DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ arguments filed on July 20, 2026, have been received and entered. Claims 1-5, 7, 11-15 have been canceled. Claims 6, 8-9 and 10 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of claims 6-11 (group II) in the reply filed on April 24, 2024 was acknowledged. Applicant elected delivering polynucleotide encoding Pdx1, Ng3, Mafa and TCf3 during telephone call on May 2, 2024.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2019/044718 filed on 08/01/2019 which claims benefit of 62/713,239 08/01/2018.
Claims 6, 8-9 and 10 are under consideration.
Maintained-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-new matter
Claims 6, 8-9 and 10 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In the instant case, the recitation of limitation “..delivering intracellularly into the skin cell a first vector consisting of a nucleic acid sequence encoding Tcf3” (claim 6a) and b) one to twelve days later delivering intracellularly into the skin cell a second vector consisting of nucleic acid sequences encoding Pdx1, Ng3, and Mafa (claim 6b) are considered new matter.. Upon further review of the instant specification, examiner could only find support for delivering intracellularly into the skin cells a polynucleotide comprising (emphasis added) nucleic acid sequences encoding Pdx1, Ng3, Mafa, and Tcf3. Each of the PNM-T factors can be delivered simultaneously, sequentially, or any combination thereof. (Page 2, para. 2, page 15, para. 2, page 18, para. 2 of the specification). There is no explicit or implicit support for “delivering intracellularly into the skin cell a first vector consisting of a nucleic acid sequence encoding Tcf3 and one to twelve days later delivering intracellularly into the skin cell a second vector consisting of nucleic acid sequences encoding Pdx1, Ng3, and Mafa. In case if applicants have evidence to support otherwise, applicants are invited to indicate page and line number for the written support specifically for the limitation recited in claim 6 of the instant application. Thus, at the time the application was filed, an Artisan of skill would not recognize from the disclosure that Applicant was in possession the invention, as claimed. Claims 8-9 and 10 are included in the rejection because they directly or indirectly depend from the rejected base claim 6. This is a new matter rejection.
Response to arguments
Applicants disagree with the rejection arguing instant specification explicitly supports “"In some embodiments, the method involves first delivering intracellularly into the skin cells a polynucleotide comprising nucleic acid sequences encoding Tcf3. The method can then involve delivering intracellularly into the skin cells a polynucleotide comprising nucleic acid sequences encoding Ng3, Mafa, and Pdx1, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, or 12, days later." Applicant further point to the specification discloses non-viral vectors containing the disclosed polynucleotides (As-Filed Specification, page 1, lines 31-32), and discloses "a non-viral vector comprising a polynucleotide comprising nucleic acid sequences encoding 2, 3, or 4 of the proteins selected from the group consisting of Pdx1, Ng3, Mafa, and Tcf3" (As-Filed Specification, page 15, lines 11-16), thereby conveying possession of delivering the factors on separate vectors. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
In response, it appears that applicants in part agree with the rejection by stating that instant specification directly supports a polynucleotide comprising (emphasis added) nucleic acid sequences encoding Tcf3 or a polynucleotide comprising nucleic acid sequences encoding Ng3, Mafa, and Pdx1. It is relevant to note that transitional phrase “comprising” as disclosed in the specification and indicated by applicant is synonymous with "including," "containing," is inclusive or open-ended and includes additional, unrecited sequences (see MPEP 2111.03). The pending claims recite transitional phrase "consisting of” that excludes any element, sequence not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520, 11 USPQ 255 (CCPA 1931); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948). Applicant has pointed out all the sections of the specification that directly support for a non-viral vector comprising a polynucleotide comprising nucleic acid sequences encoding Pdx1, Ng3, Mafa, and Tcf3 (see above). In case if applicants have evidence to support otherwise, applicants are invited to indicate page and line number for the written support specifically for the limitation recited in claim 6 of the instant application.
Therefore, in view of the fact patterns of the instant case, and the ground of rejection outlined by the examiner, applicants' arguments are not compelling and do not overcome the rejection of record.
Withdrawn-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103-necessitated by amendments
Claim 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (CN106467918, page 1-8 dated 3/1/2017) as evidenced by Melton (WO2010022395, dated 2/25/2010, IDS), Ben-Porath (US20170196913, IDS), Ho et al (Cell Reports, 2013, 3, 2113-2126) and Liu (Nature Cell Biology, 2013, 15, 829-838, art of record). Upon further consideration, previous rejection of claims is hereby withdrawn in view of new rejection set forth below.
Claim 6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (CN106467918, page 1-8 dated 3/1/2017) as evidenced by Melton (WO2010022395, dated 2/25/2010, IDS), Ben-Porath (US20170196913, IDS), Ho et al (Cell Reports, 2013, 3, 2113-2126) and Liu (Nature Cell Biology, 2013, 15, 829-838) as applied above and further in view of Gallego-Perez (Nanomedicine: Nanotechnology, Biology, and Medicine, (2016) 399–409). The rejection is withdrawn for the reasons discussed above.
Claim 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (CN106467918, page 1-8 dated 3/1/2017) as evidenced by Melton (WO2010022395, dated 2/25/2010, IDS), Ben-Porath (US20170196913, IDS), Ho et al (Cell Reports, 2013, 3, 2113-2126) and Liu (Nature Cell Biology, 2013, 15, 829-838) , Gallego-Perez (hereafter 2, Nature Nanotechnology, 2017, 12, 974-979)/Chang ((3D Nanochannel Array Platform for High-throughput Cell Manipulation and Nano-electroporation, dissertation for The Ohio State University ProQuest Dissertations Publishing, 2016. 10305593)/Draghia (US20080091135, dated 4/17/2008). The rejection is withdrawn for the reasons discussed above.
New-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103-necessitated by amendments
Claim 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melton (WO2010022395, 2/25/2010, IDS), Wu (CN106467918, page 1-8, 3/1/2017), Nguyen (Cell, 2006, 127, 171-183), Ben-Porath (US20170196913, IDS), Ho et al (Cell Reports, 2013, 3, 2113-2126) and Liu (Nature Cell Biology, 2013, 15, 829-838, art of record).
Claim is directed at a step of (a) delivering intracellularly into the skin cell a first vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding Tcf3; (b) one to twelve days later delivering intracellularly into the skin cell a second vector comprising nucleic acid sequences encoding Pdx1, Ng3, and Mafa; thereby producing an insulin producing cell.
Claims interpretation: Claim is interpreted to encompass steps of intracellular delivery of nucleic acid encoding Tcf3 followed by nucleic acid encoding three factors (Pdx1, Ngn3 and Mafa) in any skin cell. There is no requirement of expression of any surface marker in any skin cell showing reprogrammed cell showing expression of any surface marker showing presence of transdifferentiated beta cell phenotype or any other insulin producing cells. To the extent, prior art teaches the same active step the resulting cell type must necessarily be an insulin producing cell.
With respect to claims 6 and 8, Melton teaches a method of reprogramming somatic cells, for directly reprogramming a somatic cell of a first cell type into a somatic cell of a second cell type (see abstract). It is further disclosed that the term somatic cells refer to any somatic cells including a skin cell (see para. 56). Melton teaches using non-viral vectors (claim 18, page 87) encoding three transcription factors Pdx1, Ngn3, and MafA (claim 13 on page 86) to reprogram cells into insulin secreting cell (claim 9 on page 86) (limitation of claim 6b). This is further evidenced by Wu who teaches a method of producing insulin producing cells by delivering to the skin cells a vector comprising nucleic acid encoding Pdx1, Maf1 and Ngn3 to obtain the insulin secretion cells (see abstract, example 1and page 5, para. 150-152) (step b). Melton as evidenced by Wu teaches delivering non-viral vectors (claim 18, page 87) encoding three transcription factors Pdx1, Ngn3, and MafA (claim 13 on page 86) into somatic cells (somatic cells or skin) to reprogram cells into insulin secreting cell but differs from claimed invention by not disclosing (i) delivering into skin cell a vector comprising nucleic acid encoding Tcf3 (ii) wherein Tcf3 is delivered one to 12 days prior to delivering nucleic acid encoding Pdx1, Ngn3 and Mafa to produce insulin producing cells.
Ben teaches delivering a non-viral vector comprising one or more genes necessary for insulin secretion selected from group consisting of Pdx1, Mafa and Tcf3 for enhancing insulin secretion in response to glucose in an insulin secreting cell (para 51, 64, 88 and 93) (limitation of claim 6a). However, combination of reference fails to provide motivation to deliver vector encoding Tcf3 prior to delivering nucleic acid encoding Pdx1, Maf1 and Ngn3.
Nguyen teaches inducing or overexpressing TCF3 in adult skin cells (epidermal cells) and reported that overexpression of Tcf3 shifts the cells to less differentiated and more progenitor like state. Nguyen teaches TCf3 overexpression in skin cells promotes a transcriptional program shared by embryonic and postnatal SCs (see abstract). It is further disclosed that Tcf3 induction suppressed multiple terminal differentiation program. Nguyen provides evidence that Tcf3 overexpression could potentially shift skin cell to more undifferentiated state (abstract). This is further supported by Ho who reported overexpressing Tcf3 during early stages of reprogramming one day prior to delivering other transcription factor can promote mesenchymal to epithelial transition a key step of reprogramming (see fig. 4a-e) resulting in improved reprogramming efficiency (see page 2119, col. 1, para. 1). Ho teaches a biphasic response and stage specific effect of Tcf3, wherein an early high level of Tcf3 promotes the initial reprogramming event while a subsequent reduction of TGF3 led to later stages of reprograming (See page 2122, col. 1, last para. to col. 2). The combination of references differs from claimed invention by not disclosing Tcf3 is delivered 1 to 12 days prior to delivering other TF (nucleic acid encoding Pdx1, Ngn3 and Mafa) to produce insulin producing cells
Liu teaches optimization of sequential introduction of transcription factors after 1.5 day to 4.6 days to reprogram somatic cells. The results show that sequential delivery of the transcription factors outperforms the simultaneous introduction of transcription factors (see abstract, fig. 1 and 2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of prior art to modify the method of Melton and Wu to further incorporate polynucleotides encoding Tcf3 as suggested in Ben prior to delivering any reprogramming factor as suggested in Ho, in the method of reprogramming skin cells into insulin producing cells, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the instant invention. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to deliver Tcf3 prior to and after other factors because art reported that (i) during early stages of reprogramming a day prior to delivering other factors could promote mesenchymal to epithelial transition a key step of reprogramming resulting in improved reprogramming efficiency as evident form the teaching of Ho, (ii) overexpressing Tcf3 may function in skin cells maintain an undifferentiated state as in Nguyen. It would be further obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use a non-viral delivery system instead of viral delivery system as prior art explicitly reported using a number of non-viral delivery system as an alternative to viral delivery system to increase the expression of transcription factors (Pdx1, Ngn3 and MafA) in a cell for the purposes of reprogramming to a pancreatic beta like cells (see para. 184, page 47-para186, page 48 of Melton). Absent evidence of any unexpected superior results, one of skill in the art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success because prior art successfully reported Tcf3 (E2A) overexpression could produce a pool of uncommitted undifferentiated plastic progenitor and a subsequent and/or simultaneous introduction of a cocktail of pancreatic lineage factors (PMN) as in Melton or Wu would have differentiated these cells toward functional insulin-producing cells as suggested in Ben. It would be further obvious to optimize the duration of sequential delivery of reprogramming factors in cells with different combinations of transcription factors as disclosed in Liu and Wu. It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Claim 6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melton (WO2010022395, dated 2/25/2010, IDS), as evidenced by Wu (CN106467918, page 1-8, 3/1/2017), Nguyen (Cell, 2006, 127, 171-183), Ben-Porath (US20170196913, IDS), Ho et al (Cell Reports, 2013, 3, 2113-2126) and Liu (Nature Cell Biology, 2013, 15, 829-838, art of record) as applied above and Gallego-Perez (Nanomedicine: Nanotechnology, Biology, and Medicine, (2016) 399–409).
The teaching of Wu, Melton, Nguyen, Ben, Ho and Liu have been described above as discussed above and relied in same manner here. The combination of references differs from claimed invention by not disclosing delivery comprises a 3-dimenstional nanochannel electroporation.
Gallego-Perez cure the deficiency by disclosing a 3-dimenstional nanochannel electroporation novel non-viral nanotechnology-based platform permitting deterministic large-scale transfection with single-cell resolution (see fig. 1, 3D NEP design to deliver high dose plasmid DNA at single cell levels). The superior capabilities of this technology show overexpression of the transcription factors and reprogramming efficiencies that are comparable to viral methodologies without the constraints of capsid size and with the ability to control plasmid dosage. The new technology also shows superior performance relative to existing non-viral methods (see abstract). Gallego-Perez further teaches successful reprogramming of human dermal fibroblast cells (skin cells) by delivering polynucleotide encoding reprogramming factor using 3D-NEP device (see Fig. S1, R and page 403, col. 2, para. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu, Melton, Ben and Ho to modify the method of reprogramming skin cells into insulin producing cells by using 3D NEP technology to deliver polynucleotide encoding reprogramming factors as suggested in Gallego-Perez, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the instant invention. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because prior art suggested 3D-NEP deliver high dose plasmid DNA at single cell level, and the reprogramming efficiencies are comparable and superior to viral methodologies (supra). One of skill in the art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success because prior art successfully reported delivering polynucleotide encoding reprogramming factors in human skin cells (dermal cell) (Gallego-Perez, Fig. S1, R). It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Claim 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melton (WO2010022395, dated 2/25/2010, IDS), as evidenced by Wu (CN106467918, page 1-8, 3/1/2017), Nguyen (Cell, 2006, 127, 171-183), Ben-Porath (US20170196913, IDS), Ho et al (Cell Reports, 2013, 3, 2113-2126), Liu (Nature Cell Biology, 2013, 15, 829-838) as applied above and Gallego-Perez (hereafter 2, Nature Nanotechnology, 2017, 12, 974-979)/Chang ((3D Nanochannel Array Platform for High-throughput Cell Manipulation and Nano-electroporation, dissertation for The Ohio State University ProQuest Dissertations Publishing, 2016. 10305593)/Draghia (US20080091135, dated 4/17/2008).
The teaching of Wu, Melton, Nguyen, Ben, Ho and Liu have been described above as discussed above and relied in same manner here. The combination of references differs from claimed invention by not disclosing delivery comprises a tissue nano transfection device.
Gallego-Perez (2) teaches a non-viral approach to topically reprogram tissues through a nanochannelled device disclosed by Gallego-Perez (abstract, see page 974, col. 1, para. 1). Gallego-Perez (2) teaches TNT mediates enhanced reprogramming factor delivery and propagation beyond the transfection boundary of skin tissue (see fig. 1) Gallego-Perez (2) teaches intradermally inserting positive electrode and the negative electrode is put in contact with the cargo solution. A pulsed electric field (250 V, 10 ms pulses, 10 pulses) is then applied across the electrodes to nanoporate exposed skin cell membranes and inject the cargo directly into the cytosol (see fig. 1). Likewise, Chang teaches soft 3D NEP patched on the mammalian epidermis for in vivo nanochannel-based electroporation (see fig. 6.1). It is disclosed that Gene / cargo are injected into epithelial cells through the nanochannel array under the condensed electric field between a top electrode and an inserted electrode. The curve of NEP chip can be adjusted to fit the skin or tissues of the animal model (see page 140). Draghia teaches an electroporation devices and methods of using same to effectively facilitate the introduction of a biomolecule including plasmid into cells of a selected tissue in a body, in particular skin such as intradermic or subcutaneous tissue (abstract, para. 25 and 30, for example 9).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu, Melton, Ben-, Ho, Liu to modify the method of reprogramming skin cells into insulin producing cells by using modified 3D NEP device as suggested by Gallego-Perez (2)/Chang to deliver polynucleotide encoding reprogramming factors, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the instant invention. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to do so because prior art suggested 3D-NEP deliver high dose plasmid DNA at single cell level, and the reprogramming efficiencies are comparable and superior to viral methodologies (supra). One of skill in the art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success because prior art successfully reported delivering polynucleotide across skin tissue as in Gallego-Perez (2)/ Draghia. It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Response to arguments
To the extent that Applicants’ arguments are pertinent to the new rejections, they are addressed as follows:
Applicants disagree with the rejection arguing Wu and Melton do not teach any role of Tcf3. Applicant argues that Ben-Porath does not teach how to reprogram a skin cell into an insulin-producing cell. Ho teaches that Tcf3 and Tcf4 are stimulatory early in the reprogramming process of iPSCs. Ho does not, however, teach or suggest that transfecting skin cells with Tcf3 will make them prone to reprogramming into something other than a skin cell. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicants have further engaged in selective reading of the teachings of Wu and Melton to formulate the grounds for not teaching the invention. Applicants in part agree that Wu and Melton teach a method of producing insulin producing cells by delivering to the skin cells a vector comprising nucleic acid encoding Pdx1, Maf1 and Ngn3 to obtain the insulin secretion cells (see abstract, example 1and page 5, para. 150-152) (step b), however, assert references do not (a) contemplate the use of Tcf3 in the conversion protocol, or (b) use skin cells. It should be noted that Melton teaches a method of reprogramming somatic cells, for directly reprogramming a somatic cell of a first cell type into a somatic cell of a second cell type (see abstract). It is further disclosed that the term somatic cells refer to any somatic cells including a skin cell (see para. 56). Melton teaches using non-viral vectors (claim 18, page 87) encoding three transcription factors Pdx1, Ngn3, and MafA (claim 13 on page 86) to reprogram cells into insulin secreting cell (claim 9 on page 86) (limitation of claim 6b). It is emphasized that Melton did not limit the scope of somatic cells. In fact, Melton explicitly included skin cells as part of somatic cells (see para. 56). This is further supported by Wu who teaches a method of reprogramming by delivering non-viral vectors (claim 18, page 87) encoding at least three transcription factors Pdx1, Ngn3, and MafA (claim 13 on page 86) into somatic cells (somatic cells or skin) to reprogram cells into insulin secreting cells.
In response to applicants’ argument that Melton and Wu fail to teach any role of Tcf3, it should be noted that Ben teaches cells could be engineered to secrete insulin by exogenously expressing TCF3, which are required for insulin secretion (see Claim 1 of Ben, paragraphs 64, 88 of the specification). One of ordinary skill the art to motivated to combine any of the gene including TCF3 as disclosed in Ben with Pdxl, Ngn3, Mafa in method that teaches directed differentiation of human skin into islet cells as disclosed in Melton and Wu, with reasonable expectation of success.
On page 5 of the applicant’s argument, applicants assert that the invention, as claimed, relates to direct reprogramming of skin-derived cells into insulin-producing ß-like cells, using Tcf3, without passage through a pluripotent intermediate state. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
In response, it is noted that the results of the instant specification do not suggest transfecting skin cells with Tcf3 alone will make them prone to reprogramming into something other than a plurality of skin cell under vitro or in vivo condition embraced by the breadth of the claim. The specification teaches transfecting skin cells with Tcf3 alone under in vivo condition fails to convert skin cells into insulin producing cells (see fig, 1D). The Tcf3 delivery in conjunction Pdxl, Ngn3, Mafa at best show some the PNM-T cocktail, either delivered simultaneously or sequentially, was able to support a more controlled glucose level (i.e., more similar to the baseline the mice started with) compared to control/untreated mice and other permutations of the cocktail (see example 1 of the specification). The specification explicitly states that PNM-T cocktail, either delivered simultaneously or sequentially, was able to support a more controlled glucose level suggesting non-criticality of order of delivery.
On page 5 of the applicant’s argument, applicants assert that Tam and Cole suggest that Tcf3 alone is insufficient to induce pluripotency in somatic cells and rather acts as a transcriptional repressor of pluripotency-associated genes. Applicants conclude that this teaches away from the claimed use of Tcf3 to improve insulin production in skin cells. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
In response, it is noted that Tam and Cole are irrelevant to the claimed invention as they show Tcf3 depletion blocks embryonic stem cell differentiation. The combination of reference nowhere suggests making skin cells in pluripotent stem cell state. In fact, newly cited reference of Nguyen teaches inducing or overexpressing TCF3 in adult skin cell (epidermal cells) shifts the cells to less differentiated and more progenitor like state. It is further disclosed that Tcf3 induction suppressed multiple terminal differentiation program. Nguyen provides evidence that Tcf3 overexpression could potentially shift skin cell to more undifferentiated state (abstract). These results suggest initial overexpression of Tcf3 in skin cells (epidermal cells) is expected to expand the starting pool of cells instead of maturation of skin cells. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to deliver Tcf3 prior and simultaneous with other factors (PMN) known to produce insulin producing cells at higher level. This is becuase art reported overexpressing Tcf3 in skin cells may maintain skin cells in an undifferentiated state, and Tcf3 (E2A) could subsequently acts in conjunction with other transcription factor (PMN) for enhanced secretion of insulin as suggested in Ben and (iv) sequential delivery of the transcription factors outperforms the simultaneous introduction of transcription factors, with reasonable expectation of success.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Tcf3 overexpression in keratinocyte cells under in vitro conditions leads to a reduction in heterochromatin mark) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, method of overexpressing Tcf3 in keratinocyte cells under in vitro conditions as argued by applicant is different from the method as claimed. Even if, arguendo, the use of overexpressing Tcf3 resulted in reduction in heterochromatin mark thereby improving insulin producing cells as argued, "[t]he fact that [applicant] has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious." Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). In the instant case, prior art explicitly reported overexpssingTcf3 in combination with PMN for producing insulin producing cells, thus the relevance of Applicants' arguments with respect to overexpressing Tcf3 is not apparent.
On page 6 of the applicant’s argument, Applicant re-iterates prior arguments that are substantially the same as discussed in preceding section. The arguments are substantially the same as those addressed in foregoing sections.
On page 7 of the applicant’s argument, Claim 6 precisely the two-step sequential delivery at issue "first delivering a vector consisting of a nucleic acid sequence encoding Tcf3, and one to twelve days later delivering a vector consisting of nucleic acid sequences encoding Pdx1, Ng3, and Mafa", and the declaration demonstrates the unexpected reduction in heterochromatin compaction produced by that same sequence of steps (FIGs. 3A-3D); the unexpected property is a direct consequence of the very method steps recited in claim 6, not a separate or narrower outcome. Applicants do not rely on glycemic control to establish nonobviousness, but on the unexpected chromatin-decompaction and epigenetic-priming effect of delivering Tcf3 first, which no cited reference taught or predicted. An unexpected results showing may rest on a newly discovered property or mechanism and need not independently test every value within the claimed "one to twelve-day" window, because the epigenetic-priming mechanism operates in the same manner across that window and a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the effect throughout the claimed range. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
In response, it should be noted that unexpected results must be commensurate with the scope of the invention. "Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980).
The breadth of claim 6 encompasses a method of reprogramming any skin cell derived from any species of mammal into an insulin producing cell, comprising (a) delivering intracellularly into the skin cell a first vector consisting of a nucleic acid sequence encoding Tcf3; and (b) one to twelve days later delivering intracellularly into the skin cell a second vector consisting of nucleic acid sequences encoding Pdx1, Ng3, and Mafa thereby producing an insulin producing cell. In the instant case, claims read on delivering intracellularly into any skin cell in vivo or in vitro a first vector consisting of a nucleic acid sequence encoding Tcf3 for 1 to 12 days. The evidence provided by applicants pertains to figure 3A to 3C of declaration showing overexpression of TCF3 increases keratinocyte plasticity (see section 4 of the declaration). It is emphasized that art teaches that epigenetic-priming mechanisms do not function in the same manner across different species of skin cells, nor does it maintain a uniform duration window. For instance, Keratinocytes employs a short-term rapid chromatin remodeling, whereas dermal fibroblast rely on long term. Lowdon (Nat Commun. 2014:5:5442, 1-11, cited as evidence without relying on the rejection). teaches neonatal keratinocytes share many more differentially methylated regions (DMRs) with adult breast luminal and myoepithelial cells than with melanocytes and fibroblasts from the same neonatal skin. This suggests that surface ectoderm origin contributes to DNA methylation patterning, while shared skin tissue environment has limited effect on epidermal keratinocytes (see abstract). This study provide evidence that epigenetic regulation is highly dependent on a specific skin cell lineage. It is unclear if the results disclosed in declaration could be extended to different species of skin cells derived from different species of mammal.
Therefore, in view of the fact patterns of the instant case, and the ground of rejection outlined by the examiner, applicants' arguments are not compelling and do not overcome the rejection of record.
Examiner’s note: Applicant’s representative is requested to contact Examiner to resolve the pending issues to expedite the prosecution.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Geeta (Nature Cell Biology, 2013, 15(7), 725- 727) who reported sequential addition of transcription factors, rather than the simultaneous exposure used in standard protocols, improves reprogramming efficiency (see abstract).
Kuwahara et al (PLoS One, 2014, e94408, 1-12), Yu et al (Development (2018) 145 (6): dev163162.
/ANOOP K SINGH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632