Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument in pages 12-17, the applicant asserts that “Applicant submits that the combination of He, Chen, and Jen fails to teach or suggest "receiving, from the network, signaling indicating a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration allocating a plurality of SRS symbols for SRSs within an uplink (UL) subframe, wherein: the SRS configuration for the second group is received in signaling different from that in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received; the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received consists of cell-specific signaling; and the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the second group is received consists of radio resource control (RRC) signaling," as recited in claim 1 and similar features recited in claim 29.” Examiner respectively disagrees.
The applicant further asserts in page 14, “even assuming arguendo that.Jen could be read as disclosing that one portion of an SRS configuration is received in cell-specific signaling and another portion is received in UE-specific signaling, such a disclosure still fails to satisfy Applicant's explicit claim language. For example, claim 1 requires that "the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received consists of cell-specific signaling" and that "the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the second group is received consists of radio resource control (RRC) signaling." The transitional phrase "consists of" is closed, and therefore excludes the presence of any additional elements beyond those specified. See MPEP § 2111.03 ("Consisting of" is a closed transition which excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim.).” Examiner respectively disagrees.
As indicted by par. 39 of JEN, “the UE-specific SRS configuration may be included in at least one of a UE-specific signaling (e.g. a RRC signaling) and a cell-specific signaling (e.g. a cell broadcast signaling). In other words, part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the UE-specific signaling, and the other part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the cell-specific signaling. Also, the component carrier-specific SRS configuration may be included in at least one of the UE-specific signaling (e.g. the RRC signaling) and the cell-specific signaling (e.g. the cell broadcast signaling). In other words, part of the component carrier-specific SRS configuration is included in the UE-specific signaling, and the other part of the component carrier-specific SRS configuration is included in the cell-specific signaling. Particularly, the cell-specific signaling may include a UE-common configuration, i.e., the same for a plurality of UEs, and a carrier-common configuration, i.e., the same for a plurality of component carriers.”, part of the UE-specific SRS configuration and part of the component carrier-specific SRS configuration are signaling through a cell-specific signaling (e.g. a cell broadcast signaling), and other part of the UE-specific SRS configuration and other part of the component carrier-specific SRS configuration are signaling through the UE-specific signaling (e.g. the RRC signaling).
The part of the UE-specific SRS configuration and part of the component carrier-specific SRS configuration are the cell-specific signaling and the receiving of the cell-specific signaling would indicate received consists of cell-specific signaling. Therefore, the receiving of the cell-specific signaling comprising part of the UE-specific SRS configuration and part of the component carrier-specific SRS configuration as in JEN would consider as “the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received consists of cell-specific signaling”.
The other part of the UE-specific SRS configuration and other part of the component carrier-specific SRS configuration are the UE-specific signaling (e.g. the RRC signaling) and the receiving of the UE-specific signaling would indicate received consists of UE-specific signaling or dedicated to UE RRC signaling. Therefore, the receiving of the UE-specific signaling or dedicated to UE RRC signaling comprising other part of the UE-specific SRS configuration and other part of the component carrier-specific SRS configuration as in JEN would consider as "the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the second group is received consists of [dedicated] radio resource control (RRC) signaling.". Therefore, JEN also would teach JEN (US 20110249648) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches “the SRS configuration for the second group is received in signaling different from that in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received.”
Therefore, JEN would teach “the SRS configuration for the second group is received in signaling different from that in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received; the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received consists of cell-specific signaling; and the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the second group is received consists of dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling”. Therefore, the combination of HE and JEN teaches “receiving, from the network, signaling indicating a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration allocating a plurality of SRS symbols for SRSs within an uplink (UL) subframe, wherein: the SRS configuration for the second group is received in signaling different from that in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received; the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received consists of cell-specific signaling; and the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the second group is received consists of dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling,” and the claims.
The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-12, 15-21, 23-25, 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE et al. (US 20200322187) in view of JEN (US 20110249648).
Regarding claims 1, 29, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches a method of wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) in a network (par. 7, 26, UE), comprising:
receiving, from the network, signaling indicating a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration allocating a plurality of SRS symbols for SRSs within an uplink (UL) subframe (par. 7, 26, receiving, by a user equipment (UE), or transmitting by an eNB, a SRS transmission configuration for transmitting the SRS on an SRS CC. The SRS transmission configuration can comprise a set of parameter for generating the SRS transmission. For example, these parameters can comprise at least one of: a first CC and a second CC, one or more dedicated-SRS (D-SRS) subframes, a starting symbol of SRS transmission in the one or more D-SRS subframes on the second CC or an SRS CC-based switching time, a periodicity, bandwidth, hopping frequency, frequency hopping pattern as a predefined pattern, subframe gap length/time, or other SRS transmission configuration (UL/DL configuration) parameters that define the configuration of a subframe/frame structure (e.g., subframe type or the like); fig. 2, par. 43, 44, UL subframe configuration with SRS transmission on symbols #3, #5, #7); wherein:
the SRS configuration comprises an SRS configuration for a first group of one or more symbols that includes a last symbol in a subframe (fig. 2, par. 42, 55, 56, 57, 75, last symbols…SRS…cell specific; par. 34, when an SRS is transmitted in a special subframe); and
the SRS configuration also comprises an SRS configuration for a second group of one or more symbols other than the last symbol (fig. 2, par. 44, 51, 52, a set of SRS transmission parameters on SW-T-CCs can also be configured for each CG or for each respective CC by higher layers signaling (e.g., through/via RRC messaging)…The SRS parameters, for example, can include: a D-SRS subframe configuration);
the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received consists of cell-specific signaling (fig. 2, par. 42, 55, 56, 57, 75, last symbols…SRS…cell specific; par. 41, when an SRS is transmitted in a special subframe); and
the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the second group is received consists of dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling (fig. 2, par. 44, 51, 52, Reference configurations can also be semi-statically signaled using SIB1, or dedicated RRC signaling as part of or for an SRS CC-based switching configuration 202 or 204…a set of SRS transmission parameters on SW-T-CCs can also be configured for each CG or for each respective CC by higher layers signaling (e.g., through/via RRC messaging)… The SRS parameters, for example, can include: a D-SRS subframe configuration (e.g., structures 202, and 204));
detecting a collision between at least one SRS symbol of the plurality of SRS symbols for the SRSs and another type of UL transmission in the UL subframe (par. 28, 37, 38, 49, when CA is configured for a UE 140, SRS transmission in a first cell/CC is dropped if the SRS symbol happens to collide with PUCCH or PUSCH in a second cell/CC); and
taking one or more actions regarding transmitting the SRSs, based on the detection of the collision (table 1, par. 37, 38, 40, 49, 95), wherein taking the one or more actions comprises dropping transmission of the at least one SRS symbol (table 1, par. 37, 38, 49, 69, when CA is configured for a UE 140, SRS transmission in a first cell/CC is dropped if the SRS symbol happens to collide with PUCCH or PUSCH in a second cell/CC; par 41).
However, HE does not teach the SRS configuration for the second group is received in signaling different from that in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received;
But, JEN (US 20110249648) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches
the SRS configuration for the second group is received in signaling different from that in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received (par. 39, the UE-specific SRS configuration may be included in at least one of a UE-specific signaling (e.g. a RRC signaling) and a cell-specific signaling (e.g. a cell broadcast signaling). In other words, part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the UE-specific signaling, and the other part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the cell-specific signaling);
the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the first group is received consists of cell-specific signaling (par. 39, the UE-specific SRS configuration may be included in at least one of a UE-specific signaling (e.g. a RRC signaling) and a cell-specific signaling (e.g. a cell broadcast signaling). In other words, part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the UE-specific signaling, and the other part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the cell-specific signaling); and
the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the second group is received consists of dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling (par. 39, the UE-specific SRS configuration may be included in at least one of a UE-specific signaling (e.g. a RRC signaling) and a cell-specific signaling (e.g. a cell broadcast signaling). In other words, part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the UE-specific signaling, and the other part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the cell-specific signaling);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JEN in the system of HE to signal SRS configuration through cell-specific through broadcast and UE-specific through RRC.
The motivation would have been to reduce load on a single signal and improve response time.
Regarding claim 2, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the one or more actions comprise rate matching around the SRSs in symbols that collide with other type of UL transmission (par. 73, 81, Puncturing is a typical way of applying the rate matching); and
the method further comprises signaling a capability of the UE to perform the rate matching (par. 73, The number of symbols punctured by the UE for receiving PDSCH can be explicitly signaled as part of a DL grant or implicitly determined by the UE based on the switching time being utilized in switching from SW-F-CC to SW-T-CC and the configured SRS symbol to be transmitted on the SW-T-CC).
Regarding claim 3, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the SRS configuration is signaled via system information (SI) (par. 42, system information).
Regarding claim 4, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the SRS configuration indicates same SRS configurations for at least first and second groups of one or more symbols within a subframe (par. 56, 57);
the first group comprises a last symbol in a subframe (par. 56, 57); and
the second group comprises one or more other symbols, wherein the SRS configuration for the first group is the same as the second group in at least one of subframe, periodicity, or bandwidth in which the SRSs may occur (par. 56, 57).
Regarding claim 5, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein at least some of the SRS configuration is signaled via dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling (par. 33, 51, RRC).
Regarding claim 7, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of:
the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes, symbols, and a CC for at least one of the SRSs or a guard period (GP) (par. 26, 55); or
the one or more actions comprise rate matching physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions around at least one of the symbols for the SRSs or the symbols for the GP in the same subframe and CC (par. 26, 56, 82, rate-matching or puncturing for the SRS transmission or the GP).
Regarding claim 9, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the one or more actions further comprise adjusting a transport block size (TBS) scaling function dependent on a number of symbols occupied by the SRSs or the GP (par. 80, The assigned number of transport blocks size (TBS) for UL or DL portions 525 or 590 can be adjusted, for example, by multiplying the received RB allocation by an adjustment factor or scaling factor).
Regarding claim 10, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes, symbols, and a CC for SRSs or a guard period (GP) (par. 26, 27, 55); and
the one or more actions comprises postponing transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission with uplink control information (UCI) until a subframe with lesser SRS symbols or GP symbols (par. 64, 65, UE can modify a UL subframe configuration to a different UL subframe… the possibility of transmitting the ACK-NACK in this potential SRS subfame could be excluded, and the UCI transmission, for example, can be allowed only in the subframe(s) 350 that are not configured with the SRS transmission).
Regarding claim 11, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes, symbols, and a CC for the SRSs or a guard period (GP) (par. 26, 27, 55); and
the one or more actions comprise bundling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission across at least two subframes with more than one SRS symbol (table 1, par. 37, SRS+PUCCH/PUSCH when not power limited, allowing both SRS and PUSCH transmission in the carrier aggregated).
Regarding claim 12, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes and symbol locations for the SRSs (par. 26, 27, 55);
the other type of UL transmission includes demodulation reference signals (DMRS) or shortened physical uplink shared channel (sPUSCH) transmissions (par. 81, DMRS and shorted PUSCH); and
the one or more actions comprise determining symbol locations for at least one of the DMRS or sPUSCH based on the symbol locations for the SRSs (par. 56, 81, the starting symbol of an SRS transmission…by configuring or signaling the starting symbol, the gap or GP lengths (e.g., 250 or 260) can be derived therefrom…a demodulation reference symbol (DMRS) in a slot 1 for UE 2 can be indicated by…based on the GP length).
Regarding claim 15, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes and symbol locations of the SRSs (par. 26, 27, 55);
the other type of UL transmission includes demodulation reference signals (DMRS) or shortened physical uplink control channel (sPUCCH) transmissions (par. 81, DMRS and shorted PUSCH);
the one or more actions further comprise dropping the DMRS or the sPUCCH based on the symbol locations of the SRSs (par. 37, 38, 49, when CA is configured for a UE 140, SRS transmission in a first cell/CC is dropped if the SRS symbol happens to collide with PUCCH or PUSCH in a second cell/CC; par. 40, 81, DMRS is reference signals in PUSCH);
Regarding claim 16, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes and symbol locations of the SRSs in a first CC (par. 26, 27, 55);
the other type of UL transmission includes at least one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission in a same subframe but a second CC (par. 28, 95, 97); and
the one or more actions comprise at least one of antenna switching or antenna selection (table 2);
the antenna switching or antenna selection is slot-based or symbol-based (table 2); and
further comprising signaling a capability of the UE for at least one of antenna switching or antenna selection on different CCs (table 2, par. 38, 49).
Regarding claims 17, 30, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches a method of wireless communications by a network entity (par. 7, 26, eNB), comprising: transmitting, to at least one user equipment (UE), signaling indicating a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration allocating a plurality of SRSs symbols for SRSs within an uplink (UL) subframe (par. 7, 26, receiving, by a user equipment (UE), or transmitting by an eNB, a SRS transmission configuration for transmitting the SRS on an SRS CC. The SRS transmission configuration can comprise a set of parameter for generating the SRS transmission. For example, these parameters can comprise at least one of: a first CC and a second CC, one or more dedicated-SRS (D-SRS) subframes, a starting symbol of SRS transmission in the one or more D-SRS subframes on the second CC or an SRS CC-based switching time, a periodicity, bandwidth, hopping frequency, frequency hopping pattern as a predefined pattern, subframe gap length/time, or other SRS transmission configuration (UL/DL configuration) parameters that define the configuration of a subframe/frame structure (e.g., subframe type or the like); fig. 2, par. 43, 44, UL subframe configuration with SRS transmission on symbols #3, #5, #7); wherein:
the SRS configuration comprises an SRS configuration for a first group of one or more symbols that includes a last symbol in a subframe (fig. 2, par. 44, 51, 52, a set of SRS transmission parameters on SW-T-CCs can also be configured for each CG or for each respective CC by higher layers signaling (e.g., through/via RRC messaging)…The SRS parameters, for example, can include: a D-SRS subframe configuration); and
the SRS configuration also comprises an SRS configuration for a second group of one or more symbols other than the last symbol (fig. 2, par. 44, 51, 52, a set of SRS transmission parameters on SW-T-CCs can also be configured for each CG or for each respective CC by higher layers signaling (e.g., through/via RRC messaging)…The SRS parameters, for example, can include: a D-SRS subframe configuration);
the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the first group is transmitted consists of cell-specific signaling (fig. 2, par. 42, 55, 56, 57, 75, last symbols…SRS…cell specific; par. 41, when an SRS is transmitted in a special subframe); and
the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the second group is transmitted consists of dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling (fig. 2, par. 44, 51, 52, Reference configurations can also be semi-statically signaled using SIB1, or dedicated RRC signaling as part of or for an SRS CC-based switching configuration 202 or 204…a set of SRS transmission parameters on SW-T-CCs can also be configured for each CG or for each respective CC by higher layers signaling (e.g., through/via RRC messaging)…The SRS parameters, for example, can include: a D-SRS subframe configuration (e.g., structures 202, and 204));
detecting a collision between at least one SRS symbol of the plurality of SRS symbols for the SRSs and another type of UL transmission in the UL subframe (par. 37, 38, 49, when CA is configured for a UE 140, SRS transmission in a first cell/CC is dropped if the SRS symbol happens to collide with PUCCH or PUSCH in a second cell/CC); and taking one or more actions to process the SRSs, based on the detection of the collision (table 1, par. 37, 38, 40, 49, 95), wherein taking the one or more actions comprises dropping reception of the at least one SRS symbol (table 1, par. 37, 38, 49, 69, when CA is configured for a UE 140, SRS transmission in a first cell/CC is dropped if the SRS symbol happens to collide with PUCCH or PUSCH in a second cell/CC; par 41).
However, HE does not teach the SRS configuration for the second group is transmitted in signaling different from that in which the SRS configuration for the first group is transmitted.
But, JEN (US 20110249648) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the SRS configuration for the second group is transmitted in signaling different from that in which the SRS configuration for the first group is transmitted (par. 39, he UE-specific SRS configuration may be included in at least one of a UE-specific signaling (e.g. a RRC signaling) and a cell-specific signaling (e.g. a cell broadcast signaling). In other words, part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the UE-specific signaling, and the other part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the cell-specific signaling);
the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the first group is transmitted consists of cell-specific signaling (par. 39, the UE-specific SRS configuration may be included in at least one of a UE-specific signaling (e.g. a RRC signaling) and a cell-specific signaling (e.g. a cell broadcast signaling). In other words, part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the UE-specific signaling, and the other part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the cell-specific signaling); and
the signaling in which the SRS configuration for the second group is transmitted consists of dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling (par. 39, the UE-specific SRS configuration may be included in at least one of a UE-specific signaling (e.g. a RRC signaling) and a cell-specific signaling (e.g. a cell broadcast signaling). In other words, part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the UE-specific signaling, and the other part of the UE-specific SRS configuration is included in the cell-specific signaling);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JEN in the system of HE to signal SRS configuration through cell-specific through broadcast and UE-specific through RRC.
The motivation would have been to reduce load on a single signal and improve response time.
Regarding claim 18, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 17, wherein: the one or more actions comprise rate matching around the SRSs in symbols that collide with other type of UL transmission (par. 73, 81, Puncturing is a typical way of applying the rate matching); and the method further comprises receiving signaling from the UE regarding a capability of the UE to perform the rate matching (par. 73, The number of symbols punctured by the UE for receiving PDSCH can be explicitly signaled as part of a DL grant or implicitly determined by the UE based on the switching time being utilized in switching from SW-F-CC to SW-T-CC and the configured SRS symbol to be transmitted on the SW-T-CC).
Regarding claim 19, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the SRS configuration is signaled via system information (SI) (par. 42, system information).
Regarding claim 20, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 17, wherein: the SRS configuration indicates same SRS configurations for at least first and second groups of one or more symbols within a subframe (par. 56, 57); the first group comprises a last symbol in a subframe (par. 56, 57); and the second group comprises one or more other symbols, wherein the SRS configuration for the first group is the same as the second group in at least one of subframe, periodicity, or bandwidth in which the SRSs may occur (par. 56, 57).
Regarding claim 21, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 17, wherein at least some of the SRS configuration is signaled via dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling (par. 33, 51, RRC).
Regarding claim 23, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 17, wherein: the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes, symbols, and a CC for at least one of the SRSs or a guard period (GP) (par. 26, 55); and the one or more actions comprise rate matching physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions around at least one of the symbols for the SRSs or the symbols for the GP in the same subframe and CC (par. 26, 56, 82, rate-matching or puncturing for the SRS transmission or the GP).
Regarding claim 24, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 17, wherein: the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes, symbols, and CC for the SRSs or a guard period (GP) (par. 26, 27, 55); and the one or more actions comprise processing physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions bundled across at least two subframes with more than one SRS symbol (table 1, par. 37, SRS+PUCCH/PUSCH when not power limited, allowing both SRS and PUSCH transmission in the carrier aggregated).
Regarding claim 25, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 17, wherein: the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes and symbol locations for the SRSs (par. 26, 27, 55); the other type of UL transmission includes demodulation reference signals (DMRS) or shortened physical uplink shared channel (sPUSCH) transmissions (par. 81, DMRS and shorted PUSCH); and the one or more actions comprise determining symbol locations for at least one of the DMRS or sPUSCH based on the symbol locations for the SRSs (par. 56, 81, the starting symbol of an SRS transmission…by configuring or signaling the starting symbol, the gap or GP lengths (e.g., 250 or 260) can be derived therefrom…a demodulation reference symbol (DMRS) in a slot 1 for UE 2 can be indicated by…based on the GP length).
Regarding claim 27, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 17, wherein: the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes and symbol locations of the SRSs (par. 26, 27, 55);
the other type of UL transmission includes demodulation reference signals (DMRS) or shortened physical uplink control channel (sPUCCH) transmissions (par. 81, DMRS and shorted PUSCH); and the one or more actions comprise determining symbol locations for dropping the DMRS or the sPUCCH based on the symbol locations of the allocated SRS (par. 37, 38, 49, when CA is configured for a UE 140, SRS transmission in a first cell/CC is dropped if the SRS symbol happens to collide with PUCCH or PUSCH in a second cell/CC; par. 40, 81, DMRS is reference signals in PUSCH).
Regarding claim 28, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 17, wherein: the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes and symbol locations of the SRSs in a first CC (par. 26, 27, 55); the other type of UL transmission includes at least one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission in a same subframe but a second CC (par. 28, 95, 97); the one or more actions comprise determining at least one of antenna switching or antenna selection has occurred at the UE (table 2); the antenna switching or antenna selection is slot-based or symbol-based (table 2); and further comprising receiving signaling of a capability of the UE for at least one of antenna switching or antenna selection on different CCs (table 2, par. 38, 49).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE et al. (US 20200322187) and JEN (US 20110249648) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of MARINIER et al. (US 20200196343).
Regarding claim 8, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the one or more actions further comprise transmission power when rate matching PUSCH transmissions around at least one of the symbols for the SRSs or the symbols for the GP if the PUSCH transmissions include uplink control information (UCI) (table 1, par. 33, 35, 37, 38).
However, HE does not teach adjusting transmission power.
But, MARINIER et al. (US 20200196343) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches adjusting transmission power (par. 185).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by MARINIER in the system of HE and JEN to adjust transmission power.
The motivation would have been to improve the prioritization (MARINIEAR par. 157).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE et al. (US 20200322187) and JEN (US 20110249648) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of YAMAMOTO et al. (US 20190020455).
Regarding claim 13, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes and symbol locations for the SRSs (par. 26, 27, 55);
the other type of UL transmission includes demodulation reference signals (DMRS) or shortened physical uplink shared channel (sPUSCH) transmissions (par. 81, DMRS and shorted PUSCH);
However, HE does not teach the one or more actions comprise at least one of adjusting locations of UL DMRS based on the symbol locations for the SRSs or keeping at least some DMRS locations that do not overlap with the symbol location for the SRSs.
But, YAMAMOTO et al. (US 20190020455) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the one or more actions comprise at least one of adjusting locations of UL DMRS based on the symbol locations for the SRSs or keeping at least some DMRS locations that do not overlap with the symbol location for the SRSs (YAMAOTO et al. (US 20190020455), par. 125, the DMRS is not mapped to the last symbol (the 14th symbol from the beginning) of one subframe. In other words, the terminal 200 maps the DMRS to SC-FDMA symbols other than the last symbol of a subframe (SRS transmission candidate subframe) in which an existing LTE terminal may possibly transmit the SRS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YAMAMOTO in the system of HE and JEN to use comb offset to allow both transmissions in the same symbol.
The motivation would have been to improve the transmission quality (YAMAMOTO par. 24, 25).
Claim(s) 14, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE et al. (US 20200322187) and JEN (US 20110249648) as applied to claims 1, 17 above, and further in view of KANG et al. (US 20200295894 as supported by provisional application 62557068 filed on 09/11/2017).
Regarding claim 14, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes and symbol locations for the SRSs (par. 26, 27, 55);
the other type of UL transmission includes demodulation reference signals (DMRS) or shortened physical uplink shared channel (sPUSCH) transmissions (par. 81, DMRS and shorted PUSCH);
However, HE does not teach the one or more actions comprise allowing the DMRS and the SRSs in a same symbol based on comb structures and a comb offset indicated in the SRS configuration.
But, KANG in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the one or more actions comprise allowing the DMRS and the SRSs in a same symbol based on comb structures and a comb offset indicated in the SRS configuration (par. 240, 254, SRS symbol position, comb value, or comb offset se by RRC or MAC-CE…if UL DMRS type 1, SRS comb 4, and FDM is performed between #{1,2} ports and #{3,4} ports, SRS may be allowed to be FDMed in the DMRS symbol position only for the patterns where inter-port group subcarrier interval is 2.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by KANG in the system of HE and JEN to use comb offset to allow both transmissions in the same symbol.
The motivation would have been to increase system performance (KANG par. 19).
Regarding claim 26, HE et al. (US 20200322187) teaches the method of claim 17, wherein: the SRS configuration indicates a set of subframes and symbol locations for the SRSs (par. 26, 27, 55); the other type of UL transmission includes demodulation reference signals (DMRS) or shortened physical uplink shared channel (sPUSCH) transmissions (par. 81, DMRS and shorted PUSCH);
However, HE does not teach the SRS configuration indicates a comb offset; the one or more actions comprise processing the DMRS and the SRSs transmitted in a same symbol based on comb structures and the comb offset indicated in the SRS configuration.
But, KANG in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the SRS configuration indicates a comb offset (par. 240, 254); the one or more actions comprise processing the DMRS and the SRSs transmitted in a same symbol based on comb structures and the comb offset indicated in the SRS configuration (par. 240, 254, SRS symbol position, comb value, or comb offset se by RRC or MAC-CE…if UL DMRS type 1, SRS comb 4, and FDM is performed between #{1,2} ports and #{3,4} ports, SRS may be allowed to be FDMed in the DMRS symbol position only for the patterns where inter-port group subcarrier interval is 2.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by KANG in the system of HE and JEN to use comb offset to allow both transmissions in the same symbol.
The motivation would have been to increase system performance (KANG par. 19).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LIU et al. (US 20230208578 with continuation of PCT/US2017/025577 filed on 03/31/2017) teaches allocating a plurality of SRS symbols for SRSs within an uplink (UL) subframe (par. 84, 86, 214, 215, symbol locations, in a subframe, over which the UE is transmit the SRS symbols);
detecting a collision between at least one SRS symbol of the plurality of symbols for the SRSs and another type of UL transmission (par. 128, 187, If there is a collision between a periodic SRS transmission and another UL transmission (e.g., PUSCH/PUCCH transmission on another CC), then the SRS transmission is dropped);
taking one or more actions regarding transmitting the SRSs, based on the detection of the collision (par. 128, 187, 195, the UE may determine that the uplink transmissions are power limited, in which case the UE may either drop the SRS transmission), wherein taking the one or more actions comprises:
transmitting one or more SRS symbols of the plurality of SRS symbols (par. 279, When a long-periodicity SRS collides with a short-periodicity SRS, the short one may be dropped); and dropping transmission of the at least one SRS symbol (par. 195, 278, When a long-periodicity SRS collides with a short-periodicity SRS, the short one may be dropped).
NOH et al. (US 20120281625) teaches all parameters for the UE-specific SRSs among the above-described SRSs or parameters of a subset of UE-specific parameters, e.g., cyclic shift (CS), transmissionComb and a UE-specific SRS bandwidth, may be dynamically signaled using a DCI format for downlink transmission and the remaining UE-specific parameters and the cell-specific parameters of the above-described SRSs may be signaled in advance through a higher layer, that is, an RRC layer (par. 73).
YOO et al. (US 20180242285) teaches A UE may receive a configured cell-specific SRS transmission subframe through a System Information Block (SIB), and may be assigned a UE-specific SRS transmission subframe through an RRC message (par. 72).
YOO et al. (US 20170048717) teaches SRS transmission for Advance UE, SRS transmissions for Legacy UE in special frame (fig. 15); the cell-specific SRS configuration information may be transmitted in an SIB or an RRC message (fig. 5, par. 72); the cell-specific SRS configuration information and UE-specific SRS configuration information may be transmitted in the same RRC message (fig. 5, par. 73);
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 02/06/2026