DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, 11, 20, 22, 24, 29, 30, 41, and 42 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2016/152544 A1) in view of Lecloux et al. (US 2011/0133632 A1) as set forth in the Final Rejection file 05/28/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 11, 12, 30, and 31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2016/152544 A1) in view of Lecloux et al. (US 2011/0133632 A1) and Shin et al. (KR 10-2013-0121597) as set forth in the Final Rejection file 05/28/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 13, 14, 32, and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2016/152544 A1) in view of Lecloux et al. (US 2011/0133632 A1) and Iwakuma et al. (US 2004/0086745 A1) as set forth in the Final Rejection file 05/28/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 15, 16, 34, and 35 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2016/152544 A1) in view of Lecloux et al. (US 2011/0133632 A1) and Kambe et al. (US 2010/0181560 A1) as set forth in the Final Rejection file 05/28/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 6-9 and 25-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2016/152544 A1) in view of Lecloux et al. (US 2011/0133632 A1) and Lee et al. (US 2017/0047527 A1) as set forth in the Final Rejection file 05/28/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 17, 18, 36-38, and 40 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2016/152544 A1) in view of Lecloux et al. (US 2011/0133632 A1) and Kim et al. (US 2016/0155976 A1) as set forth in the Final Rejection file 05/28/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite “the anthracene derivative” which renders the exact scope of the inventions indefinite as both first and second hosts are “anthracene derivative[s]” as recited in parents Claims 1 and 20. The Office has interpreted the “the anthracene derivative” to refer to the “non-deuterated anthracene derivative” for the purpose of this Examination.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, 11, 20, 22, 24, 29, 30, 41, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2016/152544 A1) in view of Nakano et al. (US 2020/0111972 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2018/0301629 A1 as the English equivalent of publication WO 2016/152544 A1 (herein referred to as “Hatakeyama et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
Regarding Claims 1, 5, 10, 11, 20, 24, 29, 30, 41, and 42, Hatakeyama et al. discloses a light-emission-layer material comprising a compound of formula (1) (as dopant material) and anthracene-based host material of formula (3) (Abstract; [0010], [0184]). The dopant material includes the following:
(page 5) (blue dopant) which is blue-emitting (Table 1, page 105) such that X1-2 = NR14 (with R14 = phenyl or biphenyl), d = e = 0, c = 1, and R11 = C6 aryl group (phenyl) of Applicant’s Formula 4. Hatakeyama et al. discloses that the host material includes the following:
(page 56) (first host) such that a = b = 0 and R1-2 = C10 or C16 aryl group (naphthyl or 4-naphthylphenyl) of Applicant’s Formula 1. The host material can be a combination of a plurality of kinds of compounds ([0185]); its inventive compounds of formula (3) may further be substituted by deuterium ([0019]). The light-emission-layer material comprises the light-emitting layer of the organic electroluminescent (EL) device (light-emitting diode) as shown below:
(Fig. 1) comprising substrate (101), anode (102), hole-injecting layer (103), hole-transporting layer (104) (electron-blocking layer), light-emitting layer (105), electron-transporting layer (106) (hole-blocking layer), electron-injecting layer (107), and cathode (108); the hole-transporting layer comprises carbazole derivatives, such as the following ([0181]):
(Table 1; page 106) (electron blocking material) (a heteroaryl-substituted amine derivative) such that a = b = c = 0, R4 = C6 aryl group (phenyl), and R3 = C12 hetero aryl group (substituted carbazolyl group) of Applicant’s Formula 6, while the electron-transporting layer comprises compounds including pyridine derivatives, such as the following ([0194]):
(Table 1; page 106) (first hole blocking material) (an azine derivative). However, Hatakeyama et al. does not explicitly disclose the second host (i.e., a deuterated anthracene derivative) as recited by the Applicant.
Nakano et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 21) such that a = b = 0, R1 = C6 aryl group (phenyl), R2 = C12 heteroaryl group dibenzofuranyl), and x + m = 20 of Applicant’s Formula 3; x + y + m = 20 of Host 55 as recited in Claims 41 and 42. Nakano et al. discloses its inventive compounds as host material in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device, the use of which results in increased performance ([0225]). It would have been obvious to incorporate the host material as disclosed by Nakano et al. into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Hatakeyama et al. (as additional host material). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Nakano et al. which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with increased performance.
Regarding Claims 3 and 22, Hatakeyama et al. discloses another embodiment for the anthracene host material:
(page 56) (corresponds to Host 11).
15. Claims 11, 12, 30, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2016/152544 A1) in view of Nakano et al. (US 2020/0111972 A1) as applied above and in further view of Shin et al. (KR 10-2013-0121597).
Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. discloses the organic light-emitting devices of Claims 1 and 20 as shown above. Hatakeyama et al. discloses the presence of a hole-transporting layer directly between the hole-injecting layer and the light-emitting layer, which can comprise compounds such as compound HT (Table 1; page 106). However, Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. does not explicitly disclose the electron-blocking material as recited by the Applicant.
Shin et al. discloses the following compound as material comprising the hole-transporting layer of an organic EL (electroluminescent) device, the use of which results in a device with excellent luminance and efficiency ([0039]):
(page 7; [0009], [0147]) (corresponds to H8 as recited in Claims 12 and 31). It would have been obvious to incorporate the compound as disclosed by Shin et al. (above) into hole-transporting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Shin et al. which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds results in an organic EL device with excellent luminance and efficiency.
16. Claims 13, 14, 32, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2016/152544 A1) in view of Nakano et al. (US 2020/0111972 A1) as applied above and in further view of Iwakuma et al. (US 2004/0086745 A1).
Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. discloses the organic light-emitting devices of Claims 1 and 20 as shown above. Hatakeyama et al. discloses the presence of an electron-transporting layer directly between the hole-injecting layer and the light-emitting layer comprising compounds such as ET-1 (Table 1; page 106). However, Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. does not explicitly disclose the first hole-blocking material as recited by the Applicant.
Iwakuma et al. discloses the following compound as material comprising the electron-transporting layer of an organic EL (electroluminescent) device, the use of which results in a device with high purity of color ([0007], [0012], [0064]):
(page 24) (first hole blocking material) (corresponds to E3 as recited in Claims 14 and 33). It would have been obvious to incorporate the compound as disclosed by Iwakuma et al. (above) into the electron-transporting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Iwakuma et al. which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds results in an organic EL device with improved properties, such as high color purity.
17. Claims 15, 16, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2016/152544 A1) in view of Nakano et al. (US 2020/0111972 A1) as applied above and in further view of Kambe et al. (US 2010/0181560 A1).
Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. discloses the organic light-emitting devices of Claims 1 and 20 as shown above. Hatakeyama et al. discloses the presence of an electron-transporting layer directly between the hole-injecting layer and the light-emitting layer comprising compounds such as ET-1 (Table 1; page 106). However, Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. does not explicitly disclose the second hole-blocking material as recited by the Applicant.
Kambe et al. discloses the following compound as material for use as electron-transporting material (comprising the electron-transporting layer) of an organic EL device:
(page 3) (second hole blocking material) (corresponds to F2 as recited in Claims 16 and 35). It would have been obvious to substitute the compound as disclosed by Kambe et al. (above) for compounds such as ET-1 in the electron-transporting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. The motivation is provided by the fact that the substitution merely involves the exchange of one electron-transporting material for a functional equivalent (i.e., another known and viable electron-transporting material) used in an identical manner in the same field of invention, thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
18. Claims 6-9 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2016/152544 A1) in view of Nakano et al. (US 2020/0111972 A1) as applied above and in further evidence of Lee et al. (US 2017/0047527 A1).
Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. discloses the organic light-emitting devices of Claims 1 and 20 as shown above, wherein the light-emitting composition comprises first host, second host, and blue dopant. Hatakeyama et al. discloses a light-emission-layer material comprising dopant material in combination with host material comprising anthracene-based compound of formula (3) (Abstract; [0010], [0184]); additional host compounds can be present ([0185]). Hatakeyama et al. discloses standards methods in the art to form any of the organic layers of the organic electroluminescent (EL) device, including vapor deposition, spin coating, and the like; the host material(s) and dopant material(s) can thus be co-deposited to form the light-emitting layer ([0359]). However, Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. does not explicitly disclose the relate weight % ratios as recited by the Applicant. Nevertheless, it is the position of the Office that devices comprising such ratios can easily be envisioned and thus produced by one of ordinary skill in the art during the normal course of experimentation. The motivation is provided by the fact it has been long established that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not invention to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (see also MPEP 2144.05). Hatakeyama et al. clearly teaches the viability of using a plurality of compounds to comprise the host material; standard methods in the art are taught to be capable of forming the light-emitting layer. Furthermore, light-emitting layers comprising two (or more) host materials are well-known in the art, wherein the ratio of the first and second host materials can range from 3:7 to 7:3 “in view of driving voltage, luminous efficiency, and lifespan” of an organic EL device as evidenced by Lee et al. (see [0050]). Hence, it is the position of the Office the production of the light-emitting layer compositions as recited by the Applicant could have been predictably achieved with a reasonable expectation of success.
19. Claims 17, 18, 36-38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2016/152544 A1) in view of Nakano et al. (US 2020/0111972 A1) as applied above and in further view of Kim et al. (US 2016/0155976 A1).
Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. discloses the organic light-emitting devices of Claims 1 and 20 as shown above. Hatakeyama et al. discloses a light-emission-layer material comprising a compound of formula (1) (as dopant material) and anthracene-based host material of formula (3) (Abstract; [0010], [0184]); the host material can comprise a plurality of compounds ([0185]). The dopant material is blue-emitting (compound (1-1152); page 5; Table 1). Hatakeyama et al. discloses that the light-emission-layer material has optimum light-emission characteristics, the utilization of which results in an excellent organic electroluminescent (EL) device. However, Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. does not explicitly disclose the additional features as recited by the Applicant.
Kim et al. discloses the following organic EL device:
(Fig. 4) comprising substrate (201), anode (202), hole-transporting layer (212), first emitting layer (214) (first emitting material layer), charge-generating layer (240) (first charge generation layer), second emitting layer (224) (third emitting material layer), charge-generating layer (250) (second charge generation layer), third emitting layer (234), fourth emitting layer (235) (second emitting material layer), and cathode (204). The light-emitting layers comprise host material(s) in combination with dopant material; the former includes anthracene derivatives ([0111]). The first and fourth emitting layers are blue-emitting layers, while the second emitting layer is a yellow-green emitting layer ([0027]-[0029]). Kim et al. further discloses the use of a color filter (1145) which converts emitted light from the EL layer (1180) (comprising the organic layers as described above) to specific wavelengths for each of the red, green, and blue pixel areas of a display (Fig. 5; [0137], [0146]). Kim et al. discloses that such an architecture results in an organic EL device with improved efficiency (Abstract). It would have been obvious to incorporate the light-emission-layer material as disclosed by Hatakeyama et al. in view of Nakano et al. to the blue light-emitting layers (i.e., first and fourth emitting layers) of the organic EL device as disclosed by Kim et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Hatakeyama et al. which teaches its inventive composition has optimum light-emission characteristics which, when utilized, results in an excellent organic EL device.
Response to Arguments
20. Applicant’s arguments on pages 1-7 with respect to the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786