DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 3, 5 - 7 and 16 have been presented for examination. Claims 1 and 6 are currently amended. Claims 4 and 8 – 15 are cancelled.
This Office Action is in response to the amendments dated 12/26/2025.
Response to Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Dymola have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on Blochwitz et al. “Functional Mockup Interface for Model Exchange and Co-Simulation” to teach the amended features (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 3 and 5 - 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Getting Started with Dymola” (henceforth “Dymola (Getting Started)”) in view of Aichele et al. (US 9811074) (henceforth “Aichele (074)”), and further in view of Tian et al. “Development of a Visualized Modeling and Simulation Environment for Multi-domain Physical Systems” (henceforth “Tian”), and further in view of Schmudderrich et al. “VIRTUAL COMMISSIONING BY MEANS OF AN ADAPTIVE SELECTION OF THE MODELING DEPTH” (henceforth “Schmudderrich”), and further in view of Blochwitz et al. “Functional Mockup Interface for Model Exchange and Co-Simulation” (henceforth “Blochwitz”). Dymola (Getting Started) and Aichele (074) and Tian and Schmudderrich and Blochwitz are analogous art because they solve the same problem of simulating a work system comprising multiple modules, and because they are in the same field of simulations of work systems.
With regard to claim 1, Dymola (Getting Started) teaches a simulation method for executing a simulation of a work system composed of multiple modules using a computer, the simulation method comprising: (Dymola (Getting Started) Page 24 – 25 an simulation of an industrial robot comprises at least two modules “We will study a model of an industrial robot model … The model diagram has an icon for the model of the robot with connected drive lines for the joints. The reference angles to the drive lines are calculated by a path planning module giving the fastest kinematic movement under given constraints.”)
acquiring module data in which various data including data relating to shapes of the multiple modules and data related to an operation program of at least one of the multiple modules,
are grouped for each module being one of a robot (Dymola (Getting Started) Page 25 shape of the robot arm in the robot arm module and shape of the path planning module is shown (data relating to shapes of the multiple modules, are grouped for each module), and the path planning module contains path plan data for operating the robot arm (data related to an operation program of at least one of the multiple modules))
the module data for each module further including interface data that specifies a plurality of different types of interfaces usable by the respective module to connect with at least one other of the multiple modules; (Dymola (Getting Started) Page 29 each axis interfaces with a different motor having different reference parameters (interface data that specifies a plurality of different types of interfaces), and Page 27 the robot module has connections to each motor which are arranged in the robot arm with linkages (interface data that specifies a plurality of different types of interfaces)
structuring a model of the work system in a virtual space by integrating the module data by connecting the module data of each of the multiple modules to each other based upon the interface data, the multiple modules of the structured model including: at least one of each of the robot (Dymola (Getting Started) Page 25 the robot arm model has connections between the path planning module and robot arm module (connecting the module data based upon the interface data) to simulate a movement of the robot arm (a model of the work system in a virtual space), and Page 54, Bottom (structuring by connecting the module data of each of the multiple modules to each other) “Components are connected by drawing lines between connectors …Draw all connections”)
executing the simulation using the structured model. (Dymola (Getting Started) Page 32 the robot movement simulation is animated (executing the simulation)
wherein the plurality of different types of interfaces includes
an input/output interface, a wiring pipe interface, and (Dymola (Getting Started) Page 29 each of the six axes interfaces with a different motor having different reference parameters (plurality of different types of interfaces) through distinct connections, where each axis connection is usable for sending/receiving signals (an input/output interface) and represents electrical connections (a wiring pipe interface))
a soft interface, (Dymola (Getting Started) Page 29 – 30 speed control signals are sent to and received (a soft interface) by the robot controller “A data bus is used to send measurements and reference signals to the controller and control signals from the controller to the actuator”
)
a mechanical interface, (Dymola (Getting Started) Page 54, Bottom flange connectors represent connections to other components in the environment and are distinct from signal connections (a mechanical environment) “Finally, we have to introduce a signal connector for the voltage control and a flange connector corresponding to the shaft of the motor so the motor can be connected to an environment”)
a physical calculation interface. (Dymola (Getting Started) Page 29 drive train includes a reference speed and speed signal connections
, and Page 54, Bottom mechanical constants can also be inputted “A rotating inertia component is to be found in Modelica.Mechanics.Rotational. Drag and drop such an inertia component. Name it Jm and set the inertia parameter, J, to 0.001.”)
Dymola (Getting Started) does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the work system is controlled to perform a predetermined work with respect to the workpiece based upon the data relating to the operation program.
However Aichele (074) teaches:
wherein a work system is controlled to perform a predetermined work with respect to a workpiece based upon data relating to an operation program, (Aichele (074) Figure 1 a robot control program is simulated on a robot in a virtual environment, and Figure 4 the control program is run on a physical robot (controlled to performed a predetermined work based upon data relating to an operation program)
)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the simulating a robot in a virtual space according to path plan disclosed by Dymola (Getting Started) with the method of controlling a physical robot based on a determined program disclosed by Aichele (074). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to verify an actual robot performance to a simulated robot performance (Aichele (074) Abstract)
Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074) does not appear to explicitly disclose: that each module being an end effector, a peripheral device; and the multiple modules of the structured model including at least one of each of the effector, the peripheral device.
However, Tian teaches:
acquiring module data in which various data are grouped for each module being one of an end effector data and a peripheral device; structuring a model of a work system in a virtual space by integrating the module data by connecting module data of each of multiple modules to each other based upon interface data, the multiple modules of the structured module including at least one of each of the end effector data and the peripheral device (Tian Page 475, Bottom and Figure 3.2 the simulation environment includes cutter movements (acquiring module data includes end effector data) and feed drive of the workpiece (acquiring module data includes peripheral data) “The horizontal (x-axis) and vertical (y- axis) drives which make the cutter move and produce the desired geometry on the stationary workpiece. Timber feed drive (z-axis) feeds the workpiece in between two consecutive passes of the cutter along the width of the timber.”
, and Page 477, Top the combined simulation uses elements which are connected in Modelica (structuring a model by integrating module data based on interface data) “Thus modeling and simulation of the mechatronic multi-body and control systems are combined together in the same environment. The information communicating between different systems are through connector ports in Modelica, i.e. small circles, small rectangles, and small arrows shown in figure 3.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the simulating a robot in a virtual space according to path plan disclosed by Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074) with the cutter and feeder drive simulation environment disclosed by Tian. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to simulate more of the environment (Tian Page 475).
Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian does not appear to explicitly disclose: that each module being a workpiece to be mounted on a board; and the multiple modules of the structured model including at least one of each of the workpiece; and the predetermined work including mounting the workpiece onto the board.
However, Schmudderich teaches:
acquiring module data in which various data are grouped for each module being one of a workpiece to be mounted on a board; structuring a model of a work system in a virtual space by integrating the module data by connecting module data of each of multiple modules to each other based upon interface data, the multiple modules of the structured module including at least one of each of the workpiece (Schmudderrich Page 4, Right various modules are utilized (acquiring module data grouped for each module) to simulate a material flow system with the modules all working together (structuring a module by integrating the module data by connection) “The material flow system can be divided into different modules, in order to simplify the modeling and to increase the degree of reuse of the individual modules. The highest system level consists of four modules: robots, transport, infrastructure and stations, which are composed of sub-modules”, and Page 5, Left the modules are Dymola modules and the workpiece is on a board “The contact surface corresponds to the board on the shuttle, which carries the workpieces”, and Figure 4 – 5 the models of each module have signals and connections (by connection module data based on interface data), and Figure 8 a module of the workpiece interaction is included
)
a predetermined work including mounting the workpiece onto the board (Page 7, Right the workpiece is moved to the shuttle in such a manner that it will not undesirably move (mounting the workpiece) “For this purpose the shuttle loaded a workpiece previously. … if the shuttle is passing through a curve or switch, the velocity is reduced and centrifugal forces act upon the workpiece. In this case it has to be ensured that the load does not slip from the shuttle or falls over”, and Page 5, Left the shuttle has a board “The contact surface corresponds to the board on the shuttle, which carries the workpieces”, and Page 5, Right “The model of the gripper is connected to the tool center point (TCP) of the free arm robot, for example, to remove the workpiece from the shuttle and move it to the assembly station or the other way around”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the simulating a robot in a virtual space according to path plan and cutter and feeder disclosed by Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian with the simulating a robot in a virtual space included workpiece modules disclosed by Schmudderrich. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to include a desired simulation modeling depth of a simulation of a work system (Schmudderrich Page 9, Right “In this paper, an approach is presented which allows an appropriate selection of modules of different modeling depth during simulation runtime”)
Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian, and further in view of Schmudderrich does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein corresponding address information is added to a same type of interface of the module data and of configuration data included in the module data, such that the interfaces to which the address information corresponds can be connected to each other.
However, Blochwitz teaches:
corresponding address information is added to a same type of interface of module data and of configuration data included in the module data, such that interfaces to which the address information corresponds can be connected to each other. (FMI Modelica Page 11 and 13 discrete modelica models are connected using FMI interface (interface of module data) using XML description (of configuration data included in module data) using valueReference identification (corresponding address information added), where the valueReference has a specific type (to a same type of interface) and would be connected to similar input types in the models to match the units (can be connected to each other)
11
)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the simulating a robot in a virtual space according to path plan and cutter and feeder disclosed by Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian, and further in view of Schmudderrich with the FMI interface for Modelica models comprising model variable types disclosed by Blochwitz. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to partition a and parallelize a large system for simulation (Blochwitz Page 16 “Motivation * Simulation of heterogeneous systems * Partitioning and parallelization of large systems”)
With regard to claim 6, it teaches the same steps as claim 1, which is taught by Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian, and further in view of Schmudderrich, and further in view of Blochwitz. Claim 6 further recites: a simulation system for executing a simulation of a work system composed of multiple modules, the simulation system comprising: circuitry configured to.
Aichele (074) teaches:
a simulation system for executing a simulation of a work system composed of multiple modules, the simulation system comprising: circuitry configured to perform steps (Aichele (074) embodiments are performed using a computer system)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the simulating a robot in a virtual space according to path plan disclosed by Dymola (Getting Started) with the method of controlling a physical robot based on a determined program disclosed by Aichele (074). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to verify an actual robot performance to a simulated robot performance (Aichele (074) Abstract)
With regard to claim 2, Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian, and further in view of Schmudderrich and further in view of Blochwitz teaches all the elements of the parent claim 1, and further teaches;
wherein the module data includes data relating to a machinery setting of the multiple modules. (Dymola (Getting Started) Page 27 the robot module has connections to each motor which are arranged in the robot arm with linkages (a machinery setting), and the motors are references parameters (a machinery setting)
With regard to claim 3, Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian, and further in view of Schmudderrich and further in view of Blochwitz teaches all the elements of the parent claim 1, and further teaches:
wherein, in the structuring step, when the module data including the data relating to the machinery setting and not including the data relating to the operation program is acquired, a setting relating to an operation of the module is performed as necessary. (Dymola (Getting Started) Page 28 initial mechanical values of the motors in the robot arm module (not include the data relating to the operation program) can be changed (a setting relating to an operation of the module))
With regard to claim 5, Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian, and further in view of Schmudderrich and further in view of Blochwitz teaches all the elements of the parent claim 1, and further teaches:
updating the module data by correcting the various data included in the module data based on a correction performed on the executed simulation. (Aichele (074) Column 9, Lines 49 – 54 any desired design and test modifications can be simulated for later implementation)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the simulating a robot in a virtual space according to path plan disclosed by Dymola (Getting Started) with the method of controlling a physical robot based on ac determined program disclosed by Aichele (074). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to verify an actual robot performance to a simulated robot performance (Aichele (074) Abstract)
With regard to claim 7, Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian, and further in view of Schmudderrich and further in view of Blochwitz teaches all the elements of the parent claim 1, and further teaches:
the updated module data includes updated data relating to the operation program, and the work system is controlled to perform the predetermined work with respect to the workpiece based upon the updated data relating to the operation program. (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112) (Aichele (074) Column 9, Lines 49 – 54 any desired design and test modifications can be simulated for later implementation)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the simulating a robot in a virtual space according to path plan disclosed by Dymola (Getting Started) with the method of controlling a physical robot based on a determined program disclosed by Aichele (074). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to verify an actual robot performance to a simulated robot performance (Aichele (074) Abstract)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian, and further in view of Schmudderrich, and further in view of Blochwitz, and further in view of Fahraeus, K. “Enhancement of the Mechatronic Development Process with Software in the loop Simulation” (henceforth “Fahraeus (Thesis)”). Dymola (Getting Started) and Aichele (074) and Tian and Schmudderrich and Blochwitz and Fahraeus (Thesis) are analogous art because they solve the same problem of simulating a work system comprising multiple modules, and because they are in the same field of simulations of work systems.
With regard to claim 16, Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian, and further in view of Schmudderrich, and further in view of Blochwitz teaches all the elements of the parent claim 1, and further teaches:
the workpiece is a component; the peripheral device includes a feeder configured to supply the component or a conveyor including a pair of belt conveyors configured to convey the board, and (Schmudderrich Page 5, Right a station holds the workpiece (a feeder) prior to being moved to the board on the shuttle (to supply a component) “The model of the gripper is connected to the tool center point (TCP) of the free arm robot, for example, to remove the workpiece from the shuttle and move it to the assembly station or the other way around”)
the end effector includes a suction nozzle or a mechanical chuck including a pair of chuck claws that open and close to grip and release the electronic component. (Schmudderrich Page 5, Right the cylindrical fingers from a cylindrical adapter move in a radial direction to grasp the workspace, which is similar to the instant application Figure 5 showing the claws 64a moving in a radial direction from a cylindrical base “The level II model consists of a cylindrical adapter and two cubic fingers, which can be moved in the radial direction of the adapter. The gripper receives a signal from the controller to open or close”)
Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian, and further in view of Schmudderrich, and further in view of Blochwitz does not appear to explicitly disclose: the workpiece is an electronic component; the peripheral device includes a feeder configured to supply the electronic component
However, Fahraeus teaches: wherein
a workpiece is an electronic component; that the feeder is configured to supply the electronic component (Page 12, Top “Mycronic develops and produces among other things pick & place machines for SMT equipment, which places surface mount devices onto printed circuit boards.”, and Page 13, Bottom a process (predetermined work) is simulated to test the control code, where the component provided by Schmudderrich could be an SMT equipment as taught by Fahraeus “This PIL simulation is today used during the development phase of the code executed on the target processor. It is used to test the code related to the control and to test the logic in the code”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the simulating a robot in a virtual space according to path plan and cutter and feeder disclosed by Dymola (Getting Started) in view of Aichele (074), and further in view of Tian, and further in view of Schmudderrich, and further in view of Blockwithz with the simulating placing an SMT equipment onto a printed circuit board disclosed by Fahraeus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to include a desired simulated process an robotic system (Fahraeus Page 13, Bottom)
Examiner General Comments
With regard to the prior art rejection(s), any cited portion of the relied upon reference(s), either to specific areas or as direct language, is intended to be interpreted in the context of the reference(s) as a whole, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore the lack of a citation to other portions which inform the interpretation of the cited portions, is in no way intended to exclude said other portions. Any direct language, as shown with quotation marks, is intended solely to further point out the teachings provided to one of ordinary skill in the art, and is in no way intended to limit the relied upon teachings to only the quoted portions existing in a vacuum.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fritzson, P. “Principles of Object-Oriented Modeling and Simulation with Modelica” teaches interface-connector classes for modeling and simulation with Modelica.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALFRED H. WECHSELBERGER/ExaminerArt Unit 2187
/EMERSON C PUENTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2187