DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carlson et al. (US 2018/0338003).
Regarding claim 1, Carlson teaches a gateway device (See Fig. 1, item 110) for a sensor network (Fig 1, wireless sensor network 108) comprising:
communication means to communicate with an aircraft interface device (Paragraph [0038]….. The flight event detection module 204 may be configured to identify flight related events associated with takeoff, cruising, and landing using sensor data obtained from one or more sensors 218 included in the gateway device 202, or sensor data obtained from a different source, such as a flight data system (aircraft interface device)000 included in an aircraft),
short-range wireless communication means for communicating with nodes via short-range communication means (Paragraphs [0038 and 0065], especially [0038]…… A flight related event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables or enables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network. For example, a takeoff event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network),
wherein the gateway device is arranged to receive flight status information from the aircraft interface device via the communication means and to facilitate control of nodes in accordance with the flight status, such that the gateway sends the nodes a command to disable all wireless transmission when the aircraft status is takeoff or landing (See abstract; Paragraphs 0027, 0038, 0043, 0052, and 0071, especially [0038]… The flight event detection module 204 may be configured to identify flight related events associated with takeoff, cruising, and landing using sensor data obtained from one or more sensors 218 included in the gateway device 202, or sensor data obtained from a different source, such as a flight data system (aircraft interface device) included in an aircraft. A flight related event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables or enables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network. For example, a takeoff event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network. Paragraph [0027]… the cabin air pressure data may indicate an increase in cabin air pressure that is associated with pressurizing the aircraft prior to takeoff. That means gateway device receives flight status information (takeoff) from the aircraft interface device or sensor nodes. Further, paragraph [0027] teaches in response to detecting takeoff preparation, the gateway device transmits a listen command to sensor nodes included in a wireless sensor network. The listen command instructs the sensor nodes to disable wireless network transmissions and listen for commands transmitted by the gateway device. Thereafter, the gateway device disables wireless transmissions sent by the gateway to the sensor nodes. Moreover, paragraph 0052….,in detecting the aircraft takeoff preparation event (which is received by gateway device from the aircraft interface device or a flight data system), a gateway device transmits a listen command to sensor nodes (which has communication means) included in a wireless sensor network. The listen mode instructs the sensor nodes to disable wireless network transmissions and listen for further commands transmitted by the gateway device) and a command to utilize only short-range wireless transmission means when the aircraft status is climb, cruise or descent (Paragraph [0038]….. a cruise event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that enables low-power wireless transmissions…..[ 0063]…..Aircraft flights typically include three phases, climbing, cruising, and descending. The cruising phase includes reaching a cruising altitude and traveling at a near constant speed and altitude. During the cruising phase of a flight, government regulations and airline policies may allow certain low-power device radios to be re-enabled, such as WI-FI and BLUETOOTH, or 802.15 low-power 2.4 GHz radios, while high-power device radios, such as cellular radios, remain disabled).
Regarding claim 2, Carlson teaches the gateway device of claim 1 wherein the short-range communication means comprise IEEE 802.11, IEEE 802.15.1 and/or such ISM/SRD band communication means (Paragraph 0063). Regarding claim 3, Carlson teaches the gateway device of claim 1 comprising broadband connection (Paragraph 0044 and 0047) and a connection for sending measurement data received from the nodes via the aircraft interface device (Paragraph 0030….. The gateway device 110 may be in wireless network communication with the sensor nodes 112 and a computing service network 102, such as a “cloud” computing network. The sensor nodes 108 include one or more sensors (e.g., pressure sensor, temperature sensor, humidity sensor, tilt sensor, accelerometer sensor, etc.) configured to generate sensor data (measurement data). The sensor nodes 108 send the sensor data to the gateway device 110, and the gateway device 110 is configured to forward the sensor data to the computing service network 102……Paragraph [0038]….. sensor data obtained from a different source, such as a flight data system (aircraft interface device) included in an aircraft).
Regarding claim 5, Carlson teaches an arrangement for controlling node communications in an aircraft (Paragraph 0034, ….the gateway device 202 can include a gateway module 210, a flight event detection module 204, a sensor node command module 206, and a network control module 208): a gateway (Fig. 1, Gateway 110) comprising means to facilitate wireless short-range communication, at least one node comprising at least wireless short-range communication means (Paragraphs [0038 and 0065], especially [0038]…… A flight related event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables or enables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network. For example, a takeoff event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network);
a gateway device arranged to receive flight status information from an aircraft interface device system, the gateway device being arranged to facilitate control of the nodes in accordance with the flight status, such that the gateway sends the nodes a command to disable all wireless transmission when the aircraft status is takeoff or landing (See abstract; Paragraphs 0027, 0038, 0043, 0052, and 0071, especially [0038]… The flight event detection module 204 may be configured to identify flight related events associated with takeoff, cruising, and landing using sensor data obtained from one or more sensors 218 included in the gateway device 202, or sensor data obtained from a different source, such as a flight data system (aircraft interface device) included in an aircraft. A flight related event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables or enables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network. For example, a takeoff event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network. Paragraph [0027]… the cabin air pressure data may indicate an increase in cabin air pressure that is associated with pressurizing the aircraft prior to takeoff. That means gateway device receives flight status information (takeoff) from the aircraft interface device or sensor nodes. Further, paragraph [0027] teaches in response to detecting takeoff preparation, the gateway device transmits a listen command to sensor nodes included in a wireless sensor network. The listen command instructs the sensor nodes to disable wireless network transmissions and listen for commands transmitted by the gateway device. Thereafter, the gateway device disables wireless transmissions sent by the gateway to the sensor nodes. Moreover, paragraph 0052….,in detecting the aircraft takeoff preparation event (which is received by gateway device from the aircraft interface device or a flight data system), a gateway device transmits a listen command to sensor nodes (which has communication means) included in a wireless sensor network. The listen mode instructs the sensor nodes to disable wireless network transmissions and listen for further commands transmitted by the gateway device), and a command to utilize only short-range wireless transmission means when the aircraft status is climb, cruise or descent (Paragraph [0038]….. a cruise event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that enables low-power wireless transmissions…..[ 0063]…..Aircraft flights typically include three phases, climbing, cruising, and descending. The cruising phase includes reaching a cruising altitude and traveling at a near constant speed and altitude. During the cruising phase of a flight, government regulations and airline policies may allow certain low-power device radios to be re-enabled, such as WI-FI and BLUETOOTH, or 802.15 low-power 2.4 GHz radios, while high-power device radios, such as cellular radios, remain disabled).
Regarding claim 6, Carlson teaches the arrangement according to claim 5 wherein a node comprises long-range wireless communication means, which are controlled in accordance with the flight status (Paragraph [0063], Aircraft flights typically include three phases, climbing, cruising, and descending. The cruising phase includes reaching a cruising altitude and traveling at a near constant speed and altitude. During the cruising phase of a flight, government regulations and airline policies may allow certain low-power device radios to be re-enabled, such as WI-FI and BLUETOOTH, or 802.15 low-power 2.4 GHz radios, while high-power device radios, such as cellular radios, remain disabled).
Regarding claim 8, Carlson teaches the arrangement according to claim 5 wherein the detection means are used to determine flight status at a node and wherein the node disables long-range wireless transmissions when takeoff, landing, climbing, cruising or descending flight status is determined (Paragraph [0063], Aircraft flights typically include three phases, climbing, cruising, and descending. The cruising phase includes reaching a cruising altitude and traveling at a near constant speed and altitude. During the cruising phase of a flight, government regulations and airline policies may allow certain low-power device radios to be re-enabled, such as WI-FI and BLUETOOTH, or 802.15 low-power 2.4 GHz radios, while high-power device radios, such as cellular radios, remain disabled).
Regarding claim 9, Carlson teaches the arrangement according to claim 5 wherein the gateway device facilitates command of the long-range wireless communication means of the nodes such that gateway sends the nodes a command to disable long-range wireless transmission when the aircraft status is take off, landing, climb, cruise or descent (Paragraphs 0027-0028, 0032, 0041-0042, 0052, 0059, 0062-0067).
Regarding claim 10, Carlson teaches the arrangement according to claim 5 comprising a remote server or a cloud service for receiving data from the gateway device (Paragraph 0051,……..The gateway device 110 may be in wireless network communication with the sensor nodes 112 and a computing service network 102, such as a “cloud” computing network).
Regarding claim 14, Carlson teaches a method for controlling nodes in a wireless sensor network comprising, receiving flight status information from an aircraft interface device (Paragraph [0038]….. The flight event detection module 204 may be configured to identify flight related events associated with takeoff, cruising, and landing using sensor data obtained from one or more sensors 218 included in the gateway device 202, or sensor data obtained from a different source, such as a flight data system (aircraft interface device) included in an aircraft),
determining communications mode for nodes, wherein if takeoff or landing the communications mode is disable all transmission, and if flight status is climb, cruise or descent the communications mode is utilize only short-range transmission (See abstract; Paragraphs 0027, 0038, 0043, 0052, and 0071, especially [0038]… The flight event detection module 204 may be configured to identify flight related events associated with takeoff, cruising, and landing using sensor data obtained from one or more sensors 218 included in the gateway device 202, or sensor data obtained from a different source, such as a flight data system (aircraft interface device) included in an aircraft. A flight related event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables or enables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network. For example, a takeoff event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network. Paragraph [0027]… the cabin air pressure data may indicate an increase in cabin air pressure that is associated with pressurizing the aircraft prior to takeoff. That means gateway device receives flight status information (takeoff) from the aircraft interface device or sensor nodes. Further, paragraph [0027] teaches in response to detecting takeoff preparation, the gateway device transmits a listen command to sensor nodes included in a wireless sensor network. The listen command instructs the sensor nodes to disable wireless network transmissions and listen for commands transmitted by the gateway device. Thereafter, the gateway device disables wireless transmissions sent by the gateway to the sensor nodes. Moreover, paragraph 0052….,in detecting the aircraft takeoff preparation event (which is received by gateway device from the aircraft interface device or a flight data system), a gateway device transmits a listen command to sensor nodes (which has communication means) included in a wireless sensor network. The listen mode instructs the sensor nodes to disable wireless network transmissions and listen for further commands transmitted by the gateway device),
sending commands to nodes to disable all transmission or utilize transmission in accordance with the determined communications mode (See abstract; Paragraphs [0027, 0032, 0038, 0046, 0052, and 0062], especially paragraph [0038]….. [0038]… The flight event detection module 204 may be configured to identify flight related events associated with takeoff, cruising, and landing using sensor data obtained from one or more sensors 218 included in the gateway device 202, or sensor data obtained from a different source, such as a flight data system (aircraft interface device) included in an aircraft. A flight related event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables or enables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network. For example, a takeoff event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network).
Regarding claim 15, Carlson teaches the method according to claim 14 wherein determining that communications mode is allow long-range transmission if flight status is not takeoff, landing, climb, cruise or descent (Paragraphs 0057, 0060, 0067, and 0072).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (US 2018/0338003) in view of Haukom (US 2018/0197357). Regarding claim 4, Carlson fails to teach the gateway device of claim 1 comprising narrowband connection for sending alerts associable with the gateway device or the nodes via the aircraft interface device. However, in related art, Haukom teaches the gateway device of claim 1 comprising narrowband connection (the ability of the aircraft interface device to send and receive data via multiple wired and wireless communication networks, including cellular communication networks, WiFi networks (can be narrowband) (e.g., Ethernet or other Internet-protocol networks), satellite communication (SATCOM) networks, Aircraft Communications Addressing and Reporting System (ACARS) networks, or other wireless communication networks increases the flexibility and usability of the aircraft interface device to generate value-added operational efficiency via reports, alerts, or other triggered actions; see paragraph 0013) for sending alerts associable with the gateway device or the nodes via the aircraft interface device (aircraft interface device 12 can transmit the reports and/or alerts to a remote computing device (e.g., a ground-based computing device) via wireless transceiver(s) of communication devices 30 or via aircraft data bus structure 26; see paragraph 0028). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Haukom teaching about narrowband connection for sending alerts associable with the gateway device or the nodes via the aircraft interface device with Carlson’s invention so that the alert can be received instantly and make determination of transition between the normal mode, the disable mode, and the airborne mode as fast as possible.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (US 2018/0338003) in view of Lemmon et al. (US 2010/0267375).
Regarding claim 7, Carlson fails to teach the arrangement according to claim 5 wherein the nodes comprise ambient variable, movement and/or orientation detection means.
However, in related art, Lemmon teaches the arrangement according to claim 5 wherein the nodes (wireless device 10; see paragraph 0020 and fig. 1) comprise ambient variable (environmental parameters; see paragraph 0020), movement (motion of device 10; see paragraph 0020) and/or orientation detection means (orientation of the sensor(s) can be identified by comparing the magnitudes of the acceleration signals from the three axes; see paragraph 0033). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Lemmon’s teaching about wherein the nodes comprise ambient variable, movement and/or orientation detection means with Carlson’ s invention in order to monitor the measured environmental parameters real-time during aircraft operation.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (US 2018/0338003) in view of Kwak et al. (US 2016/0182522). Regarding claim 11, Carlson fails to teach the arrangement according to claim 5 wherein the remote server or cloud service and the gateway device are connected via a broadband or narrowband connection in accordance with the flight status.
However, in related art, Kwak teaches the arrangement according to claim 5 wherein the remote entity or cloud service and the gateway device are connected via a broadband or narrowband connection in accordance with the flight status (Paragraphs 0035, 0037, and 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Kwak teaching about wherein the remote entity or cloud service and the gateway device are connected via a broadband or narrowband connection in accordance with the flight status with Carlson’s invention in order for efficiently providing large size data to a user (see Kwak, abstract).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (US 2018/0338003) in view of Kwak et al. (US 2016/0182522), and further in view of Stefani (US 2009/0192846). Regarding claim 12, the combination of Carlson and Kwak fail to teach the arrangement according to claim 11 wherein the remote entity or cloud service is arranged to for receiving alerts or data from the gateway device wherein the data is measurement data of an aircraft cargo.
However, in related art, Stefani teaches the arrangement according to claim 11 wherein the remote entity or cloud service is arranged to for receiving alerts or data from the gateway device wherein the data is measurement data of an aircraft cargo (See abstract; paragraph 0007 and claim 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Stefani teaching about wherein the remote entity or cloud service is arranged to for receiving alerts or data from the gateway device wherein the data is measurement data of an aircraft cargo with Carlson and Kwak’s invention in order to balance the cargo load for safely operation (See Stefani, paragraph 0005).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (US 2018/0338003) in view of Kwak et al. (US 2016/0182522), and further in view of Hathaway (US 2015/0120097). Regarding claim 13, the combination of Carlson and Kwak fail to teach the arrangement according to claim 11 wherein the nodes are arranged to send alerts or measurement data of an aircraft cargo to the remote entity or cloud service via long-range communication means.
However, in related art, Hathaway teaches the arrangement according to claim 11 wherein the nodes are arranged to send alerts or measurement data of an aircraft cargo to the remote entity or cloud service via long-range communication means (data from the ADID may be transmitted wirelessly by the tablet 100 via cellular link to a nearby base station tower 50; see paragraph 0029. The passenger and cargo loading application then transmits its data to a remote server for calculating weight and balance for the aircraft; see paragraph 0032). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Hathaway teaching about wherein the nodes are arranged to send alerts or measurement data of an aircraft cargo to the remote entity or cloud service via long-range communication means with Carlson and Kwak’s invention in order to enable cabin crew to quickly and efficiently confirm that all passengers are sitting in their assigned seats (See Hathaway, paragraph 0032).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1, 5, and 14, Applicant argues that Carlson does not disclose (1) receipt of flight status information from an aircraft interface device, and (2) a specific phase-based communication regime in which all wireless transmission is disabled when the aircraft status is take-off or landing, but only short range wireless transmission is used when the aircraft status is climb, cruise, or descent. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Carlson, paragraph [0038] teaches the flight event detection module 204 may be configured to identify flight related events (flight status) associated with takeoff, cruising, and landing using sensor data obtained from one or more sensors 218 included in the gateway device 202, or sensor data obtained from a different source, such as a flight data system (aircraft interface device) included in an aircraft. A flight related event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables or enables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network. For example, a takeoff event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network. Above paragraph clearly teaches the flight event detection module 204 may be configured to identify flight related events (flight status) associated with takeoff, cruising, and landing using sensor data obtained from one or more sensors 218 included in the gateway device 202, or sensor data obtained from a different source, such as a flight data system (aircraft interface device) included in an aircraft. In this case, flight data system is the aircraft interface device, wherein gateway device 202 obtains sensor data or flight status from the flight data system (different source). Further, paragraph [0038] teaches a flight related event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables or enables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network. For example, a takeoff event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that disables wireless transmissions in a wireless sensor network and a cruise event can be linked to a wireless transmission action that enables low-power wireless transmissions.
Therefore, the examiner contends that the rejection to claims 1-15 is proper.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132