DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4, 19, 25-29, and 36-40 are pending.
Claim 4, 19, 25-26, and 28-29 are newly amended.
Claims 36-40 are newly added.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, which because of the claims amendments and new claims corresponds to 4, 19, 25-29, and 36-40, in the reply filed on 09/09/2025 is acknowledged.
Since all present claims correspond to Group I, no claims are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 4, 19, 25-29, and 36-40 have been examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 4, 19, 25-29, and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is noted that claim 25 is the independent claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “a known TCR or CAR gene” (lines 7 and 12).
A claim may be rendered indefinite by reference to subjective term (see MPEP 2173.05(b), IV). Specifically, the phrase “a known TCR or CAR gene” is subjective and renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “a known TCR or CAR gene” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for some standard for measuring the scope of the term, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
A claim that requires the exercise of subjective judgment without restriction (i.e., what is known to one person may not be known to another) may render the claim indefinite. In re Musgrave, 431 F.2d 882, 893, 167 USPQ 280, 289 (CCPA 1970). Claim scope cannot depend solely on the unrestrained, subjective opinion of a particular individual purported to be practicing the invention. Datamize LLC v. Plumtree Software, Inc., 417 F.3d 1342, 1350, 75 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2005)); see also Interval Licensing LLC v. AOL, Inc., 766 F.3d 1364, 1373, 112 USPQ2d 1188 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (holding the claim phrase "unobtrusive manner" indefinite because the specification did not "provide a reasonably clear and exclusive definition, leaving the facially subjective claim language without an objective boundary”).
For compact prosecution, the phrase has been interpreted for allowing for any TCR or CAR gene.
Claims 4, 19, 26-29, and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for their dependence on claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 27, which depends on claim 26 and ultimately claim 25, recites “[t]he method according to claim 26, wherein in step (b), the vector prepared in step (a) is knocked in a site downstream of a V region promoter in the non-rearranged TCR locus so that the drug resistance gene cassette is replaced with the V region and DJ region downstream of the V region promoter.
The plain language of the claim requires knocking in the vector prepared in step (a) into a site in the non-rearranged TCR locus. According to the claim, as a result of this knock-in, the non-rearranged TCR locus the drug resistance gene cassette is itself replaced with the V region and DJ region.
However, in claim 27, since the vector comprises a drug resistance gene cassette, not the non-rearranged TCR locus, and when the vector is knocked into the TCR locus, it cannot “replace” the drug resistance gene cassette with the V region and DJ regions.
Rather, either (a) the V region and DJ regions (which are in the non-rearranged TCR locus) may be replaced by the drug resistance gene cassette (which is opposite to what is required in the claim), or (b) the drug resistance gene cassette be inserted within V region and DJ region of the non-rearranged TCR locus.
Under the written description guidelines (see MPEP 2163) the Examiner is directed to determine whether one skilled in the art would recognize that the Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole at the time of filing. The following considerations are critical to this determination.
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116. An original claim may lack written description support when (1) the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved or (2) a broad genus claim is presented but the disclosure only describes a narrow species with no evidence that the genus is contemplated. See Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). The written description requirement is not necessarily met when the claim language appears in ipsis verbis in the specification. “Even if a claim is supported by the specification, the language of the specification, to the extent possible, must describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. The appearance of mere indistinct words in a specification or a claim, even an original claim, does not necessarily satisfy that requirement.” Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
Accordingly, to satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.
Actual Reduction to Practice
In regards to claim 27, the specification does not provide examples wherein a vector as prepared in step (a) is knocked in a site downstream of a V region promoter in the non-rearranged TCR locus so that the drug resistance gene cassette is replaced with the V region and DJ region downstream of the V region promoter.
Rather, the specification only discloses inserting a drug resistance gene cassette within the V region and DJ region of the non-rearranged TCR locus (Figs. 6 and 16) or replace the V region and DJ region of the non-rearranged TCR locus (Figs. 19-20).
It is noted that while the specification provides disclosure for exchanging a drug resistance gene cassette with a TCR cassette (Figs 11 and 12), claim 27 cannot refer to this step because the claim explicitly requires knocking in the vector of claim 26 step (b) which itself comprises a drug resistance cassette.
Accordingly, Applicant did not demonstrate a reduction to practice of “[t]he method according to claim 26, wherein in step (b), the vector prepared in step (a) is knocked in a site downstream of a V region promoter in the non-rearranged TCR locus so that the drug resistance gene cassette is replaced with the V region and DJ region downstream of the V region promoter.
State of the Art and Quantity of Experimentation
The method of making the claimed invention is not well established, because as above, when a vector comprising a drug resistance gene cassette is knocked into a TCR locus it cannot replace the drug resistance gene cassette with the V region and DJ region in the TCR locus since the drug resistance gene cassette is in the vector (the thing being knocked in), not the TCR locus.
Therefore, the Examiner concludes that there is insufficient written description of the instantly claimed method according to claim 26, wherein in step (b), the vector prepared in step (a) is knocked in a site downstream of a V region promoter in the non-rearranged TCR locus so that the drug resistance gene cassette is replaced with the V region and DJ region downstream of the V region promoter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4, 19, 25, and 38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawamoto et al. (WO2016010154A1, on IDS 04/29/2021) as evidenced by Lantelme et al. (Molecular Immunology, 2008), Leiden et al. (GenBank: M15565.1, 1986, retrieved from NCBI 11/21/2025), and Zhong et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 1997).
It is noted that claim 25 is the independent claim and therefore, has been addressed first.
In regards to claim 25, Kawamoto discloses a methods of introducing TCR genes (thus, exogenously) into induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells (Abstract; claims 1-3; p4 paragraph 7). Kawamoto discloses that these cells can express these endogenous genes (p5, first paragraph).
In regards to rearrangement, Kawamoto discloses that these cells can be differentiated to T cells (p5, third paragraph) and in embodiments are stimulated with anti-CD3 antibody (p9, paragraphs 9-10). As evidenced by Lantelme, it is known in the art that T cells exhibit TCR rearrangement when exposed to anti-CD3 in vitro (Abstract, p328).
Therefore, the exogenous genes as taught by Kawamoto would be expected to be rearranged. Additionally, Kawamoto teaches that in embodiments the TCR gene can comprise a TCRα gene primed by a specific sequence (p6, paragraph 7; SEQ ID NO: 1), which as evidenced by Leiden is part of a rearranged TCR alpha chain V-region (whole document), and therefore, the exogenous TCR itself appears to be already rearranged.
In regards to step (1), Kawamoto discloses that the TCR gene is inserted into (and thus, alters) the TCR locus of iPS cells (p5, second paragraph).
In regards to the limitation of a “non-rearranged” TCR locus, it is noted that it is well-known in the art that TCR rearrangement is a T cell phenomenon. As disclosed by Kawamoto, the iPS cells can be derived from somatic cells from any site (thus, from non-T cell) (p4, paragraph 4). Thus, inserting an exogenous TCR into the TCR locus of an iPS cell not derived from a T cell would be in a non-arranged locus.
Also, as above, Kawamoto discloses that in embodiments the TCR gene can comprise a TCRα gene (p6, paragraph 7), which as evidenced by Zhong comprises from upstream to downstream a V region promoter locus and C region enhancer locus (Fig. 1, p5220; p5219, right column).
In regards to the locus between V and C regions, the sequences of the TCRα gene itself (which is between the V region promoter locus and C region) is a “known TCR gene” which reads on the limitation.
In regards to the distance between the V region promoter and C region enhancer, as the iPS cells were induced to encode a TCR (Fig. 5), the distance between these regions must have been sufficiently close to allow expression of this gene.
In regards to step (2), in regards to the step of replacing “a known TCR . . . gene”, it is noted that the plane language of the claim suggests that the endogenous TCR gene itself can be a known TCR gene, and the claim does not necessarily require that the known TCR gene be the same known TCR gene as in step (1) (i.e., the step (2) of replacing a TCR gene does not require replacing the same TCR gene as in step (1)). Since the method of Kawamoto replaces the endogenous TCR in a cell with an exogenous TCR, it therefore, replaces a known TCR with an exogenous TCR.
In regards to claim 4, Kawamoto discloses that the TCR gene can be introduced by genome editing technology (p5, second paragraph).
In regards to claim 19, Kawamoto discloses that the TCR gene can comprise TCRα and TCRβ chains (p7, second paragraph). Since the cells are at least exposed to anti-CD3 antibody, they would be expected to be rearranged as discussed above.
In regards to claim 38, Kawamoto discloses that the iPS cells can be differentiated to T cells (p5, paragraph 3).
Therefore, Kawamoto anticipates the invention as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 36, and 39 are under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamoto et al. (WO2016010154A1, on IDS 04/29/2021) and Li et al. (CN105316362A, 2016, on IDS 04/29/2021) and Voziyanova et al. (Nucleic Acids Research, 2013) as evidenced by Lantelme et al. (Molecular Immunology, 2008), Leiden et al. (GenBank: M15565.1, 1986, retrieved from NCBI 11/21/2025), and Zhong et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 1997).
Kawamoto anticipates claim 25 as discussed above.
In regards to claim 26, Kawamoto teaches that the TCR gene may be introduced with a vector comprising a drug resistance gene cassette comprising a first drug resistance gene (p5, first paragraph; Figs. 1-2). Kawamoto teaches that the vector may comprises necessary promoters (p5, first paragraph), and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the drug resistance gene would be linked to a promoter and could be expressed in the cell.
Kawamoto does not explicitly teach a first (i) upstream or second (ii) different downstream target sequence for a first recombinase. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include these sequences because Li teaches that technologies that employ recombinases (such as dual-recombinase mediated cassette exchange (dual RMCE) allows for TCR gene replacement at a single site in the genome and is therefore more reliably safe than other methods (Abstract). As taught by Li dual RMCE targets first upstream and second downstream sequences (Fig. 1). Furthermore, because Li teaches that TCR genes may successfully be exchanged with engineered genes utilizing dual RMCE technology (Abstract, Fig. 1), and Kawamoto and Li are in the same technical field of producing engineering TCRs, it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to a second drug resistance gene, according to MPEP 2144(VI)(B), it is prima facie obvious to duplicate parts absent evidence of unexpected results. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a “web” which lies in the joint, and a plurality of “ribs” projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)
Additionally, in the instant case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include multiple drug resistance genes in order to provide greater selectivity of transfected cells. Furthermore, because Voziyanova teaches that dual RCME can utilize two recombinases directed to different targets (Abstract, p1; Fig. 3), it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to step (b), as above, Kawamoto teaches that vectors can be successfully knocked in (transfected) and that genes are expressed (Fig. 5), which indicates that the distance between the V region promoter and C region enhancer must have been sufficiently close to allow expression of this gene.
In regards to step (c), Kawamoto teaches that transduced cells can be selected for (p6, second to last paragraph). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select cells in the presence of the first drug resistance gene in order to eliminate non-transduced cells. Furthermore, because Kawamoto teaches that cells can be engineered to be resident to drugs (p5, first paragraph), it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claim 36, which further comprises step (2), it is noted that this is a second step that introduces a second vector (in this case TCR or CAR gene cassette exchange vector) which replaces the sequences of the drug resistance gene cassette introduced in claim 26.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to motivated introduce a TCR or CAR gene in the site of the drug resistance cassette in order to, as taught by Li, safely introduce tumor-antigen-specific TCR molecules which can then be used for clinical anti-tumor T cell immunotherapies (Abstract). Furthermore, because Li teaches that technologies such as RMCE can be used to introduce exogenous TCRs to generate antigen-specific TCR molecules and Kawamoto and Li are in the same technical field of engineering TCRs it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to step (d), in regards to the ordering of the TCR or CAR gene cassette exchange vector, as above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate target sequences for a first recombinase at the ends in order to the entire TCR or CAR gene cassette exchange vector into the TCR locus (see Fig. 1 of Li).
They would have been motivated to incorporate the second recombinase target sequence between the first recombinase target sequences in order to allow for secondary editing of the gene.
Furthermore, because Voziyanova teaches that dual RCME can utilize two recombinases directed to different targets (Abstract, p1, Fig. 3, p5) and because, as above, Li teaches that dual RCME technology can be used for engineering the TCR locus, it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to placement of the exogenous TCR or CAR gene or a promoter, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art the TCR gene comprises multiple promoters within that gene, and therefore would be arranged in the order of an exogenous rearranged TCR or CAR gene and a promoter.
In regards to step (e), as above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated introduce a TCR or CAR gene in the site of the drug resistance cassette in order to, as taught by Li, safely introduce tumor-antigen-specific TCR molecules which can then be used for clinical anti-tumor T cell immunotherapies (Abstract). They would have been motivated to apply a first recombinase in order to effect the exchange of the an engineered TCR (see Fig. 1 of Li). It is noted that replacing the flanked sequences is the expected result of using RMCE technology.
Furthermore, because Li teaches that RMCE technology can be effectively used to specifically introduce exogenous TCRs at the TCR locus (Fig. 1; claim 1), it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to step (f), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the second drug resistance gene in order to positively select transformed cells. Furthermore, because as above, Li teaches that TCR-RMCE displaced cells can be selected for with the drug hygromycin (p7, seventh paragraph), it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to step (g), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the second recombinase in order to eliminate drug resistance in transformed cells and improve their safety. Furthermore, because as above, Voziyanova teaches that dual RCME can utilize two recombinases directed to different targets (Abstract, p1; Fig. 3) and because, as above, Li teaches that dual RCME technology can be used for engineering the TCR locus, it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claim 39, as above, in regards to step (1), Kawamoto teaches that the TCR gene is inserted into (and thus, alters) the TCR locus of iPS cells (p5, second paragraph).
In regards to the limitation of a “non-rearranged” TCR locus, it is noted that it is well-known in the art that TCR rearrangement is a T cell phenomenon. As taught by Kawamoto, the iPS cells can be derived from somatic cells from any site (thus, from non-T cell) (p4, paragraph 4). Thus, inserting an exogenous TCR into the TCR locus of an iPS cell not derived from a T cell would be in a non-arranged locus.
Also, as above, Kawamoto teaches that in embodiments the TCR gene can comprise a TCRα gene (p6, paragraph 7), which as evidenced by Zhong comprises from upstream to downstream a V region promoter locus and C region enhancer locus (Fig. 1, p5220; p5219, right column).
In regards to the locus between V and C regions, the sequences of the TCRα gene itself (which is between the V region promoter locus and C region) is a “known TCR gene” which reads on the limitation.
As above, Kawamoto teaches that the iPS cells can be differentiated to T cells (p5, paragraph 3).
In regards to step (2), similarly to as above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to replace the exogenous TCR by means of RMCE because Li teaches dual RMCE allows for TCR gene replacement at a single site in the genome and is therefore more reliably safe than other methods (Abstract). As taught by Li dual RMCE targets first upstream and second downstream sequences (Fig. 1). Furthermore, because Li teaches that TCR genes may successfully be exchanged with engineered genes utilizing dual RMCE technology, and Kawamoto and Li are in the same technical field of producing engineering TCRs, it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Kawamoto, Li, and Voziyanova renders obvious the invention as claimed.
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamoto et al. (WO2016010154A1, on IDS 04/29/2021) Li et al. (CN105316362A, 2016, on IDS 04/29/2021) and Voziyanova et al. (Nucleic Acids Research, 2013), as evidenced by Lantelme et al. (Molecular Immunology, 2008), Leiden et al. (GenBank: M15565.1, 1986, retrieved from NCBI 11/21/2025), and Zhong et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 1997), as applied to claims 25 and 26 above and further in view of del Banco et al. (PNAS, 2015).
In regards to claims 28 and 29, while Kawamoto is silent as to the exact of vector knock-in, del Banco teaches that the Tcra enhancer is essential for germ-line transcription and primary Vα-to-Jα recombination during TCR rearrangement (Abstract, pE1744). Additionally, as evidenced by Zhong, as discussed above, the most upstream region of the TCR gene is V region (which comprises the various V region promoters) with the C region enhancer (Eα) being the most downstream, with the D and J regions being in the middle (Fig. 1, p5220).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to knock this vector into the DJ region (as in claim 28) or between V and C regions (as in claim 29), in order to preserve promoter and enhancer interactions, which is essential for Vα-to-Jα recombination during TCR rearrangement. Furthermore, because, as above, Kawamoto teaches that the TCR gene is inserted into (and thus, alters) the TCR locus of iPS cells (p5, second paragraph) and because as above, teaches that technologies that employ recombinases (such as dual-recombinase mediated cassette exchange (dual RMCE) allows for TCR gene replacement at a single site in the genome (Abstract), it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Kawamoto, Li, Voziyanova, and del Banco renders obvious the invention as claimed.
Claim 37 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamoto et al. (WO2016010154A1, on IDS 04/29/2021) and Hawwari et al. (Journal of Experimental Medicine, 2005) as evidenced by Lantelme et al. (Molecular Immunology, 2008), Leiden et al. (GenBank: M15565.1, 1986, retrieved from NCBI 11/21/2025), and Zhong et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 1997).
Kawamoto anticipates claim 25 as discussed above.
In regards to claim 37, in regards to the distance between the V region promoter and the C region enhancer, while Kawamoto is silent as to the distance between these two region, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have arrived at a distance of about 8 to 32kbp by routine optimization, and the disclosure does not point to a criticality in this amount.
According to 2144.05(II)(A), Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.).
In the instant case because Hawwari teaches that the TCRα can regulate chromatin structure up to 525 kbp (Abstract p467), which is far greater than the amount of about 8 to 32 kbp, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have arrived at a distance of about 8 to 32 kbp by routine optimization with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Kawamoto and Hawwari renders obvious the invention as claimed.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamoto et al. (WO2016010154A1, on IDS 04/29/2021) and Li et al. (CN105316362A, 2016, on IDS 04/29/2021) and Voziyanova et al. (Nucleic Acids Research, 2013), as evidenced by Lantelme et al. (Molecular Immunology, 2008), Leiden et al. (GenBank: M15565.1, 1986, retrieved from NCBI 11/21/2025), and Zhong et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 1997), as applied to claims 25 and 39 above and further in view of Kamala (Scandinavian Journal of Immunology, 67).
In regards to claim 40, Kawamoto does not explicitly teach a step of removing unsuccessfully changed (non-transformed) cells with an antibody. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to remove unusually changed cells in order to obtain a pure population of cells. They would have been motivated to do so with antibodies because Kamala teaches that antibodies allow for negative selection of unwanted T cells (Abstract, p285). Furthermore, because Kamala teaches that unwanted cells (unsuccessfully changed or non-transformed cells) can be removed with antibodies (Abstract, p285), it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Kawamoto, Li, Voziyanova, and Kamala renders obvious the invention as claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 4, 19, 25-29, and 36-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,194,083B2 in view of Li et al. (CN105316362A, 2016, on IDS 04/29/2021) as evidenced by Zhong et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 1997).
Although the conflicting claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,194,083B2 are not identical to the currently prosecuted claims 4, 19, 25-29, and 36-40, they are not patently distinct because said claims of both invention are drawn to methods for producing cells that express an exogenous re-arranged TCR or CAR.
In regards to the V and C regions of the TCR locus, as evidenced by Zhong the TCR locus comprises an upstream V region promoter locus and a downstream C region enhancer locus, with the remaining sequences of the TCR gene being between these two (Fig. 1, p5220; p5219, right column). Therefore, a the TCR of U.S. Patent No. 12,194,083B2 would naturally have this basic structure.
In regards to the distance between the promoter and enhancer being sufficiently close to express the intervening gene, since the TCR of U.S. Patent No. 12,194,083B2 it is sufficiently close to achieve this effect.
In regards to step (2), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to exchange the TCR gene in order to, as taught by Li, safely introduce tumor-antigen-specific TCR molecules which can then be used for clinical anti-tumor T cell immunotherapies (Abstract).
Furthermore, because Li teaches that technologies such as RMCE can be used to introduce exogenous TCRs to generate antigen-specific TCR molecules it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/JOSEPH PAUL MIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 1631