DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to Objections to the claims and the rejection under U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objections to the claims and the rejection under U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
.Applicant’s arguments, see “Applicant Arguments/Remarks”, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to under U.S.C. 103 in view of Cameron, Gerstenmeier, and Beerworth have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cameron, Gerstenmeier, and Dahm.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the phrase “means for fixedly holding”, the phrase meets all three prongs of the aforementioned three prong test. The Examiner will be moving forward with examination interpreting that these means are backing plates or other fixtures to hold LED arrays (see the first paragraph of page 33 of the Applicant’s Specification).
Regarding the phrase “means capable of ventilating, heating and/or cooling device”, the phrase meets all three prongs of the aforementioned three prong test. The Examiner will be moving forward with examination interpreting that “means for ventilating” is taken at its BRI, as there are no other examples given in the Specification. For “means for heating/cooling”, the Examiner is interpreting those means as the examples shown in the first paragraph of page 30.
Regarding the phrase “means providing said at least first and second parts with electrical power”, the phrase meets all three prongs of the aforementioned three prong test. The Examiner will be moving forward with examination interpreting that “means providing said at least first and second parts with electrical power” is taken at its BRI, as there are no other examples given in the Specification
Regarding the phrase “means for the operation of the device, including a processing unit”, the phrase meets the first two prongs of the aforementioned three prong test, however the addition of the structure of the processing unit causes the phrase to fail the third prong. Therefore, the phrase does not require interpretation under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 20-22, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application 20040088028 awarded to Cameron et al, in view of EP2853291 awarded to Gerstenmeier, further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 20050231983 awarded to Dahm et al, hereinafter Dahm.
Regarding Claims 16 and 22, Cameron teaches a device for an application of directed actinic radiation to a subject (Para. 0001, “This invention relates to ultraviolet tanning. Examples of such devices include a tanning lamp, a tanning bed, tanning canopy, tanning booth, or face tanner. In particular, the invention relates to an improved lamp for tanning systems and an arrangement of lamps that is suitable for illuminating a person's shoulders”), said device comprising: an exposition tunnel being capable of surrounding said subject to be exposed to said actinic radiation (Fig. 3, interior of tanning bed 10), said exposition tunnel being formed of one semi-cylinder barrel-shape first surface (Fig. 3, canopy 14) made of a material substantially permeable to said actinic radiation to be applied to the subject (Para. 0026, “Within each of the base unit 12 and canopy 14 are typically a plurality of parallel, elongate, tubular bulbs or lamps 20. Bulbs 20 are typically fluorescent ultraviolet producing bulbs”), and of at least one second surface (support surface 18) made of said material substantially permeable to said actinic radiation to be applied to the subject (acrylic shield 19, Para. 0026, “Within each of the base unit 12 and canopy 14 are typically a plurality of parallel, elongate, tubular bulbs or lamps 20. Bulbs 20 are typically fluorescent ultraviolet producing bulbs. Base unit 12 defines a support or bed surface 18 for a person to lie during the application process. The person to be tanned typically lies with the person's back to the support surface and facing the canopy. In many instances, support surface 18 includes an acrylic shield 19 which is transparent to UV radiation, and which separates the user from bulbs 20”), said at least one second surface (lamps 30, Para. 0030, “In this embodiment, ultraviolet lamps 30 are arranged along the upper edge 24 of base unit 12 such that the sides of the lamps 30 face the tops of the two shoulders of the person to be tanned. Preferably, lamps 30 include a first series 32 and a second series 34 mounted in shoulder areas oriented to be over the shoulders of the person to be tanned”) being capable of complementing the first surface in forming said exposition tunnel (should zones, Para. 0029, “Shoulder zones are preferably defined within the gap between base unit 12 and canopy 14. The illumination from the shoulder zones with a person is illustrated in a preferred arrangement shown FIG. 3”), the tunnel defining an exposition tunnel main axis, which extends along the length of the exposition tunnel (Fig. 3, axis along which the body lays); the surfaces of said exposition tunnel separating an inner space where said subject is exposed to said actinic radiation (Fig. 3, Para. 0001) from outer spaces where a plurality of radiation sources capable of emitting actinic radiation through said surfaces are mounted, said outer spaces being housed in at least first and second parts of a chassis of the device and comprising means for fixedly holding, and electrically and electronically operating, said plurality of radiation sources (chassis spaces containing bulbs 20, Para. 0026, “Para. 0026, “Within each of the base unit 12 and canopy 14 are typically a plurality of parallel, elongate, tubular bulbs or lamps 20. Bulbs 20 are typically fluorescent ultraviolet producing bulbs. Base unit 12 defines a support or bed surface 18 for a person to lie during the application process. The person to be tanned typically lies with the person's back to the support surface and facing the canopy”); means providing said at least first and second parts of the chassis with electric power (Para. 0034, “The quad lamp in FIG. 6 includes a base 35 attachable to an electric socket”); said first and second parts of the chassis of the device being configured to complement each other in forming the outer shape of the device by being configured to hingedly move away from, and towards, each other (Para. 0027, “Often the upper unit or canopy 14 is pivotally mounted to base unit 12 to allow the user ease of access to enter and lie upon support surface 18. To place the system in an operating position, the canopy is closed to a selected distance defining a gap or volume between the base unit 12 and canopy 14”); said device further comprising at least one further outer space separated from said inner space (space containing head lamps 25) and located at least one longitudinal end of the exposition tunnel transverse to the exposition tunnel main axis and transverse to the outer spaces (Fig. 3), said at least one further outer space housing a plurality of additional radiation sources configured to emit actinic radiation towards the subject in a direction forming an acute angle with the exposition tunnel main axis (Fig. 3, Para. 0027, “As an optional feature, specialized facial tanning units 25 are placed in the canopy 14 in an area adjacent the person's face”), wherein the at least one further outer space is arranged perpendicular to the exposition tunnel main axis (when the bed is closed, the straight ends of curved panel 25 will be perpendicular to the axis). Cameron does not teach wherein the device is controlled by a processing unit, wherein the light sources are LEDs/LED arrays, or the at least one LED array is arranged on a thermal interface plate, wherein the thermal interface plate is connected to a first heat pipe and a second heat pipe, wherein the first the first heat pipe and a second heat pipe are connected to heat dissipation unit distant from the LED array, said device further comprising at least one narrow space light appliance cooling system for said at least one of the radiation sources and the additional radiation sources..
However, in the art of tanning beds (abstract, Para. 0012), Gerstenmeier teaches the usage of LEDs in a tanning bed system (Para. 0027) with a cooling system (Para. 0012) operated by a processing unit (Para. 0012, “and means for the operation of the device, including a processing unit”). Gerstenmeier further teaches that by controlling radiant flux of actinic radiation-emitting light source by changing the light source’s electronic parameters in accordance with the geometric position of actinic radiation light source, relative to its distance from the inner space, thereby achieving an even radiance at the subject (Para. 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cameron by Gerstenmeier, i.e. by using LEDs and associated control system in Gerstenmeier instead of the Cameron’s lamps, for the predictable purpose of simply substituting one known actinic radiation source for another and achieving an even radiance at the subject.
Further, in the art of LED cooling, Dahm teaches the usage of a plurality of heat pipes attached to a substrate/LED combination that provide cooling to the LED by directing heat to a heat sink placed(Para. 0111, “The LED 10 is located at the end of wand 62 that is approximately 8.5 mmØ and can be flexible, semi-rigid or rigid. Coolant tubes 34 (inlet) and 35 (outlet) are bonded to an optional threaded through hole 67 in the slug of the LED 10. In this way coolant is passed through the LEDs 10 at approximately 2 psi to 50 psi for the purpose of cooling the LED die (not shown, but bonded to one end of the conductor slug 14). The coolant tubes 34 and 35 are attached respectively to the pump 50 which supplies the coolant (i.e., liquid) and a finned heat exchanger 52, which receives the heat. Fan 66 is the drive, electronics for pump 50. Fan 66 passes air over the external fins of heat exchanger 52 and the air is discharged through ports (not shown) in the molded plastic housing of the body 62. No electrical leads are shown for drawing clarity. Battery pack 61a and 61b is shown”, Para. 0113, “FIG. 7b is an expanded view of another embodiment for the instant invention. Here the LED 10 has a coolant inlet hole 75 in the center of the conductor/slug 14 and a feeding inlet tube 34 is shown. The inlet hole 75 is bisected by one or more outlet holes 75a and 75b near the bottom or end of the hole 75. This arrangement allows for lower thermal resistance cooling as the inlet hole 75 serves to “impinge” coolant on the area of the conductor/slug 14 at the bottom of hole 75 that is immediately below the LED “die” (not shown for clarity)”) distantly from the LEDs (Fig. 7) for the purpose of being able “to remove the heat generated by the LED die 10 that is in a very small area and “pump” the waste heat to a larger area, the heat exchanger 52 via the heat pipe 64. Using this technique, LEDs may be driven at higher operating currents and output power than if they were mounted to a flat heat sink and/or PC board (PCB)” (Para. 0111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cameron modified by Gerstenmeier further by Dahm, i.e. by using the cooling system of Dahm above in the cooling system of Cameron modified by Gerstenmeier, for the predictable purpose of improving the system as described above in Para. 0111 of Dahm.
Regarding Claim 17, Cameron modified by Gerstenmeier and Dahm makes obvious the device of Claim 16. Cameron further teaches the device being configured to irradiate a human being to be exposed to said actinic radiation (Para. 0001).
Regarding Claim 18, Cameron modified by Gerstenmeier and Dahm makes obvious the device of Claim 16. Cameron further teaches wherein said exposition tunnel has a longitudinal axis arranged horizontally (Fig. 3, axis defined by the horizontal body), and wherein said exposition tunnel is formed of said one semi-cylinder barrel-shape surface (canopy 14) and of a at least one substantially flat surface (bed 12).
Regarding Claim 20, Cameron modified by Gerstenmeier and Dahm makes obvious the device of Claim 16. Cameron further teaches wherein said at least one further outer space is one further outer space disposed at the head-side longitudinal end of the exposition tunnel (Cameron’s units 25, Fig. 3, Para. 0027, “As an optional feature, specialized facial tanning units 25 are placed in the canopy 14 in an area adjacent the person's face”).
Regarding Claim 21, Cameron modified by Gerstenmeier and Dahm makes obvious the device of Claim 20, wherein said at least one further outer space houses a plurality of LEDs capable of emitting radiation towards the subject’s scalp and shoulders (Gerstenmeier’s Fig. 3, Para. 0027, as modified the light provided by units 25 are LEDs).
Regarding Claim 26, Cameron modified by Gerstenmeier and Dahm makes obvious the device of Claim 16. Cameron further teaches wherein the lamps emit at UV wavelengths (Para. 0026), but does not specify whether the range is UV-A, UV-B, or IR.
However, Gerstenmeier teaches a wavelength range selected from a UV-B wavelength range from 280-315 nm (Para. 0025, “actinic radiation having a wavelength λ in the range of from 280 to 315 nm (UV-B radiation)”), an UV-A wavelength from 315 to 400 nm (Para. 0025, “actinic radiation having a wavelength λ in the range of from 315 to 400 nm”), and an IR wavelength range from 400-850 nm (Para. 0025, “or actinic radiation having wavelengths λ in the visible and near IR (infrared) range (400 or, even better > 550 nm, to 850 nm”). Gerstenmeier further teaches that UV-B and/or UV-A can be used for tanning for the purpose of cosmetic and/or medical fields. IR is capable of activating the biosynthesis of beneficial compounds for the skin nourishing rejuvenation, as for example, elastin, keratin, and hyaluronic acid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cameron, i.e. by operating at UV-A, UV-B, or IR ranges in order to provide appropriate actinic radiation for the purpose of cosmetic and/or medical fields.
Regarding Claim 27, Cameron modified by Gerstenmeier and Dahm makes obvious the device of Claim 16. Cameron does not teach wherein the acute angle of the directed radiation with the device’s longitudinal axis is within a range of from 8-50 degrees.
The specification discloses the appropriate ranges that apply to the claimed invention on page(s) 45 as 15-40 degrees. However, the specification does not disclose that the specifically claimed range(s) of 15-40 degrees is for any particular purpose or to solve any stated problem that distinguishes it from the other ranges disclosed. The specification therefore lacks disclosure of the criticality required by the Courts in providing patentability to the claimed range(s).
In addition to a lack of disclosed criticality in the specification, an obviousness rejection based upon optimization must rely on prior art that discloses the optimized parameter is a result-effective variable. See MPEP 2144.05.
Since Cameron teaches the usage of curved array 25 (Fig. 3), the prior art therefore provides teaching that using a curved light array is a variable that achieves a recognized result, and satisfies the above requirement of a result-effective variable in order to set forth an obviousness rejection based on optimization.
Because Applicants fail to disclose that the claimed range(s) of 15-45 degrees provides a criticality to the invention that separates it from the other ranges in the specification, and the prior art discloses the exact wavelength range and treatment aspects, absent unexpected results, it would therefore have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable range(s) of the angle of degree of incidence of the radiation sources by normal optimization procedures known in the arts.
Claims 24-25 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cameron in view Gerstenmeier and Dahm, as shown in Claim 16 above, further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 20120238939 awarded to Gerstenmeier, hereinafter Gerstenmeier ‘939.
Regarding Claims 24-25 and 36, Cameron modified by Gerstenmeier and Dahm makes obvious the device of Claim 16, using reflectors on the light sources (Cameron Para. 0033). Cameron does not teach wherein the radiation sources comprise at least one LED and at least one of a reflector and a plurality of reflectors downstream the at least one LED, and wherein each reflector collimates the actinic radiation emitted by the at least one LED, further comprising a fluorescent covering comprising at least one fluorescent area covering a front edge of at least one reflector wherein the fluorescent covering is provided with, mixed with, alloyed with or coated with a dye, and the dye being excitable by the light emitted by the at least one LED to emit fluorescent light of the visible wavelength range.
However, in the art of actinic radiation devices, Gerstenmeier ‘939 teaches the usage of reflectors on light sources used for actinic radiation (Para. 0065-0066) and the usage of fluorescent phosphors applied as layers to control the output radiation (Para. 0064), the usage of which Gerstenmeier ‘939 describes as “per se well known to a skilled person and may be selected in accordance with the requirements, e. g. the wavelength or wavelength range desired to be emitted by the respective source” (Para. 0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cameron by Gerstenmeier ‘939, i.e. by using reflectors with fluorescent phosphor to direct light, as Gerstenmeier ‘939 admits these are well known to a skilled person and that it is up to the particular skilled person to determine the usage depending on wavelength desired.
Regarding Claim 37, Cameron modified by Gerstenmeier and Dahm makes obvious the device of Claim 16, wherein the LEDs are arranged on a thermal interface and wherein the thermal interface comprises two heat pipes connecting the thermal interface with a heat exchanger, see rejection to Claim 16 above. Cameron does not teach wherein at least one of the radiation sources and the additional radiation sources comprise a plurality of LEDs arranged in a LED array and a plurality of reflectors arranged in a reflector array, wherein each reflector of the plurality of reflectors is assigned to one LED of the plurality of LEDs ,wherein the plurality of LEDs is configured to emit said actinic radiation, and wherein the reflector collimates the actinic radiation emitted by the LED toward said subject.
However, in the art of actinic radiation devices, Gerstenmeier ‘939 teaches the usage of reflectors on light sources used for actinic radiation (Para. 0065-0066) and the usage of fluorescent phosphors applied as layers to control the output radiation (Para. 0064), the usage of which Gerstenmeier ‘939 describes as “per se well known to a skilled person and may be selected in accordance with the requirements, e. g. the wavelength or wavelength range desired to be emitted by the respective source” (Para. 0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cameron by Gerstenmeier ‘939, i.e. by using reflectors with fluorescent phosphor to direct light, as Gerstenmeier ‘939 admits these are well known to a skilled person and that it is up to the particular skilled person to determine the usage depending on wavelength desired.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JLM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796