DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yakovlevitch et al (US 4,649,257).
With regards to claim 1, Yakovlevitch et al discloses a method for fitting or plugging a first connecting part into a second connecting part of a processing head for thermal material processing (a method of assembling a front end 10 of a plasma gun having gun body 14 and gas distribution ring 12, Fig. 1), comprising:
wherein the first connecting part having, on an encircling outer face, or the second connecting part having, on an encircling inner face, at least one slot, extending at least around a partial circumference, with a slot width and a slot depth which receives an O-ring or profile ring, extending around the entire circumference (gas distribution ring 12 having groove 48 having a width and depth which receives O-ring 52, extending around the entire circumference of the gas distribution ring 12, Fig. 1,2);
connecting the first connecting part to the second connecting part such that the O-ring or profile ring which extends along the slot is initially in contact with a partial circumference of the opposite inner face or opposite outer face (O-ring 52 received by groove 48 partially contacts an inner surface of gun body 14 first at an upper part of rims 53,55 initially while being inserted, Fig. 1,2).
With regards to claim 2, Yakovlevitch et al discloses the O-ring or profile ring is initially deformed or pressed only around a partial circumference or a plurality of partial circumferences, which extend(s) along the slot, before it is deformed or pressed around its entire circumference (O-ring 52 of gas distribution ring 12 received by groove 48 has a flat spot 86 that will contact the inner surface of gun body 14 first when inserted before it is full press when fully inserted, Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 7, Yakovlevitch et al discloses where the O-ring or profile ring of the first connecting part or of the second connecting part is in contact, in the fully fitted or plugged-together state of the connecting parts (O-ring 52 of gas distribution ring 12 when fully fitted on an inner surface of gun body 14, Fig. 1), with the opposite inner face or outer face of the other connecting part around the entire extending circumference of said O-ring or profile ring, and thus seals off the space between the inner and outer face (the sealing between the gas distribution ring 12 and gun body 14 creates a rear gas annulus 56, Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 8, Yakovlevitch et al discloses wherein, in the fully fitted state, the alignment axially with respect to the longitudinal axis of the connecting parts occurs by way of the contact of a face of the first connecting part and a face of the second connecting part (inner face of gun body 14 is in contact with the outer face of the distribution ring 12 where O-ring 52 resides, Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 9, Yakovlevitch et al discloses in the fully fitted state, the alignment or centering radially with respect to the longitudinal axis of the first connecting part with respect to the second connecting part occurs by way of an outer face of the first connecting part with respect to an inner face of the second connecting part (inner face of gun body 14 is in contact with the outer face of the distribution ring 12 where O-ring 52 resides, Fig. 1), which have tight tolerances with respect to one another and are at least partially in contact (the sealing between the gas distribution ring 12 and gun body 14 creates a rear gas annulus 56, Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 10, Yakovlevitch et al discloses the first and second connecting part are of a processing head for thermal material processing for thermal plasma (distribution ring 12 and gun body 14 are part of front end of a plasma gun, col 2, lines 65-68, Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 11, Yakovlevitch et al discloses the processing head is a plasma torch (distribution ring 12 and gun body 14 are part of front end of a plasma gun, col 2, lines 65-68, Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 12, Yakovlevitch et al discloses the first and second connecting part are a wearing part (distribution ring 12 and gun body 14 are part of front end of a plasma gun, col 2, lines 65-68, Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 13, Yakovlevitch et al discloses the wearing part is a gas guide (distribution ring 12 has gas inlet orifices and gun body 14 are part of front end of a plasma gun, col 2, lines 65-68, Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yakovlevitch et al as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Namburu (US 9,457,419).
With regards to claim 3, Yakovlevitch et al does not disclose the contact of the O-ring with the opposite inner face or opposite outer face and the deformation or pressing of the O-ring or profile ring takes place, at the start of the contact, deformation, and pressing, to an extent of between 1/20 to ½ around its circumference.
Namburu teaches the contact of the O-ring with the opposite inner face or opposite outer face and the deformation or pressing of the O-ring or profile ring takes place, at the start of the contact, deformation, and pressing, to an extent of between 1/20 to ½ around its circumference (nozzle 200 has an upstream end 201 with O-ring 203/205 wherein when pressed to fit the rest of torch will have half of the total circumference of O-ring 203/205 contacted, Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yakovlevitch et al and Namburu before him or her, to modify the slot and O-ring of Yakovlevitch et al to include the slot and O-ring of Namburu because the combination enhances sealing for a torch part to prevent the ingress of gas.
With regards to claim 4, Namburu teaches wherein the contact of the O-ring with the opposite inner face or opposite outer face pressing of the O-ring takes place, at the start of the contact, deformation, and pressing, around at least two partial circumferences (pressing takes place at the circumference of each o ring in grooves 203 and 205, Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 5, Namburu teaches the distance extending along the longitudinal axis between the start of the contact of the O-ring and the start of contact with the last portion extending around the circumference amounts to in the range of at least 1/3 to 2 times the cord size, the diameter of the cord or the O-ring (upstream 210 is 2 times the size of each O-ring, Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 6, Yakovlevitch et al and Namburu does not teach the distance extending along the longitudinal axis between the start of the contact of the O-ring and the start of the contact with last portion extending around the circumference amounts to in the range of at least .4mm to 3.0mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use the distance between the components of Yakovlevitch et al and Namburu, since the applicant has not disclosed that the range of .4mm to 3.0mm solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with the distance between the components as taught Yakovlevitch et al and Namburu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argument: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Examiner’s response: Applicant has amended claim 1 includes “connecting the first connecting part to the second connecting part such that the O-ring or profile ring which extends along the slot is initially in contact with a partial circumference of the opposite inner face”. Yakovlevitch et al discloses connecting the first connecting part to the second connecting part such that the O-ring or profile ring which extends along the slot is initially in contact with a partial circumference of the opposite inner face or opposite outer face (O-ring 52 received by groove 48 partially contacts an inner surface of gun body 14 first at an upper part of rims 53,55 initially while being inserted, Fig. 1,2). Applicant argues the prior are does not correspond to any of the applicant claimed elements. The specification of the invention states the parts are for a processing head for a plasma torch head (specification, page 1, lines 1-10). The parts of Yakovlevitch et al are for a front end 10 of a plasma gun (Fig. 1). Applicant further focuses on the O-rings cited in the prior art of having a different use that the claimed invention. Yakovlevitch et al clearly shows that O-ring 52 contacts the inner surface of gun body 14 (Fig. 1). Though O-ring 52 has a use for gas distribution, its spatial relationship with the gun body 14 clearly shows a connection of parts and helping maintain structural integrity.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761