DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 8,17-19, 21 & 22 are amended, Claims 25-28 are new and Claims 8-12 and 16-28 are pending examination, as discussed below.
The 112 rejections are withdrawn due to the amendments and persuasive arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitations of the claims are not described in the instant specification in such a way as to convey support for the new limitations. For example, the limitation “said third fragmentation treatment and said third lead removal treatment are performed prior to any additional melting.” is said to be supported in instant paragraph [0031]; however, this language is not discussed in the cited paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 11-12, and 16-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemp et al. (US-2825644-A), hereinafter Kemp, in view of Bonomi et al. (US-6284053-B1), hereinafter Bonomi, in view of Guo et al. (CN-106350689-A), hereinafter Guo, wherein an English machine translation is used and cited herein, and in view of Chen et al. (CA-3012592-A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 8, Kemp teaches a process for removing lead from turnings and grindings of copper base alloys (Col. 1 L. 15-21) specifically brass (Col. 1 L. 71 – Col. 2 L. 3), reducing the lead content by 70-80% on average and up to 95% when the grindings are fine (Col. 2 L. 65-70). Examples having a final lead content of 1.0 % and 2.3% (Col. 3 L. 47-53) which constitutes the claimed method for obtaining a brass billet.
Kemp further teaches the process of treating turnings and/or grindings (Col. 1 L. 18-21, Col. 2 L. 50-69) which constitutes the claimed performing mechanical machining by chip removal on a finished or semi-finished product of traditional brass to obtain traditional brass chips; performing on said traditional brass chips a first fragmentation treatment to obtain traditional brass fragments.
Kemp further teaches a treatment on the grindings or turnings of nitric acid (Col. 2 L. 17-20), but is silent to using an organic acid.
Bonomi teaches a deleading process (Col. 1 L. 6-12) including a treatment bath including at least one of acids including acrylic and propionic acid (Col. 3 L. 4-11) in order to beneficially dissolve lead selectively while not dissolving copper (Col. 3 L. 65-44) which constitutes the claimed performing on said brass fragments a lead removal treatment to obtain brass fragments with reduced lead content, wherein the lead removal treatment consists of lead removal bathing in a solution of water and one or more organic acids.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the one or more acids including acrylic and propionic acid according to Bonomi to the process according to Kemp in order to beneficially dissolve lead selectively while not dissolving copper as taught by Bonomi.
As discussed above, Kemp teaches reducing the lead content by 70-80% and upwards of 95% (Col. 2 L. 65-70) and teaches in Example II, having an end lead content of 2.3% (Col. 3 L. 47-53). Kemp further teaches in Example I, a lower initial lead content which results in a final lead content of 1%, after starting at a lower lead content than that of example II (Col. 3 L. 7-25, 32-53).
A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would therefore find it obvious to conduct a second lead removal process, or more as needed, to produce ingots which are relatively low in lead as desired by Kemp (Col. 1 L. 18-21). This constitutes the claimed performing a second fragmentation treatment and a second lead removal treatment on said pressed brass fragments with reduced lead content, and obtaining pressed brass fragments with reduced lead content less than 1.5% by weight since a second lead removal process according to Kemp with a starting lead content of 2.3% would be expected to have a final lead content of 0.46-0.69% based on the 70-80% reduction and 0.12% for a 95% reduction. In the same manner, another treatment of Example I with a starting point of 1% lead, would end up being only 0.05% lead.
Guo teaches a pretreatment of processing chips including pressing and heating in order to beneficially result in no more than 0.2 wt% of oil and water while producing non-toxic discharge ([0067]) which constitutes the claimed pressing said brass fragments with reduced lead content and performing a further fragmentation treatment on said pressed brass fragments with reduced lead content.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the pretreatment according to Guo to the process of modified Kemp prior to the second lead removal process in order to beneficially result in no more than 0.2 wt% of oil and water while producing non-toxic discharge as taught by Guo.
Kemp further teaches the brass being remelted and used to produce ingots (Col. 1 L. 18-21) which constitutes the claimed melting, in a furnace, a charge comprising said pressed brass fragments with reduced lead content less than 1.5% by weight.
Kemp does not explicitly disclose the charge comprising pure copper and pure zinc.
Chen teaches that in a casting process of brass, turning scraps may be used as a raw material ([0038]-[0041]) and pure copper and pure zinc may also be added in order to beneficially obtain a desired composition ([0069]) which constitutes the claimed charge comprising pure copper and pure zinc.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the pure copper and pure zinc according to Chen to the method according to modified Kemp in order to beneficially obtain a desired composition as taught by Chen.
Kemp does not explicitly disclose a processing following casting of an ingot.
Guo teaches that an ingot should be extruded to form a billet as part of a processing of copper alloys in order to produce finished products ([0013], [0079]-[0084]) which constitutes the claimed obtaining a billet by direct or inverted extrusion of a cast of a molten product. The bar, formed from the billet, is machined via turning to produce parts. The machining process would make more chips from the turning process.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the extrusion to form a billet according to Guo to the process according to modified Kemp in order to prepare to produce a finished product and since Kemp does not teach processing following casting of an ingot.
Regarding the amended limitation of obtaining a billet to form a bar, to then process the bar to form brass chips, to then process the brass chips for lead removal, this limitation is simply a duplication of the previous limitations of claim 8. As mentioned above, it would be obvious to repeat this process during normal manufacturing steps. In other words, using the bar formed to make a product and then recycling and processing the chips and fragments from the process of making the product as disclosed above is shown as being known and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Kemp as modified by Bonomi, Guo, and Chen teaches the claim elements as discussed above regarding claim 8.
As discussed above, Kemp teaches the treatment being performed upon grindings (Col. 1 L. 18-21, Col. 2 L. 50-69) which constitutes the claimed the fragmentation treatment consists of grinding.
Regarding claim 12, Kemp as modified by Bonomi, Guo, and Chen teaches the claim elements as discussed above regarding claim 8.
As discussed above, Kemp as modified by Bonomi, Guo, and Chen teaches treatment with acrylic and/or propionic acid (Bonomi Col. 3 L. 4-11) which overlaps the claimed the one or more organic acids are selected from the group consisting of butyric acid, propionic acid, and acrylic acid.
Regarding claim 16, Kemp as modified by Bonomi, Guo, and Chen teaches the claim elements as discussed above regarding claim 8.
As discussed above, modified Kemp teaches treatment with acrylic and/or propionic acid (Bonomi Col. 3 L. 4-11) which overlaps the claimed one or more organic acids comprises acrylic acid.
Regarding claim 17, Kemp as modified by Bonomi, Guo, and Chen teaches the claim elements as discussed above regarding claim 8.
As discussed above, Kemp teaches the process reducing the lead content by 70-80% on average (Col. 2 L. 65-67) and Kemp desires to produce ingots which are relatively low in lead (Col. 1 L. 18-21) with an example I having a final lead content of 1% (Col. 3 L. 7-25) and a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would find it obvious to repeat the lead removal process in order to achieve a desired low lead content, which overlaps the claimed said pressing, said further fragmentation treatment, and said further lead removal treatment are performed multiple times to obtain said pressed brass fragments with reduced lead content less than 1.5% by weight.
Regarding claim 18, Kemp as modified by Bonomi, Guo, and Chen teaches the claim elements as discussed above regarding claim 17.
As discussed above, modified Kemp teaches a treatment bath including at least one of acids including acrylic and propionic acid (Bonomi Col. 3 L. 4-11) which is within the claimed said further lead removal treatment consists of lead removal bathing in a solution of water and one or more organic acids. The use of this step to perform the action multiple times would be obvious to one of ordinary skill since repeating a process for purifying is known in the art.
Regarding claim 19, Kemp as modified by Bonomi, Guo, and Chen teaches the claim elements as discussed above regarding claim 8.
As discussed above, modified Kemp teaches a treatment bath including at least one of acids including acrylic and propionic acid (Bonomi Col. 3 L. 4-11) and Bonomi further teaches the acid being used in concentration of 0.01-1 mol/l (Col. 3 L. 20-25), which meets the claimed said second and third lead removal treatment consists of lead removal bathing in a solution of water and one or more organic acids. The use of this step to perform the action multiple times would be obvious to one of ordinary skill since repeating a process for purifying is known in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Kemp as modified by Bonomi, Guo, and Chen teaches the claim elements as discussed above regarding claim 8.
As discussed above, Kemp teaches in Example I and II, an end lead content of 1.0% and 2.3% respectively (Col. 3 L. 47-53) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to repeat the lead removal process in order to achieve a desired low lead content which overlaps the claimed prior to said pressing, testing a lead content of said brass fragments with reduced lead content and determining said lead content to be 1.5% or more by weight.
Regarding claim 21, Kemp as modified by Bonomi, Guo, and Chen teaches the claim elements as discussed above regarding claim 8.
Kemp further teaches that that more lead may be eliminated from grindings and very fine turnings compared to ordinary turnings (Col. 2 L. 63-69) and therefore it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to repeat the pressing and turning and/or grinding of Kemp as modified by Bonomi and Guo in order to beneficially improve lead elimination, which meets the claimed a plurality of said pressing steps and a plurality of said second fragmentation treatments prior to performing said second lead removal treatment, in order to increase the external surface area of said pressed brass fragments with reduced lead content prior to said second lead removal treatment.
Regarding claim 22, Kemp is silent to repeating the processing of the brass fragments and chips until a desired lead content is obtained.
Kemp does teach processing the brass such that at the end of the process, a lead content of 1% is obtained (Example I), which is within the claimed 0.1% and 1.5%. Kemp also teaches that the elimination of lead from the brass is improved by the size of the turnings and grindings (Col. 2, ln 1-20).
As discussed above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to repeat the lead removal process in order to achieve a desired low lead content. Repeating the same process to further purify the same material by the known methods, for known reasons and with expected results is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 23, Kemp as modified by Bonomi, Guo, and Chen teaches the claim elements as discussed above regarding claim 22.
It would additionally be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teachings of Chen in any subsequent melting processes since Chen teaches the beneficial effects as discussed above, which constitutes the claimed after said further chip removal, said another further fragmentation treatment, and said another further lead removal treatment, melting, in a furnace, a second charge comprising additional pure coper, additional pure zinc, and said further brass chips, and obtaining a billet therefrom.
Regarding claim 24, Bonomi teaches using butyric acid (3:1-10).
Regarding claims 25-28, as discussed above, performing the fragmentation and lead removal twice is obvious in view of the teachings of Kemp as modified by Bonomi, Guo, and Chen. Once the billet and bar and final product are produced, the new chips that are created would then be processed again and so a third fragmentation and lead removal treatment would be performed and done so before any additional melting. Then when the taught purifying processes are complete the same taught cycle continues and the purified chips are melted to become a billet and bar again.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemp (US-2825644-A), Bonomi (US-6284053-B1), Guo (CN-106350689-A), and Chen (CA-3012592-A) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Myerson et al. (US-6197210-B1), hereinafter Myerson.
Regarding claims 9-10, modified Kemp teaches the claim elements as discussed above regarding claim 8.
Kemp teaches the treatment including agitation (Col. 1 L. 33-34).
Myerson teaches a treatment of brass components to reduce leachable lead therefrom (Col. 1 L. 5-9) with the treatment including ultrasonic agitation to beneficially ensure maximum contact between the solution and the brass (Col. 5 L. 33-54, Col. 7 L. 8-20) which constitutes the claimed the lead removal bathing is agitated of claim 9 and the claimed the lead removal bathing is agitated by ultrasound of claim 10.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the ultrasonic agitation according to Myerson to the process according to modified Kemp in order to beneficially ensure maximum contact between the solution and the brass as taught by Myerson.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding the prior art have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues a standard recycling process involves directly melting down the chips. However, the prior art does not teach this and applicant has provided no evidence that this is the “standard manufacturing” process.
Applicant argues the third fragmentation and lead removal treatments are not mere recycling but a progressing purification process. This argument is not persuasive since once the billet is formed and then the bar is formed, as taught by the prior art, the bar can be used for making a product. The process of making the product would produce chips and fragmentations and so read on the “subjecting said bar to further chip removal to obtain further brass chips”. Those further brass chips would now be subject to the same process as discussed above in the prior art and so a third fragmentation and lead removal treatment would be performed. This reads on the claimed process, which amounts to recycling the unused chips and fragments of brass that are created by making a product.
Applicant argues the method of claim 22 is allowable due to the limitation of the obtained bar having a lead content of less than 0.1% by weight. However, as discussed in the teachings of at least Kemp, the processing of the chips to reduce the amount of lead is known and can be repeated to reduce it down to 0.05% weight. Furthermore, as taught by Chen, the addition of pure copper and zinc to the purified chips would result in a bar with even less lead since the amount of lead would be diluted due to the mixing of pure copper and zinc into the bar.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Regelbrugge (US 5958257) also teaches reducing the amount of lead in brass and teaches using many different carboxylic acids including all those claimed (4:12-20).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH WALKER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735