DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of Receipt
Applicant’s Response, filed 9/24/2025, in reply to the Office Action mailed 3/24/2025, is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 20, 24, 25, 27, 29-39, 43 and 44 are pending and are examined herein on the merits for patentability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. The rejection of claims 20, 24, 25 and 44 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (Anal. Chem., 2011, 83, p. 9123-9130) in view of Lehmann et al. (US 2012/0064002) has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s argument that Kobayashi does not teach a metal complex that is not bound to an antibody. The rejection of claims 20, 24, 25, 27, 29-39, 43 and 44 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (Anal. Chem., 2011, 83, p. 9123-9130) in view of Lehmann et al. (US 2012/0064002), in further view of Driver (US 2017/0296684) and Kratz (US 2015/0023912) is maintained.
The Examiner’s response to Applicant’s arguments is incorporated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 24, 25, 27-39, 43 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (Anal. Chem., 2011, 83, p. 9123-9130) in view of Lehmann et al. (US 2012/0064002), in further view of Driver (US 2017/0296684) and Kratz (US 2015/0023912), for reason set forth in the previous Office Action.
Response to arguments
Applicant argues that Kobayashi does not disclose, teach or suggest an 111In labeled EMCS-Bz-DTPA that is not bound to an antibody, nor does Kobayashi teach or suggest the specific compounds recited in the instant claims. Applicant asserts that the antibody-maleimide conjugate in Kobayashi is not a conjugate acid and nothing in Lehmann remedies the deficiencies of Kobayashi. Applicant further argues that nothing in Driver and Kratz remedies the deficiencies of Kobayashi and Lehmann. Applicant asserts that Driver does not teach or suggest the specific metal complexes as recited in the instant claims, and that while Kratz discloses various therapeutic agents, it does not teach or suggest any metal complexes, let alone the specific metal complexes as recited in the instant claims. Moreover, Applicant has demonstrated that upon administration of the instantly recited complexes, they are detected in tumor tissues. Applicant asserts that nothing in the combination of Kobayashi, Lehmann, Driver and Kratz would have led the skilled worker to the specific metal complexes and methods of use thereof as recited in the instant claims.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found to be persuasive. While it is acknowledged that Kobayashi does not teach a 111In labeled EMCS-Bz-DTPA or conjugate acid thereof that is not bound to an antibody, it is respectfully submitted that Driver is incorporated to teach provision of a radiolabeled proconjugate comprising a reactive maleimide moiety, see in particular an exemplary proconjugate comprising a radiolabeled chelator and maleimide for reaction with a protein shown on page 13 of Driver. Lehman teaches enantiomeric resolution of DTPA derivatives. With regard to the argument that Kratz does not remedy the deficiencies of Kobayashi and Driver, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not found to be persuasive because Kratz teaches administration of a maleimide bearing active agent in order to bind the Cys-34 position of circulating albumin and accumulation in solid tumors due to passive targeting for tumor detection and monitoring. While the active agent bearing a reactive maleimide groups are not the same active agent in Kobayashi/Driver and Kratz, it is considered that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a given active agent bearing a reactive maleimide would be capable of reacting with albumin as shown by Kratz using an active agent bearing a reactive maleimide for the desired purpose of targeting for albumin and accumulation in tumor for detection and monitoring; for example Kratz teaches that a drug may be radioactive.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LHS/
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618