DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 09/29/2025.
Claims 29-38, and 42-44 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on 29 September, 2025. No Claims have been amended. Claims 42-44 have been newly added. Claims 1-28, 39-41 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 29-38, and 42-44 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
In response to the Applicant’s Remarks filed September 29, 2025, asserting that KWON et al. (U.S. 2017/0245232) in view of JI et al. (U.S. 2019/0373592) allegedly fails to disclose or suggest the limitation of “receive, from the network device, a first indication associated with a reference signal resource; receive a second indication indicating a Random-Access procedure for a Timing Advance (TA) adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID; and determine, based on the first indication and the second indication, a Timing Advance (TA) value associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID,” as recited in claim 29 and similarly in claims 31 and 33, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
At the outset, Applicant is reminded that claim interpretation during examination is governed by the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification. Under this standard, claim terminology is not limited to a narrow or implementation-specific 5G embodiment unless explicitly required by the claim language. Functional language encompassing signaling, reference resources, and timing adjustment procedures must therefore be read broadly to include equivalent signaling mechanisms disclosed in the prior art.
Under this reasonable interpretation, the claimed “first indication associated with a reference signal resource” broadly encompasses signaling that informs a user equipment (UE) of a reference point, resource, or configuration used for synchronization, timing alignment, or uplink coordination. Likewise, the claimed “second indication indicating a Random-Access procedure for a Timing Advance (TA) adjustment” broadly encompasses signaling, explicit or implicit, indicating that a random-access process is used to derive or apply a timing advance value associated with a specific Timing Advance Group (TAG). The step of “determining a TA value associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID” similarly encompasses identifying and applying a timing alignment value linked to a particular TAG.
KWON explicitly teaches the use of timing alignment values (TAVs) obtained through random access procedures and applied on a TAG-specific basis. Paragraph [0011] introduces a timing alignment value in a wireless communication system. Paragraphs [0019], [0022], and [0023] describe that a base station transmits a random-access response message including a Timing Advance Command (TAC), where the TAC indicates a timing alignment value on which uplink timing of all serving cells within a TAG is identically adjusted. This disclosure directly corresponds to receiving a second indication indicating that a random-access procedure is associated with a timing advance adjustment for a specific TAG.
KWON further teaches that TAGs are explicitly configured and communicated via higher-layer signaling. Paragraph [0022] discloses that the base station includes a Radio Resource Control (RRC) processing unit for generating TAG configuration information, by which at least one serving cell is classified into a TAG. This RRC-based configuration constitutes a “first indication” associated with a reference or configuration resource that informs the UE how timing alignment and grouping are structured.
Additionally, KWON describes multiple mechanisms through which a UE receives synchronization-related reference information. Paragraphs [0081], [0088], and [0089] explain that system information and synchronization signals are transmitted by the base station to enable downlink and uplink synchronization. These synchronization signals serve as reference signal resources upon which timing alignment is based, satisfying the claimed receipt of a first indication associated with a reference signal resource.
Paragraph [0092] further explains that uplink synchronization, also referred to as uplink timing alignment, is obtained through a random-access procedure in which the UE receives a Timing Alignment Value (TAV) from the base station. Paragraph [0094] explains that when multiple serving cells have different propagation delays, multiple TAVs may exist, corresponding to multiple TAGs. Thus, KWON explicitly discloses the presence of multiple TAGs, each associated with its own timing adjustment.
Paragraphs [0096] and [0097] further explain that the serving base station and UE obtain and maintain a TAV for each TAG, and that a timing reference is used to calculate and apply the TAV. This directly supports the claim requirement of determining a TA value associated with a particular TAG.
Importantly, paragraph [0140] discloses that the UE checks a TAC and/or TAG index within the random-access response message and adjusts uplink timing for all serving cells within the checked TAG according to the TAV. It further explains that if TACs and/or TAG indices for multiple TAGs exist, the UE adjusts uplink timing for each TAG accordingly. This disclosure directly maps to the claimed receipt of a second indication indicating a random-access procedure associated with either a first or second TAG ID and determining the TA value for the corresponding TAG.
Paragraphs [0174] and [0175] reinforce this teaching by stating that the base station may transmit a TAC together with index information identifying the TAG to which the TAV applies, and that the UE identifies the TAC and TAG index and adjusts uplink timing accordingly. Paragraphs [0178] and [0187] further disclose that such indications may be conveyed via downlink control information (DCI) or within a random-access response carried on the PDSCH, confirming that the signaling may be implicit or explicit and still fall within the scope of the claimed “indications.”
Paragraph [0197] reiterates that the UE determines a TAC and/or TAG index and adjusts uplink timing using the TAV, even when multiple TAGs are present. This confirms that the UE determines a TA value associated with a particular TAG, as claimed.
When considered in combination with JI et al., which further teaches signaling relationships between network instructions, random access handling, and timing coordination, the combined references reinforce that a network device provides indications tied to reference resources and random-access procedures, and that the UE determines a timing advance value associated with a particular TAG.
Accordingly, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, KWON alone and certainly KWON in view of JI teaches or suggests: (1) receiving a first indication associated with a reference signal or configuration resource; (2) receiving a second indication indicating that a random-access procedure is used for timing advance adjustment and is associated with a first or second TAG; and (3) determining and applying a TA value corresponding to the identified TAG.
Applicant’s arguments rely on an unduly narrow construction of the claim language and improperly exclude well-established signaling mechanisms explicitly disclosed in KWON. Therefore, the rejection of claims 29, 31, and 33 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained as proper.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 42-44 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-36, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0245232), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of JI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0373592), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 29, D1 discloses a terminal device comprising:
a processor ([see, Fig. 26, item 2610]) configured to:
receive, from a network device, a configuration information about a first Timing Advance Group (TAG) identity (ID) and a configuration information about a second TAG ID ([see, [0138, 0215-0217], and Fig. 18, receiving TAG configuration information, and the TAG configuration information may include the number field of the TAG, the TAG index fields (G1 and G0), the index of the TAG may also be called a TAG index or an TAG identifier (ID)]);
receive, from the network device, a first indication associated with a reference signal resource ([see, [0127], [0081], [0088], and [0089], the UE received Cell-specific Reference Signal (CRS) of a specific cell]);
receive a second indication indicating a Random-Access procedure for a Timing Advance (TA) adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0092, 0164], obtain, for uplink timing adjustment or uplink timing alignment, a random-access procedure, the Timing Alignment Command (TAC) using a random-access procedure, and on [2015], Timing Alignment Command (TAC) includes the TAG index fields (G1 and G0)]);
determine, based on the first indication and the second indication, a Timing Advance (TA) value associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0220], a UE requires a timing alignment value (TAV) for a TAG1 and a TAV for a TAG2 for uplink synchronization]); and
transmit an uplink data transmission based on the TA value ([see, [0197], UE transmits uplink data, including the random-access identifier, determined based on a TAV according to a TAC]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein the uplink data transmission is transmitted based on a spatial relation with respect to a reference signal
However, D2 discloses wherein the uplink data transmission is transmitted based on a spatial relation with respect to a reference signal
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determine an uplink transmit based on the spatial information results improve resource efficiency that optimize signal receive performance and reduce interference (D2, ¶ [0184]).
As per Claim 31, is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 29 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 29. Claim 31 is anticipated by method being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 29.
As per Claim 30, D1 and D2 disclose the terminal device of claim 29, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the reference signal resource is a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource or a Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resource ([see, [0130], a reference signal used for obtaining channel state information may be a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determine an uplink transmit based on the spatial information results improve resource efficiency that optimize signal receive performance and reduce interference (D2, ¶ [0184]).
As per Claim 32, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 31, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the reference signal resource is a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource or a Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resource ([see, [0130], a reference signal used for obtaining channel state information may be a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determine an uplink transmit based on the spatial information results improve resource efficiency that optimize signal receive performance and reduce interference (D2, ¶ [0184]).
As per Claim 33, D1 discloses a method performed by a network device comprising:
a processor ([see, Fig. 26, item 2610]) configured to:
transmitting, to a terminal device, a configuration information about a first Timing Advance Group (TAG) identity (ID) and a configuration information about a second TAG ID ([see, [0138, 0215-0217], and Fig. 18, receiving TAG configuration information, and the TAG configuration information may include the number field of the TAG, the TAG index fields (G1 and G0), the index of the TAG may also be called a TAG index or an TAG identifier (ID)]);
transmitting, to the terminal device, a first indication associated with a reference signal resource ([see, [0127], the UE received Cell-specific Reference Signal (CRS) of a specific cell]);
transmitting, to the terminal device, a second indication indicating a Random-Access procedure for a Timing Advance (TA) adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0092, 0164], obtain, for uplink timing adjustment or uplink timing alignment, a random-access procedure, the Timing Alignment Command (TAC) using a random-access procedure, and on [2015], Timing Alignment Command (TAC) includes the TAG index fields (G1 and G0)]);
wherein the indication is used for determining a Timing Advance (TA) value associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0220], a UE requires a timing alignment value (TAV) for a TAG1 and a TAV for a TAG2 for uplink synchronization]); and
receiving, from the terminal device, an uplink data transmission based on the TA value ([see, [0197], UE transmits uplink data, including the random-access identifier, determined based on a TAV according to a TAC]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the uplink data transmission is transmitted based on a spatial relation with respect to a reference signal on the reference signal resource.
However, D2 discloses wherein the uplink data transmission is transmitted based on a spatial relation with respect to a reference signalinformation, an uplink data signal with respect a reference signal used for uplink demodulation]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determine an uplink transmit based on the spatial information results improve resource efficiency that optimize signal receive performance and reduce interference (D2, ¶ [0184]).
As per Claim 34, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 33, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the reference signal resource is a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource or a Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resource ([see, [0130], a reference signal used for obtaining channel state information may be a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determine an uplink transmit based on the spatial information results improve resource efficiency that optimize signal receive performance and reduce interference (D2, ¶ [0184]).
As per Claim 35, D1 and D2 disclose the terminal of claim 29, and D1 further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to transmit the uplink data on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([see, [0197], UE transmits uplink data, including the random-access identifier, to the BS through a PUSCH]).
As per Claim 36, D1 and D2 disclose the terminal of claim 35, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the indication is an indication of a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) to be transmitted in association with the PUSCH ([see, [0130], a reference signal used for obtaining channel state information may be a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determine an uplink transmit based on the spatial information results improve resource efficiency that optimize signal receive performance and reduce interference (D2, ¶ [0184]).
Claims 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of, D2, and further in view of Ng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0189574), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 37, D1 and D2 disclose the terminal of claim 35, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the indication is an indication of a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) port to be used for a transmission of a DMRS in association with the PUSCH.
However, D3 discloses wherein the indication is an indication of a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) port to be used for a transmission of a DMRS in association with the PUSCH ([see, [0004, 0160], wherein the eNB transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including Common RS (CRS), a Channel State Information RS (CSI-RS), and a DeModulation RS (DMRS), the UL resource allocation and from the UL DMRA cyclic shift associated with the PDCCH with DCI format 0 granting the PUSCH transmission]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide DMRS in association with the PUSCH results improve system throughput, particularly for a low or moderate number of connected UEs (D3, ¶ [0164]).
As per Claim 38, D1 and D2 disclose the terminal of claim 35, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the indication is an indication of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource to be transmitted in association with the PUSCH.
However, D3 discloses wherein the indication is an indication of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource to be transmitted in association with the PUSCH ([see, [0152], wherein CSI-RS resources can be configured to a UE , CSI-RS can be configured to a UE which indicates the subframe configuration]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide DMRS in association with the PUSCH results improve system throughput, particularly for a low or moderate number of connected UEs (D3, ¶ [0164]).
Claims 42-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of, D2, and further in view of YU FENG et al. (International Patent Application Publication No. CA 3082719 A1), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 42, D1 and D2 disclose the terminal device of claim 29, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the first indication associated with the reference signal resource indicates that the TA adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID.
However, D4 discloses wherein the first indication (first indication message) associated with the reference signal resource indicates that the TA adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0014, 0224], and Fig. 2, The terminal device receives the first indication receives a second indication message sent by the access network device, where the second indication response, RAR) (namely, the second indication message) sent by the access example, in a non-random access process, the terminal device may obtain the timing advance information of the terminal device based on a received TA adjustment first indication message]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide device synchronizes the clock of the terminal device results accuracy of time synchronization can be improved (D4, ¶ [0179]).
As per Claim 42, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 31, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the first indication associated with the reference signal resource indicates that the TA adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID.
However, D4 discloses wherein the first indication (first indication message) associated with the reference signal resource indicates that the TA adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0014, 0224], and Fig. 2, The terminal device receives the first indication receives a second indication message sent by the access network device, where the second indication response, RAR) (namely, the second indication message) sent by the access example, in a non-random access process, the terminal device may obtain the timing advance information of the terminal device based on a received TA adjustment first indication message]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide device synchronizes the clock of the terminal device results accuracy of time synchronization can be improved (D4, ¶ [0179]).
As per Claim 44, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 33, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the first indication associated with the reference signal resource is comprised in a Downlink control information and indicates that the TA adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID.
However, D4 discloses wherein the first indication associated with the reference signal resource is comprised in a Downlink control information and indicates that the TA adjustment is associated with the first TAG ID or the second TAG ID ([see, [0014, 0224], and Fig. 2, The terminal device receives the first indication receives a second indication message sent by the access network device, where the second indication response, RAR) (namely, the second indication message) sent by the access example, in a non-random access process, the terminal device may obtain the timing advance information of the terminal device based on a received TA adjustment first indication message]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide device synchronizes the clock of the terminal device results accuracy of time synchronization can be improved (D4, ¶ [0179]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418