DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 05/28/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended; claims 2-5, 7-10, 12, 14-18, 20-22, and 28-35 have been cancelled. Accordingly, claims 1, 6, 11, 13, 19, 23-27, and 36-44 are pending and under consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 05/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 regarding the prior art Raz et al. WO 2019003163 A2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wilson et al. US 2005/0276836 A1 (previously cited) in view of Schoeling US 2002/0151859 A1 (previously cited) and Touitou et al. US 2020/0345656 A1 (newly cited), as necessitated by amendment. See rejection of claims below.
For the sake of compact prosecution, should Applicant traverse that the daily dose as taught by Par. 122 of Touitou does not correspond to the amount of cannabidiol present on a single tampon article, similarly to remarks made towards Raz in Applicant’s remarks on page 9, Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s argument and the declaration of record. However, in both the Remarks dated 05/28/2026 and the Affidavit filed on 10/15/2025, Applicant’s remarks stating that “an amount below 2 mg would be insufficient material to create a uniform coating that would maintain contact with vaginal tissue during use. Above 200 mg, the composition may begin to interfere with the tampon's primary absorbent function. This 2-200 mg range thus represents the practical limits for surface-applying a pharmaceutical composition to an absorbent tampon body while maintaining both the device's primary function and the pharmaceutical delivery capability. These physical constraints are unique to this delivery method and would not have been apparent from the prior art” is considered to be merely conclusory. Applicant has not provided the evidence nor test data to support these statements. The submitted exhibits, i.e., exhibit D, E, and F, while demonstrates its efficacy within the claimed range, do not demonstrate how the device would fail to function outside the claimed range to prove criticality. MPEP 716.02(d), “To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960)”. Furthermore, prior art Touitou has discussed that the unit dosage of cannabinoids can be readily adjusted to promote efficiency and compliance (Par. 51 of Touitou); thus, the CBD amount is a result-effective variable such that its working range can be discovered via routine optimization. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223. See rejection of claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 36-41, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. US 2005/0276836 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Wilson) in view of Schoeling US 2002/0151859 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Schoeling) and Touitou et al. US 2020/0345656 A1 (newly cited, hereinafter Touitou).
Regarding claim 1, Wilson discloses a tampon 110 (Fig. 16D – tampon device 110) for delivering a therapeutic agent (Par. 2 – “The present invention concerns a vaginal device for delivering therapeutical and/or health-promoting agents”), comprising:
an absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 16D – “pledget” or tampon 110 body); and
said absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 16D) being provided with a pharmaceutical composition 112 (Par. 182 – “fiber coating or covering…”, and Par. 2 discusses “The coating of the device further comprises or is incorporated with a mucoadhesive composition comprising a therapeutical and/or health-promoting agent or a combination thereof”, such that the coating/covering “comprising… fiber, strip,…”; therefore, fiber 112 comprises or is incorporated with a mucoadhesive composition comprising a therapeutical agent), wherein the pharmaceutical composition 112 (Fig. 16D) further comprises a solidifying agent (Par. 59 – “the mucoadhesive composition comprising the therapeutical or health-enhancing agent is incorporated into a layer of a temperature-sensitive coating, such as, for example, wax…”) that softens at human body temperature (Par. 59 – “the coating melts upon insertion into the vagina…”), wherein the pharmaceutical composition 112 (Fig. 16D) is applied on a surface of the absorbent tampon body 110 (Par. 31 – “FIG. 16 shows a fiber coating or covering wherein in the fiber is… wound around the tampon (FIG. 16C and FIG. 16D)”), and wherein the pharmaceutical composition is for treating menstrual symptoms (Par. 279 – “Additionally, during the menstrual cycle when the pH of the vagina changes, the agent delivery systems additionally will contain buffers to stabilize pH of the vagina to enhance absorption”).
However, Wilson does not explicitly disclose an absorbent tampon body made of fibers; and a pharmaceutical composition comprising cannabidiol in a range from 2-200 mg, wherein the cannabidiol is the sole therapeutic agent in the pharmaceutical composition.
Schoeling, in the same field of endeavor of tampon (Title), teaches an absorbent tampon body made of fibers (Par. 43 – “Preferably, the tampons are formed predominantly of fibers….”).
Touitou, in the same field of endeavor of cannabinoids compositions (Par. 1) for treating symptoms of pain and menopause (Par. 57), teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising cannabidiol (Par. 132, Example 1 – “CBD-containing composition”), wherein the cannabidiol is the sole therapeutic agent (Par. 1 – “It has long been recognized that the active ingredients of cannabis are able to provide relief for a variety of symptoms and conditions, for example, to reduce pain. The major components include cannabidiol (CBD)”) in the pharmaceutical composition (Par. 132, Example 1 consists of CBD as the active ingredients; phospholipids are discussed to be known as emulsifier in Par. 3, Vitamin E is discussed to be a derivative in Par. 27, and Propylene glycols are discussed to be vesicular carrier in Par. 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tampon body of Wilson to have the tampon body made of fibers as taught by Schoeling, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. The fiber as taught by Schoeling is also known to possess increased specific absorbency (Par. 43 of Schoeling).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of the combination to further have cannabidiol as the sole therapeutic agent as taught by Touitou, in order to treat symptoms of pain and menopause (Par. 57 of Touitou).
Furthermore, according to the discussion of Touitou in Par. 51 reciting that the concentration of the active ingredient in the formulation may be readily adjusted to comply with the dosage regimen, the effective amount of cannabinoid, in this instant case – CBD, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, because said concentration of cannabidiol directly affects the efficacy in a treatment plan. Therefore, a sufficient amount of cannabidiol is desired to provide adequate treatment (Par. 51 of Touitou). As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed range of 2-200 mg cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of cannabidiol in the pharmaceutical composition to be in the range of 2-200 mg in the combined device to obtain the desired efficiency as the composition is administered into the body (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 11, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 1. However, the combination does not currently disclose wherein the absorbent tampon body has longitudinal channels disposed along the length of the absorbent tampon body.
Schoeling, in the same field of endeavor of tampon (Title), teaches wherein the absorbent tampon body 30 (Fig. 3 – tampon 30) has longitudinal channels 42 (Fig. 3-4 – longitudinal grooves 42) disposed along the length of the absorbent tampon body 30 (Fig. 3-4 – longitudinal grooves 42 extends across the length of tampon 30).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tampon body of the combination to further have the longitudinal channels as taught by Schoeling, in order to bring out an enlargement of the surface of the tampon and consequently an extension of the dwell time or absorption time for body fluid, which results in the absorption capacity and expansion capacity of the fiber core being improved considerably (Par. 39 of Schoeling). At the same time, a reduction in the weight of fibrous material used in the tampon 30 is thus possible, which allows more economical production of the tampon (Par. 39 of Schoeling).
Regarding claim 36, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses a strip 112 (Fig. 16D of Wilson – fiber 112) comprising the effective amount (Par. 182 of Wilson – “fiber coating or covering…”, and Par. 2 discusses “The coating of the device further comprises or is incorporated with a mucoadhesive composition comprising a therapeutical and/or health-promoting agent or a combination thereof”, such that the coating/covering “comprising… fiber, strip,…”; therefore, fiber 112 comprises or is incorporated with a mucoadhesive composition comprising a therapeutical agent) of cannabidiol (Par. 312 of Touitou), the amount of cannabidiol in the range from 2-200 mg (Par. 122 of Touitou; Examiner notes that once the modification is made as discussed in claim 1, the pharmaceutical composition of Wilson will incorporate the CBD of Touitou at the claimed amount; thus the limitation is met), the strip 112 (Fig. 16D of Wilson) positioned on the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 16D of Wilson).
Regarding claim 37, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 36. The combination further discloses wherein the strip 112 (Fig. 16D of Wilson) radially extends around the surface of the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 16D of Wilson – strip 112 circumferentially wraps around the surface of pledget 110).
Regarding claim 38, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 36. The combination further discloses wherein the strip 112 (Fig. 16D of Wilson) extends spirally on the surface of the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 16D of Wilson; strip 112 circumferentially wraps around the surface of pledget 110) from a distal end of the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 16D of Wilson – the spiral strip 112 starts at the distal end of pledget 110 that is nearby the string) to a proximal end of the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 16D of Wilson – the black dot indicates an ending point of strip 112 from a proximal end of pledget 110).
Regarding claim 39, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 36. However, the combination does not currently disclose wherein the strip is longitudinally disposed in a straight line from a first distal end of the absorbent tampon body over a proximal end of the absorbent tampon body to a second distal end of the absorbent tampon body, the first distal end being opposite the second distal end.
Wilson, in another embodiment, teaches wherein the strip 102 (Fig. 15C-15D) is longitudinally disposed in a straight line (Fig. 15C-15D – vertical strip) from a first distal end of the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 15C for a side view – from the end with the string) over a proximal end of the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 15C-15D – to the rounded end without the string) to a second distal end of the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 15C and Par. 181 – “strip 102 positioned over the tampon device”, hence the strip continues to the other side and reaches the other end with the string again as seen in Fig. 15C), the first distal end being opposite the second distal end (Fig. 15C – the two ends of strip 102 being opposite to each other; Par. 181 – strip 102 positioned over the tampon device, hence the strip continues to the other side and reaches the opposite end with the string again).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the strip of the combination that currently extends spirally around the tampon body that provides intravaginal treatment, for a strip vertically covers the tampon body, also as taught by Wilson, since these mechanisms perform the same function of providing therapeutic treatment into the vaginal tissue via absorption. Simply substituting a composition strip configuration for another would yield the predicable result of effective pharmaceutical composition being delivered into the body system via absorption through the mucus lining. See MPEP 2143. Also, since Wilson teaches both embodiments, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.).
Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the manner by which the therapeutic agent is applied to define a vertical shape on the surface of the tampon body, since a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in from or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ47 (CCPA 1976). Furthermore, applicant has not shown unexpected results gleaning from having the claimed shape. The modification would provide the same benefit of delivering an agent to the system to treat symptoms related to menstrual cycles.
Regarding claim 40, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 36. However, the combination does not currently disclose wherein the strip extends in a straight line from a proximal end to a distal end of the absorbent tampon body.
Wilson, in another embodiment, teaches wherein the strip 102 (Fig. 15C-15D) extends in a straight line (Fig. 15C-15D – vertical strip) from a proximal end 110 (Fig. 15C-15D – from the rounded end without the string) to a distal end of the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 15C for a side view – to the end with the string).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the strip of the combination that currently extends spirally around the tampon body that provides intravaginal treatment, for a strip vertically covers the tampon body, also as taught by Wilson, since these mechanisms perform the same function of providing therapeutic treatment into the vaginal tissue via absorption. Simply substituting a composition strip configuration for another would yield the predicable result of effective pharmaceutical composition being delivered into the body system via absorption through the mucus lining. See MPEP 2143. Also, since Wilson teaches both embodiments, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.).
Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the manner by which the therapeutic agent is applied to define a vertical shape on the surface of the tampon body, since a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in from or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ47 (CCPA 1976). Furthermore, applicant has not shown unexpected results gleaning from having the claimed shape. The modification would provide the same benefit of delivering an agent to the system to treat symptoms related to menstrual cycles.
Regarding claim 41, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 1. However, the combination does not currently disclose further comprising: a cylindrical cup that encapsulates the pharmaceutical composition, wherein the cylindrical cup surrounds a circumference of a proximal end of the absorbent tampon body.
Wilson, in another embodiment, teaches further comprising: a cylindrical cap 100 (Fig. 15A of Wilson – cap 100) that encapsulates the pharmaceutical composition (Par. 181 of Wilson – cap 100 covering where the [mucoadhesive composition] coating is), wherein the cylindrical cup 100 (Fig. 15A of Wilson) surrounds a circumference of a proximal end (Fig. 15A and Par. 181 of Wilson – cap 100 covering the proximal head of tampon device 110) of the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 15A of Wilson).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the strip of the combination that currently extends spirally around the tampon body that provides intravaginal treatment, for a cylindrical cup covering the proximal end of the tampon body, also as taught by Wilson, since these mechanisms perform the same function of providing therapeutic treatment into the vaginal tissue via absorption. Simply substituting a composition configuration for another would yield the predicable result of effective pharmaceutical composition being delivered into the body system via absorption through the mucus lining. See MPEP 2143. Also, since Wilson teaches both embodiments, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.).
Regarding claim 43, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 41. The combination further discloses wherein the cylindrical cup 100 (Fig. 15A of Wilson) forms a container that encloses a space (Fig. 15A of Wilson – cap 100 has have a hollow space inside to cover over the proximal end of the tampon body 110) in which a pharmaceutical composition is contained (Par. 208 of Wilson – “Mucoadhesive compositions are… placed… in… a cap, cup… that act as their delivery vehicles…”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lorenz et al. US 2018/0360739 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Lorenz).
Regarding claim 6, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 1. However, the combination does not disclose wherein the pharmaceutical composition further comprises cocoa oil.
Lorenz, in the same field of endeavor of composition application to the mucosal membrane (Abstract), teaches wherein the pharmaceutical composition further comprises cocoa oil (Par. 39 – “the inventive composition further comprises oil and/or butter. Optionally, the oil(s) and/or butter(s) is/are selected from the group consisting of oils and/or butters from… cocoa,…”).
Examiner notes that the composition of Lorenz also contains CBD for pain relief (Par. 58), and the composition can be impregnated into a tampon (Par. 63).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pharmaceutical composition of the combination to further have cocoa oil as taught by Lorenz, in order to produce the desired consistency of the composition (Par. 39 of Lorenz).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou in view of Lorenz as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 2005/0203032 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Yang et al).
Regarding claim 13, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou in view of Lorenz suggests the invention of claim 1. However, the combination does not disclose that the pharmaceutical composition further comprises beeswax.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor of compositions for vaginal treatment (Title), teaches that the pharmaceutical composition further comprises beeswax (Par. 49 – “Diverse additives are conveniently used as the emulsifier, and these include, but are not limited to… beeswax”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined device to further include beeswax into the composition as taught by Lorenz, in order to provide an emulsifier, emollient to the composition (Par. 49 of Yang). The beeswax can further reduce volatilization of other bioactive ingredients, such as CBD, and prolong the life of the drug before usage. One of ordinary skill in the art would also recognize that beeswax can reduce friction and abrasion upon insertion, providing more comfortability for tampon users.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Olson et al. US 3,683,912 A (previously cited, hereinafter Olson) and Wennerblom et al. US 3,712,305 A (previously cited, hereinafter Wennerblom).
Regarding claim 19, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 1. However, the combination does not disclose further comprising: a sock of a fiber-based material of thicker weave than the weave of fibers of the absorbent tampon body, the sock removably attached to the absorbent tampon body.
Olson, in the same field of endeavor of catamenial tampon (Col. 1, line 8-10), teaches further comprising:
a sock 12 (Fig. 1 – outer wrapper 12) of a fiber-based material (Col. 3, line 28-31 – “…outer wrapper of polypropylene fibers…”), the sock 12 (Fig. 1) removably attached to the absorbent tampon body 10 (Fig. 1 – the wrapper 12 is folded onto tampon body 10).
Wennerblom, in the same field of endeavor of tampon (Title), teaches further comprising:
a sock 17 (Fig. 9 – protective layer 17) of thicker weave (Col. 2, line 37-41 – “strong internal cohesion”) than the weave of fibers of the absorbent tampon body 15 (Fig. 9 – absorptive material layer 15, and Col. 2, line 37-41 – “a relatively thick inner layer of liquid absorptive material having a relatively weak internal cohesion and coated at the outer surface, at least, of the tampon, by a thin fibrous layer having a relatively strong internal cohesion ").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of the combination to further include a fiber-based sock that covers the tampon body as taught by Olson, since Olson observed that having a sock as an outer wrap displayed a reduction in insertion force (Col. 4, line 44-46 of Olson).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sock of the combination to further have the sock’s weave being thicker than the tampon body’s weave as taught by Wennerblom, in order to prevent any release of fibers from the inner layer (Col. 2, line 42 of Wennerblom) so that no loose filaments or fiber bundles can remain in vagina upon removing the tampon (Col. 7, line 27-28 of Wennerblom).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Olson and Osborn III et al. US 2006/0025740 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Osborn).
Regarding claim 23, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 1. However, the combination does not disclose a protective sock comprising hemp fiber wrapped around the absorbent tampon body.
Olson, in the same field of endeavor of catamenial tampon (Col. 1, line 8-10), teaches a protective sock 12 (Fig. 1 – outer wrapper 12) wrapped around the absorbent tampon body 10 (Fig. 1 and Fig. 4 – outer wrapper wraps the tampon body 10).
Osborn, in the same field of endeavor of tampon comprising an outer wrap (Title), teaches a protective sock 28 (Fig. 1 – outer wrap 28) comprising hemp fiber (Par. 26 – “the… outer wrap 28 material can be comprised of…natural fibers include… hemp…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of the combination to further include a sock that covers the tampon body as taught by Olson, since Olson observed that having a sock as an outer wrap displayed a reduction in insertion force (Col. 4, line 44-46 of Olson). Furthermore, it is known that the sock can provide another layer of protection of short and loose fibers from the absorbent core (Col. 1, line 15-20 of Olson).
It also would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the protective sock of the combination to further include hemp fiber as taught by Osborn, as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143. Here all elements of the claim are well known in the art of tampon, such as a tampon body and a protective sock made of hemp fiber. Modifying the combined device to have a protective sock comprising hemp fiber as taught by Osborn would not change the device’s function of being inserted into the vaginal canal and release the pharmaceutical composition. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the protective sock of the combination out of hemp fiber as taught by Osborn, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou in view of Olson in view of Osborn as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Wennerblom.
Regarding claim 24, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou in view of Olson in view of Osborn suggests the invention of claim 23. The combination further discloses wherein the protective sock 12 (Fig. 1 of Olson) is made of hemp fibers (Par. 26 of Osborn).
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose having a thicker weave than a weave of the hemp fibers of the absorbent tampon body.
Wennerblom, in the same field of endeavor of tampon (Title), teaches further comprising:
a sock 17 (Fig. 9 – protective layer 17) of thicker weave (Col. 2, line 37-41 – “strong internal cohesion”) than the weave of fibers of the absorbent tampon body 15 (Fig. 9 – absorptive material layer 15, and Col. 2, line 37-41 – “a relatively thick inner layer of liquid absorptive material having a relatively weak internal cohesion and coated at the outer surface, at least, of the tampon, by a thin fibrous layer having a relatively strong internal cohesion ").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sock of the combination to further have the sock’s weave being thicker than the tampon body’s weave as taught by Wennerblom, in order to prevent any release of fibers from the inner layer (Col. 2, line 42 of Wennerblom) so that no loose filaments or fiber bundles can remain in vagina upon removing the tampon (Col. 7, line 27-28 of Wennerblom).
Regarding claim 25, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou in view of Olson in view of Osborn in view of Wennerblom suggests the invention of claim 24. However, the combination does not currently disclose wherein the protective sock has ends that are sewn together.
Osborn, in the same field of endeavor of tampon comprising an outer wrap (Title), teaches wherein the protective sock 28 (Fig. 1) has ends that are sewn together (Par. 55 – “the closure mechanism 30 of the… outer wrap 28 can be any of the known variety including sewing. This could include gathering, such as bringing together of the outer wrap 28 at a longitudinal end to form a closure of the outer wrap 28 at that end…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ends of the protective sock of the combination to have them sewn together as taught by Osborn, in order to form a closure of the outer wrap/protective sock (Par. 55 of Osborn) and secure the protective sock onto the tampon body.
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tomsovic et al. US 2014/0115847 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Tomsovic).
Regarding claim 26, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses wherein the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 16D of Wilson) comprises strips of hemp fibers (Par. 43 of Schoeling – “Preferably, the tampons are formed predominantly of fibers…. A useful, non-limiting list of cellulosics includes natural fibers such as… hemp,…”; Examiner that once the modification is made as discussed in claim 1, the fiber of Schoeling will be incorporated into the device of Wilson, including the hemp fiber; thus the limitation is met).
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose strips of the hemp fibers that are rolled.
Tomsovic, in the same field of endeavor of tampons used for feminine hygiene (Par. 1), teaches wherein the absorbent tampon body comprises strips of the hemp fibers that are rolled (Par. 1 – “Both types [of digitally insertable tampon and applicator style tampon] are usually made by… rolling rectangular strips of absorbent material into a blank…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hemp fiber strips of the tampon body of the combination to have them rolled as taught by Tomsovic, as Tomsovic states that it is one of the two known techniques of forming a tampon body (Par. 1 of Tomsovic). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of an artisan to select between the two known techniques of rolling versus folding as taught by Tomsovic, in this instant case, the chosen method is rolling, and produce no new and unexpected result that is an absorbent tampon body.
Regarding claim 27, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses wherein the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 16D of Wilson) comprises strips of hemp fibers (Par. 43 of Schoeling – “Preferably, the tampons are formed predominantly of fibers…. A useful, non-limiting list of cellulosics includes natural fibers such as… hemp,…”; Examiner that once the modification is made as discussed in claim 1, the fiber of Schoeling will be incorporated into the device of Wilson, including the hemp fiber; thus the limitation is met).
However, the combination does not disclose strips of the hemp fibers that are folded.
Tomsovic, in the same field of endeavor of tampons used for feminine hygiene (Par. 1), teaches wherein the absorbent tampon body comprises strips of the hemp fibers that are folded (Par. 1 – “Both types [of digitally insertable tampon and applicator style tampon] are usually made by folding… rectangular strips of absorbent material into a blank…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hemp fiber strips of the tampon body of the combination to have them folded as taught by Tomsovic, as Tomsovic states that it is one of the two known techniques of forming a tampon body (Par. 1 of Tomsovic). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of an artisan to select between the two known techniques of rolling versus folding as taught by Tomsovic, in this instant case, the chosen method is rolling, and produce no new and unexpected result that is an absorbent tampon body.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou as applied to claim 41 above, and further in view of Gehling et al. US 2003/0045829 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Gehling).
Regarding claim 42, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 41. However, the combination does not disclose wherein the cylindrical cup is fixed to the absorbent tampon body with a water-soluble adhesive.
Gehling, in the same field of endeavor of therapeutic agent delivery tampon (title), teaches the plies from the wall of a tampon is fixed with a water-soluble adhesive (Par. 35 – “The plies forming the wall 24 can be held together by an adhesive, such as glue, or by heat, pressure, ultrasonics, etc. The adhesive can be either water-soluble…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of the combination to incorporate a water-soluble adhesive to join the components of a tampon as taught by Gehling, since “a water-soluble adhesive is preferred for environmental reasons in that the wall will quickly break apart when it is immersed in water” (Par. 35 by Gehling). Similarly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the cup attached to the tampon via a water-soluble adhesive will break down the adhesive to allow the composition in the cup to migrate within the cervical area, and upon disposal off the used tampon, any remaining parts of the attached cup will also “break apart and even dissolve in a relatively short period of time” (Par. 35 of Gehling).
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Manoryk et al. WO 2016133483 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Manoryk).
Regarding claim 44, Wilson in view of Schoeling in view of Touitou suggests the invention of claim 1. However, the combination does not currently disclose further comprising: a cellulose capsule on a proximal end of the absorbent tampon body, the cellulose capsule having rings and having a hollow chamber.
Wilson, in another embodiment, teaches a cellulose capsule 100 (Fig. 15A of Wilson, and (Par. 214-215 of Wilson – “The coating material is applied to the device as a… cap, cup… incorporated with the mucoadhesive composition…” and “Such coating may be… cellulose,…”) on a proximal end (Fig. 15A and Par. 181 of Wilson – cap 100 covering the proximal head of tampon device 110) of the absorbent tampon body 110 (Fig. 15A of Wilson), the cellulose capsule having a hollow chamber (Fig. 15A of Wilson shows that the cap 100 has to be a hollow chamber in order to cover the proximal end of the tampon device 110).
Manoryk, considered to be analogous art since the invention employs a tampon with a composition (Par. 149), teaches the capsule 93 (Fig. 25 – sac 93 alone) having ring 96 (Fig. 25 – waterproof rubber ring 96). Examiner notes that sac 93 can exist on its own as illustrated in Fig. 25, and sac 93 can be filled with a composition (Page 48, last paragraph named “Sac Corrugated”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the strip of the combination that currently extends spirally around the tampon body that provides intravaginal treatment, for a cylindrical cellulose cup covering the proximal end of the tampon body, also as taught by Wilson, since these mechanisms perform the same function of providing therapeutic treatment into the vaginal tissue via absorption. Simply substituting a composition configuration for another would yield the predicable result of effective pharmaceutical composition being delivered into the body system via absorption through the mucus lining. See MPEP 2143. Also, since Wilson teaches both embodiments, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the capsule of the tampon body of the combination to further have ring as taught by Manoryk, in order to provide a waterproof seal for the sac/capsule (Page 8, last paragraph of Manoryk named “Sac Corrugated” – waterproof rubber ring”). While the sac/capsule of Manoryk is attached to proximal head of a syringe (Fig. 25), Examiner contends that said sac can also be attached to a proximal head of a tampon body, given its considerably similar shape and operational mechanism, and since both composition-filled sac/capsule at the proximal head of any device ultimately performs the function of releasing the composition to treat an area on the body via absorption. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized that as the capsule and rings are able to form a hermetically sealed environment to ensure sterility during shelf life (Page 32, third paragraph of Manoryk).
It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicated the ring of the combination to include a plurality of rings, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. Furthermore, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate more than one ring for the capsule, in order to provide extra sealing effect between the capsule and the tampon body.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUYNH DAO LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781