DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/18/2025 has been entered. Newly amended Claims 1-2, 5, 11, 17-19, 22-23, 25, 28-31, 33-34, 37, 46, and 58-63 are pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 8/28/2025.
Claims 29-30, 33-34, 37, 46, and 60-63 are withdrawn as being drawn to an unelected invention. Claims 1-2, 5, 11, 17-19, 22-23, 25, 28, 31, and 58-59 are examined on the merits herein.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims render all rejections thereto moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 11, 17-19, 22-23, 25, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labelle (WO2014053491, cited in 4/12/2022 IDS).
Labelle teaches Compound 58 as an HDME inhibitor (Abstract; Page 63):
.
This compound is excepted by the proviso described in Claim 1.
Labelle, however, teaches acceptable modifications to compounds of the following Labelle formula:
(Page 24, Lines 20+). Labelle teaches that the methoxy substituted aryl may be substituted by “one or more substituents” including alkoxy. Labelle therefore provides guidance for adding further methoxy substituents on the aryl. The Labelle compound can be present in pharmaceutical compositions (Abstract).
One of skill in the art seeking to design an HDME inhibitor before the filing date of the instant claims would find it obvious to add a second methoxy to the ring to Compound 58 as suggested by Labelle to yield a compound encompassed by instant Formula (I). The artisan would expect a successful HDME inhibitor to result because Labelle teaches both the compound and generic formula encompassing the modified compound as inhibitors of HDME, and the homologues are of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.
Claims 1-2, 5, 11, 17-19, 22-23, 25, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labelle (WO2014053491, cited in 4/12/2022 IDS).
Labelle teaches Compound 85 as an HDME inhibitor (Abstract; Page 63):
.
This compound is excepted by the proviso described in Claim 1.
Labelle, however, teaches acceptable modifications to compounds of the following Labelle formula:
(Page 24, Lines 20+). Labelle teaches Y can be
, wherein R10 and R11 are C1-6 alkyl (Page 14). Compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. The Labelle compound can be present in pharmaceutical compositions (Abstract).
One of skill in the art seeking to design an HDME inhibitor before the filing date of the instant claims would find it obvious to form methylene homologues of Compound 58 as suggested by Labelle to yield a compound encompassed by instant Formula (I) wherein instant R1B and either of R2 can be methyl, ethyl, or linear propyl and thus not excepted by applicant’s proviso. The artisan would expect a successful HDME inhibitor to result because Labelle teaches both the lead compound and generic formula encompassing the modified compounds as inhibitors of HDME, and the homologues are of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 5, 11, 17-19, 22-23, 25, and 31 are rejected. Claims 58-59 are allowable. Claim 28 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627