim 20, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses a vessel assembly for a kitchen device (kitchen machine 1, Fig. 1) having a blade hub assembly for a kitchen device (stirrer 6, Fig. 4) having a receiving aperture (penetrating component 10, Fig. 4), the assembly having a rotational axis about which the assembly is driven (rotational axis around the X axis of cutter group 13, Fig. 4), the assembly comprising a hub body that is insertable in the receiving aperture in an insertion direction (penetrating member 10 insertable in protruding structure 31, Fig. 12), the hub body having a number of first protrusions and a number of second protrusions, the second protrusions being angularly offset about the axis, and axially spaced along the axis, from the first protrusions (penetrating member 10 has radial end surface 22 , and engaging head 14 is star shaped having its own protrusions, paragraph 0050,lines 1-3).
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold et al (‘960) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arnold et al (CN102334925A).
With regards to claim 21, Arnold et al (‘960) does not disclose wherein the at least one recess of the aperture profile, the at least one protrusion of the first profile and the at least one protrusion of the second profile have nearly a same cross-sectional shape in at least two planes normal to the rotational axis when the hub assembly is inserted into the receiving aperture.
Arnold et al (‘925) teaches wherein the at least one recess of the aperture profile (connecting device 7 has receiving areas 19, Fig. 16), the at least one protrusion of the first profile and the at least one protrusion of the second profile have nearly a same cross-sectional shape in at least two planes normal to the rotational axis when the hub assembly is inserted into the receiving aperture (protrusions 15,15’ have nearly the same cross-sectional shape in at least two plane vertically normal to the rotational axis of drive shaft 9 when inserted into connecting device 7, Fig. 16).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Arnold et al (‘960) and Arnold et al (‘925) before him or her, to modify the recess and protrusions of Arnold et al (‘960) to include the configuration of recess and protrusions taught by Arnold et al (‘925) because the combination allows for mechanical seals for important electrical parts in a heated ceramic shaft.
Claim(s) 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold et al (‘960) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Esslinder (EP3292806A1).
With regards to claim 23, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein: the second profile is spaced from the first profile in the insertion direction; the first profile comprises a first plurality of protrusions arranged circumferentially about the hub body and the second profile comprises a second plurality of protrusions arranged circumferentially about the hub body, and each protrusion of the first plurality of protrusions and the second plurality of protrusions extend radially from the rotational axis by a same distance.
Esslinder et al teaches the second profile is spaced from the first profile in the insertion direction (fixing projection 26 is spaced apart from fixing projection 23 in an insertion direction of agitator 4, Fig. 6); the first profile comprises a first plurality of protrusions arranged circumferentially about the hub body (fixing projections 23 are arranged circumferentially about bearing body 15, Fig. 6) and the second profile comprises a second plurality of protrusions arranged circumferentially about the hub body (fixing projections 26 are arranged circumferentially about bearing body 15, Fig. 6), and each protrusion of the first plurality of protrusions and the second plurality of protrusions extend radially from the rotational axis by a same distance (fixing projections 23 and fixing projections 26 extend radially around the body 15 at a same distance, Fig. 6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Arnold et al (‘960) and Esslinder et al before him or her, to modify the protrusions of Arnold et al (‘960) to include the configuration of protrusions taught by Esslinder et al because the combination allows for an enhanced connection for a vessel to the base to ensure proper interlocking.
With regards to claim 24, Arnold et al (‘960) discloses wherein each protrusion of the second plurality of protrusions is positioned between two protrusions of the first plurality of protrusions such that the first protrusions and the second protrusions define complementary circumferential geometries that would not overlap if positioned in a same axial region of the hub body as seen below:
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761