DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Amended claims 1, 3, 16-18, 33, 40, 43-44, 46, 48, 50-52 and new claims 53-54 are pending and are examined here.
Priority
Claim of benefit of provisional application 62/699,923, filed on 07/18/2018, via the PCT/US2019/042205, filed on 07/17/2019, is recognized. All the examined claims enjoy the benefit of ‘923, with filing date 07/18/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/13/26 was filed after the mailing date of the prior Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 51-52 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claims 51-52 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not define about.
The claim will be interpreted without the term “about.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection of claims 1, 3, 16, 18, 33, 40, 43, 44, 46, 48, 50, 51-52 is maintained and new claims 53-54 are rejected as noted below.
Claims 1, 3, 16, 18, 33, 40, 43, 44, 46, 48, 50, 51-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hinderer et al. (WO2017136500A1, pub. 08/10/2017, in IDS, referred as Hinderer) and as evidenced by Salvetti et al. (1995, Human Gene Ther., 6, 1153-1159, referred as Salvetti) for cl. 1, and further in view of Mahan (2014, International J. of Clinical Med., 5, pg. 1374-1383) and Kaplitt et al. (2007, Lancet, 369, 2097-2105).
Regarding claims 1, 51, 52, claim 1 is interpreted to encompass the active/positive step of administering a single dose of a recombinant expression vector encoding rIDUA to the human subject diagnosed with MPS I, with the dose based on average brain mass of human subject and age group, while the “wherein the rIDUA is produced by human neuronal cells or human glial cells after the single dose is administered to the human subject” is an inherent property of the recombinant expression vector encoding the protein of interest to express the protein in the target cells.
Hinderer discloses using a recombinant adeno-associated virus (rAAV) to deliver a human alpha-L-iduronidase (IDUA) gene to the CNS of patients (human subjects) diagnosed with MPS I (pg. 3, line 24-26); discloses genome copy dosage based on brain mass of the age of human subject (pg. 4, line 18-29); demonstrates rIDUA activity following treatment with rIDUA-AAV in cerebral spinal fluid (CSF) (pg. 7, line 30 – pg. 8, line 5), thus disclosing the expression vector expressing the recombinant protein in the brain, which is composed of both neuronal and glial cells; discloses that an advantage of gene therapy is successful with a single dose, including in infant macaques (pg. 6, line 15-20). Hinderer discloses the expression level of alpha-L-iduronidase driven from rAAV vector is at least 2% of normal levels as detected in neurons (pg. 14, line 13-20) and also notes that histopathology demonstrated robust transduction of spinal motor neurons in experimental studies of dogs (pg. 70, line 26-27; also pg. 6, line 31 “transgene expressed in motor and sensory neurons”.) Hinderer also demonstrated intrathecal administration of AAV9-mediated gene transfer allowed long term expression of IDUA in brain (pg. 81, line 24-25). Thus Hinderer discloses the expression of the recombinant protein following administration of rAAV-IDUA to the human subject.
Regarding the limitation of “a glycosylated recombinant IDUA of between 76 kDa to 82 kDa as measured by polyacrylamide gel electrophoresis.” Hinderer discloses administering rhesus monkeys with AAV8 vector expressing human IDUA intrathecally, which resulted in increase of serum IDUA activity (pg. 63, lines 13-20). Thus, suggesting that following production in the nervous system that the enzyme was secreted (see also pg. 64, “the widespread reduction in storage pathology observed was due to cross-correction by secreted enzyme” line 12-13). Salvetti indicates that there are various isoforms of the hIDUA protein following production, a 75 kDa, a 72 kDa, a 69 kDa species and indicates that the 72 kDa and 69 kDa corresponds to the catalytically active components of hIDUA following proteolytic processing of a 75-kDa precursor (pg. 1155). However, Salvetti also indicates that the secreted hIDUA species is a 76-kDa phosphorylated on mannose residues that it can be internalized by cells and processed to the characteristics intracellular forms (pg. 1156). Thus, there is a secreted isoform of hIDUA that is 76 kDa. Thus, Hinderer’s hIDUA is also secreted and it’s SEQ ID NO: 2 hIDUA has predicted MW is 72.7 kDa. And as evidenced by Salvetti, one of hIDUA’s processed isoforms is a 76 kDa, which would also migrate at 76 kDa on a polyacrylamide gel.
Hinderer discloses that rAAV “should have a tropism for the CNS (e.g. an rAAV bearing an AAV9 capsid)” (pg. 3, line 27).
Hinderer does not disclose the exact range of 1×1010 to 5×1010 GC/g brain mass or of 1×1010 or of 5×1010 GC/g brain mass.
Regarding the single dose is between 1×1010 to 5×1010 GC/g brain mass or of 1×1010 or of 5×1010 GC/g brain mass (10 bill. to 50 bill. GC/g; relevant to instant cl. 1, 51, 52), Hinderer discloses the following on pg. 4, a therapeutically effective intrathecal dose range is effectively from 1 billion to 500 billion GC/g brain mass of a patient (see line 19-20).
MPEP 2144.05 provides “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Here, in some age groups, the instant claims lie inside the ranges disclosed in Hinderer, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exist.
Second, under MPEP 2144.05(II) provides that “[g]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’”
Here, the differences are of concentration (GC/g of brain mass or flat GC doses) but lacks evidence indicating that such narrower concentration range or the specific dose is critical. The instant specification provides suggestion or guidance of dosage that “may be used to treat human subject” (par. 322). Similarly, Hinderer also provides “monitoring and adjusting MPSI therapy” (pg. 38, line 9-10) by assessing IDUA activity.
Third, it is well known in the art that one of the necessary purposes of the different phases of clinical trials is to identify optimal dosage by balancing the therapeutic activity and the side effects (Mahan, Table 1, pg. 1375). Kaplitt et al. (2007, Lancet, 369, 2097-2105) discloses during Phase I of a clinical trial of genetic therapy with AAV that three different doses were administered to patients with Parkinson’s disease (1×1011 viral genome (vg)/ml; 3×1011 vg/ml; 1×1012 vg/ml; vg=GC).
One of the KSR rationale that may be used to support a conclusion of obviousness is that there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified dose ranges of Hinderer and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the dose ranges for multiple reasons, including patient outcome profile as determined by a physician as taught by Hinderer to provide for reasonable expectation of success in identifying a narrower set of dose ranges for the age groups or dosage based on brain mass. Thus, instant claims 1, 51-52 is obvious.
Regarding instant Claim 3, Hinderer discloses that as a precautionary matter that an immunosuppressive therapy is recommended for all recipients of rAAV-hIDUA (pg. 6, line 2-3); discloses immunosuppressive therapy may be given in addition to the vector, before, during and/or subsequence to vector administration (pg. 42, line 10).
Regarding instant Claim 16, 54, Hinderer discloses various drugs for immunosuppression, including prednisolone (a corticosteroid, see par. 23 of instant pub.); sirolimus (i.e. rapamycin) (pg. 32, line 15) and tacrolimus (pg. 32, line 21); and may involve co-administration of two or more drugs (pg. 32, line 24).
Regarding instant Claim 18, Hinderer discloses SEQ ID NO: 2 (claims 5 and 33; and pg. 15, line 25-30), which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (alignment is provided below, prior to Conclusion).
Regarding instant Claim 33, Hinderer discloses treating new born to 36 month of age human subject (pg. 4).
Regarding instant Claim 40, Hinderer discloses the expression vector comprising CB7 promoter (pg. 3, line 30).
Regarding instant Claim 43, Hinderer discloses that rAAV “should have a tropism for the CNS (e.g. an rAAV bearing an AAV9 capsid) (pg. 3, line 27).
Regarding instant Claim 50, Hinderer discloses administration of AAV-hIDUA via intrathecal/intracisternal injection (pg. 6, line 10-11).
Regarding instant cl. 44, 46, and 48, and 53
Hinderer discloses the following on pg. 4:
Hinderer discloses age range of 3-36 months regarding the rAAV-hIDUA dosage for MPS I patients.
MPEP 2131.03(II) provides the following:
When the prior art discloses a range which touches or overlaps the claimed range, but no specific examples falling within the claimed range are disclosed, a case by case determination must be made as to anticipation. In order to anticipate the claims, the claimed subject matter must be disclosed in the reference with "sufficient specificity to constitute an anticipation under the statute." What constitutes a "sufficient specificity" is fact dependent. If the claims are directed to a narrow range, and the reference teaches a broader range, other facts of the case, must be considered when determining whether the narrow range is disclosed with "sufficient specificity" to constitute an anticipation of the claims. Compare ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012) with Atofina v. Great Lakes Chem. Corp, 441 F.3d 991, 999, 78 USPQ2d 1417, 1423 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
In ClearValue, the claim at issue was directed to a process of clarifying water with alkalinity below 50 ppm, whereas the prior art taught that the same process works for systems with alkalinity of 150 ppm or less. In holding the claim anticipated, the court observed that "there is no allegation of criticality or any evidence demonstrating any difference across the range." Id. at 1345, 101 USPQ2d at 1777.
Here, although the lowest group of instant claims is 4 months, the specification does not provide direction regarding the critical age or demonstrating any difference across the age range. One of skill in the art understands that brain size will increase along with additional physiological changes as the child ages, but Hinderer addresses this with increases in dosage levels. Additionally, the age groups are discussed with sufficient specificity, and both prior art and instant claims use the same product (rAAV-IDUA with CB7 promoters and AAV9 capsid protein). Thus the claims directed to age groups are obvious.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinderer et al. (WO2017136500A1, pub. 08/10/2017, in IDS, referred as Hinderer) and as evidenced by Salvetti et al. (1995, Human Gene Ther., 6, 1153-1159, referred as Salvetti) for claim 1, and in view of Mahan (2014, International J. of Clinical Med., 5, pg. 1374-1383) and Kaplitt et al. (2007, Lancet, 369, 2097-2105) as applied to claims 1, 3, 16, 18, 33, 40, 43, 44, 46, 48, 50, 51, and 52, above.
Claim 17 recites the method of claim 16, wherein the immune suppression therapy is withdrawn after 180 days.
Rejection of claims 1, 3, 16, 18, 33, 40, 43, 44, 46, 48, 50, 51, and 52 is disclosed above. Hinderer discloses that immunosuppressive therapy be about 60 days or longer, as needed (pg. 32, line 27); and discloses the immunosuppressive therapy including sirolimus was treated until week 48 visit, which is greater than 180 days) (pg. 53, line 5-7). Thus, Hinderer suggests that the immunosuppressive therapy can be withdrawn at some time after 60 days, including an example of 180 days.
Hinderer, Mahan, Salvetti, nor Kaplitt teach withdrawing immunosuppressive therapy after 180 days.
Thus, although the art does not teach 180 days of immunosuppressive therapy, the 180 days are obvious over Hinderer. The additional duration of 120 days is a necessary optimization to identify the optimal duration of immunosuppressant therapeutic treatment. The necessity would be to suppress negative immune reactions. As noted by Hinderer an MPS I patient would be assessed for neutralizing antibodies (Nab) to AAV antigen interfering with transduction efficiency and reduce therapeutic efficacy, and the therapy would be necessary to prevent potential adverse immune reaction by the patient to the IDUA expressed product. Additionally, instant specification, notes that “[i]mmune suppression therapy can be continued subsequent to the gene therapy, based on the judgement of the treating physician” (par. 213). Thus, further providing that the immunosuppressive therapy duration is based on the need of the patient.
One of the KSR rationale that may be used to support a conclusion of obviousness is that there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the immunosuppressant therapy duration of Hinderer and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the immunosuppressant therapy duration based on the need of the patient as taught by Hinderer to provide for a reasonable expectation of success in identifying optimal duration for immunosuppressant therapy. Thus, cl. 17 is obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 (“the Remarks”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Remarks argue that the proffered unexpected results overcome the prima facie case of obviousness (pg. 9). The Remarks point to the post-filing data of Wang (it is submitted as C144 and not C114 as noted in the Remarks) to demonstrate “unexpected and superior results” for the claimed dosage (pg. 9): the data is of a clinical trial and notes that the single dose of the recombinant vector was well tolerated, reduced CSF GAG (glycosaminoglycans) and demonstrated IDUA enzyme activity, which indicated the treatment’s biological activity in the CNS, improvement in diagnostics tested, and reduction in biomarker activity (pg. 9-11).
The argument is not persuasive.
The Remarks and proffered data have several issues. MPEP 716.02(d)(II) notes that to establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range.
Here, the Wang reference only tested the two claimed doses (1 X 1010 and 5 X 1010) and no doses outside the range, see pg. 4. Further,
Second, MPEP 716.02(e) requires that data must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. Here, the Remarks do not compare it with any references of the prior art (i.e. primarily of Hinderer).
Although Hinderer’s experiments are in dogs/cats, the examples appear to be the closest comparable art (the Applicant can point to another closest comparable art under MPEP). Hinderer discloses a few studies with dosage at 1X10^10 (Fig. 20A) and measurements of biomarkers at 6 month following single dose administration of AAV9 carrying IDUA enzyme (pg. 106, line 18-25). Data indicates that at the lowest dose, there is a substantial decrease of the biomarker levels compared to the dog with MPS I(mucopolysaccharidosis disease, see below of Fig. 20A). Thus, it would be expected that in humans a skilled artisan can either a) optimize dosage based on Hinderer’s results or b) start off with a 1010 dose, and reasonably expect success at varying doses noted in Hinderer.
Thus, as currently presented, the data of Wang does not appear unexpected.
Thus, the claims remain rejected.
Double Patenting
The rejection of claims 1, 3, 16-18, 33 and 40-52 is maintained, and new claims 53-54 are rejected as noted below.
Application No. 18/480,172 (has been issued a notice of allowance).
Claims 1, 3, 16, 17, 18, 33, 40, 43-44, 46, 48, 50-54 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 36-55 of copending Application No. 18/480,172 (reference application, referred as ‘172). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 1, 3, 18, 50, 51, claim 56 of ‘172 teaches a method of treating MPS I in a pediatric human subject by administering therapeutically effective dose of a recombinant AAV vector carrying an expression cassette encoding a rIDUA via intracisternal or intracerebroventricular injection or lumbar puncture, wherein a glycosylated recombinant human IDUA is produced by human neuronal or glial cells following vector expression, teaches immunosuppressive therapy starting before or concurrently with a first administration of AAV vector; thus at least a single administration (corresponding to instant cl. 1, 3, 50). Claim 64 teaches SEQ ID NO: 1, which is 100% identical with instant SEQ ID NO: 1, thus would inherently express the same molecular weight as instant cl. 1 (corresponding to instant cl. 1, 18). Claim 62 teaches AAV9 capsid protein. Cl. 65 teaches immunosuppressive therapy is continually administered thereafter (corresponding to instant cl. 3). Further to define therapeutically effective dose, guidance from specification provides a dose of 1×1010 GC/g brain mass (par. 207, corresponding to instant cl. 1, 51).
Regarding claim 16, and 54, claim 66 of ‘172 teaches immune suppression therapy is a combination of tacrolimus, rapamycin and a corticosteroid.
Regarding claim 17, claim 68 of ‘172 teaches immune suppression therapy is withdrawn after 180 days.
Regarding claims 18, 40, 43, claims 1, 62, 63, 64 of ‘172 teaches SEQ ID NO: 1, which is 100% identical with instant SEQ ID NO: 1; expression vector with CB7 promoter, expression vector is rAAV vector, rAAV comprises an AAV9 capsid protein, rAAV comprises an AAVrh10 capsid protein.
Regarding claims 33, 44, 46, 48, and 53, claim 60 of ‘172 teaches human subject is 4 m of age or older, while claim 61 teaches human subject is 3 yr. of age or younger; and claim 1 teaches pediatric human subject. The age range of instant cl. 46 (9m-18m) and 48 (18m-3y) would be obvious, since the instant age range lie within age range of 4m-3y of noted claims of ‘172. Further, since the age range of instant cl. 53 touches the oldest age range, it is also obvious.
Regarding claims 52, claim 1 of ‘172 teaches administering an effective dose and to define therapeutically effective dose, guidance from specification provides a dose of the specification discloses a high dose as 5.6X1010 GC/g brain mass (par. 161). The ‘172 dose approaches instant dose of 5 × 1010 GC/g brain mass, thus is obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 (“the Remarks”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Remarks indicate that the rejection under ‘172 be held in abeyance. The argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Alignment of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (Qy) and Hinderer SEQ ID NO: 2 (Db).
ALIGNMENT:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 3495; Length 653;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 653; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MRPLRPRAALLALLASLLAAPPVAPAEAPHLVHVDAARALWPLRRFWRSTGFCPPLPHSQ 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MRPLRPRAALLALLASLLAAPPVAPAEAPHLVHVDAARALWPLRRFWRSTGFCPPLPHSQ 60
Qy 61 ADQYVLSWDQQLNLAYVGAVPHRGIKQVRTHWLLELVTTRGSTGRGLSYNFTHLDGYLDL 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ADQYVLSWDQQLNLAYVGAVPHRGIKQVRTHWLLELVTTRGSTGRGLSYNFTHLDGYLDL 120
Qy 121 LRENQLLPGFELMGSASGHFTDFEDKQQVFEWKDLVSSLARRYIGRYGLAHVSKWNFETW 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 LRENQLLPGFELMGSASGHFTDFEDKQQVFEWKDLVSSLARRYIGRYGLAHVSKWNFETW 180
Qy 181 NEPDHHDFDNVSMTMQGFLNYYDACSEGLRAASPALRLGGPGDSFHTPPRSPLSWGLLRH 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 NEPDHHDFDNVSMTMQGFLNYYDACSEGLRAASPALRLGGPGDSFHTPPRSPLSWGLLRH 240
Qy 241 CHDGTNFFTGEAGVRLDYISLHRKGARSSISILEQEKVVAQQIRQLFPKFADTPIYNDEA 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 CHDGTNFFTGEAGVRLDYISLHRKGARSSISILEQEKVVAQQIRQLFPKFADTPIYNDEA 300
Qy 301 DPLVGWSLPQPWRADVTYAAMVVKVIAQHQNLLLANTTSAFPYALLSNDNAFLSYHPHPF 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 DPLVGWSLPQPWRADVTYAAMVVKVIAQHQNLLLANTTSAFPYALLSNDNAFLSYHPHPF 360
Qy 361 AQRTLTARFQVNNTRPPHVQLLRKPVLTAMGLLALLDEEQLWAEVSQAGTVLDSNHTVGV 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 AQRTLTARFQVNNTRPPHVQLLRKPVLTAMGLLALLDEEQLWAEVSQAGTVLDSNHTVGV 420
Qy 421 LASAHRPQGPADAWRAAVLIYASDDTRAHPNRSVAVTLRLRGVPPGPGLVYVTRYLDNGL 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 LASAHRPQGPADAWRAAVLIYASDDTRAHPNRSVAVTLRLRGVPPGPGLVYVTRYLDNGL 480
Qy 481 CSPDGEWRRLGRPVFPTAEQFRRMRAAEDPVAAAPRPLPAGGRLTLRPALRLPSLLLVHV 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 CSPDGEWRRLGRPVFPTAEQFRRMRAAEDPVAAAPRPLPAGGRLTLRPALRLPSLLLVHV 540
Qy 541 CARPEKPPGQVTRLRALPLTQGQLVLVWSDEHVGSKCLWTYEIQFSQDGKAYTPVSRKPS 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 CARPEKPPGQVTRLRALPLTQGQLVLVWSDEHVGSKCLWTYEIQFSQDGKAYTPVSRKPS 600
Qy 601 TFNLFVFSPDTGAVSGSYRVRALDYWARPGPFSDPVPYLEVPVPRGPPSPGNP 653
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 TFNLFVFSPDTGAVSGSYRVRALDYWARPGPFSDPVPYLEVPVPRGPPSPGNP 653
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEYUR A VYAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Soren Harward/Primary Examiner, TC 1600