DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 12-15, 19-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. (“Conductive pathway on cotton fabric created using solution with silver organometallic compound,” Mater.Res.Express, Vol. 4, 106305, pp. 1-10, published 24 Oct. 2017, hereinafter Campbell) in view of Lee (US Patent Application 2014/0027038 A1, published 30 Jan. 2014, hereinafter Lee) and evidence provided by Muralidhara and Sreenivasan (“Thermal degradation kinetic data of polyester, cotton, and polyester-cotton blended textile material,” World Appl.Sci.J., Vol. 11, pp. 184-189, published 2010, hereinafter Muralidhara).
Regarding claims 10, 12-15, 19-21, and 23, Campbell teaches a knitted cotton fabric made conductive by thermal decomposition of an organometallic silver compound by heating to 225°C, in which the resistance is 1.70 Ohms over 10 cm, and the minimum resistance is 0.29 Ohms over 2 cm after repeated 10% elongations for a conductive fabric with an initial resistance of 0.34 Ohms over 2 cm (Abstract). Campbell teaches that the resulting silver particles are embedded onto the individual fibers of the cotton, including fibers on the interior of the fabric (Figure 4).
It is the examiner’s position that the use of a syringe to apply the organometallic silver compound corresponds to printing on the cotton (page 2, Metallizing the cotton section, 4th paragraph and Figure 2). Campbell also teaches that the cotton changes color during heating of the silver compound (page 2, Metallizing the cotton section, 5th paragraph), and Figure 2), and the silver compound may soak through the fabric (page 8, Adjusting the conductivity of cotton fabric section, 2nd paragraph). Thus, it is the examiner’s position that Campbell teaches the silver compound may be applied by a dyeing process.
Campbell does not disclose the inclusion of copper, gold, palladium, or platinum in the organometallic compound containing silver.
Lee teaches the production of a conductive cotton fiber or fabric by treating the fiber or fabric with a metallic precursor (metal complex) (Abstract). Lee teaches the metal in the metallic precursor may be a combination of silver and copper, gold, palladium, or platinum (paragraph 0026).
Given that Campbell and Lee are drawn to conductive cotton fabrics treated with metal precursors and given that Lee teaches the equivalence and interchangeability of a silver in a metal precursor and a mixture of metals in a metal precursor comprising the claimed mixture of metals, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mixture of metals as taught by Lee in the metallic precursor in the conductive cotton fabric taught by Campbell. Since Campbell and Lee are both drawn to conductive cotton fabrics treated with metal precursors, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using a mixture of metals comprising the claimed mixture of metals as taught by Lee in the metal precursor for the conductive cotton fabric taught by Campbell, since Lee teaches that a mixture of metals in a metal precursor is functionally equivalent to just silver in a metal precursor. Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the mixture of metals taught by Lee and silver alone can be substituted one for the other in the metal precursor for the conductive cotton fabric taught by Campbell.
As evidenced by Muralidhara, cotton has a degradation onset temperature of about 310⁰C (page 187, 2nd column, Thermogravimetric analysis of control samples section, 1st paragraph).
It is the examiner’s position that Campbell in view of Lee’s invention would maintain the claimed resistance over 100 cycles, given the results shown on Figure 10.
Regarding claim 20, Campbell in view of Lee teaches the elements of claim 10, and as presented above Campbell teaches applying the organometallic silver compound by printing.
However, Campbell also teaches that the cotton changes color during heating of the silver compound (page 2, Metallizing the cotton section, 5th paragraph), and Figure 2), the silver compound may soak through the fabric (page 8, Adjusting the conductivity of cotton fabric section, 2nd paragraph), and the amount of silver compound applied to the cotton is related to the amount of silver compound applied to the cotton (page 8, Adjusting the conductivity of cotton fabric section, 2nd paragraph). Thus, it is the examiner’s position that Campbell teaches the silver compound may be applied by a dyeing process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 Oct. 2025 have been fully considered. New claim rejections are presented above, so this Office Action is Non-Final.
Applicant amended claim 10 and cancelled claim 17.
Conclusion
/JOHN VINCENT LAWLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787