DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the Request for Continued Examination application on 04/09/2026.
Claims 29-38, and 42-44 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendments filed on April, 09, 2026. Claims 29, 31, and 33 have been amended. Claim 29-38, and 42-44 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 29, 31, and 33 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29, 31, 33, 35, and 42-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0245232), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of TANG et al. (international patent application No. WO 2018082715 A1, and corresponding U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190261202 A1, cited for convenience), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 29, D1 discloses a terminal device comprising:
a processor configured to:
receive, from a network device, a configuration information about a first Timing Advance Group (TAG) identity (ID) ([see, [0018, 0118], receiving TAG configuration information on which at least one serving cell configured in the mobile station]) and a configuration information about a second TAG ID ([see, [0118], wherein the Serving cell configuration information is configured for each UE, TAGs for a first UE include TAG1_UE1 and TAG2_UE1 and TAGs for a second UE include TAG1_UE2 and TAG2_UE2]);
receive a PDCCH order comprising a second indication indicating that a Random-Access procedure ([see, [0110, 0143], a BS transmits a PDCCH order, indicating the start of the random-access procedure, to an activated SSC through a PDCCH]) for a Timing Advance (TA) adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0140, 0213], wherein the UE checks a TAC and/or a TAG index within the random access response message and adjusts uplink timing regarding all the serving cells within the checked TAG by a TAV according to the TAC, the index of the TAG may also be called a TAG index or an TAG identifier (ID)]),
determine, based on the first indication and the second indication, a Timing Advance (TA) value associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0220], a UE requires a timing alignment value (TAV) for a TAG1 and a TAV for a TAG2 for uplink synchronization]); and
transmit an uplink data transmission based on the TA value ([see, [0197], UE transmits uplink data, including the random-access identifier, determined based on a timing alignment value (TAV) according to a Timing Advance Command (TAC)]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: receive, from the network device, a first indication associated with a reference signal resource; wherein the second indication is a one-bit field in the PDCCH order; and wherein the uplink data transmission is transmitted based on a spatial relation with respect to a reference signal on the reference signal resource.
However, D2 discloses receive, from the network device, a first indication associated with a reference signal resource ([see, [0010], the first indication information is used to indicate an uplink reference signal resource used by one or more beams of the terminal device]); wherein the second indication is a one-bit field in the PDCCH order ([see, [0171], the first message is a PDCCH order message, the base station may add one or more bits to the PDCCH order message]); and
wherein the uplink data transmission is transmitted based on a spatial relation with respect to a reference signal on the reference signal resource ([see, [0010], the uplink reference signal to the network device based on the uplink reference signal resource information and the first indication information by using the first beam (i.e., spatial relation with respect to the reference signal)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide reference signal on the reference signal resource results improving the communication quality between the base station and the UE (D2, ¶ [0177]).
As per Claim 31, is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 29 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 29. Claim 31 is anticipated by method being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 29.
As per Claim 33, D1 discloses a method performed by a network device comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal device, a configuration information about a first Timing Advance Group (TAG) identity (ID) ([see, [0018, 0118], receiving TAG configuration information on which at least one serving cell configured in the mobile station]) and a configuration information about a second TAG ID ([see, [0118], wherein the Serving cell configuration information is configured for each UE, TAGs for a first UE include TAG1_UE1 and TAG2_UE1 and TAGs for a second UE include TAG1_UE2 and TAG2_UE2]);
wherein the indication is used for determining a Timing Advance (TA) value associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0220], a UE requires a timing alignment value (TAV) for a TAG1 and a TAV for a TAG2 for uplink synchronization]); and
transmitting, to the terminal device, a PDCCH order comprising a second indication indicating that a Random-Access procedure ([see, [0110, 0143], a BS transmits a PDCCH order, indicating the start of the random-access procedure, to an activated SSC through a PDCCH]) for a Timing Advance (TA) adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0140, 0213], wherein the UE checks a TAC and/or a TAG index within the random access response message and adjusts uplink timing regarding all the serving cells within the checked TAG by a TAV according to the TAC, the index of the TAG may also be called a TAG index or an TAG identifier (ID)]),
receiving, from the terminal device, an uplink data transmission based on the TA value ([see, [0197], UE transmits uplink data, including the random-access identifier, determined based on a timing alignment value (TAV) according to a Timing Advance Command (TAC)]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: transmitting, to the terminal device, a first indication associated with a reference signal resource; wherein the second indication is a one-bit field in the PDCCH order; and wherein the uplink data transmission is transmitted based on a spatial relation with respect to a reference signal on the reference signal resource.
However, D2 discloses transmitting, to the terminal device, a first indication associated with a reference signal resource ([see, [0010], the first indication information is used to indicate an uplink reference signal resource used by one or more beams of the terminal device]); wherein the second indication is a one-bit field in the PDCCH order ([see, [0171], the first message is a PDCCH order message, the base station may add one or more bits to the PDCCH order message]); and
wherein the uplink data transmission is transmitted based on a spatial relation with respect to a reference signal on the reference signal resource ([see, [0010], the uplink reference signal to the network device based on the uplink reference signal resource information and the first indication information by using the first beam (i.e., spatial relation with respect to the reference signal)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide reference signal on the reference signal resource results improving the communication quality between the base station and the UE (D2, ¶ [0177]).
As per Claim 35, D1 and D2 disclose the terminal of claim 29, and D1 further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to transmit the uplink data on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([see, [0197], UE transmits uplink data, including the random-access identifier, to the BS through a PUSCH]).
As per Claims 42, 43, D1 further discloses the TA adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0140, 0213], wherein the UE checks a TAC and/or a TAG index within the random-access response message and adjusts uplink timing regarding all the serving cells within the checked TAG by a TAV according to the TAC, the index of the TAG may also be called a TAG index or an TAG identifier (ID)]). D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the first indication associated with the reference signal resource indicates
However, D2 discloses wherein the first indication (first indication message) associated with the reference signal resource indicates ([see, [0134], and Fig. 8, the first message may include uplink reference signal resource information and indication information, and the indication information is used to indicate an uplink reference signal resource used by one or more beams of the UE]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide reference signal on the reference signal resource results improving the communication quality between the base station and the UE (D2, ¶ [0177]).
As per Claim 44, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 33, and D1 further discloses the reference signal resource is comprised in a Downlink control information (DCI) ([see, [0178], Downlink Control Information (DCI) within a PDCCH on which physical layer (L1) information, indicating that an indicator (i.e., a PDCCH order) indicating the random-access procedure and a random-access response message]) and indicates that the TA adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0140, 0213], wherein the UE checks a TAC and/or a TAG index within the random-access response message and adjusts uplink timing regarding all the serving cells within the checked TAG by a TAV according to the TAC, the index of the TAG may also be called a TAG index or an TAG identifier (ID)]). D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the first indication associated with the reference signal resource.
However, D2 discloses wherein the first indication (first indication message) associated with the reference signal resource ([see, [0134], and Fig. 8, the first message may include uplink reference signal resource information and indication information, and the indication information is used to indicate an uplink reference signal resource used by one or more beams of the UE]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide reference signal on the reference signal resource results improving the communication quality between the base station and the UE (D2, ¶ [0177]).
Claims 30, 32, 34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of JI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0373592), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 30, D1 and D2 disclose the terminal device of claim 29, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the reference signal resource is a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource or a Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resource.
However, D3 discloses wherein the reference signal resource is a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource or a Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resource ([see, [0130], a reference signal used for obtaining channel state information may be a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determine an uplink transmit based on the spatial information results improve resource efficiency that optimize signal receive performance and reduce interference (D3, ¶ [0184]).
As per Claims 32, 34, D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the reference signal resource is a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource or a Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resource.
However, D3 discloses wherein the reference signal resource is a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource or a Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resource ([see, [0130], a reference signal used for obtaining channel state information may be a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determine an uplink transmit based on the spatial information results improve resource efficiency that optimize signal receive performance and reduce interference (D3, ¶ [0184]).
As per Claim 36, D1 and D2 disclose the terminal of claim 35, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the indication is an indication of a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) to be transmitted in association with the PUSCH.
however, D3 further discloses wherein the indication is an indication of a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) to be transmitted in association with the PUSCH ([see, [0130], a reference signal used for obtaining channel state information may be a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determine an uplink transmit based on the spatial information results improve resource efficiency that optimize signal receive performance and reduce interference (D3, ¶ [0184]).
Claims 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of, D2, and further in view of Ng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0189574), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 37, D1 and D2 disclose the terminal of claim 35, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the indication is an indication of a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) port to be used for a transmission of a DMRS in association with the PUSCH.
However, D4 discloses wherein the indication is an indication of a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) port to be used for a transmission of a DMRS in association with the PUSCH ([see, [0004, 0160], wherein the eNB transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including Common RS (CRS), a Channel State Information RS (CSI-RS), and a DeModulation RS (DMRS), the UL resource allocation and from the UL DMRA cyclic shift associated with the PDCCH with DCI format 0 granting the PUSCH transmission]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide DMRS in association with the PUSCH results improve system throughput, particularly for a low or moderate number of connected UEs (D4, ¶ [0164]).
As per Claim 38, D1 and D2 disclose the terminal of claim 35, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the indication is an indication of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource to be transmitted in association with the PUSCH.
However, D4 discloses wherein the indication is an indication of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource to be transmitted in association with the PUSCH ([see, [0152], wherein CSI-RS resources can be configured to a UE , CSI-RS can be configured to a UE which indicates the subframe configuration]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide DMRS in association with the PUSCH results improve system throughput, particularly for a low or moderate number of connected UEs (D4, ¶ [0164]).
Conclusion
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418