DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-31 and 33-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13 (lines 2-8), claim 35 (lines 2-8) and claim 37 (lines 2-8) each recite “a hollow shaft region including a slot and a flattening… a screw having a screw thread and a screw head, at least partially resting against the flattening… a clamping ring extending around the hollow shaft region”.
Claims 13, 35 and 37 each fail to recite any limitations which enable one to properly determine how the screw structurally engages and/or extends through the clamping ring to allow the screw to “at least partially rest against the flattening”; it is unclear as to what structural features define the clamping ring such that it “extends around the hollow shaft region” while allowing the screw to engage the flattening of the hollow shaft region encompassed therein.
Furthermore, it is unclear as to how the screw thread structurally engages the clamping ring such to clamp the clamping ring on the hollow shaft region; it is unclear as to how the screw applies a clamping force to contract and clamp the clamping ring against the hollow shaft region. Accordingly, one is unable to properly determine the metes and bounds of such claims. Claims 14-31, 33, 34, 36 and 38-41 depend from claims 1 and 37 and are likewise rejected as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-27, 30, 31 and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widenmeyer et al. (US 9,291,205) in view of Lang et al. (US 8,061,924), Riccitelli (US 5,580,184) and Lenhart et al. (US 8,496,018).
As to claim 13 as best understood, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection, comprising:
a hollow shaft region 5 including an axial slot 3;
a shaft S at least partially arranged in the hollow shaft region;
a screw 14 having a screw thread 19 and a screw head 14, and being offset from the shaft; and
a clamping ring 6 extending around the hollow shaft region and having a cross-sectional profile with a constant radius in a central region X bounded on each axial side by a straight chamfered region Y on an axial side opposite the central region, the clamping ring including a contact area, the screw head resting against the contact area (Figure 1 reprinted below with annotations; Figures 1-6).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Y)][AltContent: textbox (X)][AltContent: arrow]
Widenmeyer et al. fail to disclose a clamping connection wherein the hollow shaft region comprises a flattening extending in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of the axial slot, wherein the screw at least partially rests against the flattening.
Lang et al. teach a clamping connection wherein a hollow shaft region 3 comprises a flattening A (linearly-extending groove 9 defines a flattening A within the outer cylindrical surface of hollow shaft region 3; Figure 2b reprinted below with annotations), wherein a screw 7 at least partially rests against the flattening; the screw engaging the flattening to prevent rotation between the hollow shaft region and a clamping ring 1, providing for a more secure clamping connection (Figures 1-3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping connection disclosed by Widenmeyer et al. wherein the screw engages a flattening on the hollow shaft region, as taught by Lang et al., in order to further prevent rotation between the hollow shaft region and the clamping ring, providing for a more secure clamping connection.
[AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lang et al. fail to disclose a clamping connection wherein the flattening extends in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of the axial slot.
Riccitelli teaches a clamping connection wherein a hollow shaft region 20 comprises a flattening 38 extending in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of an axial slot; the axial extension of the slot allowing for easier insertion and seating of screw 52 within the slot (Figures 1-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping connection disclosed by Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lang et al. wherein the flattening extends in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of an axial slot, as taught by Riccitelli, in order to provide for easier insertion and seating of the screw within the slot.
Widenmeyer et al. fail to disclose a clamping connection wherein the clamping ring has a cross-sectional profile comprising a rounded region between the constant radial central region and each straight chamfered region.
Lenhart et al. teach a clamping ring having a cross-sectional profile with a constant radius in a central region A bounded on each axial side by a rounded region B (Figures 5b and 5c reprinted below with annotations), each rounded region followed by a straight chamfered region C on an axial side opposite the central region (Figures 5a-5h).
Applicant is reminded that a change in the shape of a prior art device, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific shape of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping connection disclosed by Widenmeyer wherein the clamping ring has a cross-sectional profile comprising a rounded region between the constant radial central region and each straight chamfered region, as taught by Lenhart et al., as such practice is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results.
[AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arc][AltContent: connector]
As to claim 14, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein the screw 14 is arranged as a clamping screw (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 15, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein the axial slot 3 radially extends through the hollow shaft region 5 (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 16, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein the screw head 14 has a larger diameter than a largest diameter of the screw thread 19 (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 17, Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lange et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein the flattening (9 Lange Figure 2b) includes a region having a reduced radial wall thickness in comparison with a radial wall thickness outside of the region (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 18, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein the flattening (9 Lang Figure 2b) includes a region having a reduced outer radius in comparison with a wall thickness outside of the region (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 19, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein the screw thread 19 at least partially rests against the flattening (9 Lang Figure 2b; Widenmeyer Figures 1-6).
As to claim 20, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein the screw 14 is offset from an outer surface of the shaft S (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 21, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein an axis of the screw 14 is offset from an axis of the shaft S and the axis of the screw is arranged orthogonal to an axis of the shaft without intersection (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 22, Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lang et al. disclose a clamping connection comprising a set screw 22 adapted to axially lock the clamping ring 6 on the hollow shaft region 5, the set screw being arranged in a radially directed threaded bore 23, a region covered by the flattening (9 Lange Figure 2b) in a circumferential direction including and/or at least overlapping a circumferential angle region covered by the axial slot 3, an axial region covered by the axial slot including and/or at least overlapping an axial region covered by the flattening (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 23, Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lenhart et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein the rounded region (B Lenhart Figure 5c) includes a circular segment (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 24, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein the chamfered region includes a region in which a largest radial clearance extends proportionally to an axial position (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 25, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection comprising a set screw 22 adapted to axially lock the clamping ring 1 on the hollow shaft region 5, the set screw being arranged in a radially directed threaded bore 23 (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 26, Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lang et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein a region covered by the flattening (9 Lange Figure 2b) in a circumferential direction includes and/or at least overlaps with a circumferential region covered by the axial slot 3 (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 27, Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lang et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein an axial region covered by the axial slot 3 includes and/or at least overlaps with an axial region covered by the flattening (9 Lange Figure 2b; Widenmeyer Figures 1-6).
As to claim 30, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection a radial outer contour and/or a radially outer edge of the clamping ring 6 touches the contact area in a linear manner and/or at least at multiple points (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 31, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein an axial extension of a greatest radial clearance of the clamping ring 6 touches an extension of a largest radial clearance of the contact area in a linear manner and/or at least at multiple axial positions (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 33, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein the clamping ring 6 includes a body of revolution having a radially outer surface predefined by an axial extension of a largest radial clearance, the body of revolution having recesses 25 (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 34, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein the clamping ring 6 includes a radially and axially uninterrupted slot 13, the screw thread 19 being at least partially screwed into a threaded bore situated on a side of the slot of the clamping ring facing away from the contact area (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 35 as best understood, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection, comprising:
a hollow shaft region 5 including an axial slot 3, the hollow shaft region adapted to receive at least a portion of a shaft S;
a screw 14 having a screw thread 19 and a screw head 14, and being offset from the shaft; and
a clamping ring 6 extending around the hollow shaft region and having a cross-sectional profile with a constant radius in a central region X bounded on each axial side by a straight chamfered region Y on an axial side opposite the central region, the clamping ring including a contact area, the screw head resting against the contact area (Figures 1-6).
Widenmeyer et al. fail to disclose a clamping connection wherein the hollow shaft region comprises a flattening extending in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of the axial slot, wherein the screw at least partially rests against the flattening.
Lang et al. teach a clamping connection wherein a hollow shaft region 3 comprises a flattening A (linearly-extending groove 9 defines a flattening A within the outer cylindrical surface of hollow shaft region 3; Figure 2b), wherein a screw 7 at least partially rests against the flattening; the screw engaging the flattening to prevent rotation between the hollow shaft region and a clamping ring 1, providing for a more secure clamping connection (Figures 1-3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping connection disclosed by Widenmeyer et al. wherein the screw engages a flattening on the hollow shaft region, as taught by Lang et al., in order to further prevent rotation between the hollow shaft region and the clamping ring, providing for a more secure clamping connection.
Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lang et al. fail to disclose a clamping connection wherein the flattening extends in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of the axial slot.
Riccitelli teaches a clamping connection wherein a hollow shaft region 20 comprises a flattening 38 extending in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of an axial slot; the axial extension of the slot allowing for easier insertion and seating of screw 52 within the slot (Figures 1-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping connection disclosed by Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lang et al. wherein the flattening extends in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of an axial slot, as taught by Riccitelli, in order to provide for easier insertion and seating of the screw within the slot.
Widenmeyer et al. fail to disclose a clamping connection wherein the clamping ring has a cross-sectional profile comprising a rounded region between the constant radial central region and each straight chamfered region.
Lenhart et al. teach a clamping ring having a cross-sectional profile with a constant radius in a central region A bounded on each axial side by a rounded region B, each rounded region followed by a straight chamfered region B on an axial side opposite the central region (Figures 5a--5h).
Applicant is reminded that a change in the shape of a prior art device, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific shape of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping connection disclosed by Widenmeyer wherein the clamping ring has a cross-sectional profile comprising a rounded region between the constant radial central region and each straight chamfered region, as taught by Lenhart et al., as such practice is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results.
As to claim 36, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a drive, comprising:
a clamping connection;
wherein the shaft S is arranged a rotor shaft of an electric motor, and the hollow- shaft section 5 is connected in a torsionally fixed manner to an inputting toothed part of a gear unit driven by the electric motor (Figures 1-6).
Claims 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widenmeyer et al. in view of Lang et al. and Riccitelli.
As to claim 37 as best understood, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection, comprising:
a hollow shaft region 5 including an axial slot 3;
a shaft S at least partially arranged in the hollow shaft region;
a screw 14 having a screw thread19 and a screw head 14, and being offset from the shaft; and
a clamping ring 6 extending around the hollow shaft region and including a contact area, the screw head resting against the contact area;
wherein a region covered by the screw in a circumferential direction includes and/or at least overlaps with a circumferential region covered by the axial slot (Figures 1-6).
Widenmeyer et al. fail to disclose a clamping connection wherein the hollow shaft region comprises a flattening extending in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of the axial slot, wherein the screw at least partially rests against the flattening; wherein the region covered by the flattening in a circumferential direction includes and/or at least overlaps with the circumferential region covered by the axial slot.
Lang et al. teach a clamping connection wherein a hollow shaft region 3 comprises a flattening A (linearly-extending groove 9 defines a flattening A within the outer cylindrical surface of hollow shaft region 3; Figure 2b), wherein a screw 7 at least partially rests against the flattening; the screw engaging the flattening to prevent rotation between the hollow shaft region and a clamping ring 1, providing for a more secure clamping connection (Figures 1-3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping connection disclosed by Widenmeyer et al. wherein the screw engages a flattening on the hollow shaft region, as taught by Lang et al., such that the region covered by the flattening in a circumferential direction includes and/or at least overlaps with a circumferential region covered by an axial slot, in order to further prevent rotation between the hollow shaft region and the clamping ring, providing for a more secure clamping connection.
Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lang et al. fail to disclose a clamping connection wherein the flattening extends in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of the axial slot.
Riccitelli teaches a clamping connection wherein a hollow shaft region 20 comprises a flattening 38 extending in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of an axial slot; the axial extension of the slot allowing for easier insertion and seating of screw 52 within the slot (Figures 1-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping connection disclosed by Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lang et al. wherein the flattening extends in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of an axial slot, as taught by Riccitelli, in order to provide for easier insertion and seating of the screw within the slot.
As to claim 38, Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lang et al. disclose a clamping connection wherein an axial region covered by the axial slot 3 includes and/or at least overlaps with an axial region covered by the flattening (9 Lange Figure 2b; Widenmeyer Figures 1-6).
Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widenmeyer et al. in view of Lang et al., Riccitelli and Lenhart et al., as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Neugart (DE 10 2004 011 361).
As to claims 28 and 29, Widenmeyer et al. disclose a clamping connection comprising a set screw 22 (Figures 1-6).
Widenmeyer et al. fail to disclose a clamping connection wherein a recess is arranged on the clamping ring and is set apart from the set screw and from the screw in a circumferential direction; wherein the recess is adapted to balance the clamping connection.
Neugart teaches a clamping connection wherein a recess is arranged on a clamping ring 3 and is set apart from a set screw 8 and from a screw 5 in a circumferential direction; wherein the recess is adapted to balance the clamping connection, ensuring smooth rotation of a shaft (Figures 1-4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping connection disclosed by Widenmeyer et al. to comprise a recess on the clamping ring, as taught by Neugart, in order to balance the clamping connection, ensuring smooth rotation of a shaft.
Examiner notes that Figures 1-4 of the Neugart reference clearly show the presence of a weight-reducing balancing recess formed within clamping ring 3 opposite screw 5 and slot 6. It is well-known and readily-apparent within the art that such weight-reducing balancing recess is formed within the clamping ring to balance the distribution of mass of the ring due to the material removed from the slot and the bore receiving the screw therethrough. A translation of the Neugart reference has not been relied upon, as such is clearly shown, and as it is readily-apparent that the rotating shaft clamping ring of the Neugart reference has a balanced center of mass.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 39-41 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 39-41 as best understood, Widenmeyer et al. in view of Lang et al., Riccitelli and Lenhart et al. disclose the claimed clamping connection with the exception of wherein the flattening extends to the axial end of the hollow shaft region.
There is no teaching or suggestion, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping connection disclosed by Widenmeyer et al. in view of Lang et al., Riccitelli and Lenhart et al. to have the above mentioned elemental features. Furthermore, such modifications would not be obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claims 13, 35 and 37, Attorney argues that Riccitelli fails to teach or suggest modifying the clamping connection disclosed by Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lang et al. wherein the flattening extends in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of the axial slot.
Examiner disagrees. As to claims 13, 35 and 37, Riccitelli teaches a clamping connection wherein a hollow shaft region 20 comprises a flattening 38 extending in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of an axial slot; the axial extension of the slot allowing for easier insertion and seating of screw 52 within the slot (Figures 1-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping connection disclosed by Widenmeyer et al. as modified by Lang et al. wherein the flattening extends in an axial direction along the hollow shaft region toward an axis end of the hollow shaft region to an axial open end of an axial slot, as taught by Riccitelli, in order to provide for easier insertion and seating of the screw within the slot.
Examiner notes that claims 13, 35 and 37 merely recite that the flattening extends “toward an axial end of the hollow shaft regions”; not “to the axial end of the hollow shaft region”. Furthermore, Examiner notes that claims 13, 35 and 37 recite that the flattening extends “to an axial open end of the axial slot”; thus only requiring that the flattening extends to a region of the slot which is adjacent an “axial open end” thereof.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
09/21/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619