DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment and argument filed 09/11/2026, in response to the final rejection, are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any previous rejection or objection not mentioned herein is withdrawn.
Claims 1, 29-32, 35-37, 40-42, 55 and 65 are pending in the instant application. Claim 55 has been withdrawn. Claims 1, 29-32, 35-37, 40-42 and 65 are being examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As recited in the MPEP, 2173.08(s) “Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted)”. The claim is indefinite because a claim must particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention and in this case the limitations of the claim are relying on figures which can be deleted and changed making the metes and bounds unclear.
The applicant should rely on SEQ IDs rather than pointing to a figure to help address this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 29-32, 35-37, 40-42 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John Sinden et. al. (US20150079046A1), Sgambato et. al. (Bioresponsive Hydrogels: Chemical Strategies and Perspectives in Tissue Engineering, Gels, 2016, 2, 28), Maldonado-Lasunción et. al. (Mesenchymal Stem Cell-Macrophage Choreography Supporting Spinal Cord Repair, Neurotherapeutics, May 4, 2018, 15:578-787) and Jieli Chen and Michael Chopp (Exosome Therapy for Stroke, Stroke Vol 49, No 5, April 2018), hereinafter Chen. This rejection is maintained with slight modifications due to the amendments filed on 09/11/2026.
Regarding claim 1, Sinden teaches compositions which comprise of neural stem cell microparticles for promoting neurogenesis, neuroprotection and/or neurological diseases (see 0011), and wherein in one aspect of the invention, conditionally immortalized stem cells are used to produce microparticles such as microvesicles and/or exosomes. These conditionally immortalized stem cells are typically neural stem cells, but may be a stem cell of any type, for example a haematopoietic stem cell or a mesenchymal stem cell (see 0205). Sinden also teaches wherein these compositions can be used for neurological disorders such as stroke (see claim 16).
Sinden teaches the neural stem cell microparticles of the invention may express one or more miRNAs (including miRNA precursors) at a level which is lower or higher than the level of expression of that miRNA (including miRNA precursors) in a mesenchymal stem cell microparticle of the same species (see 0079).
Sinden teaches pharmaceutically acceptable composition typically includes at least one pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see 0160).
Sinded teaches mature miRNA’s with AACAG sequence at the 3’ end of mature miRNAs (see 0309, table 4), and this would indicate a mature miRNA engineered to comprise a genetic tag that triggers the cell to take that miRNA into the exosome, because as the applicant recites in their own specification at page 46, “recent studies on miRNA sorting into exosomes have identified a target sequence in the 3' end of miRNAs (GGAG; SEQ ID NO:8) that directs exosomal sorting and are available as expression systems (System Biosciences, XMIR expression system) directing miRNA into exosomes”.
Regarding claims 14-16, Sinden teaches wherein the miRNAs present in the microparticles as determined by qRT-PCR would be has-miR-424 and has-let-7a and these are recognized by the applicant to bring about the upregulated and downregulated activities as claimed (see specifications at 0114).
Regarding claim 29, Sinden teaches wherein the miRNAs present in the microparticles as determined by qRT-PCR would be has-miR-424 and has-let-7a and these are recognized by the applicant to bring about the upregulated and downregulated activities as claimed (see specifications at 0114).
Sinden does not teach wherein the carrier is a hydrogel comprises a plurality of biocompatible polymers or oligomers cross-linked with a hydrolysable linker, and wherein the linker comprises an acrylate or methacrylate, and optionally an ester, amide or a combination thereof. Sinden also does not specifically teach wherein the composition decreases the ratio of pro-inflammatory M1 macrophages to anti-inflammatroy M2 macrophages relative to the ratio demonstrated by the activity of naturally occurring cell-derived exosome when a therapeutically effective amount of the composition is administered to a subject in need thereof and wherein the therapeutically effective amount of the composition administered to a subject in need thereof is a dosage of 1x106 to 1x1012 exosomes per unit mm3 of graft, tissue, patch or injection volume are administered.
Sgambato’s general disclosure is a review on bioresponsive hydrogels (see abstract).
Regarding claims 1 and 31-32, Sgambato teaches “The design and development of new cell-customized biomaterials able to mimic extracellular matrix (ECM) functionalities represents one of the major strategies to control the cell fate and stimulate tissue regeneration. Recently, hydrogels have received a considerable interest for their use in the modulation and control of cell fate during the regeneration processes. Several synthetic bioresponsive hydrogels are being developed in order to facilitate cell-matrix and cell-cell interactions” (see abstract).
Sgambato teaches “Alginates are composed of guluronic acid and mannuronic acid. Their abundance, and low prices, allow a wide spread use in the food industry as thickeners, emulsifiers, and in tissue engineering applications. Alginate was also used for various biomedical applications, such as drug delivery and cell encapsulation, because it is able to gel under mild conditions by the addition of divalent cations, it is biodegradable, and has low toxicity. Alginate-based hydrogels have also been obtained by chemical cross-linking by adipic hydrazide or PEG using carbodiimide chemistry” (see page 2, 2.1).
Regarding claim 1 Sgambato teaches “In fact, synthetic hydrogels can be designed using polymers with controlled molecular weight and biodegradable linkers. These features allow for the fine tuning of hydrogel composition, formation dynamics, mechanical properties, and degradation rates” and “Usually PEG acrylates or methacrylates can be photopolymerized, affording controlled hydrogel architectures” (see page 2, 2.2)
Regarding claim 35, Sgambato teaches “EphA receptor and ephrinA5-Fc ligand are cell surface-bound proteins involved in, among other things, insulin secretion from pancreatic β-cells promoting cell adhesion and motility/morphology changes through the integrin signaling pathway. These bioresponsive hydrogels were shown to provide crucial cell-cell communication cues for cell survival and proliferation” (see page 4, 4.1).
Regarding claim 36, Sgambato teaches “Hydrogels made up of naturally derived components, for example extracellular matrix proteins (such as collagen) and polysaccharides like GAGs, have received particular attention in different applications in the field of regenerative medicine, since they supply physico-chemical and biochemical features that are similar to the native cellular milieu” (see page 4, first para.).
Regarding claim 37, Sgambato teaches “The bioconjugation of peptides in place of full-length proteins greatly simplifies the chemistry and may improve the efficacy of the bioconjugation. Since many mammalian cells are anchorage-dependent, cell adhesive properties of the hydrogel can be achieved by the introduction of small adhesive peptidic sequences into the hydrogel matrix; for example, they can be derived from laminin, such as RGD(Arg-Gly-Asp), LGTIPG, YIGSR, IKVAV, LRE, PDGSR, IKLLI, LRGDN, and from type I collagen and fibronectin, in other words, DGEA, KQAGDV, REDV, and PHSRN” (see page 6, 4.2).
Maldonado-Lasunción’s general disclosure is a report on how MSCs are known to benefit the repair of damaged spinal cord (see absatract).
Maldonado-Lasunción teaches that “many of these paracrine MSC-mediated events result in neuroprotection, which may be associated with functional recovery [10, 83, 84]. Evidence in the literature shows that an intraspinal MSC transplant leads to a decrease in apoptotic neural cell death [16, 85] and in overall neurotrophic support of the damaged tissue” “MSCs are known to affect the profile of the inflammatory response through modulation of the macrophage phenotype”
“Inflammatory cues in an injury microenvironment are sensed by MSCs that, in response, produce cytokines that modulate macrophages to express their anti-inflammatory, pro-reparative, phenotype, which supports restoration of homeostasis and promote tissue repair” (see page 581, Reparative Properties of MSCs in the Injured Spinal Cord).
Maldonado-Lasunción teaches “MSCs constitutively secrete immunosuppressive cytokines, such as TGFβ, IDO, NO, TNF-inducible gene-6 (TSG-6), prostaglandin-E2 (PGE2), and anti-inflammatory ILs that induce modifications in the metabolism of macrophages, resulting in a switch to the anti-inflammatory macrophage phenotypes [23, 24, 92, 96, 106] (Fig.1). When cultured with MSC-conditioned medium, macrophages polarize showing increased expression of M2-like surface markers and reduced secretion of the inflammatory cytokines, IL1β, IL6, and TNFα [92]. Macrophages in culture with MSC spheroids, which secrete enhanced levels of PGE2, or with conditioned medium thereof, polarize from M1-like to M2-like macrophages [107, 108]” (see page 582, MSCs Modulate Macrophage Polarization).
Maldonado-Lasunción teaches that “Inflammation and macrophage-derived cytokines influence the secretory profile of MSCs [12, 24, 79]. It was found that in vitro exposure to macrophage-conditioned media, as well as coculture with different phenotypes of macrophages, modifies the secretome of MSCs and their viability for cardiac tissue repair [27]. Crisostomo and colleagues used inflammatory stimuli, such as TNFα and lipopolysaccharides (LPS), to condition MSCs and found an increase in the secretion of growth factors that support tissue repair [12].” (see, bottom right of 582 to left side of 583).
“Effective immunomodulation by MSCs occurs upon exposure to activating stimuli. Under stress conditions, MSCs are programmed to increase their secretion of growth factors. For instance, MSCs in culture under hypoxic conditions produce enhanced levels of growth factors [12]. Cultured MSCs exposed to inflammatory molecules increase the expression of receptors known to bind immune regulatory mediators and the production and secretion of anti-inflammatory factors” (see MSC Immunomodulation Requires Activation, page 583).
Chen’s general disclosure is a scientific report about exosomes as a means for stroke therapy (see first para. page 1083).
Chen teaches “neural released exosomes not only regulate the onset and progression of neurodegenerative and neuroinflammatory diseases but also may play a role in the regeneration and remodeling of the nervous system after stroke. Neural secreted exosomes contribute to local synaptic plasticity and also influence neuronal networks by long-range communication within the central nervous system. Therefore, by inhibiting their release from diseased cells and by manipulating their cargo to enable shuttling of secretory RNA, miR, or molecules such as cytokines, chemokines, and growth factors, exosomes may function as therapeutic agents” (see page 1085, first para.).
“Using stem cell–secreted paracrine factors and cell-free therapy are likely safer alternatives in promoting brain plasticity after stroke and in neurodegenerative disease. Recently, a variety of cell types have been shown to secrete paracrine factors that are contained within membrane vesicles, such as exosomes, microvesicles, ectosomes, membrane particles, and apoptotic bodies. Extracellular vesicles have emerged as important mediators of intercellular communication, being involved in the transmission of biological signals between cells. Treatment of stroke and neural injury with extracellular vesicles, that is, exosomes, harvested from MSCs, rather than the exosome parent MSCs, supplants the therapeutic benefits of administration of the parent MSCs. Exosomes are specifically internalized by recipient cells, which avoids a multiplicity of potential concerns associated with administration of living cells, and exosomes provide therapeutic benefit, at least the equivalent of their cellular source. Compared with cell therapy, the advantages of exosome-based therapy include (1) low immunogenicity; (2) no vascular obstructive effect and reduced risk of secondary microvascular thrombosis; (3) systemically injected exosomes are able to cross the blood–brain barrier and enter the brain parenchyma; (4) the potential to develop large-scale cellular factories of engineered therapeutic vesicles; (5) exosomes have higher surface/volume ratio and amplify ligand-gated signaling pathways and the transfer of biomolecules from stem cells to target tissues; and (6) ability to readily modify exosome miR content” (see page 1085, Advantages of Using Stem Cell–Derived Exosomes for Stroke Therapy).
“MSC-Exos taken up by endothelial cells, dose dependently increase endothelial cell proliferation, migration, and capillary tube formation, as well as impair T-cell function by inhibiting T-cell proliferation in vitro. Systemically injecting bone marrow–derived MSC-Exo at 1 day after ischemic stroke or traumatic brain injury significantly improves functional outcome, as well as enhances angiogenesis, neurogenesis, and neurite remodeling in rats. Similarly, human MSC-Exo treatment of stroke increases long-term neuroprotection, promotes neuro-regeneration, enhances neurological recovery, and modulates peripheral poststroke immune responses but does not affect cerebral immune cell infiltration in mice. MSC-Exos significantly improve functional outcome and reduce structural injury and show promise in treating global hypoxic–ischemic injury of the fetal brain. Human MSC-Exo treatment dose dependently reduces brain neuroinflammation after traumatic brain injury in mice and significantly ameliorates inflammation induced neuronal cellular degeneration, reduces microgliosis, prevents reactive astrogliosis, and improves functional recovery in traumatic brain injury animals” (See page 1085, MSC-Exosome for Treatment of Stroke).
“MSC-Exo can be enriched with specific miRs to enhance recovery of injured tissues MSCs release functional small RNAs via their exosomes” (see right side page 1086)
“Thus, in vivo and in vitro data suggest that modulating miR content of exosome may be an effective means to amplify the therapeutic effects of exosomes for the treatment of stroke and neurological injury, as well as degenerative diseases” (see first para. page 1087).
Therefore it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date to condition the media of the MSCs with either a hypoxic environment, with TNFa or PEG2 in order to increase the ratio of M2-macrophages for creating an anti-inflammatory phenotype for neuroprotection as discussed by Maldonado-Lasunción, for the neuroprotective composition taught by Sinden and Sgambato because this process would bring about the beneficial M2 environment known for assisting with neuroprotection as just discussed.
It would have been obvious to optimize the composition to be within the instantly claimed amount because Chen teaches wherein human MSC-exosome treatment dose-dependently reduces brain neuroinflammation significantly ameliorates inflammation induced neuronal cellular degeneration, reduces microgliosis, prevents reactive astrogliosis, and improves functional recovery in traumatic brain injury animals. Thus, finding the amount would have been an optimization well within the purview of any skilled artisan given the prior art, especially since these are the active components which give the specific activity.
It would have also been obvious to create the instant composition for promoting neurogenesis and/or immunomodulation comprising isolated exosomes from HMSCs with a carrier that is a hydrogel comprising a plurality of biocompatible polymers or oligomers cross-linked with a hydrolysable linker comprising an acrylate or methacrylate because Sgambato teaches that alginates are used for various biomedical applications, such as drug delivery and cell encapsulation, and that it is able to gel under mild conditions by the addition of divalent cations, it is biodegradable, and has low toxicity. Thus, its selection would have been obvious for the just explained reasons.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to use methacrylates because Sgambato teaches the use of methacrylates can be photopolymerized, affording controlled hydrogel architectures.
Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John Sinden et. al. (US20150079046A1), Sgambato et. al., Maldonado-Lasunción et. al., and Jieli Chen as applied to claims 1, 29-32, 35-37 and 40-42 above, and further in view of Yang et. al. (Detection of MMP activity in living cells by a genetically encoded surface-displayed FRET sensor, Biochimica et Biophysica Acta 1773 (2007) 400-407). This rejection is maintained with slight modifications due to the amendments filed on 09/11/2026.
The previously combined art teaches the instant invention, however, are silent on the having the cell surface binding factor comprise a hybrid peptide containing an MMP2 enzyme recognizable domain being IPVSLRSG followed by DGEA exosome binding domain being that of IPVSLRSGDGEA.
Yang’s general disclosure is detecting MMP activity in living cells through genetically encoded FRET sensors (see abstract).
Yang teaches the MMP substrate site is IPVS/LRSG (the cleavage site is indicated by a slash [15]) (see Figure 1). Yang teaches that IPVS-LRSG peptide is cleaved at greatest rate by MMP-2 (see 3.1).
Although Yang does not teach the recognizable domain being followed by DGEA, a person having skill in the art would recognize that the MMP substrate site which is described IPVS/LRSG containing the cleavage sites can be used as a linker to DGEA which has previously been described as a small adhesive peptidic sequences for uses in hydrogels. Additionally, Yang also describes where in the sequence the cleavage site is located (see Figure 1) and this sequence is within the sequence being claimed, thus it would be expected that the cleavage location of the instantly claimed IPVSLRSGAGPEG (SEQ ID NO: 3) to be the same as the location described by Yang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to persons skilled in the art to use the known amino acid IPVSLRSGAGPEG (SEQ ID NO: 3) which includes the MMP substrate and known cleavage sites followed by the DGEA adhesive peptidic domain because Sgambato teaches that the DGEA is a peptide known for cell adhesion and Yang teaches that the LEGGIPVSLRPV sequence containing the IPVSLRPV sequence is a cleavable linker. Thus, combining them for the use in therapeutic purposes as a linker for targeting cells in the extracellular matrix would have been obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that instant claim 1 requires a composition comprising isolated engineered exosomes from mesenchymal stem cells, each exosome comprising at least one microRNA that is a mature miRNA engineered to comprise a genetic tag that triggers the cell to take that miRNA into the exosome, the composition further comprising a carrier, wherein at least one factor is present at a higher amount in the engineered exosome than the amount present in a naturally occurring cell-derived exosome. Sinden does not disclose, teach, or suggest any active exosome or miRNA engineering. Rather, Sinden states that its methods simply screened for what is already naturally occurring. Sinden teaches methods of inducing, producing, and isolating microparticles, where these microparticles "retain some of the functions of the neural stem cells from which they are derived[.]" Sinden at p. 3; [0048]. The Office cites Example 12 of Sinden, which describes "Total miRNA Analysis" of the exosomes and microvesicles produced by the disclosed protocol. Sinden at p. 26; [0289]-[0309]. While Sinden mentions "it is possible to design microparticles by manipulating the stem cell," (Sinden at p. 6; [0071]) the disclosure provides no instruction or motivation to actively engineer overexpression of specific factors. Sinden teaches the same exosomes and the same miRNAs which are taught to bring about the upregulated and downregulated activities, specifically has-miR-424 and has-let-7a. Sinden also teaches the same genetic 3p end which the applicant recognizes as a genetic tag which triggers uptake into exosomes. The applicant argues that Sinden does not teach engineering exosomes. Sinden teaches wherein the neural stem cell microparticles of the invention may express one or more miRNAs (including miRNA precursors) at a level which is lower or higher than the level of expression of the miRNA (including miRNA precursors) in a mesenchymal stem cell microparticle of the same species. The applicant defines engineering as; “the term "engineered" relative to naturally occurring cell-derived vesicles, refers to cell-derived vesicles (e.g., such as exosomes, liposomes and/or microvesicles) that have been altered such that they differ from a naturally occurring cell- derived vesicles” (see instant 0136). This would indicate that the microparticles would have been altered to express miRNAs at a higher or lower level than naturally occurring cell-derived vesicles.
The applicant argues that Sinden does not contain or motivate or instruct an expression system capable of actively overexpressing factors to a concentration higher than in naturally occurring cell-derived exosomes. This however is not the case as Sinden directly describes the same limitations. The applicant argues that Sinden’s disclosure is restricted to the production of stem cell microparticles and a person of skill in the art would not be motivated to engineer isolated exosomes of MSCs to upregulate specific factors to achieve the compositions claimed. Sinded indeed teaches engineering isolated neural stem cell microparticles (see claim 1) and teaches mesenchymal stem cells and indeed teaches expression levels of miRNAs inside of these microparticles which are higher/lower than cell-derived expression levels.
Conclusion
Currently no claims are allowed.
JACOB A BOECKELMAN Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655