DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Final Office Action on 07/14/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims / Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to an amendment filed on November 14, 2025.
Claims 98 and 100-116 were previously pending. Applicant amended claim 98.
Claims 98 and 100-116 are currently pending, with claims 103-107 and 113-114 withdrawn.
Claims 98, 100-102, 108-112, and 115-116 are under consideration.
All of the amendment and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed and considered. All of the previously presented rejections have been withdrawn as being obviated by the amendment of the claims, which added new limitations to the claims, that were not considered in the previous rejections.
Applicant' s amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive to place the claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow.
This office action contains new grounds for rejection necessitated by amendment.
Priority
The priority date of the instant claims 98, 100-102, 108-112, and 115-116 is 07/19/2018, filling date of the UNITED KINGDOM Patent Application Number 1811810.9, to which the present application claims priority.
Claim Interpretation -- Updated
In evaluating the patentability of the claims presented in this application, claim terms have been given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification, as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, as outlined in MPEP§ 2111.
A) For the purpose of applying prior art, regarding all claims, the term "cycle" is recited in the claims, but not defined in the applicant's disclosure. Under BRI, this term is interpreted to mean "a recurring series of steps."
B) For the purpose of applying prior art, claim 98 recites "predefined sequence," which is a term not defined nor clearly described in the applicant's disclosure. Thus a "predefined sequence" is interpreted under BRI to mean any sequence.
Response to Argument:
Applicant's argument regarding the interpretation of the term "predefined sequence" (Remarks, 11/14/2025, at page 24) have been fully considered.
In the response, Applicant maintains the position previously set forth in the amendment filed on April 7, 2025, asserting that:
"one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would understand that a "predefined" sequence, as recited in the instant claims, is any sequence that one would desire to synthesize prior to performing the method, and that a polynucleotide molecule having that sequence is created using the claimed method.”
As no new arguments have been presented, it is noted that Applicant's arguments, as stated in the April 7, 2025 amendment, has been fully addressed and found unpersuasive in the prior Office Action mailed on July 14, 2025 (page 6-7).
The key issue remains that neither the application's disclosure nor Applicant's remarks clearly identify any structural characteristics of a "predefined" sequence" that would distinguish it from any other sequence in the prior art. For example, any arbitrary sequence is capable of being “desired” by anyone for any purpose. There is no structural, or sequence requirement of the “predefined” sequence. It is any sequence.
Also, it is noted that regardless of which claim interpretation is applied, the currently cited prior art references in the 103 rejections continue to apply.
C) For the purpose of applying prior art, claim 101 recites "blunt-ended ligation reaction," which is not defined in the applicant's disclosure. Page 134 of the specification provides the following description:
"In method versions 1 and 2 the terminal end of the scaffold polynucleotide comprising the primer strand portion comprises a blunt end, i.e. with no overhanging nucleotides in either strand."
Thus, in light of the specification and under BRI, the term "blunt-ended ligation reaction" is interpreted as a ligation reaction of double stranded DNAs that contain no nucleotide overhang on the ligation end of each strand.
D) For the purpose of applying prior art, claim 101 recites a "primer strand portion," which is not defined nor clearly described in the applicant's disclosure. Thus this term "primer strand portion" is interpreted under BRI to comprise any portion of sequence on the synthesis strand.
E) Claim 100 recites "partner nucleotide" and “nucleotide pair,” which are related terms that are not defined in the applicant's disclosure. Page 20 of the specification provides that a "partner nucleotide" may be one that pairs with the first nucleotide and is potentially complementary:
"In any of the methods described above and herein, in any one, more or all cycles of synthesis a partner nucleotide which pairs with the first nucleotide of the predefined sequence may be a nucleotide which is complementary with the first nucleotide, preferably naturally complementary."
Page 138 of the specification indicates that the nucleotide pairs can consist of nucleotides chosen by the user to be either complementary or non-complementary:
"In method versions 1 and 2 described herein, given that first and second nucleotides of each cycle form a nucleotide pair with respective partner nucleotides, if the first and second nucleotides of each cycle is chosen by the user to be naturally complementary to their respective partner nucleotides of each cycle, then the final synthesised strands will be perfectly complementary. If first and second nucleotides of certain cycles are chosen by the user to be non-complementary to their respective partner nucleotides of those cycles, then the final synthesised strands will not be perfectly complementary. Nevertheless, in either situation the final synthesised strands both comprise sequence which in the context of the synthesised double-stranded polynucleotide as a whole is predefined."
Therefore, in light of the specification and under BRI, the broadest reasonable interpretation of "partner nucleotide" encompass any nucleotide that pairs with another, which does not necessarily need to be complementary. Similarly, a "nucleotide pair" can be any two nucleotides added to the polynucleotide on opposite strands, within the same synthesis cycle, regardless of their complementarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 -- New
Claims 98, 100-102, 108-112, and 115-116 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ARLOW (US20170218416A1 - Compositions and methods for single-molecule construction of dna; Published August 03 2017; cited as U.S. Patent Document on IDS filed 06/26/24), in view of
McKernan (McKernan et al. US20090181860A1 - Reagents, methods, and libraries for bead-based sequencing; Published 2009-07-16),
as evidenced by
Güixens-Gallardo (Güixens-Gallardo et al. Inhibition of non-templated nucleotide addition by DNA polymerases in primer extension using twisted intercalating nucleic acid modified templates. Bioorg Med Chem Lett. 2016 Jan 15;26(2):288-291. doi: 10.1016/j.bmcl.2015.12.034. Epub 2015 Dec 11. PMID: 26707394),
Bentley (Bentley et al. Accurate whole human genome sequencing using reversible terminator chemistry. Nature 456, 53–59 (2008). doi.org/10.1038/nature07517) and
Chen (Chen et al. The history and advances of reversible terminators used in new generations of sequencing technology. Genomics Proteomics Bioinformatics. 2013 Feb;11(1):34-40. doi: 10.1016/j.gpb.2013.01.003. Epub 2013 Jan 23. PMID: 23414612; PMCID: PMC4357665).
A) ARLOW teaches a method for DNA polynucleotide synthesis with repeated cycles involving DNA ligation, nucleotide extension, and strand-specific DNA cleavage (entire document).
Regarding claim 98, ARLOW teaches an in vitro method of synthesising a double-stranded polynucleotide having a predefined sequence, the method comprising performing cycles of synthesis (entire document, Figure 10 for example) wherein in each cycle:
(A) a first strand of a double-stranded polynucleotide (Figure 10, - strand) is extended by incorporation of a first nucleotide of the predefined sequence and a universal nucleotide by the action of a ligase enzyme (Figure 10), wherein the universal nucleotide defines a cleavage site(Figure 10, dU base);
(B) the double-stranded polynucleotide is then cleaved at the cleavage site(Figure 10E); and
(C) a second strand of the double-stranded polynucleotide which is hybridized to the first strand (Figure 10, + strand) is then extended by incorporation of a second nucleotide of the predefined sequence by a nucleotide transferase or polymerase enzyme(Figure 10B; [0050]); and wherein the first and second nucleotides of the predefined sequence of each cycle are retained in the double-stranded polynucleotide following cleavage (Figure 10, the second nucleotide filled in takes place after cleavage and is retained); and wherein in a given cycle of synthesis the second nucleotide of that cycle which is added to the second strand of the double-stranded polynucleotide comprises a reversible terminator group which prevents further extension by the nucleotide transferase or polymerase enzyme ([0144], lines1-9), and wherein the reversible terminator group is removed from the incorporated second nucleotide of that cycle prior to the addition in the next cycle of synthesis of the second nucleotide of the next cycle([0144], lines1-9).
Although the embodiment of Figure 10 does not explicitly disclose using and removing reversible terminator group, it discloses a filling step where DNA polymerase extends a strand by 1 nucleotide, using the complementary bottom strand as a template, creating a blunt end that enables subsequence extension through blunt-end ligation.
Para. 142 and 144 of ARLOW teach using photo-reversible terminator nucleotide which prevents extension by polymerase enzyme to improve fidelity and correctness of the polynucleotides synthesized ([0142]; [0144]lines1-9).
The potential advantage of using photo-reversible terminator nucleotides in the method disclosed in Figure 10 is apparent, as non-templated nucleotide extension by DNA polymerase is a well-known issue in the art, particularly in DNA polynucleotide synthesis, as evidenced by Güixens-Gallardo.
Güixens-Gallardo teaches DNA polymerases are also capable of non-templated addition (NTA) of nucleotides to the 3′-ends of blunt-ended DNA duplexes, resulting in 3′-overhangs, and NTA is disadvantageous in oligonucleotide (i.e., DNA polynucleotide) synthesis:
"Besides incorporation of nucleotides complementary to the template sequence, DNA polymerases are also capable of non-templated addition (NTA) of nucleotides to the 3′-ends of blunt-ended DNA duplexes, resulting in 3′-overhangs.6, 7 In the enzymatic synthesis of DNA, NTA typically leads to the formation of multiple DNA products—the product of the desired length and/or products having one (or more) extra nucleotides at the 3′-end. Any of natural dNTPs can be used by the polymerase for NTA but dATP is the most preferred one.8 PCR-amplified products with 3′-adenine overhangs can be used in so called TA cloning.9 On the other hand, NTA is disadvantageous when an ON of a given length and sequence is to be prepared, for example, in genotyping10, 11 and synthesis of ON probes.12, 13 Especially in probes for electrochemical detection of DNA, the exact number of nucleotides bearing electrochemical labels is crucial for the application of the ON probe. " (page 288, right-hand col)[emphasis added]
Therefore, in view of the teachings in ARLOW and the general knowledge in the art, evidenced here by Güixens-Gallardo, a skilled artisan would recognize the importance of avoiding any non-templated extension by DNA polymerase, because such extensions would interfere with blunt-end ligation and negatively impact the fidelity and sequence accuracy of the synthesized polynucleotides.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of reversible terminator group in DNA synthesis to the method of Figure 10 (step B, fill in with single nucleotide), both taught by ARLOW to incorporate the use of a photo-reversible terminator nucleotide as the second nucleotide in its template-dependent extension step, wherein the reversible terminator group is removed from the incorporated second nucleotide of that cycle prior to the addition in the next cycle. Because given the known function of each element as explained by ARLOW and the general knowledge in the field, the combination of such elements represents an assemblage of known elements according to known methods that yields predictable results (See MPEP §2143), such as enhanced fidelity and control of polynucleotide synthesis.
According to ARLOW, the use of nucleotides with photo-reversible terminators represents a known approach to enhancing accuracy, and it would have been an obvious, logical step for a skilled artisan with ordinary creativity to apply this technical approach in the single nucleotide extension step in the method of Fig 10 (step B) to achieve similar benefits.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to perform removing the reversible terminator group from the incorporated nucleotide prior to the next synthesis cycle to enable operability of subsequence cycle. As could be readily understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art, without removal of the terminator group, the next nucleotide could not have be added, making the removal of the reversible terminator group a logical and necessary step in ARLOW’s teaching of a cyclic DNA synthesis method.
The skilled artisan would have been motivated to leverage the advantages of photo-reversible terminator nucleotides, to address the known problem of non-templated DNA polymerase extension in the art.
The person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the elements taught by ARLOW into a single method because the detailed teaching in ARLOW provide a strong technical foundation for their successful integration.
Additionaly, it should be noted that use of nucleotides with reversible terminator groups in DNA synthesis cycles is a well-established, routine, and conventional approach within the field of molecular biology, as evidenced by Bentley and Chen.
Bentley teaches the use of nucleotides comprising reversible terminator group in DNA synthesis cycles (entire document, page 53, right-hand col, para 1 for example), where the terminator group is removed after incorporation to allow the next nucleotide addition (page 53, right-hand col, para 1, “We added tris(2-carboxyethyl)phosphine (TCEP) to remove the fluorescent dye and side arm from a linker attached to the base and simultaneously regenerate a hydroxyl group ready for the next cycle of nucleotide addition”). Bentley explains that the use of nucleotides comprising reversible terminator group in DNA synthesis cycles ensures complete and accurate nucleotide incorporation while preventing over-incorporation (page 53, right-hand col, para 1, lines 6-10). Therefore, Bentley provides additional motivation and evidence that the use of nucleotides comprising reversible terminator group in DNA synthesis cycles and the removal of the terminator group between cycles is a known practice in the art for achieving accuracy and control in DNA synthesis methods.
Chen is a review article that provides a comprehensive overview of reversible terminators in sequencing, such as sequencing-by-synthesis (entire document). Similar to Bentley, Chen discloses the wide use of reversible terminator nucleotides in DNA sequencing-by-synthesis cycles, where the terminator group is removed at the end of each cycle (Figure 3). Thus further demonstrating the use of nucleotides with reversible terminator groups in DNA synthesis cycles is a well-established, routine, and conventional approach within the field of molecular biology.
B) Regarding the newly added claim limitation specifying the universal nucleotide as comprising: hypoxanthine, 4-nitroindole, 5-nitroindole, 6-nitroindole, 3-nitropyrrole, nitroimidazole, 4-nitropyrazole, 4-nitrobenzimidazole, 5-nitroindazole, 4-aminobenzimidazole, or phenyl; while ARLOW teaches the use of deoxyuridine (dU) nucleotide as a cleavable linker (Figure 10; [0135] for examples), it does not explicitly disclose any nucleotide comprising the bases listed in the new limitation, such as hypoxanthine.
However, ARLOW also states that nucleobases other than dU can also serve as cleavable linkers, provided that they can be cleaved by enzyme that cleaves the backbone at the site of the nucleobase leaving a 5′ phosphate terminus ([0135]lines 18-22).
McKernan discloses methods of polynucleotide synthesis involving cyclic steps of extension, ligation, and cleavage (entire document, see Abstract for example), and specifically teaches the use of deoxyinosine as a cleavable nucleotide in combination with E.coli Endonuclease V (Endo V), which cleave a nucleic acid containing deoxyinosine at the second phoshodiester bond 3' to the deoxyinosine residue, leaving a 3' OH and 5' phosphate termini. ([00225]). McKernan teaches deoxyinosine comprises hypoxanthine as its nucleobase ([0105] lines 9-11).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the dU cleavable linker in ARLOW with deoxyinosine comprising hypoxanthine, as taught by McKernan. Both references pertain to cyclic polynucleotide synthesis workflows comprising nucleotide cleavage steps. ARLOW explicitly states that cleavable linkers are not limited to dU, that "[d]ifferent modified nucleobases than uracil as a cleavable linker could have also used, combined with any enzyme that cleaves the backbone at the site of the modified nucleobase leaving a 5′ PO4 terminus." ([0135])
The pairing of deoxyinosine and Endo V, disclosed in McKernan, meets this description.
Thus, this substitution represents a predicable, simple substitution of known, functionally equivalent elements, leading to the predictable result of cleaving of polynucleotide.
This rationale aligns with the principle of KSR for a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
C) Regarding claim 100, ARLOW teaches in each cycle the first nucleotide is a partner nucleotide for the second nucleotide, and wherein upon incorporation into the double- stranded polynucleotide the first and second nucleotides form a nucleotide pair (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 101, ARLOW teaches :
(1) providing a scaffold polynucleotide (Figure 10 A) comprising a synthesis strand (Figure 10 A, - strand) and a support strand (Figure 10 A, + strand)hybridized thereto, wherein the synthesis strand comprises a primer strand portion, and wherein the support strand is the first strand of the double-stranded polynucleotide and the synthesis strand is the second strand of the double-stranded polynucleotide (Figure 10 A);
(2) ligating a double-stranded polynucleotide ligation molecule to the scaffold polynucleotide by the action of the ligase enzyme in a blunt-ended ligation reaction (Figure 10;[0050] ), the polynucleotide ligation molecule (Figure 10, extension unit) comprising a support strand (Figure 10, extension unit, bottom strand) and a helper strand (Figure 10, extension unit, top strand) hybridised thereto and further comprising a complementary ligation end, the ligation end comprising:
(i) in the support strand a universal nucleotide and a first nucleotide of the predefined sequence (Figure 10, extension unit, bottom strand with 1nt payload and dU); and
(ii) in the helper strand a non-ligatable terminal nucleotide(Figure 10, extension unit, top strand, 5’ OH ); wherein upon ligation the first strand of the double-stranded polynucleotide is extended with the first nucleotide and the cleavage site is created by the incorporation of the universal nucleotide into the first strand(Figure 10);
(3) cleaving the ligated scaffold polynucleotide at the cleavage site (Figure 10, E), wherein cleavage comprises cleaving the support strand and removing the universal nucleotide from the scaffold polynucleotide to provide a cleaved double-stranded scaffold polynucleotide comprising the incorporated first nucleotide (Figure 10);
(4) extending the terminal end of the primer strand portion of the synthesis strand of the double- stranded scaffold polynucleotide by incorporation of a second nucleotide of the predefined sequence by the action of the nucleotide transferase or polymerase enzyme (Figure 10, F-B) , the second nucleotide comprising a reversible terminator group which prevents further extension by the nucleotide transferase or polymerase enzyme ([0144], lines1-9), wherein the second nucleotide is a partner for first nucleotide and wherein upon incorporation the second nucleotide and the first nucleotide form a nucleotide pair (Figure 10) , and
(5) removing the reversible terminator group from the second nucleotide([0144], lines1-9), ;
the method further comprising performing a further cycle of synthesis comprising (Figure 10;[0050] ):
(6) ligating a further double-stranded polynucleotide ligation molecule to the cleaved scaffold polynucleotide by the action of the ligase enzyme in a blunt-ended ligation reaction, the polynucleotide ligation molecule comprising a support strand and a helper strand hybridised thereto and further comprising a complementary ligation end (Figure 10;[0050]), the ligation end comprising:
(i) in the support strand a universal nucleotide and the first nucleotide of the further cycle of synthesis; and
(ii) in the helper strand a non-ligatable terminal nucleotide; wherein upon ligation the first strand of the double-stranded polynucleotide is extended with the first nucleotide of the further cycle of synthesis and the cleavage site is created by the incorporation of the universal nucleotide into the first strand (Figure 10;[0050]) ;
(7) cleaving the ligated scaffold polynucleotide at the cleavage site, wherein cleavage comprises cleaving the support strand and removing the universal nucleotide from the scaffold polynucleotide to provide a cleaved double-stranded scaffold polynucleotide comprising the nucleotide pair(s) from step (4) and the first nucleotide of the further cycle of synthesis (Figure 10, polynucleotide synthesis is cyclic, wherein in each cycle the previously extended bases are retained in cleavage step E ;[0050]);
(8) extending the terminal end of the primer strand portion of the synthesis strand of the double- stranded scaffold polynucleotide by the incorporation of the second nucleotide of the further cycle of synthesis by the action of the nucleotide transferase or polymerase enzyme (Figure 10;[0050]), the second nucleotide comprising a reversible terminator group which prevents further extension by the nucleotide transferase or polymerase enzyme([0144], lines1-9), wherein the second nucleotide of the further cycle of synthesis is a partner for the first nucleotide of the further cycle of synthesis, and wherein upon incorporation the second and first nucleotides of the further cycle of synthesis form a further nucleotide pair(Figure 10;[0050]);
(9) removing the reversible terminator group from the second nucleotide ([0144], lines1-9); and
(10) repeating steps 6 to 9 multiple times to provide the double-stranded polynucleotide having a predefined nucleotide sequence (Figure 10;[0050]).
Regarding claim 102, ARLOW teaches in the ligation step of the first cycle (step 2) and in ligation steps of all further cycles the complementary ligation end of the polynucleotide ligation molecule is structured such that:
i. the first nucleotide of the predefined sequence of that cycle is the terminal nucleotide of the support strand, occupies nucleotide position n in the support strand and is paired with the terminal nucleotide of the helper strand (Figure 10, 1nt payload);
ii. the universal nucleotide is the penultimate nucleotide of the support strand, occupies nucleotide position n+1 in the support strand and is paired with the penultimate nucleotide of the helper strand(Figure 10, dU base);
and iii. the terminal nucleotide of the helper strand is a non-ligatable nucleotide (Figure 10, HO 5’); wherein position n is the nucleotide position which is opposite the second nucleotide of the predefined sequence of that cycle upon its incorporation (Figure 10), and wherein position n+1 is the next nucleotide position in the support strand relative to position n in the direction distal to the complementary ligation end (Figure 10; [0050], next 1bp extension); and wherein upon ligation the terminal nucleotide of the support strand of the polynucleotide ligation molecule is ligated to the terminal nucleotide of the scaffold polynucleotide proximal to the primer strand portion of the synthesis strand and a single-strand break is created between the terminal nucleotides of the helper strand and the primer strand portion of the synthesis strand (Figure 10; [0050]) ;
(b) in the cleavage step of the first cycle (step 3) and in all further cycles the support strand of the ligated scaffold polynucleotide is cleaved between positions n+1 and n, thereby releasing the polynucleotide ligation molecule from the scaffold polynucleotide and retaining the first nucleotide of that cycle attached to the first strand of the cleaved scaffold polynucleotide (Figure 10; [0050]) ; and
(c) in the extension step of the first cycle (step 4) and in all further cycles the second nucleotide of that cycle is incorporated into the second strand opposite the first nucleotide in the first strand and is paired therewith (Figure 10; [0050]); and whereupon the position occupied by the first nucleotide of that cycle in the support strand of the cleaved scaffold polynucleotide is defined as nucleotide position n-1 in the next cycle of synthesis (Figure 10; [0050]).
Regarding claim 108, ARLOW teaches the polynucleotide ligation molecule is provided with a complementary ligation end comprising a first nucleotide of the predefined sequence of the first cycle and further comprising one or more further nucleotides of the predefined sequence of the first cycle (Figure 3, nucleotides added to – strand via ligation; [0068]);
following cleavage the first and one or more further nucleotides of the predefined sequence of the first cycle are retained in the cleaved scaffold polynucleotide(Figure 3; [0068]);
the terminal end of the primer strand portion of the synthesis strand of the double-stranded scaffold polynucleotide is extended by the incorporation of a second nucleotide of the predefined sequence of the first cycle by the action of the nucleotide transferase or polymerase enzyme, and wherein the terminal end of the primer strand portion is further extended by the incorporation of one or more further nucleotides of the predefined sequence of the first cycle by the action of the nucleotide transferase or polymerase enzyme (Figure 3; [0068]), wherein each one of the second and further nucleotides of the first cycle comprises a reversible terminator group which prevents further extension by the enzyme, and wherein following each further extension the reversible terminator group is removed from a nucleotide before the incorporation of the next nucleotide([0144], lines1-9);
the polynucleotide ligation molecule is provided with a complementary ligation end comprising a first nucleotide of the predefined sequence of the further cycle and further comprising one or more further nucleotides of the predefined sequence of the further cycle (Figure 3; [0068]);
following cleavage the first and further nucleotides of the predefined sequence of the further cycle are retained in the cleaved scaffold polynucleotide(Figure 3; [0068]);
the terminal end of the primer strand portion of the synthesis strand of the double-stranded scaffold polynucleotide is extended by the incorporation of a second nucleotide of the predefined sequence of the further cycle by the action of the nucleotide transferase or polymerase enzyme (Figure 3; [0068], blunting polymerase), and wherein the terminal end of the primer strand portion is further extended by the incorporation of one or more further nucleotides of the predefined sequence of the further cycle by the action of the nucleotide transferase or polymerase enzyme(Figure 3; [0068], blunting polymerase), wherein each one of the second and further nucleotides of the further cycle comprises a reversible terminator group which prevents further extension by the enzyme, and wherein following each further extension the reversible terminator group is removed from a nucleotide before the incorporation of the next nucleotide (Figure 3; [0068]).
Regarding claim 109, ARLOW teaches: the complementary ligation end of the polynucleotide ligation molecule is structured such that in steps (3) and (7) prior to cleavage the universal nucleotide occupies a position in the support strand which is the next nucleotide position in the support strand after the nucleotide positions of the first and further nucleotides in the direction distal to the complementary ligation end, and the support strand is cleaved between the position occupied by the last further nucleotide and the position occupied by the universal nucleotide (Figure 3, the cleavage site is distal to ligation junction, the universal nucleotide is at the 6th position to the right of ligation junction).
Regarding claim 110, ARLOW teaches in any one, more or all cycles of synthesis a partner nucleotide which pairs with the first nucleotide of the predefined sequence is a nucleotide which is complementary with the first nucleotide (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 111, ARLOW teaches (a) in any one, more or all cycles of synthesis, prior to step (3) and/or (7) the scaffold polynucleotide is provided comprising a synthesis strand and a support strand hybridized thereto, and wherein the synthesis strand is provided without a helper strand (Figure 3A).
Regarding claim 112, ARLOW teaches each cleavage step comprises a two step cleavage process wherein each cleavage step comprises a first step comprising removing the universal nucleotide thus forming an abasic site, and a second step comprising cleaving the support strand at the abasic site ([0135]) .
Regarding claim 115, ARLOW teaches synthesis strand comprising the primer strand portion and the portion of the support strand hybridized thereto are tethered to a common surface (Figure 3, the DNA strands are attached to a common surface).
Regarding claim 116, ARLOW teaches synthesis cycles are performed in droplets within a microfluidic system ([0123]; figure 4; [0126]).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TIAN NMN YU/Examiner , Art Unit 1681 /AARON A PRIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681