DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response of 09/23/2025 has been received and entered into the application file. Claims 1-6 are pending in this application. Claims 7-13 were previously withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drauz et al. (US 5534541, 1996) and Kruger et al. (WO 2004/024692 A1) as further evidenced by Drug Design Org (Bioisosterism, 2007).
Drauz et al. teach halogen thiophene carboxylic acid derivatives for combating plant disease.
(Abstract).
Drauz et al. disclose novel substances for combatting plant diseases. The invention also relates to the production of these substances as well as compositions containing at least one of these compounds as active ingredient. The invention relates to the use of these active ingredients or compositions containing them for the protection of plants against attack by harmful microorganisms, e.g., phytotoxic fungi, bacteria, and viruses (col 1, lines 9-15).
Kruger discloses novel heterocyclyl carbonyl aminocyclopropane carboxylic acid derivatives of formula (I) and (IV) (Abstract).
The substance according to the invention have a strong microbicidal action and can be used to control unwanted microorganisms, such as fungi and bacteria in crop protection and in material protection (page 11, 5th paragraph, translated form).
Drug Design Org discloses that an isopropyl fragment can simply be replaced by cyclopropyl bioisostere (pg 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have created compounds of formula (II) of this present invention which is taught to have microbicidal action. This is taking some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Drauz et al. teach that R6 group can be OH, OR4 or NR5R6 (Abstract, col 2 lines 13-21).
Regarding claim 3, Drauz et al. teach that R7 group can be hydrogen or an alkyl group with 1-3 carbon atoms (Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Drauz et al. disclose formula (II) wherein R4 is a hydrogen atom (col 22, example 59).
Regarding claim 5, Kruger teaches the cyclopropyl group.
Regarding claim 6, Drauz et al. disclose that the compounds of above formula are used together with auxiliary agents which are conventional in the formulation art and are therefore processed in a known manner (Col 5, lines 32-40).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 17/786151 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim substituted thiophene carboxamides and derivatives thereof. The reference application claims below structure (claim 1). R1, R2, and R3 can be halogen; W can be oxygen; Y can be NR8 wherein R8 can be hydrogen or alkyl; R4 and R5can be hydrogen, alkyl, or C3-C6 carbocycle; Z can be -C(=O)-OR (Refer to claim 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/23/2025 have been fully considered and a new evidentiary reference is incorporated.
Applicant presents the same arguments as previously made in Remarks of 05/22/2025. On page 11-12 of remarks, applicant argues that Kruger’s compound of formula (I) may be substituted by a halogen (thus possibly analogous to the trichloro-substituted thiophene ring in claim 1). Kruger discloses formula (I), in which G represents five-membered or six-membered heterocyclyl (which reads on the five-membered thiophene ring of claim 1), that is substituted by halogen (Abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would immediately envisage that any combination of halogens can be added – such as trichloro-substituted thiophene ring of instant application’s claim 1. Additionally, Kruger even mentions that the substances according to the invention have a strong microbicidal action and can be used to control unwanted microorganisms, such as fungi and bacteria, in crop protection, which is analogous to instant application (pg 11, 5th paragraph). A prior art reference does not need to describe the identical compound to render a claimed invention obvious, it needs to provide a sufficient basis for one of ordinary skill in the art to create the claimed compound – in this case, Kruger teaches a compound with microbicidal action.
On pages 12-13 of remarks, applicant argues that trichloro-substituted thiophene compound was better than tribromo-substituted compound taught by Drauz. The examiner agrees that the trichloro-substituted compound seem to work as intended by the applicants. However, in combination of Drauz and Kruger, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the cyclopropyl group and a five-membered heterocyclyl ring that is substituted by halogen.
On pages 13-14 of remarks, applicant argues that CMP2 has an isopropyl group as compared to different R4 substitutions. The examiner can see that when R4 substitution is isopropyl, the efficacy is 0%. However, cyclopropyl substitution at R4 is not the only compound with >90% efficacy (See page 50, Example C of instant specification). As evidenced by Drug Design Org, one of ordinary skill in the art would routinely experiment with an alternative or bioisosteric replacement of one group for another – in this case would be replacing isopropyl group with cyclopropyl. Per MPEP 2144.09 (I), A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties."
Therefore, claims 1-6 remain rejected.
Conclusion
/JOHN SEUNGJAI KWON/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615