DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
Claims 1-2, 4-13, 15-22, 26-39, 43-48, 50-93, 96-97 is/are cancelled. Claims 98-99 are newly added. Claims 3, 14, 23-25, 40-42, 49, 94-95, 98-99 is/are currently pending. Claims 3, 14, 23-25, 40-42, 49, 94-95, 98-99 is/are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 23, 40, 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carette (2005), in view of Paushkin (US 20110086833 A1) and Palacino (2015). This is a new grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 3, Carette teaches an expression cassette comprising a minigene and a downstream protein, wherein alternative splicing of the minigene controls expression of the downstream protein (Figure 1). While the working example of this downstream protein in Carette is a reporter gene (luciferase), Carette states that this reporter is used as a placeholder to demonstrate the effectiveness of this expression cassette, and that the expression cassette can be used to express a therapeutic protein in place of the reporter (page 1054 paragraph 2). Carette teaches that the expression cassette can be used to express a therapeutic protein, regulated by the alternative splicing of the upstream minigene, and that this therapeutic protein can be a pro-apoptotic protein, whose deficiency is a cause of some cancers and whose restored expression can be used to treat cancers (page 1054 paragraph 2). Carette teaches that the alternative splicing region comprises a constitutive promoter (MLP, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, Carette teaches that the alternative splicing region comprises a constitutive promoter (MLP, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 40, Carette teaches that the expression cassette is comprised in a viral vector.
However, Carette does not teach that the alternatively spliced minigene is derived from SMN2 exon 7, nor that the expression cassette should be introduced into the central nervous system of an animal.
Paushkin teaches an expression cassette comprising an alternate splicing minigene derived from SMN2 exon 7 and teaches administering said expression cassette to the central nervous system of an animal.
Regarding claim 3, Paushkin teaches a method of expressing in vitro (paragraph [0021]) an expression cassette comprising a chimeric gene operably linked to an expression control element (paragraph [0264]), wherein this chimeric gene comprises a first and a second portion, and this first portion comprises a minigene and the second portion comprises a gene encoding a reporter protein, wherein the gene encoding the reporter protein lacks a start codon (claim 4). This minigene comprises exons 6, 7, and 8 of SMN pre-mRNA, wherein contacting the minigene with a small molecule splicing modifier (paragraph [0091]) causes alternative splicing of the minigene (claim 37), which splicing in turn controls expression of the chimeric protein (paragraph [0020]). Additionally, Paushkin teaches that the alternatively-spliced exon of the minigene (exon 7) comprises translation initiation regulatory sequences (SEQ ID NO:20; nucleotides 5960-6014 are exon 7, and this segment of the minigene comprises non-canonical eukaryotic translation initiation sequences, such as GTG, ATA, ATT, ATC; see Cao, 2021, which provides evidence that such non-canonical translation initiation sequences are known to exist in nature). Paushkin teaches that the second portion of the chimeric gene does not have a translation initiation sequence (claim 4). Paushkin further teaches that the expression of the protein is controlled by the alternative splicing of the exon that undergoes alternative splicing, and only in the presence of the small molecule splicing modifier is the protein encoded and expressed (Fig. 1; claim 37; paragraph [0091]). Paushkin also teaches that the structure of the expression cassette, from 5’ to 3’, comprises the minigene and the reporter gene (claim 1). Paushkin teaches that expression of the reporter protein is increased by inclusion of SMN2 exon 7 in the minigene, which inclusion is caused by contact with a splicing modifier compound (paragraph [0020]; claim 37). Paushkin teaches that the host cell containing the expression cassette (claim 11) can be a human cell (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 23, Paushkin teaches that the expression cassette “may comprise one or more regulatory elements”, and these regulatory elements can be constitutive promoters, tissue-specific promoters, or inducible promoters (paragraph [0264]).
Regarding claim 40, Paushkin teaches that in order for a host cell to contain the expression cassette (claim 11), the host cell can be transformed by any known method for introducing polynucleotides into a host cell (paragraph [0277]).
Regarding claim 49, Paushkin teaches that for a host cell to contain the expression cassette, the host cell can be transformed by any known method for introducing polynucleotides into a cell (paragraph [0277]).
Carette teaches a system for alternative splicing-regulated gene expression, by which the expression of a therapeutic protein may be controlled and used for the treatment of a disease. Paushkin teaches a similar system for alternative splicing-regulated gene expression, but does not disclose that such a system or similar systems could be used for the expression of a therapeutic protein. Instead, the system of Paushkin is used for identifying splicing modifiers which act on SMN2 exon 7. Although the minigenes used in Carette and Paushkin differ, the underlying concept—using the alternative splicing of a minigene to control expression of a downstream gene—is shared between the two. It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the expression of a therapeutic protein could be regulated by the alternative splicing of an upstream minigene, and that a minigene whose alternative splicing regulates the expression of a reporter gene, such as in Paushkin and Carette, could also regulate expression of a therapeutic protein, as described in Carette. Such an artisan would be motivated to replace the alternative splicing region of Carette with the SMN2 exon 7 minigene of Paushkin, as alternative splicing of the SMN2 exon 7 minigene of Paushkin can be controlled through administration of splicing modifier compounds, allowing greater control over expression of the downstream transgene. Such an artisan would recognize that the similar functionality of the alternatively-spliced regions of Paushkin and Carette render them interchangeable structures.
However, Paushkin and Carette do not teach that the alternate splicing of the SNM2 exon 7 minigene is modulated by the splicing modifier LMI070.
Palacino teaches that the compound LMI070 (also NVS-SM1) is an effective splice modifier of SMN2, as required by claim 3.
Regarding claim 3, Palacino teaches a small molecule drug LMI070 which enhances inclusion of exon 7 in the SMN protein (page 511 paragraph 4; Figure 1; Figure 2, showing that SMN exon 7 inclusion is increased positively correlated to increased doses of LMI070).
Paushkin does not teach the compound LMI070 as a splice modifier of SMN2 which increases inclusion of SMN2 exon 7, and does not disclose LMI070. Palacino does teach that LMI070 can increase inclusion of SMN2 exon 7. For the alternative splicing of the minigene of Paushkin to regulate the expression of the downstream gene, the splicing modifier must be capable of increasing inclusion of SMN2 exon 7. Therefore, although Paushkin does not disclose LMI070 as a splicing modifier, the evidence provided by Palacino for this compound’s functionality renders it obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that LMI070 is an alternative splicing modifier that can be applied to the invention of Paushkin and the combined invention of Paushkin and Carette, and could be used in cases where the difference in efficiency of LMI070 as compared to that of the compounds disclosed by Paushkin would be desirable.
Claim(s) 3, 23, 40-42, 49, and 94-95, 98-99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carette (2005), Paushkin (US 20110086833 A1), and Palacino (2015), as applied to claims 3, 23, 40, and 49 above, and further in view of Vogel (2004) and Stieger (2009), and as evidenced by Cao (2021). This is a new grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 3, Paushkin teaches a method of expressing in vitro (paragraph [0021]) an expression cassette comprising a chimeric gene operably linked to an expression control element (paragraph [0264]), wherein this chimeric gene comprises a first and a second portion, and this first portion comprises a minigene and the second portion comprises a gene encoding a reporter protein, wherein the gene encoding the reporter protein lacks a start codon (claim 4). This minigene comprises exons 6, 7, and 8 of SMN pre-mRNA, wherein contacting the minigene with a small molecule splicing modifier (paragraph [0091]) causes alternative splicing of the minigene (claim 37), which splicing in turn controls expression of the chimeric protein (paragraph [0020]). Additionally, Paushkin teaches that the alternatively-spliced exon of the minigene (exon 7) comprises translation initiation regulatory sequences (SEQ ID NO:20; nucleotides 5960-6014 are exon 7, and this segment of the minigene comprises non-canonical eukaryotic translation initiation sequences, such as GTG, ATA, ATT, ATC; see Cao, 2021, which provides evidence that such non-canonical translation initiation sequences are known to exist in nature). Paushkin teaches that the second portion of the chimeric gene does not have a translation initiation sequence (claim 4). Paushkin further teaches that the expression of the protein is controlled by the alternative splicing of the exon that undergoes alternative splicing, and only in the presence of the small molecule splicing modifier is the protein encoded and expressed (Fig. 1; claim 37; paragraph [0091]). Paushkin also teaches that the structure of the expression cassette, from 5’ to 3’, comprises the minigene and the reporter gene (claim 1). Paushkin teaches that expression of the reporter protein is increased by inclusion of SMN2 exon 7 in the minigene, which inclusion is caused by contact with a splicing modifier compound (paragraph [0020]; claim 37). Paushkin teaches that the host cell containing the expression cassette (claim 11) can be a human cell (paragraph [0026]).
Claims 3, 23, 40, and 49 are rendered obvious by the combined teachings of Carette, Palacino, and Paushkin, as discussed above.
Paushkin, Carette, and Palacino fail to teach the following: a method for expressing a transactivator protein using the expression cassette; a second expression cassette, wherein the first expression cassette regulates expression of the second cassette, and wherein this second cassette comprises a therapeutic protein or an inhibitory RNA; an expression cassette wherein alternative splicing removes a stop codon in a minigene; linking the minigene to the gene with a cleavable peptide; the use of LMI070 as the splicing modifier; and the administration to the central nervous system of the expression cassette encapsulated in a viral vector.
However, Vogel teaches a system of two expression cassettes, wherein the first expression cassette regulates the second expression cassette through a mechanism controlled by a small molecule drug. Furthermore, Vogel teaches the administration of these expression cassettes to the central nervous system for the treatment of a neurodegenerative disease, wherein the expression cassettes are encapsulated in a viral vector.
Regarding claim 3, Vogel teaches a method for using a drug-inducible gene expression system for the expression of therapeutic nucleic acids. Vogel teaches that the first expression cassette in the inducible gene expression system comprises a transactivator protein, rTTA2-M2 (Figure 1). Vogel teaches that the drug-inducible gene expression system comprises two expression cassettes, wherein the transactivator protein encoded by the first expression cassette binds to the promoter region of the second expression cassette, and when activated by a drug, triggers expression of the transgene controlled by this promoter in the second expression cassette (Figure 1). Furthermore, Stieger teaches that such drug-inducible gene expression systems—wherein a first expression cassette encodes a transactivator that, when contacted with an activating drug, binds to a promoter in the second expression cassette and activates expression of a transgene—are commonly used in the art (Figure 1, showing generic schematics for different common variants of this gene expression regulation system). Vogel teaches that the RNA of the second expression cassette encodes a therapeutic protein (page 161). Vogel teaches that the therapeutic protein corrects a protein deficiency (deficiency of tyrosine hydroxylase) associated with a disease (restoration of tyrosine hydroxylase expression in deficient rat brains, treating the model of Parkinson’s disease, pages 161-162).
Regarding claims 40-41 and 94-95, Vogel teaches that both of the expression cassettes are encapsulated in a lentiviral vector (abstract) (required for claims 40-41 and 94-95).
Regarding claims 42, 98 and 99, Vogel teaches that the drug-inducible gene expression system is delivered to the central nervous system in a mammal in order to express a therapeutic protein associated with a neurodegenerative disorder (abstract).
Regarding claim 49, Vogel teaches that the first expression cassette contains a promoter compatible with use in nervous system tissues—a CMV promoter (Figure 1). Furthermore, Vogel teaches that the vector containing the expression cassettes is administered to the mammal by intrastriatal injection—i.e. administration to the brain, which forms part of the central nervous system (page 159 paragraph 4).
Vogel teaches a method for using a drug-inducible, two-expression-cassette gene expression regulatory system for the inducible or modulated expression of therapeutic nucleic acids in a model system of neurodegeneration. Vogel clearly shows that such mechanisms for drug-regulated therapeutic transgene expression, were well known to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. Stieger further provides evidence that many variants of this system were both well-known and commonly used in the art at the time of filing. However, the systems described in Vogel and Stieger are tetracycline-regulated systems, wherein the drug binds to and activates a transactivator protein, as compared to a system where the drug regulates expression of the transactivator. While the expression cassettes of Paushkin and Carette do not encode a transactivator protein, the expression cassette obviated by the combined teachings of Paushkin and Carette provides a mechanism for drug-regulated control of expression of a protein. To a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, it would be obvious that the reporter genes of Paushkin and Carette could be replaced with any gene whose expression one would be motivated to artificially regulate through administration of a drug; this would include replacing the reporter gene with a gene encoding a transactivator protein. The tet-regulated systems described in Vogel and Stieger are based on a concept of activating a transactivator through administration of a drug, and this active transactivator binds to and activates a promoter controlling expression of the desired transgene, wherein the transactivator and the desired transgene are encoded on separate expression cassettes. To a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, it would be obvious that alternative methods for producing an active transactivator would suffice to regulate expression of the desired transgene—and such alternative methods would include drug-mediated regulation of transactivator expression. This would be particularly salient to a person motivated to develop a drug-regulated gene expression system for use in subjects that cannot be administered tetracycline or tetracycline analogs, as would be required for tetracycline-regulated gene expression systems such as in Vogel and Stieger.
Furthermore, Vogel shows that drug-inducible gene expression systems utilizing two expression cassettes can be effectively used in the central nervous system and delivered via viral vectors. Paushkin teaches that the alternative splicing-regulated gene expression system can be introduced into a cell through any known means of transforming cells, but does not provide examples of transformation methods or host cells. Carette teaches that the alternative splicing-regulated gene expression system may be administered to cells by means of an adenovirus, but does not teach that the system is administered to the central nervous system. Given the administration methods in Vogel, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that drug-regulated gene expression cassettes could be effectively delivered to the central nervous system through viral vectors injected into structures of the central nervous system and through the use of appropriate promoters. Such a person would be motivated to apply the administration methods of Vogel to constructs analogous to those of Vogel, Carette, or Paushkin if the goal were to express these drug-regulated gene expression systems in the central nervous system.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carette (2005), Paushkin (US 20110086833 A1), Palacino (2015), Vogel (2004), and Stieger (2009), as applied to claims 3, 9, and 12 above, and further in view of Drouet (2009). This is a new grounds of rejection.
The teachings of Paushkin, Palacino, Stieger, and Vogel are discussed above and can be combined to render obvious claims 3, 9, and 12. However, Paushkin, Palacino, Stieger, and Vogel do not teach an inducible expression system wherein expression of an inhibitory RNA is controlled.
Drouet teaches a tet-regulated gene expression system, exemplary of the tet-regulated systems described in Stieger, which regulates expression of an shRNA used to knock down expression of a protein.
Regarding claim 14, Drouet teaches a tet-regulated gene expression system, wherein a tet-activated transactivator regulates expression of an shRNA targeted to the HTT gene (page 278). Drouet teaches that conditional knockdown of the HTT gene through use of the tet-regulated gene knockdown system results in reduction of a marker of disease progression (reduction of DARPP-32, a marker of Huntington’s disease) (Figure 4).
Drouet, like Vogel, teaches a drug-regulated gene expression system comprising a first expression cassette encoding a transactivator protein, and a second expression cassette comprising the nucleic acid sequence of interest, whose expression is controlled by this transactivator. Both gene expression regulation systems are exemplary of the generic schemas described by Stieger as being commonly known and used in the art. However, while Vogel teaches the use of such a system to express a therapeutic protein, Drouet teaches the use of such a system to express an inhibitory RNA, specifically an shRNA, in order to knockdown a disease-associated gene for the treatment of the associated disease. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that a gene expression system that can be used to regulate expression of a protein, such as in Carette, Paushkin, and Vogel, could be used to regulate expression of an inhibitory RNA, such as in Drouet. Such a person would be motivated to apply the inhibitory RNA expression cassette structure of Drouet to the gene expression regulatory structures of Carette, Paushkin, or Vogel in order to decrease expression of a pathogenic protein.
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paushkin (US 20110086833 A1), Palacino (2015), and Carette (2005), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Takata (2011) and Nelson and Cox (2013). This is a new grounds of rejection.
The teachings of Paushkin, Palacino, and Carette are discussed above and can be combined to render obvious claim 3. However, Paushkin, Palacino, and Carette do not teach a construct wherein multiple genes in an expression cassette are linked by sequences encoding self-cleaving peptide linkers.
Takata teaches a construct wherein multiple genes in an expression cassette are linked by sequences encoding self-cleaving peptide linkers.
Regarding claim 24-25, Takata teaches a gene expression cassette wherein multiple genes are linked by sequences encoding self-cleaving peptide linkers (required for claims 24-25) (Figure 1).
The expression cassettes of Paushkin and Carette encode fusion proteins comprising the translated, alternatively-spliced minigenes and the reporter or therapeutic protein. However, they do not teach a mechanism for cleaving the translated minigene from the protein: the fusion proteins of Paushkin and Carette retain significant or total function relative to the wild-type reporter protein, and therefore cleaving the translated minigene from the reporter is not necessary for the purposes of Paushkin and Carette. However, it is known in the art that the overall amino acid sequence of a protein determines the tertiary and quaternary structures of the protein, which in turn determine the activity of the protein (Nelson and Cox, pages 31, 97, 133, 143-144). Accordingly, the fusion of two amino acid sequences can alter the activity of the fused proteins, which can result in reduced activity compared to the separate component proteins (Nelson and Cox, pages 325-327). It would therefore be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, motivated to regulate expression of a functional transactivator through alternative splicing of a fused minigene, that in order to ensure full activity of the transactivator protein compared to its wild-type counterpart, the transactivator and translated minigene would need to be cleaved—and Takata provides a mechanism by which fused proteins may be cleaved, through the insertion of sequences encoding self-cleaving peptide linkers.
Response to Arguments – 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. While the modification of the expression cassette of Paushkin by replacing the reporter gene with the therapeutic protein of Carette, or any other non-reporter gene, would fundamentally alter the functional purpose of the expression cassette of Paushkin, the modification of the expression cassette of Carette by replacing the alternate splicing region of Carette with the SMN2 exon 7 minigene of Paushkin would not fundamentally alter the functional purpose of the expression cassette of Carette, and would provide additional benefits that the alternative splicing region of Carette would not provide, as described in the rejection above. In response to Applicant’s arguments, the previously presented rejections over 35 USC 103 have been withdrawn, and new rejections are presented.
Double Patenting
Claims 3, 14, 23-24, 40-41, 94-95 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7, 41, 45-46, 49-51, 53-54, and 57 of copending Application No. 17/798,851 (reference application), in view of Paushkin (US 20110086833 A1). This rejection is maintained.
Claims 1, 6-7, 41, 45-46, 49-51, 53-54, and 57 of ~851 recite all of the required limitations of claims 3, 14, 23-24, 40-41, 94-95 of the instant application except that the encoded gene operably linked to the alternatively spliced minigene lacks translation initiation regulatory sequences, as required by instant claim 3. Furthermore, the “splicing modifier drug” of copending claim 54 is defined in the copending specification as encompassing drugs such as LMI070 (paragraphs [0026], [00101]), and wherein copending SEQ ID NO:1 is an SMN2 exon 7 minigene.
Paushkin teaches a nucleic acid comprising an alternatively spliced minigene (comprising an alternatively spliced exon) joined to a chimeric protein-encoding sequence, wherein the expression of the chimeric protein is regulated by the alternative splicing of the minigene, and wherein the sequence encoding the chimeric protein does not comprise translation initiation regulatory sequences.
Regarding claim 3, Paushkin teaches that the sequence encoding the chimeric protein does not comprise translation initiation regulatory sequences (claim 4).
Both ~851 and Paushkin disclose gene expression regulatory systems wherein the alternative splicing of a minigene, controlled by a small molecule splicing modifier, regulates expression of a downstream-encoded protein. ~851 does not recite a limitation that the protein-coding sequence does not comprise a translation initiation sequence. However, Paushkin teaches precisely this. The removal of translation initiation sequences in the protein-coding sequence necessitates that the alternative splicing of the upstream minigene result in the inclusion of a translation initiation sequence, else the protein will not be expressed. Because ~851 does not recite that the protein-coding sequence comprises or lacks a translation initiation sequence, the sequence as recited can comprise a translation initiation sequence, which could result in some degree of protein expression independent of splicing of the upstream minigene. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Paushkin that the protein-coding sequence lacks a translation initiation sequence with the recited composition of ~851, as this combination would ensure the complete dependence of the expression of the protein on the alternative splicing of the upstream minigene and by extension, on the administration of the small molecule splicing modifier.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s sole argument is that “[i]f a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is the only rejection remaining in an application having the earlier patent term filing date, the examiner should withdraw the rejection in the application having the earlier patent term filing date and permit that application to issue as a patent.” (pages 6-7) As the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is not the only rejection remaining in the instant application, the pending provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For those applications where applicant wishes to communicate with the examiner via Internet communications, e.g., email or video conferencing tools, the following is a sample authorization form which may be used by applicant:
"Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file."
To facilitate processing of the internet communication authorization or withdraw of authorization, the Office strongly encourages use of Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The form may be filed via EFS-Web using the document description Internet Communications Authorized or Internet Communications Authorization Withdrawn to facilitate processing. See MPEP 502.03(II).
/AFRICA M MCLEOD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/KIMBERLY CHONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636