Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2021/0120592)(and JP 2018-091542) in view of Xiong et al. (US 2020/0344810), and further in view of Siomina et al. (US 2015/0215107).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi discloses a terminal (Takahashi, paragraph [0001], base station apparatus and terminal apparatus) comprising:
a receiver (Takahashi, Fig. 13; paragraph [0269], transmission/reception unit 10 is also referred to as a transmitter or a receiver) configured to receive a PDCCH order from a base station, the PDCCH order including an SSB index specifying a synchronization signal block (Takahashi, Fig. 10, S1001, receive SSB index; paragraph [0181] [0114, JP 2018-091542], terminal receives random access configuration information by a downlink signal; paragraph [0209] [0138 JP 2018-091542], message 0 is a PDCCH order; paragraph [0259], terminal receives SSB index information and mask index information from the base station S1001) and a RACH occasion index specifying a position of a transmission resource for transmitting a random access preamble (Takahashi, paragraph [0006], PRACH occasion index indicating a PRACH occasion available for transmission of the random access preamble; paragraph [0182] [0115 JP 2018-091542], a set of one or more PRACH occasions available for transmission for the random access preamble is identified; paragraph [0210], bit information in the message 0 includes SSB index information and mask index information referred to as a RACH occasion index);
a processor (Takahashi, Fig. 13; paragraph [0269], processing unit 14) configured to determine the position of the transmission resource for transmitting the random access preamble, based on the SSB index and the RACH occasion index included in the PDCCH order (Takahashi, Fig. 10, step S1002, determine PRACH occasion based on SSB index information and mask index information; paragraph [0006], PRACH occasion index indicating a PRACH occasion available for transmission of the random access preamble; paragraph [0182] [0115 JP 2018-091542], a set of one or more PRACH occasions available for transmission for the random access preamble is identified; paragraph [0209] [0138 JP 2018-091542], message 0 is a PDCCH order; paragraph [0259], terminal determines a next available PRACH occasion based on the index); and
a transmitter (Takahashi, Fig. 13; paragraph [0269], reception unit 10 is also referred to as a transmitter) configured to transmit the random access preamble at the position of the transmission resource determined by the processor (Takahashi, Fig. 10, S1003; paragraph [0006], transmit a random access preamble by using PRACH occasion index indicating a PRACH occasion available for transmission of the random access preamble; paragraph [0182] [0115 JP 2018-091542], PRACH occasions available for transmission for the random access preamble is identified; paragraph [0259], terminal transmits random access preamble in the determined PRACH occasion S1003),
wherein a cycle of transmission resources, including a plurality of RACH occasions, is consecutive transmission resources indicated by the RACH occasion indexes until the indexing of the consecutive transmission resources by the RACH occasion indexes is reset after switching SSB index (Takahashi, Fig. 7; Fig. 10, S1002 determine next available PRACH occasion based on SSB index information and mask index information; paragraph [0006], association period; paragraph [0192] [0121 JP 2018-091542], two PRACH slots in a time period; a period in which the PRACH configuration period is repeated a prescribed number of times is referred to as an association period, a cycle in which the PRACH occasion is allocated once to each of all SSB indices is referred to as an SSB index allocation cycle, SSB-perRACH-Occasion may be 1 or more than 1 or less than 1; paragraph [0214] [0143 JP 2018-091542], mask indicates PRACH occasion indices 1 to 8),
wherein the processor is configured to determine, as the position of the transmission resource for transmitting the random access preamble (Takahashi, Fig. 10, S1003; paragraph [0006], transmit a random access preamble by using PRACH occasion index indicating a PRACH occasion available for transmission of the random access preamble; paragraph [0182] [0115 JP 2018-091542], PRACH occasions available for transmission for the random access preamble is identified; paragraph [0259], terminal transmits random access preamble in the determined PRACH occasion S1003), a position corresponding to the SSB index and the RACH occasion index in a second cycle of transmission resources (Takahashi, Fig. 7; Fig. 10, S1002 determine next available PRACH occasion based on SSB index information and mask index information; paragraph [0006], association period; paragraph [0192] [0121 JP 2018-091542], two PRACH slots in a time period; a period in which the PRACH configuration period is repeated a prescribed number of times is referred to as an association period, a cycle in which the PRACH occasion is allocated once to each of all SSB indices is referred to as an SSB index allocation cycle, SSB-perRACH-Occasion may be 1 or more than 1 or less than 1), wherein the time interval of the first cycle of transmission resources is after receiving the PDCCH order and the time interval of the first cycle of transmission resources includes a timing at which the terminal is enabled to transmit the random access preamble (Takahashi, Fig. 10, S1001 receive SSB/PBCH blocks and receive SSB index information and mask index information; Fig. 10, S1002 determine next available PRACH occasion based on SSB index information and mask index information; paragraph [0209] [0138 JP 2018-091542], message 0 is a PDCCH order; paragraph [0212] [0141 JP 2018-091542], terminal having received the message 0, identifies a group of PRACH occasions to which the SSB index indicated by SSB index information has been mapped; paragraph [0214] [0143 JP 2018-091542], mask indicates PRACH occasion indices 1 to 8), and
wherein a timing at which the terminal is able to transmit the random access preamble is a timing when a processing time of the terminal elapses after receiving the PDCCH order (Takahashi, Fig. 5; paragraph [0141], after PDCCH transmission, there is a processing delay, the switching time from the downlink to the uplink, and generation of the PUCCH and/or PUSCH transmit signal).
Takahashi does not explicitly disclose that the position of the transmission resource for transmitting the random access preamble is in the second cycle of transmission resources subsequent to a time interval of a first cycle of transmission resources, and does not explicitly disclose the processing time of the terminal being defined in a specification.
Xiong discloses the position of the transmission resource for transmitting the random access preamble is in the second cycle of transmission resources subsequent to a time interval of a first cycle of transmission resources (Xiong, Fig. 7; paragraph [0248], if the UE has long processing time or in long backoff time, the first available complete SSB-RO mapping is the second SSB-to-RO mapping after receiving the downlink trigger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Xiong into the system of Takahashi in order for the base station apparatus and a terminal apparatus can efficiently communicate with each other (Xiong; [0011]).
The combination of Takahashi and Xiong does not explicitly disclose the processing time of the terminal being defined in a specification.
Siomina discloses the processing time of the terminal being defined in a specification (Siomina, paragraph [0007], transmitting through the physical random access channel (PRACH) on an unscheduled basis, a switching time will need to be observed by HD-FDD devices when transitioning from receive to transmit and vice versa; paragraph [0079], the switching time T0 is pre-defined, e.g. in a standard or specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Siomina into the system of the combination of Takahashi and Xiong in order to reduce the cost and power consumption of the devices (Siomina, [0006]).
Claims 9 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 7.
Claims 10 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 7. Takahashi additionally discloses a base station (Takahashi, paragraph [0001], base station apparatus and terminal apparatus)
wherein the base station includes a transmitter (Takahashi, Fig. 13; paragraph [0269], transmission/reception unit 10 is also referred to as a transmitter or a receiver) configured to transmit a PDCCH order to the terminal (Takahashi, Fig. 10, S1001, receive SSB index; paragraph [0181] [0114, JP 2018-091542], terminal receives random access configuration information by a downlink signal; paragraph [0209] [0138 JP 2018-091542], message 0 is a PDCCH order; paragraph [0259], terminal receives SSB index information and mask index information from the base station S1001).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi discloses a base station (Takahashi, paragraph [0001], base station apparatus and terminal apparatus) comprising:
a transmitter (Takahashi, Fig. 13; paragraph [0269], transmission/reception unit 10 is also referred to as a transmitter or a receiver) configured to transmit a PDCCH order from a base station, the a PDCCH order including an SSB index specifying a synchronization signal block (Takahashi, Fig. 10, S1001, receive SSB index; paragraph [0181] [0114, JP 2018-091542], terminal receives random access configuration information by a downlink signal; paragraph [0209] [0138 JP 2018-091542], message 0 is a PDCCH order; paragraph [0259], terminal receives SSB index information and mask index information from the base station S1001) and a RACH occasion index specifying a position of a transmission resource for transmitting a random access preamble (Takahashi, paragraph [0006], PRACH occasion index indicating a PRACH occasion available for transmission of the random access preamble; paragraph [0182] [0115 JP 2018-091542], a set of one or more PRACH occasions available for transmission for the random access preamble is identified; paragraph [0210], bit information in the message 0 includes SSB index information and mask index information referred to as a RACH occasion index);
a processor (Takahashi, Fig. 13; paragraph [0269], processing unit 14) configured to determine that the terminal transmits the random access preamble at the position of the transmission resource for transmitting the random access preamble, based on the SSB index and the RACH occasion index included in the PDCCH order (Takahashi, Fig. 10, step S1002, determine PRACH occasion based on SSB index information and mask index information; paragraph [0006], PRACH occasion index indicating a PRACH occasion available for transmission of the random access preamble; paragraph [0182] [0115 JP 2018-091542], a set of one or more PRACH occasions available for transmission for the random access preamble is identified; paragraph [0209] [0138 JP 2018-091542], message 0 is a PDCCH order; paragraph [0259], terminal determines a next available PRACH occasion based on the index); and
a receiver (Takahashi, Fig. 13; paragraph [0269], reception unit 10 is also referred to as a transmitter) configured to receive the random access preamble (Takahashi, Fig. 10, S1003; paragraph [0006], transmit a random access preamble by using PRACH occasion index indicating a PRACH occasion available for transmission of the random access preamble; paragraph [0182] [0115 JP 2018-091542], PRACH occasions available for transmission for the random access preamble is identified; paragraph [0259], terminal transmits random access preamble in the determined PRACH occasion S1003),
wherein a cycle of transmission resources, including a plurality of RACH occasions, is consecutive transmission resources indicated by the RACH occasion indexes until the indexing of the consecutive transmission resources by the RACH occasion indexes is reset after switching SSB index (Takahashi, Fig. 7; Fig. 10, S1002 determine next available PRACH occasion based on SSB index information and mask index information; paragraph [0006], association period; paragraph [0192] [0121 JP 2018-091542], two PRACH slots in a time period; a period in which the PRACH configuration period is repeated a prescribed number of times is referred to as an association period, a cycle in which the PRACH occasion is allocated once to each of all SSB indices is referred to as an SSB index allocation cycle, SSB-perRACH-Occasion may be 1 or more than 1 or less than 1; paragraph [0214] [0143 JP 2018-091542], mask indicates PRACH occasion indices 1 to 8),
wherein the processor is configured to determine, as the position of the transmission resource for transmitting the random access preamble (Takahashi, Fig. 10, S1003; paragraph [0006], transmit a random access preamble by using PRACH occasion index indicating a PRACH occasion available for transmission of the random access preamble; paragraph [0182] [0115 JP 2018-091542], PRACH occasions available for transmission for the random access preamble is identified; paragraph [0259], terminal transmits random access preamble in the determined PRACH occasion S1003), a position corresponding to the SSB index and the RACH occasion index in a second cycle of transmission resources (Takahashi, Fig. 7; Fig. 10, S1002 determine next available PRACH occasion based on SSB index information and mask index information; paragraph [0006], association period; paragraph [0192] [0121 JP 2018-091542], two PRACH slots in a time period; a period in which the PRACH configuration period is repeated a prescribed number of times is referred to as an association period, a cycle in which the PRACH occasion is allocated once to each of all SSB indices is referred to as an SSB index allocation cycle, SSB-perRACH-Occasion may be 1 or more than 1 or less than 1), wherein the time interval of the first cycle of transmission resources is after receiving the PDCCH order and the time interval of the first cycle of transmission resources includes a timing at which the terminal is enabled to transmit the random access preamble (Takahashi, Fig. 10, S1001 receive SSB/PBCH blocks and receive SSB index information and mask index information; Fig. 10, S1002 determine next available PRACH occasion based on SSB index information and mask index information; paragraph [0209] [0138 JP 2018-091542], message 0 is a PDCCH order; paragraph [0212] [0141 JP 2018-091542], terminal having received the message 0, identifies a group of PRACH occasions to which the SSB index indicated by SSB index information has been mapped; paragraph [0214] [0143 JP 2018-091542], mask indicates PRACH occasion indices 1 to 8), and
wherein a timing at which the terminal is able to transmit the random access preamble is a timing when a processing time of the terminal elapses after receiving the PDCCH order (Takahashi, Fig. 5; paragraph [0141], after PDCCH transmission, there is a processing delay, the switching time from the downlink to the uplink, and generation of the PUCCH and/or PUSCH transmit signal).
Takahashi does not explicitly disclose that the position of the transmission resource for transmitting the random access preamble is in the second cycle of transmission resources subsequent to a time interval of a first cycle of transmission resources, and does not explicitly disclose the processing time of the terminal being defined in a specification.
Xiong discloses the position of the transmission resource for transmitting the random access preamble is in the second cycle of transmission resources subsequent to a time interval of a first cycle of transmission resources (Xiong, Fig. 7; paragraph [0248], if the UE has long processing time or in long backoff time, the first available complete SSB-RO mapping is the second SSB-to-RO mapping after receiving the downlink trigger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Xiong into the system of Takahashi in order for the base station apparatus and a terminal apparatus can efficiently communicate with each other (Xiong; [0011]).
The combination of Takahashi and Xiong does not explicitly disclose the processing time of the terminal being defined in a specification.
Siomina discloses the processing time of the terminal being defined in a specification (Siomina, paragraph [0007], transmitting through the physical random access channel (PRACH) on an unscheduled basis, a switching time will need to be observed by HD-FDD devices when transitioning from receive to transmit and vice versa; paragraph [0079], the switching time T0 is pre-defined, e.g. in a standard or specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Siomina into the system of the combination of Takahashi and Xiong in order to reduce the cost and power consumption of the devices (Siomina, [0006]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LG Electronics, RACH Procedure, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #91 R1-1719898, 27 Nov 2017, section 2 (Hereafter, R1-1719898) discloses wherein a cycle of transmission resources, including a plurality of RACH occasions, is consecutive transmission resources indicated by the RACH occasion indexes until the indexing of the consecutive transmission resources by the RACH occasion indexes is reset after switching SSB index.
Kim et al. (US 2020/0053786) discloses the scenario illustrated in Fig. 5 of Applicant’s Specification, on which Applicant’s claims are based, with multiple cycles of transmission resources, each including a plurality of RACH occasions, (Figs. 26 and 28 of Kim).
/A.L.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413