DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 7/28/2026 has been entered. Claims 2, 13-20, and 27 have been cancelled. Claim 21 has been amended. Claims 1, 3-12, 21-24 and 28 are pending and are under examination.
Claim Status Identifier: the status identifier for claim 22 is currently amended. However, there is no indication that the claim has been amended, and the claim will be treated as such.
Allowability Withdrawn: The indicated allowability of claims 1, 3-12, 23-24 and 28 is withdrawn in view of the foreign patent literature cited in the information disclosure statement filed 6/2/2026. The foreign patent literature is Japanese patent document JPS63502186A. The United States Patent 5,147,648 which is in the same patent family as JPS63502186A will be relied upon for the rejection since it is in English.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS): The IDS filed 6/2/2026 have been considered and initialed copies are enclosed.
New Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-12, 21-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter rejection.
The claims are drawn to forming a gel at respective mucosa. This limitation was first introduced in the claims filed on 03/19/2025.
However, the only mucosa disclosed in the specification and the provisional application is facial mucosa of a hatch or mucosa areas of a hatchling, namely the eyes, and/or beak. No other mucosa areas are disclosed such as nose, mouth, throat, urogenital areas and gastrointestinal tract including mucosa areas of other animals.
Applicant can obviate this rejection by amending the claim towards the disclosed mucosa area of hatch or hatchling such as facial, eyes and the beak of the hatch or hatchling.
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The limitations of claims 25 and 26 are already found in claim 1, thus claim 25-26 fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 12 and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toro et al. US 20110268762 11-03-2011 cited in IDS and Bannert et al. US 5147648 09-15-1992 cited in IDS.
Toro et al disclose mucosal administration immunogenic and vaccine compositions via spraying of avians. See under abstract. Toro et al disclose that spraying is a useful method for mass immunization of avians because it is both labor and time saving. Toro et al disclose that spraying chickens results in intraocular administration, a combination of multiple route (intranasal, intraocular, transdermal and oral administration. See paragraphs 175-176. Toro et al disclose that mass immunization of avians against several avian pathogens is crucial to prevent enormous economic loss, and to impede transmission of avian pathogens. See paragraph 17.
Toro et al does not disclose the high throughput system of claim 1 and claim 21 and the high throughput method of claim 23.
Bannert et al disclose that gels can be used to apply medication to the mucosa and allow them to take effect. Bannert et al disclose that such gels can contain various active substances and can be applied to the mucosa in the nose, mouth and throat.
Bannert et al disclose that instead of using a finished gel, components which together are capable of forming a gel were applied to the mucosa and surprisingly, it was seen that good adhesiveness could be obtained from the gel which subsequently formed. Bannert et al disclose the two components capable of forming a gel are dissolved separately, the solutions are then applied one after the other. Bannert et al disclose that it is preferable that the two components be sprayed onto the mucosa. See paragraphs 1-9 under description.
Bannert et al disclose that calcium salts together with alginic acid or its derivatives can be used to form the gel. See paragraphs 10-17 under description.
Bannert et al disclose a system and method for forming a gel at respective mucosa for targeted surfaces of respective animals, comprising:
A solution comprising the binding agent e.g. calcium carbonate is provided – this corresponds to a first vessel containing a binding agent in a first liquid solution;
A solution comprising the gelling agent e.g. sodium alginate is provided - this corresponds to a second vessel containing a gelling agent in a second liquid solution;
A sprayer comprising the first liquid solution – corresponds to a first delivery device in fluid communication with the first vessel, the first delivery device having a first delivery outlet;
A sprayer comprising the second liquid solution – corresponds to a second delivery device in fluid communication with the second vessel, the second delivery device having a second delivery outlet;
Wherein the system is configured to target a mucosa of a first animal -Barnett et al disclose the two solutions are sprayed directly onto the mucosa and a gel is formed at the mucosa by moving the first solution from the first vessel to the first delivery device outlet to create a first spray toward the targeted mucosa (first sprayer) and moving the second solution from the second vessel to the second delivery device outlet to create a second spray toward the targeted mucosa (first sprayer) i.e. the two solutions are sprayed onto the mucosa and they react on the mucosa to form a gel on the mucosa of the animal. See under description and claims.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the method or system of mass vaccination of avians (high throughput) of Toro et al by using the system of Bannert et al to form a gel on the mucosa of the avians, wherein the gel comprises the medication or vaccine, thus resulting in the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to do so is that Toro et al disclose that spraying is a useful method for mass immunization of avians because it is both labor and time saving and that spraying chickens result in intraocular administration, a combination of multiple route (intranasal, intraocular, transdermal and oral administration) and that mass immunization of avians against several avian pathogens is crucial to prevent enormous economic loss, and to impede transmission of avian pathogens and Bannert et al disclose that gels can be used to apply medication to the mucosa which allows the medication to take effect and Bannert et al disclose that such gels can contain various active substances and can be applied to the mucosa in the nose, mouth and throat.
The mass vaccination system/method of the combination of Toro et al and Bannert would result in the targeting of respective mucosa of individual animals with the group of animals and form gels at the respective targeted mucosa so that gel formation is directed specifically at the respective mucosa of the individual animals in the group of animals being mass vaccinated.
Claim(s) 3 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toro et al. US 20110268762 11-0302011 cited in IDS and Bannert et al. US 5147648 09-15-1992 cited in IDS as applied claims 1, 4-7, 12 and 21-26 above further in view of Bhandari et al. WO 2009/062254 5/22/2009 cited previously.
The combination of Toro et al and Bannert et al does not disclose that the binding agent is calcium chloride and wherein the calcium chloride is at a concentration from about 1% to about 5% and wherein the sodium alginate is present in a concentration from about 0.5% to about 5%.
Bhandari et al disclose a system for forming a gel for a
targeted surface (see p. 22 lines 24- 31 to page 23 lines 1-7 "coating") of object such as
"actives" having application in industries such as food, agricultural, manufacturing,
chemical, biochemical, cosmetic printing, wherein the actives are probiotics (a biologic
or nutraceutical), microorganisms, viruses, dies or ink (for use in printing) , agricultural
activities such as pesticides, herbicides, cosmeceuticals, medicine such as ibuprofen,
gentamicin, vitamins, enzymes (see page 14 lines 1-15 corresponding to the limitation of
claims 5 and 6), wherein the system comprises
A first vessel containing a binding agent such as calcium chloride (page 11) in a
first liquid solution -see figure 1 #34, p. 12 lines 7-11;
A second vessel containing a gelling component (sodium alginate) in a second
liquid solution - figure 1 #36, page 9 lines 5-7, page 10, p. 12 lines 7-11, p. 22 lines 11 lines 19-31, page 13);
A second delivery device in fluid communication (fig. 1 #40) with the second vessel, the second delivery device having a second delivery device outlet (i.e. an atomizer fig. 1#30, page 11 lines 19-31, page 12); Wherein the system is configured to form a gel for a targeted surface i.e. the "active" of a first object by moving the first solution from the first vessel to the first atomizer to create a first spray, and moving the second solution from the second vessel to the second atomizer to create a second spray, so that the first and second solutions react only after being outputted from the first and second atomizers to form a gel ( see p. 6) for the targeted surface of the first object i.e. the active, and Wherein the system is further configured to continuously repeat the formation of a gel for targeted surfaces of additional objects -Bhandari et al disclose the process is operated in a continuous manner (page 5 lines 26-31). See figure 1-6. Claim 4: Bhandari et al disclose the active or product of interest is in the solution of the cross-linkable reagent or is in the solution of the cross-linking reagent -see page 12 lines 21-31 and page 13 lines 1-6. Bhandari et al disclose the active or product of interest is a vaccine. See p. 25 lines 24-27. Bhandari et al disclose the calcium chloride is present in a concentration of 1- 3%. Claim Bhandari et al disclose the sodium alginate is present in a concentration of 1- 3%.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to the instant invention to have modified the method/system of the combination of Toro and Bannert by using calcium chloride as the calcium salt at a concentration of 1-3% and sodium alginate at a concentration of 1-3% as taught by Bhandari et al thus resulting in the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to do so is that Bhandari et al disclose that gels can be formed with calcium chloride at a concentration of 1- 3% and sodium alginate at a concentration of 1- 3%.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toro et al. US 20110268762 11-0302011 cited in IDS and Bannert et al. US 5147648 09-15-1992 cited in IDS as applied claims 1, 4-7, 12 and 21-26 above further in view of Evans et al CZ164296A3 3-12-1997 cited previously.
The combination of Toro et al and Bannert does not disclose the vaccine comprises oocysts, or sporocyst or a mixture thereof.
Evans et al disclose vaccines for chickens comprising oocysts or sporocysts. The vaccines are useful for vaccinating against Eimeria. See whole document.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the system or method of the combination of Toro et al and Bannert by using the system/method to deliver an Eimeria vaccine to chickens by including the vaccine in the first or second solution, thus resulting in the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to do so is that Toro et al disclose that mass immunization of avians against several avian pathogens is crucial to prevent enormous economic loss, and to impede transmission of avian pathogens and the system of the combination of Toro et al and Bannert would have enabled the mass vaccination of chickens against Eimeria.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-12, 21-26 and 28 are rejected.
/OLUWATOSIN A OGUNBIYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645