Status of the Claims
Claims 21 and 23-30 are pending in a Response of 07/13/2026.
Withdrawn objection/ rejections:
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below are herein withdrawn.
The following rejection and/or objection are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejection and/or objection presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As indicated above, the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claims 21 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rajkhowa et al., “Ultrafine wool powders and their bulk properties”, Powder Technology, vol. 224, 2012-07, pages 183-188 in view of Kishida et al. (US2008/02991581A1).
Applicant claims teaches the below claim 21 filed on 07/13/2026:
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
MPEP 2141.03 (I) states: “The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The level of skill is that of a cosmetic, paint, ink research scientist, as is the case here, then one can assume comfortably that such an educated artisan will draw conventional ideas from cosmetic, paint, ink and chemistry— without being told to do so.
In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01); Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims (MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
Rajkhowa discloses wool keratin powder may be utilized in advanced applications, e.g., composite materials, biomedical and cosmetics, coating materials, and personal care formulation (see abstract and 1. Introduction on page 183, left and right columns); the wool fiber has diameter of 15.5 microns (see 2.1 materials on page 184); Rajkhowa discloses a method for preparing wool powder comprises chopping wool keratin fibres to form snippets of 19.7 to 496.2microns which overlaps the instant range less than about 5 mm average length (see Fig. 1) which reads on the claimed step a), wet milling the chopped snippets to form a slurry which reads on the claimed step b), spray drying the slurry produced to recover the wool keratin powder which reads on the claimed step c) wherein the obtained wool keratin powder has d(0.1)microns of 1.9 and grinding the wool keratin powder which reads on the claimed d) (abstract and 2.2 powder production on page 184, left column); since this prior art teaches/suggests wool keratin powder is made without any solvent, the processed wool keratin powder is insoluble; the obtained wool keratin powder has d(0.1)µm of 0.73 which may overlap the instant range of less than 1.9 microns, d(0.5)µm of 1.5 which may overlap the instant range of less than 10 microns or 4.8 microns or, d(0.9)µm of 4.1 which may overlap the instant range of less than 9.8 microns (Fig. 1 on page 185) (instant claims 21 (in part), instant claims 23-24, and instant claims 27-30).
However, Rajkhowa does not expressly teach the steps e) and f) of instant claim 21. The deficiencies are cured by Kishida.
Kishida discloses cosmetic product such as foundations, eye shadows, lip color, mascaras, lotions, creams, nail polisher, shampoo, etc. ([0002] and [0076]) which reads on the claimed coating composition containing wool powder substrate ([0024]) and pigment adheres thereto wherein pigment and substrate are combined to form a mixture ([0073]) and here, wool powder contains keratin material, and is insoluble component, and therefore, combining step reads on the claimed step e); and the mixture is fully and partially extended color bulk powder, surfactant, emulsifier (e.g., [0037]), binder or emollient (e.g.,[0062]) that reads on the claimed excipient, and which can be included in the color bulk powder to form cosmetic composition in which including step reads on the claimed step f). Further, the order in which mixing the ingredients is insignificant absent unexpected results of such dyeing/adding order. In this regard, please see MPEP 2144.03 IV: “See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).” (instant claim 21 – steps e-f)).
It would have been obvious to modify the teachings of Rajkhowa with the steps of dyeing the wool keratin fiber and adding excipient for cosmetic composition in order to produce the dyed coating composition including cosmetics as taught by Kishida.
Although the applied art does not expressly teach solubility in water of instant claim 25 and regain rate of instant claim 26, such properties would be implicit because the applied art in combination would achieve the claimed invention. That is, the claimed features are a natural result of the combination of elements. Net MoneyIN, Inc. v. VeriSign, Inc., 545 F.3d 1359, 1371 (Fed. Cir. 2008). (inherency is limited when applied to obviousness and is present only when the limitation at issue is the “natural result” of the combination of prior art elements; quoting In re Oelrich, 666 F.2d 578, 581 (CCPA 1981)) (instant claims 25-26).
In light of the foregoing, instant claims 21 and 23-30 are obvious over Rajkhowa in view of Kishida.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are moot in view of newly applied reference of Kishida.
Conclusion
All claims examined are rejected.
/KYUNG S CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613