DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s submission filed 04 May 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 154-175, and 177-178 are pending. Claims 168-169 and 171-173 have been amended, while claim 176 has been cancelled without prejudice or disclaimer and claim 178 has been newly added. Therefore, prosecution on the merits continues for claims 165-173 and 178 as being drawn to the elected invention and species, with claims 1-3, 154-164, 174-175, and 177 withdrawn for reading on the non-elected inventions and species. All arguments have been fully considered with the status of each prior ground of rejection set forth below.
However, it is of note that the amendment to the claims filed on 04 May 2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because claim 170 is listed as “Currently amended” without having any markings indicating amendments. Amendments to the claims filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) which states (emphasis added):
(c) Claims. Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of “canceled” or “not entered” may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn—currently amended.”
(3) When claim text in clean version is required. The text of all pending claims not being currently amended shall be presented in the claim listing in clean version, i.e., without any markings in the presentation of text. The presentation of a clean version of any claim having the status of “original,” “withdrawn” or “previously presented” will constitute an assertion that it has not been changed relative to the immediate prior version, except to omit markings that may have been present in the immediate prior version of the claims of the status of “withdrawn” or “previously presented.” Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of “new” and presented in clean version, i.e., without any underlining.
(4) When claim text shall not be presented; canceling a claim.
(i) No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of “canceled” or “not entered.”
(ii) Cancellation of a claim shall be effected by an instruction to cancel a particular claim number. Identifying the status of a claim in the claim listing as “canceled” will constitute an instruction to cancel the claim.
(5) Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number.
As noted above, the amendment under consideration herein fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.121 because instant claim 170 has the status identifier of “Currently amended” without actually having any markings indicating amendments. Thus, the amendment could be considered non-responsive. However, in the interest of compact prosecution the amendment at issue will not be considered non-responsive. The Examiner notes that any future responses failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.121 will be held non-responsive, and will not be considered.
Status of Prior Rejections/Response to Arguments
RE: Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s submission of the appropriate size fee set forth under 37 CFR 1.17(v)(2) for the IDS filed 02 September 2025 is acknowledged. It is of note that the total number of references submitted within the application including the IDS filed 13 May 2026 is 113.
RE: Objection to the Specification
The amendment to the Specification filed 04 May 2025 and supplemental amendment to the Specification filed 26 May 2026 are each acknowledged and entered into the application file. With that, Applicant has failed to remove all prefixes within Paragraph [0260] of the Specification.
Therefore, the objection is maintained. The Examiner suggests either deleting the browser-executable code in its entirety, or modifying the recitation to “(
RE: Claim Interpretation
Applicant has traversed the Examiner’s interpretation of the claims, asserting in Page 21 of the Remarks filed 04 May 2026 that each of the donor characteristics recited in instant claim 171 is not a passive descriptor of donor identity, and is instead a quantitative, functional limitation tied directly to a measurable property of the resulting mobilized immune effector cell. Applicant cites Paragraphs [00179]-[00188] of the instant Specification to support this assertion. In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that Applicant’s arguments fail to disclose how the starting number of cells in the donor’s blood or bone marrow alters the structure of the final mobilized immune effector cell. The Examiner also notes that the cited paragraphs simply recite the limitations as seen in the instant claims, and do not provide any supporting evidence to the structural changes to the final mobilized immune effector cell.
Applicant has further traversed the Examiner’s interpretation of the claims, asserting in Page 21 of the Remarks filed 04 May 2026 that each of the downstream operations recited in instant claim 172 impart structural changes to the resulting mobilized immune effector cell. In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that the recited downstream operations in instant claim 172 are “optional” limitations, and are therefore not accorded patentable weight under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Therefore, the claim interpretations are maintained.
RE: Objection to claims 168-169 and 171-173
Applicant’s amendments to each of instant claims 168-169 and 171-173 correct the minor informalities, thus obviating the objections of record.
Therefore, the objections are withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 169 and 176 under 35 USC 112(b)
The cancellation of instant claim 176 renders the rejection moot for that claim. For the remaining claim, Applicant’s amendments to instant claim 169 obviate the rejection of record.
Therefore, the rejections are withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claim 176 under 35 USC 101
The cancellation of instant claim 176 renders the rejection moot for that claim. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 165-173 and 176 under 35 USC 103 over Poznansky et al in view of Lundqvist et al
The cancellation of claim 176 renders the rejection moot for that claim. For the remaining claims, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
It is of note that Applicant’s arguments regarding the unexpected results in Pages 48-64 of the Remarks filed 04 May 2026 will necessarily be exhibited by the mobilized immune effector cells of King et al (US 2018/0228871 A1, of record on IDS filed 23 July 2024), as they have the same structure as the mobilized immune effector cells of at least independent claim 165. See MPEP § 716.02 and 2112.01, and the 35 USC 102 rejection below. It is further of note that the closest prior art for comparison of the unexpected results is King et al.
New/Maintained Grounds of Rejection
Specification
The substitute Specifications filed 04 May 2026 and 26 May 2026 are acknowledged and entered into the application file.
However, the disclosure remains objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code in Paragraph [0260] of the instant Specification. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
It is of note that the lengthy Specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which Applicant may become aware in the Specification.
Claim Interpretation
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of each claim, all of the “optional” limitations are not required.
Instant claims 170-172 are directed to products which utilize product-by-process language. The limitations of the process of production are considered only in so far as the process of production imparts distinct structural or chemical characteristics or properties to the claimed product. Therefore, if the product, as claimed, is the same or obvious over a product of the prior art (i.e. is not structurally or chemically distinct), the claim is considered unpatentable over the prior art, even though the prior art product is made by a different process. See MPEP § 2113.
Claims 170-171 further define the donor from which the immune effector cells are isolated. When defining the source of cells, the source of the cells is only considered in as far as the source defines the cell as having distinct biochemical or morphological characteristics. In the instant case, the source – or donor – of the immune effector cells does not impart a distinction to the cells, but rather their physical and structural characteristics dictates their classification as a particular cell type.
Claim 172 further defines the method in which the blood and/or bone marrow is obtained from the donor. In the instant case, there is no evidence that the isolation method imparts any particular structure or significance to the claimed immune effector cells.
Therefore, the claims will be interpreted as if the isolation of cells from the blood and/or bone marrow of any donor, wherein the donor has any characteristic and by using any isolation technique, fulfills the limitations detailed in the instant claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 167-168 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 167: The instant claim is objected to for failing to recite “and” following “a native macrophage receptor” in Line 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 168: The instant claim is objected to for reciting “the T cell is selected from” instead of “the T cell is selected from the group consisting of”. See MPEP § 2117.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 168-169 and 172 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 168: The instant claim further defines the T cell as being “selected from alpha/beta T cell, gamma/delta T cell, CD8+ T cell, CD4+ T cell, naïve T cell, Pgp+ T cell, T-regulatory cells, Th-17 cells, stem T cell, T stem memory cell, tissue-resident T cell, tumor infiltrating T cell, natural killer T (NKT) cell or a combination thereof” (emphasis added). Claim language defined by a Markush grouping requires selection from a closed group "consisting of" the alternative members. See MPEP § 2117(I): Id. at 1280, 67 USPQ2d at 1196. The recitation of “or” indicates that the Markush group is open, thus rendering the metes and bounds of the claim indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 169: The instant claim is rejected once again for the use of parentheticals “Lewis (Y) antigen” in Line 13, “mammary gland differentiation antigen (NY-BR-1)” in Lines 28-29, “lymphocyte antigen 6 complex, locus K9 (LY6K)” in Line 31, “ETS translocation-variant gene 6, located on chromosome 12p (ETV6-AML)” in Line 34, “angiopoietin-binding cell surface receptor 2 (Tie 2)” in Lines 35-36, “ERG (transmembrane protease, serine 2 (TMPRSS2) ETS fusion gene)” in Line 41, “CSF2RA (GM-CSFR-alpha)” in Line 62 – wherein these limitations were previously rejected in the Office action filed 28 February 2025. While parentheticals can be used as abbreviations, the use of parentheticals adjacent to terms which recite alternate names or isoforms renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear whether the items within the parentheticals are required or optional. Applicant should review the claim and remove any parentheticals that are not expressly utilized as an abbreviation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 172: The instant claim recites the limitation, “freezing (cryopreservation) of the expanded immune effector cell or population thereof” in option m). The scope of the claim is indefinite, as it is unclear if the parenthetical language is required by the claim, or is instead optional. The Examiner would like to note that there are inherent discrepancies between simply freezing the cells and cryopreserving the cells, especially in regard to the method steps required. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined, thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
It is of note that this limitation was previously rejected in the Office action filed 28 February 2025, and corrected in the claim listing filed 28 August 2025 to recite “cryopreservation of the expanded immune effector cell or population thereof”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 165-173 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by King et al (US 2018/0228871 A1, of record on IDS filed 23 July 2024) as evidenced by Sadelain et al (Cancer Discov, 2013). King et al has an effective filing date of 03 August 2015.
King et al disclose human peripheral blood T cells that have been isolated from the blood of a human donor who has undergone treatment with the mobilizing agent of Plerixafor, wherein the mobilized T cells are genetically modified to express a polynucleotide encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (Abstract; Paragraphs [0007], [0062], [0067], [0076], [0087], [0107], [0119]).
King et al further disclose that the chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprises an antigen binding domain specific for prostate specific membrane antigen (PSMA) (Paragraphs [0102], [0107], [0109]-[0110]). It is of note that although King et al do not explicitly disclose that the CAR comprises a transmembrane domain, CARs comprising an antigen binding domain and a costimulatory domain (Paragraph [0107]) will inherently comprise a transmembrane domain. See Page 2 and Figure 1 of Sadelain et al.
Accordingly, King et al anticipate the claims as follows:
Regarding claims 165-169: King et al as evidenced by Sadelain et al disclose human peripheral blood T cells (claim 168) that have been isolated from the blood of a human donor who has undergone treatment with the mobilizing agent of Plerixafor (claim 166), wherein the mobilized T cells are genetically modified to express a polynucleotide encoding a CAR (claim 167) comprising an antigen binding domain specific for PSMA (claim 169) and a transmembrane domain. This therefore reads on the mobilized immune effector cell of instant claim 165.
Regarding claim 170-171: The instant claims are a product-by-process limitation further
describing the source – or donor – of the immune effector cells. See Claim Interpretation section above. Accordingly, the source of the cells does not change the cells, per se. Therefore, the instant claims are
rejected for the same reason as instant claim 165.
However, it is of note that King et al do disclose that the mobilized T cells are isolated from the blood of an autologous donor – which reads on instant claim 170 (Paragraphs [0097], [0119]).
Regarding claim 172: The instant claim is a product-by-process limitation further
describing the method in which the immune effector cells are isolated. See Claim Interpretation section above. Accordingly, the isolation technique of the cells does not change the cells, per se. Therefore, the instant claim is rejected for the same reason as instant claim 165.
However, it is of note that King et al do disclose that the T cells are isolated from the blood of a donor via leukapheresis – which reads on the instant claim (Paragraph [0104]).
Regarding claim 173: Following the discussion of claim 166, King et al further disclose that the mobilizing agent is administered via intravenous or subcutaneous routes (Paragraph [0065]). This therefore reads on the mobilized immune effector cell of the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 165-173 and 178 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al (US 2018/0228871 A1, of record on IDS filed 23 July 2024) as evidenced by Sadelain et al (Cancer Discov, 2013), in view of Peled et al (US 2018/0161366 A1).
The discussion of King et al as evidenced by Sadelain et al regarding instant claim 165 can be observed above and is relied upon herein, the content of which is incorporated in its entirety. King et al as evidenced by Sadelain et al anticipate instant claims 165-173. Peled et al is considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 102(a)(2), with a publication date of 14 June 2018.
Regarding claim 178: As aforementioned in the discussion of claim 165 above, King et al as evidenced by Sadelain et al disclose human peripheral blood T cells that have been isolated from the blood of a human donor who has undergone treatment with the mobilizing agent of Plerixafor, wherein the mobilized T cells are genetically modified to express a polynucleotide encoding a CAR comprising an antigen binding domain specific for PSMA and a transmembrane domain.
King et al fail to disclose that the mobilized T cells are cryopreserved prior to being genetically modified to express a polynucleotide encoding a CAR, as required by instant claim 178.
Peled et al, however, disclose methods of obtaining mononuclear blood cells (Abstract). As such, Peled et al disclose the isolation of mobilized T cells from a subject treated with the CXCR4 antagonist of BL-8040, the cryopreservation of the mobilized T cells, and then thawing and engineering the mobilized T cells to express a CAR (Paragraphs [0004], [0178], [0238]-[0239], [0411]-[0417], [0436]-[0439]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the mobilized T cells of King et al such that they are cryopreserved prior to being engineered with a polynucleotide encoding a CAR, as detailed in Peled et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to have a means to store the mobilized T cells long-term prior to engineering (Peled et al: Paragraph [0238]), and would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the disclosures of King et al and Peled et al are both concerned with the mobilization of T cells from blood via a CXCR4 antagonist with the subsequent genetic modification of those mobilized T cells, and that the methods of cryopreservation of well-known in the art (Peled et al: Paragraph [0239]). See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Consequently, King et al as evidenced by Sadelain et al and as modified by Peled et al render obvious a mobilized T cell that has been cryopreserved prior to being engineered to express a CAR. This therefore renders obvious the mobilized immune effector cell of the instant claim.
Conclusion
/ALYSSA G WESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1633