Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “closing body” of claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure does not provide support for the “corners of the at least one hooking element are rounded”. The originally filed disclosure describes the holding device as having rounded corners, but not the hooking elements. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “wherein corners of the at least one hooking element are rounded”. The hooking element was not previously recited to comprise corners which renders the claim indefinite (i.e. lack of antecedent basis); additionally, it is unclear how said corners can now be rounded, which is contrary to the definition of “corner” (i.e. a point or angle where to edges meet). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9 and 11-12 (as best understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wong (US 6474473). Wong discloses a holding device for containers including a filling tube or neck, said holding device including: a supporting surface (18, 29, 31) including a front face defining a front face of the holding device, wherein the front face of the supporting surface includes at least one gripping member (51 and/or 61) for holding at least one filling tube or neck of a container intended to be held by said device in a position parallel to said supporting surface (col. 3, lines 1-7), a temporary closing member (54 and/or 62, 24) configured for closing off the opening of the at least one filling tube or neck when the at least one filling tube or neck is held by the at least one gripping member, at least one hooking element (70, 71) for attaching said holding device to, or suspending said holding device from, another support.
In regards to claim 2, the closing member is formed by a wall extending substantially perpendicularly with respect to the front face of the supporting surface, said wall being disposed parallel with respect to the at least one gripping member (figure 9).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the wall forming the closing member corresponds to an upper face of the supporting surface when the supporting surface extends in a vertical direction (figure 9).
In regards to claim 4, the wall forming the closing member abuts the at least one gripping member (figure 9).
With regards to claim 6, the at least one gripping member comprises a plurality of gripping members, and said gripping members are formed by a longitudinal indentation on the front face of the supporting surface.
In regards to claim 7, the holding device includes a second indentation, parallel and substantially symmetrical with the first indentation (figure 9).
Regarding claim 9, the at least one hooking element comprises at least two hooking elements in the shape of eyelets, and wherein corners of the at least one hooking element are rounded (figure 9).
With regards to claim 11, Wong discloses at least one filling tube (B) and/or one or more vials including a filling neck (col. 3, lines 1-7).
In regards to claim 12, Wong discloses a container held by the holding device, wherein the holding device and the container are made of the same material (col. 2, lines 61-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (US 6474473) in view of Jordan (US 5005721). Wong teaches the invention of claim 1 but does not teach a closing body. Jordan teaches a holding device comprising a closing member (12) which includes a closing body (14) which is configured to be at least partly introduced into the opening of the at least one filling tube or neck of the container intended to be held by the holding device. Wong and Jordan are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. bottle/tube holders. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to include the closing bodies with the invention to Wong. The motivation would have been to further secure the caps of the bottles from undesired opening. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Wong as specified in claim 5.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (US 6474473) in view of Faulkner (US 20080000783). Wong teaches the invention of claim 1 but does not teach male/female assembly elements. Faulkner teaches a device comprising a male assembly element (106) on one lateral side, and on the opposite lateral side, a female assembly element (104) complementary to said male assembly element. Wong and Faulkner are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. bottle/tube holders. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to include the male/female assembly elements of Faulkner with the invention to Wong. The motivation would have been to provide means to secure multiple sections together (e.g. in the instance of forming a display arrangement – Wong: col. 5, lines 18-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Wong as specified in claim 8.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (US 6474473). Regarding claim 10, Wong does not teach wherein the holding device is made of a material resistant to sterilization by irradiation. Primarily, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Nonetheless, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to make Wong’s holding device from polypropylene in order to prevent the spread of contamination to/from the items in the holding device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Wong as specified in claim 10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631