DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, drawn to compound or composition, in the reply filed on 12/26/2023 is acknowledged. Claim 30 and 32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR l.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected INVENTION, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/26/2023.
Please note, for clarity of the record, Applicant’s election of the species of compound SMV-32- as described in the specification (page 17, line 10 to page 31, line 5) and as exemplified by claims 1-27.
During the course of examination, prior art was identified that relates to the elected subject matter. In the interest of compact prosecution, the prior art, Knabe, has been applied to demonstrate the non-allowability of the elected. However, Applicant amended the claim to overcome the rejection.
Pending claims 1,15-17, 19-25, 27 and 29 have been examined on the merits.
Request for Continued Examination
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 1, 19-22, 24, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(l) as being unpatentable over Uckun et al. US 6,638,939 is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
The rejection of claims 11-13, 15-17, 23, 25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uckun et al. US 6,638,939 as applied to claims 1, 19-22, 27 and 29 above, and further view of Popp et al. J. of the Amer Chem Soc, vol. 79, no. 14, July 1957, pp. 3773–3777, Patani et al. Chem Rev. 1996 Dec 19;96(8):3147-3176 is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
New Grounds of Rejection is necessitated Applicant’s IDS filed on 04/14/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 19-22, 24-25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beasley et al., J of Med Chem, vol. 7, no. 5, Sept. 1964, pp. 686–89 (IDS, 04/14/2026), Meanwell, Nicholas A. J of Med Chem, vol. 54, no. 8, Apr. 2011, pp. 2529–91 (“Meanwell”), Awuah et al., The J of Org Chem, vol. 75, no. 16, Aug. 2010, pp. 5627–34.
Regarding claim 1, 19-22, 24-25, and 27, Beasley (page 686) discloses papaverine and papaveraldine analogs, comparable to the instant claim. For example, Beasley (page 687, Table III) discloses R1 to R7 are independently selected from hydrogen, methyl and methoxy; A is absence; linker D is C=O; CH2; E is a carbon.
Beasley, however, does not explicitly disclose Y is O.
Meanwell (page 2530, Table 1) teaches that -O-; carbonyl (-C=O) and methylene group (-CH2-) are considered classical bivalent biososteres, this suggests that they can occupy similar spatial positions within a molecular framework.
This steric similarity allows for preservation of molecular geometry, which may be critical in maintaining receptor binding or overall molecular conformation. This is further supported by Arwua (page 5630, Scheme) teaches isoquinoline ring, which is a core structure of papaverine, as in compound 19, wherein R4 and R5, or R5 and R6 combine together to which they attach to form a benzene ring. A POSITA would have been motivated also to substitute the
carbonyl (-C=O) from Arwua’s compound with an -O- liker to arrive at the claimed compound. Therefore, Meanwell’s disclosure represents predictable substitution of one known biosisoteric linker for another within the same class of papaverine derivative compounds. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would have been motivated to substitute (-C=O) or (-CH2-) with -O- to arrive at the claimed invention, because such substitution would maintain similar structural and functional characteristics while further expanding the known linker library for optimization of the papaverine compounds.
Subject Matter Free of the Art of Record
The subject matter of claims 15-17 are free of the art of record. The closest prior art is the Beasley et al., J of Med Chem, vol. 7, no. 5, Sept. 1964, pp. 686–89. While Beasley teaches discloses papaverine and papaveraldine analogs including linker D, however there is no motivation for a POSITA to modify the teaching of Beasley to arrive at the claimed compound. These claims are not allowable until the 103 rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
/P.P.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622