Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 15, 17 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS document, MediaTek R2-1810561, submitted on 7/21/2022 (hereinafter MediaTek) in view of LI (US 20210274561).
Referring to claim 1, MediaTek discloses a method for Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring performed by a terminal (FIG. 2, section 2.1, “PDCCH monitoring”, “UE monitors paging PDCCH monitoring occasions”.), comprising:
determining a time domain position of at least one Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) in at least one SSB group transmitted by a network within a first time window (FIG. 2, Section 2.1, line 3-5, “Whether an SSB is transmitted or not is indicated by the field (a bitmap) SSB-PositionInBurst”, “UE monitors paging PDCCH monitoring occasions”. Note that the field SSB-PositionInBurst indicates when a SSB is transmitted. Further, note that figure 2 depicts eight SSB burst duration, e.g., SSB#0 to SSB#7, each with its own timeslot. Thus, the time domain position (which is the timeslot or burst time) of each SSB is determined. With regards to a “first time window”, the window of the time in figure 1 that shows the eight SSB bursts reads on the “first time window”), wherein each SSB group is a predefined set of several SSBs (MediaTek, FIG. 2 and Section 2.1, note that figure 2 shows one of the SSB groups (the box that shows SSB#0 – SSB#7) such that the SSB group is a predefined set of several SSBs, e.g., eighth SSBs counting from SSB#0-SSB#7),
determining, based on the preset association and in each PDCCH monitoring occasion group within a second time window, at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion at which monitoring needs to be performed (FIG. 2, and section 2.1, “where the paging occasion burst duration of 8 paging occasions correspond to the second time window”, “in case that some SSBs are not transmitted, there can be different interpretations to the association between SSB and paging PDCCH monitoring occasion”, note that there are two associations between SSB and paging PDCCH monitoring occasion) so as to monitor the at least one PDCCH at the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion in each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups within the second time window (FIG. 3, and Section 2.1, under “Proposal 1, “UE determines its PO monitoring behavior based on ssb-PositionInBurst”. Note that figure 3 shows PDCCH monitoring occasion in every frame and further note that monitoring occasion of PDCCH is the intended use of the determining PDCCH monitoring occasion group),
wherein each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups is a predefined set of several PDCCH monitoring occasions (MediaTek, FIG. 2 and Section 2.1, note that figure 2 shows a PDCCH monitoring occasion group is a predefined set of several PDCCH monitoring occasions. Specifically, the group depicted in figure 2.a, shows a PDCCH monitoring occasion group of eight predefined set of PDCCH monitoring occasions numbered PO#0 - PO#7. Further or alternatively, FIG. 3 depicts a group of PDCCH monitoring occasion group which is a predefined set of four PDCCH monitoring occasions); and
the at least one SSB in the at least one SSB group has the preset association with the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion in each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups within the second time window,
wherein the preset association refers to an association between an n-th SSB in the SSB group and [[an]] an n-th PDCCH monitoring occasion in each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups, where n is an integer (See MediaTek, Section 2.1, Under “Paging PDCCH monitoring when some SSBs are not transmitted”. See the Figure 2, and section 2.1 lines 1-8, “Uncompressed association: SSBs that are not transmitted are indexed”, “Compressed association: SSBs that are not transmitted are not indexed”. See Figure 2. In figure 2 (a) describes that a group of eight SSBs are associated with eight PDCCH monitoring occasions in each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups within a time window. Further, note that SSBs are numbered form #0-#7 and PDCCH POs are also numbered from #0 - #7. Further, note that SSB#7 is mapped to PO#7, therefore each of the SSBs are associated with a corresponding PDCCH. This mapping of SSB #0-#7 to PDCCH PO #0-#7 read on the limitation “association between an n-th SSB in the SSB group and an n-th PDCCH monitoring occasion in each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups, where n is an integer”, note that The amended claims still are interpreted such that the relationship between SSB and PO are in a "one-to-one" association, i.e., one SSB corresponds to one PO, and one skilled in the art can derive the claimed relationship between SSB and PO in the claim language from the SSB-PO association found in MediaTeK).
MediaTek does not explicitly disclose the first time window is predefined.
In an analogous art, LI discloses the first time window is predefined (FIG. 2 and Par. 411, “preset time window based on the position”, “By receiving an SSB from a base station, detecting a set signal configured to determine an SSB index in the SSB to obtain a position where the set signal is located, acquiring a signal group in a preset time window based on the position where the set signal is located”, note that the time window is preset as shown in Fig. 2, which reads on predefined first time window).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of MediaTek by incorporating the teachings of LI so that the, SSB window is preconfigured for specific size, for the purpose using communication resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 3, the combination of MediaTek/LI discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: before determining the time domain position of the at least one SSB in the at least one SSB group transmitted by the network within the first time window, detecting the at least one SSB transmitted by the network within the first time window (MediaTek, FIG. 2 and Section 2.1, “with Uncompressed association UE can simply skip the index of a SSB and corresponding PO if it does not receive the SSB”. Note that in figure 2 a frame or time window of eight SSBs are transmitted to UE, the UE must detect the first SSB (e.g., SSB #0) before an association is determined based on SSB #2 and #3).
Referring to claim 5, the combination of MediaTek/LI discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a start time of the first time window is earlier than or equal to a start time of the second time window (MediaTek, FIG. 2 and Section 2.1, note that figure 2 shows a time a first time window duration after another time window duration. Also figure 3 shows PDCCH Monitoring windows 0, 1, 2 and 3, where one start time of a first time window comes before a second or next start time of another window).
Claims 15 and 17 recite features analogous to the features of claims 1 and 3 respectively, except that claim 15 and 17 is apparatus claims e.g., a UE with processors and memory and circuitries, while claims 1 and 3 are method claims performed by an apparatus, e.g., a UE. The applied prior art MediaTek clearly discloses such apparatus, as a UE, which “monitors PO”, “PDCCH monitoring occasions starting from 1st PDCCH . . . 2nd PO”. Thus, the UE of MediaTek would necessarily comprise the transmitter and processing elements and circuitries to perform steps claimed in both claims 1, 3 and also claims 15 and 17. Therefore, claims 15 and 17 are is rejected for the same reason as set forth above in the rejection of claims 1 and 3.
Claim 29 recites features analogous to the features of claim 1, but it is directed to a non-transitory storage medium having computer instructions stored therein to perform the method of claim 1. The UE disclosed in MediaTec also includes a memory that store instruction for its operations. See section 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claim 30 recites features analogous to the features of claim 1, but it is directed to a terminal to perform the method of claim 1. The UE disclosed in MediaTec also includes a UE which reads on the terminal. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claim(s) 7, 13, 31 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS document, MediaTek R2-1810561, submitted on 7/21/2022 (hereinafter MediaTek) ) in view of Chakraborty (US 2020/0008131) and further in view of LI (US 20210274561).
Referring to claim 7, MediaTek discloses method for Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) indicating in an unlicensed spectrum, performed by a base station (FIG. 2, section 2.1, “PDCCH monitoring”, “UE monitors paging PDCCH monitoring occasions”, note that the UE communicates with the base station) and comprising:
determining a time domain position of at least one Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) in at least one SSB group within a first time window, wherein each SSB group is a predefined set of several SSBs (FIG. 2, Section 2.1, line 3-5, “Whether an SSB is transmitted or not is indicated by the field (a bitmap) SSB-PositionInBurst”, “UE monitors paging PDCCH monitoring occasions”. Note that the field SSB-PositionInBurst indicates when a SSB is transmitted. Further, note that figure 2 depicts eight SSB burst duration, e.g., SSB#0 to SSB#7, each with its own timeslot. Thus, the time domain position (which is the timeslot or burst time) of each SSB is determined. With regards to a “first time window”, the window of the time in figure 1 that shows the eight SSB bursts reads on the “first time window”), wherein each SSB group is a predefined set of several SSBs (MediaTek, FIG. 2 and Section 2.1, note that figure 2 shows one of the SSB groups (the box that shows SSB#0 – SSB#7) such that the SSB group is a predefined set of several SSBs, e.g., eighth SSBs counting from SSB#0-SSB#7)
determining PDCCH monitoring occasion groups in a second time window, wherein each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups is a predefined set of several PDCCH monitoring occasions (FIG. 2, and section 2.1, “where the paging occasion burst duration of 8 paging occasions correspond to the second time window”, “in case that some SSBs are not transmitted, there can be different interpretations to the association between SSB and paging PDCCH monitoring occasion”, note that there are two associations between SSB and paging PDCCH monitoring occasion); and
determining at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion that needs to be used in each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups based on a preset association, so that a User Equipment (UE) monitors at least one PDCCH at the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion in each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups (FIG. 3, and Section 2.1, under “Proposal 1, “UE determines its PO monitoring behavior based on ssb-PositionInBurst”. Note that figure 3 shows PDCCH monitoring occasion in every frame and further note that monitoring occasion of PDCCH is the intended use of the determining PDCCH monitoring occasion group), wherein the at least one SSB in the at least one SSB group has the preset association with the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion in each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups within the second time window, and the preset association refers to an association between [[one]]an n-th SSB in the SSB group andan n-th PDCCH monitoring occasion[[s]] each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups, where n is an integer (MediaTek, FIG. 2 and Section 2.1, note that figure 2 shows a PDCCH monitoring occasion group is a predefined set of several PDCCH monitoring occasions. Specifically, the group depicted in figure 2.a, shows a PDCCH monitoring occasion group of eight predefined set of PDCCH monitoring occasions numbered PO#0 - PO#7. Further or alternatively, FIG. 3 depicts a group of PDCCH monitoring occasion group which is a predefined set of four PDCCH monitoring occasions. Also Section 2.1, Under “Paging PDCCH monitoring when some SSBs are not transmitted”. See the Figure 2, and section 2.1 lines 1-8, “Uncompressed association: SSBs that are not transmitted are indexed”, “Compressed association: SSBs that are not transmitted are not indexed”. See Figure 2. In figure 2 (a) describes that a group of eight SSBs are associated with eight PDCCH monitoring occasions in each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups within a time window. Further, note that SSBs are numbered form #0-#7 and PDCCH POs are also numbered from #0 - #7. Further, note that SSB#7 is mapped to PO#7, therefore each of the SSBs are associated with a corresponding PDCCH. This mapping of SSB #0-#7 to PDCCH PO #0-#7 read on the limitation “association between an n-th SSB in the SSB group and an n-th PDCCH monitoring occasion in each of the PDCCH monitoring occasion groups, where n is an integer”, note that The amended claims still are interpreted such that the relationship between SSB and PO are in a "one-to-one" association, i.e., one SSB corresponds to one PO, and one skilled in the art can derive the claimed relationship between SSB and PO in the claim language from the SSB-PO association found in MediaTeK )
MediaTek does not explicitly disclose the first time window is predefined.
In an analogous art, LI discloses the first time window is predefined (FIG. 2 and Par. 411, “preset time window based on the position”, “By receiving an SSB from a base station, detecting a set signal configured to determine an SSB index in the SSB to obtain a position where the set signal is located, acquiring a signal group in a preset time window based on the position where the set signal is located”, note that the time window is preset as shown in Fig. 2, which reads on predefined first time window).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of MediaTek by incorporating the teachings of LI so that the, SSB window is preconfigured for specific size, for the purpose using communication resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
The above combination does not explicitly disclose monitoring in unlicensed spectrum.
However, one skilled in the art would recognize that the disclosure above by MediaTek can be in both licensed and unlicensed spectrum and it is well-known and convention in the art, as disclosed by Chakraborty below.
In an analogous art, Chakraborty discloses the PDCCH monitoring in unlicensed spectrum (Par. 31, “mechanisms for improving an initial network access latency in a network operating over a DL unlicensed band”. “A BS may transmit broadcast system information in a DL unlicensed band during preconfigured discovery time windows provided that the BS can gain access to the DL unlicensed band. The broadcast system information may include synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) . . . SSB may indicate monitoring occasions or opportunities for RMSI”. Note that SSB and PDCCH monitoring occasion is in unlicensed band).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of MediaTek by incorporating the teachings of Chakraborty so that the PDCCH monitoring is in unlicensed spectrum, for the purpose of increasing available communication resources where unlicensed spectrum can be used. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 13, the combination of MediaTek/LI discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein a start time of the first time window is earlier than or equal to a start time of the second time window (MediaTek, FIG. 2 and Section 2.1, note that figure 2 shows a time a first time window duration after another time window duration. Also figure 3 shows PDCCH Monitoring windows 0, 1, 2 and 3, where one start time of a first time window comes before a second or next start time of another window).
Claim 31 recites features analogous to the features of claim 7, except that claim 31 is directed to a base station and claim 7 is a method claim performed by a base station. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claim 34 recites features analogous to the features of claim 7, but it is directed to a storage medium having computer instructions stored therein to perform the method of claim 7. The network element disclosed in MediaTec must also include a processor and memory for storing instruction for performing complex operations. See section 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS document, MediaTek R2-1810561, submitted on 7/21/2022 (hereinafter MediaTek) in view of LI (US 20210274561), in view of Chakraborty (US 2020/0008131), further in view of IDS document submitted on 7/21/2022, HUAWEI “NR licensed assisted and standalone operation” (hereinafter HUAWEI).
Referring to claim 9, the combination of MediaTek/LI/Chakraborty discloses the method according to claim 7, but is silent on determining a time domain position of at least one SSB group within a first time window comprises: in the first time window, acquiring a channel occupancy time of the unlicensed spectrum based on LBT mechanism to determine the time domain position of the at least one SSB group within the first time window.
In an analogous art, HUAWEI discloses determining a time domain position of at least one SSB group within a first time window comprises: in the first time window, acquiring a channel occupancy time of the unlicensed spectrum based on LBT mechanism to determine the time domain position of the at least one SSB group within the first time window (Section 3.1, “How many SSBs and Maximum Channel Occupancy Time (MCT) after a successful LBT”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of HUAWEI, as claimed, for the purpose of coordinating the scheduling of the resources. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 10, the combination of MediaTek/LI/Chakraborty/HUAWEI discloses the method according to claim 9, further comprising: after determining the time domain position of the at least one SSB in the at least one SSB group within the first time window, transmitting the at least one SSB to the UE within the first time window (MediaTek, FIG. 2 and Section 2.1, “with Uncompressed association UE can simply skip the index of a SSB and corresponding PO if it does not receive the SSB”. Note that in figure 2 a frame or time window of eight SSBs are transmitted to UE, the UE must detect the first SSB (e.g., SSB #0) before an association is determined based on SSB #2 and #3).
Referring to claim 11, the combination of MediaTek/Chakraborty LI discloses the method according to claim 7, but the combination is silent on wherein determining a time domain position of at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion group in a second time window comprises: in the second time window, acquiring a channel occupancy time of an unlicensed spectrum based on LBT mechanism to determine the time domain position of the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion group in the second time window.
HUAWEI discloses determining a time domain position of at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion group in a second time window comprises: in the second time window, acquiring a channel occupancy time of an unlicensed spectrum based on LBT mechanism to determine the time domain position of the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion group in the second time window (Section 3.1, “How many SSBs and Maximum Channel Occupancy Time (MCT) after a successful LBT”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of HUAWEI, as claimed, for the purpose of coordinating the scheduling of the resources. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 12/08/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Applicant is invited to contact examiner and discuss claim amendments in order to place claims in condition for allowance and thereby expedite prosecution.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FRED A CASCA whose telephone number is (571)272-7918. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 9 to 5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/FRED A CASCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644