DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-5, 14, 16, 19, 21, 25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse (of Species F, Figs 40-46) in the reply filed on 10/20/2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous rejections in view of Raymond.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Alexander was reinterpreted in view of applicant’s amendments. However, Examiner notes that applicant argues that Alexander folds and therefore does not disclose that it radially expands. This is not persuasive the examiner makes it clear in the rejection that the “unexpanded position” is the position shown in Fig 1c, when it is already unfolded, and the expanded position is shown in Fig 1d. In other words, the “unexpanded position” is NOT the position shown in Fig 1a and that after “folding”, as shown in Fig 1c, can be considered the “unexpanded position.” Likewise applicant argues makes arguments against DiPoto but that argument is directed to the embodiment as shown in Figs 1-6 with slot 48 and pins 30, 44. However, the embodiment of Fig 193a-193b of DiPoto was relied upon. As such, the arguments against DiPoto is moot and the rejection of Alexander in view of DiPoto is deemed proper. New rejections for claims 15, 18, 26 were made in view of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “actuator assembly” in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10-13, 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander US 2013/0190558 in view of Di Poto US 2005/0245942.
Regarding Claim 1, Alexander discloses a visualization device (#10, Figs 1a-1d) comprising:
an expandable retractor assembly (Figs 1a-d) having a visualization channel (#32), the retractor assembly comprising a first retractor member (#14 or #16) and a second retractor member (#12), and the retractor assembly configured to be coupled to an actuator assembly configured to actuate the retractor assembly (the examiner notes that the actuator assembly is functionally recited and not part of the claimed invention and that an actuator assembly such as a tool, like forceps or other type of the device can be used to actuate/move the retractor members),
wherein the retraction assembly transitions from an unexpanded position (position shown in Fig 1c) to an expanded position (position shown in Fig 1d),
wherein the retractor assembly expands uniformly radially outward along a full length of the assembly where expansion is taken along multiple radial directions (Fig 1c-1d, the entire length is uniformly radially expanded radially in multiple radial directions, as indicated by the dotted lines in the Fig below) such that a diameter of the assembly is greater in an expanded position (diameter as seen in Fig 1d, paragraph 60) than in an unexpanded position (diameter as seen in Fig 1c).
Regarding Claim 6, Alexander discloses wherein the first retractor member is configured to move with respect to the second retractor member or the second retractor member is configured to move with respect to the first retractor member (as seen in Fig 1c-1d, paragraph 60-61).
Regarding Claim 8, Alexander discloses the first retractor member and the second retractor member are configured to move with respect to each other (as seen in Fig 1c-1d, paragraph 60-61).
Regarding Claim 10, Alexander discloses the first retractor member (#14 or #16) is positioned within the second retractor member (#12)(as seen in Figs 1c-1d).
Regarding Claim 11, Alexander discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the second retractor member (#12) is a sheath (Figs 1a-1d #12 is a “c” shaped sheath).
Regarding Claim 12-13, Alexander discloses the first retractor member forms the visualization channel (as seen in Fig 1c-1d)(paragraph 59), a surface (inner or interior surface of #14 or #16) of the first retractor member forms the visualization channel (Fig 1c-1d).
Alexander discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 1 where an expandable joint (#8) includes “slider rails” (not shown) that is used to expand the device (paragraph 60, Fig 1c-1d, as indicated by the solid arrows) but does not disclose the first retractor member comprising a pin coupled thereto, the second retractor member defining a slot for receiving the pin, wherein when the retractor assembly transitions from an unexpanded state to an expanded state, the pin slides within the slot from a first position to a second position.
DiPoto discloses a similar visualization device (#9182, Figs 193a-193b) comprising:
an expandable retractor assembly (Fig 193a-193b) having a visualization channel (channel extending through #9182, Fig 193a-193b), the retractor assembly comprising a first retractor member (#9184) and a second retractor member (#9186),
a pin (#9190) and a slot (#9188),
wherein the pin is coupled to the first retractor member (Fig 193a-193b, paragraph 664) and the slot is defined in the second retractor member and configured to receive the pin (Fig 193a-193b, paragraph 664), such that when the retractor assembly transitions from an unexpanded state to an expanded state, the pin slides within the slot from a first position (as seen in Fig 193a) to a second position (as seen in Fig 193b, paragraph 664), where the pin and slot allows helps guide expansion of the visualization device (paragraph 664).
It would have been obvious to modify to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expandable joint (#8) of Alexander to have the pin and slot, where the pin is coupled to the first retractor member and the slot is defined in the second retractor member in view of DiPoto above because where the pin and slot allows helps guide expansion of the visualization device, where the pin and slot provide a rail type structure that aids in expansion. Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill recognizes that the slot would be extend generally linear such that the retractor members of Alexander is able to slide relative to each other to affect a uniform radial expansion (as seen in Fig 1c-1d of Alexander) along its full length.
Regarding Claim 38, Alexander as modified discloses the slot is linear (as discussed above in the modification in view of DiPoto, Fig 193a-193b in DiPito).
Regarding Claim 37, Alexander as modified discloses the claimed invention as discussed above where the pin and slot would be located along the length of the retractor assembly (see rejection for claim 1 above) but does not disclose the pin and slot are located centrally along the length of the retractor assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the pin and slot centrally along the length of the retractor assembly since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art and being placed centrally is one of a finite number of locations (located proximally, centrally or distally) to place the pin and slot. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B). The examiner notes that current specification does not provide a criticality for the placement of the pin and slot.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander US 2013/0190558 and Di Poto US 2005/0245942, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Druma US 2015/0366583.
Alexander discloses the claimed invention as discussed above where the device can be used in the pelvic area and the spine, such as the sacrum (paragraph 8) but does not disclose wherein the visualization device is configured for insertion into a surgical site and the surgical site is in the cervical spine.
Druma discloses an expandable visualization device (as seen in Figs 1-3)(paragraph 54) that can be used in the pelvic region, sacrum region or other spinal areas such as the cervical spine such that the device can be used for visualization of different anatomies to treat different conditions (paragraph 56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Alexander as modified to be sized such that it can be configured for insertion into a surgical site and the surgical site is in the cervical spine because it is known in the art to use a visualization device on other anatomies such as the cervical spine to treat other conditions. In other words, with the modification, the device of Alexander as modified has increased utility as it can be used to provide visualization and treatment to other parts of the body, such as the cervical spine.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander US 2013/0190558 and Di Poto US 2005/0245942
Regarding Claim 15, Alexander discloses a system comprising:
a visualization device (#10, Figs 1a-1d) comprising an expandable retractor assembly (Fig 1c-1d) having a visualization channel (#32), the retractor assembly comprising a first retractor member (#14 or #16) and a second retractor member (#12),
wherein when the retractor assembly transitions from an unexpanded position (position shown in Fig 1c) to an expanded position (position shown in Fig 1d),
the retractor assembly is configured to expand uniformly radially outward along a full length of the assembly where expansion is taken along multiple radial directions (Fig 1c-1d, the entire length is uniformly radially expanded radially in multiple radial directions, as indicated by the dotted lines in the Fig below) such that a diameter of the assembly is greater in an expanded position (diameter as seen in Fig 1d, paragraph 60) than in an unexpanded position (diameter as seen in Fig 1c).
Alexander discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 1 where an expandable joint (#8) includes “slider rails” (not shown) that is used to expand the device (paragraph 60, Fig 1c-1d, as indicated by the solid arrows) but does not disclose the first retractor member comprising a pin coupled thereto and a second retractor member defining a slot for receiving the pin; and an actuator assembly, wherein the actuator assembly is configured to be rotated with respect to the retractor assembly, wherein when the retractor assembly transitions from an unexpanded position to an expanded position, the pin slides within the slot from a first position to a second position, and wherein the retractor assembly couples to the actuator assembly to actuate the retractor assembly to expand uniformly radially outward along a full length of the assembly where expansion is taken along multiple radial directions such that a diameter of the assembly is greater in the expanded position than in the unexpanded position.
DiPoto discloses a similar visualization device (#9182, Figs 193a-193b) comprising:
an expandable retractor assembly (Fig 193a-193b) having a visualization channel (channel extending through #9182, Fig 193a-193b), the retractor assembly comprising a first retractor member (#9184) and a second retractor member (#9186),
a pin (#9190) and a slot (#9188),
wherein the pin is coupled to the first retractor member (Fig 193a-193b, paragraph 664) and the slot is defined in the second retractor member and configured to receive the pin (Fig 193a-193b, paragraph 664), such that when the retractor assembly transitions from an unexpanded state to an expanded state, the pin slides within the slot from a first position (as seen in Fig 193a) to a second position (as seen in Fig 193b, paragraph 664), where the pin and slot allows helps guide expansion of the visualization device (paragraph 664).
It would have been obvious to modify to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expandable joint (#8) of Alexander to have the pin and slot, where the pin is coupled to the first retractor member and the slot is defined in the second retractor member in view of DiPoto above because where the pin and slot allows helps guide expansion of the visualization device, where the pin and slot provide a rail type structure that aids in expansion. Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill recognizes that the slot would be extend generally linear such that the retractor members of Alexander is able to slide relative to each other to effect a uniform radial expansion (as seen in Fig 1c-1d of Alexander) along its full length.
DiPoto also discloses the use of an actuator assembly (#200, Fig 16-17), wherein the actuator assembly is configured to be rotated with respect to a retractor assembly (#24, Fig 4-6 having a pin #44 and slot #48, paragraph 320) to expand the retractor assembly radially (paragraph 338, Figs 18-19, where the actuator assembly pushes the retractor assembly apart and expands radially and guided by the pin and slot arrangement).
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Alexander as modified to include an actuator assembly in view of additional teachings of DiPoto because this provides a known type of device to expand a visualization device. With the modification, the examiner notes that when the actuator assembly is deployed, the outward force would cause the retractor members to move apart and because of the pin and slot arrangement, the expansion would continue to expand uniformly, radially outward in multiple radial directions (as discussed above).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander US 2013/0190558 and Di Poto US 2005/0245942
Regarding Claim 26, Alexander discloses a method of using a visualization device in a surgical site comprising:
inserting at least a portion of an expandable retractor assembly (#10, Fig 1a-1c) into an incision and positioning adjacent the surgical site (paragraph 61), the retractor assembly comprising a first retractor member (#14 or #16) and a second retractor member (#12);
expanding the retractor assembly uniformly radially outward along its full length where expansion is taken along multiple radial directions (after unfolding as seen in Fig 1c, the retractor assembly is expanded, paragraph 60-61, the entire length is uniformly radially expanded radially in multiple radial directions, as indicated by the dotted lines in the Fig below)’ and
expanding a visualization channel of the retractor assembly extending from a proximal end to a distal end of the retractor assembly (Fig 1c-1d, paragraph 60-61).
Alexander discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 1 where an expandable joint (#8) includes “slider rails” (not shown) that is used to expand the device (paragraph 60, Fig 1c-1d, as indicated by the solid arrows) but does not disclose the retractor assembly comprising a first retractor member comprising a pin coupled thereto and a second retractor member defining a slot for receiving the pin; engaging an actuator assembly with the expandable retractor assembly; wherein when the retractor assembly transitions from an unexpanded position to an expanded position, the pin slides within the slot from a first position to a second position.
DiPoto discloses a similar visualization device (#9182, Figs 193a-193b) comprising:
an expandable retractor assembly (Fig 193a-193b) having a visualization channel (channel extending through #9182, Fig 193a-193b), the retractor assembly comprising a first retractor member (#9184) and a second retractor member (#9186),
a pin (#9190) and a slot (#9188),
wherein the pin is coupled to the first retractor member (Fig 193a-193b, paragraph 664) and the slot is defined in the second retractor member and configured to receive the pin (Fig 193a-193b, paragraph 664), such that when the retractor assembly transitions from an unexpanded state to an expanded state, the pin slides within the slot from a first position (as seen in Fig 193a) to a second position (as seen in Fig 193b, paragraph 664), where the pin and slot allows helps guide expansion of the visualization device (paragraph 664).
It would have been obvious to modify to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expandable joint (#8) of Alexander to have the pin and slot, where the pin is coupled to the first retractor member and the slot is defined in the second retractor member in view of DiPoto above because where the pin and slot allows helps guide expansion of the visualization device, where the pin and slot provide a rail type structure that aids in expansion. Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill recognizes that the slot would be extend generally linear such that the retractor members of Alexander is able to slide relative to each other to affect a uniform radial expansion (as seen in Fig 1c-1d of Alexander) along its full length.
DiPoto also discloses the use of an actuator assembly (#200, Fig 16-17), wherein the actuator assembly is configured to be rotated with respect to a retractor assembly (#24, Fig 4-6 having a pin #44 and slot #48, paragraph 320) to expand the retractor assembly radially (paragraph 338, Figs 18-19, where the actuator assembly pushes the retractor assembly apart and expands radially and guided by the pin and slot arrangement).
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Alexander as modified to include an actuator assembly in view of additional teachings of DiPoto because this provides a known type of device to expand a visualization device. With the modification, the examiner notes that when the actuator assembly is deployed, the outward force would cause the retractor members to move apart and because of the pin and slot arrangement, the expansion would continue to expand uniformly, radially outward in multiple radial directions (as discussed above).
Conclusion
/JAN CHRISTOPHER L MERENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773