This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/17/2025.
Status of claims:
- Claims 5-6, 12 and 15-16 were canceled.
- Claims 1, 7-9, 13, and 17-18 are amended.
- Claims 1-4, 7-11, 13-14, and 17-22 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant made the following arguments:
Regarding the 112(b) rejections: The rejections are withdrawn in view of Applicant amended to the claims.
Regarding the 103 rejections: Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended limitations of the claims have been considered in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baccarella-Garcia (US 2011/0224999), hereinafter “Baccarella”, in view of Allen et al., (JP 2003216641A), hereinafter “Allen”, and Stollmeyer et al., (US 20140101067), hereinafter “Stollmeyer”, and further in view of Sherman (US 10366376).
As per claim 1, Baccarella discloses a method to generate live bi-directional video/audio feed between a consumer and a service provider (abstract, pars. [0007] & [0017], [0035], a method for generating live two way video feed between a participating member (consumer) and an instruction (service provider)), comprising:
- obtaining a consumer query (par. [0035]-[0036], obtaining an initial evaluation survey (consumer query), wherein a member-accessible internet site which provides live one-way/and two-way, feeds to multiple live exercise classes, wherein the user click on 11 areas of interest);
- determining available service providers in the list of service providers (pars. [0035]-[0036], [0047], determining or analyzing an appropriate type and level of exercise program based on the initial evaluation survey);
- generating one or more service categories based on the available service providers, each service category including one or more service providers of the available service providers that provide services corresponding to the consumer (pars. [0035]-[0036], [0047], generate 11 areas of interest (one or more service categories) to click on includes fitness instructors (one or more service providers) that provides a 3 days “justWannaBeFit retreat which includes fitness, healthy eating and stress management (services) to the participating member upon receiving the initial evaluation survey); insurance
- displaying to the consumer the one or more service categories (see pars. Fig.9, pars. [0035]-[0036], [0047], LJWBF website displaying) accessible to the participating member clicks on the 11 areas of interest via a home computer equipment);
- receiving a consumer input effective to select a service category from the one or more service categories (see fig.9, pars. [0035]-[0036] and [0038], the participating member clicks on (consumer input to select a service (service category) from the 11 areas of interest);
- prioritizing the one or more service providers of the selected service category for the consumer based on at least one of a provider subscription level, a consumer subscription level, a quality of provider rating, a timely responsiveness of the provider, a skill of the provider associated with the consumer query, or a skill of the provider associated with the selected service category (pars. [0047] and [0013], who are pulled in most (priority) of the members are invited to teach the classes, wherein the quality of provider rating is based on the fitness instructors’ training expertise, who are more selected often by the members);
- choosing a service provider from one or more service providers of the selected service category based on the prioritization of the one or more service providers of the selected service category for the consumer (pars. [0018 and [0038], but each class will cost members a fee per class, membership fees for unlimited access to classes can be assessed, wherein the participating member pay fees for personal trainer (service provider) from the fitness instructors of the fitness Training);
- initiating a live bi-directional video/audio feed between the consumer and the chosen service provider (par. [0035]-[0036], and [0050], a video stream module manages streaming a live two-way video feed between the participating member and the personal trainer), the live bi-directional video/audio feed initially configured to occur for a first pre-determined duration of time (pars. [0018] and [0038], a video stream module manages STREAMING a LIVE TWO_WAY VIDEO feed between the participating member and the personal trainer, wherein all exercise classes are pre-recorded are displayed to select from, wherein a dynamic schedule by type, level, DURATION, and TIME of live classes will be available throughout the day for members to choose from); and
However, Baccarella does not explicitly disclose the limitations “augmenting the consumer query by an additional word comprising a related word; and comparing the consumer query and the additional word to a database”
On the other hand, Allen discloses augmenting the consumer query by an additional word comprising a related word (see fig.3, S3 and S5.sub.1,2 of (FIG. 8) CIP augments the request by adding additional information to the request to indicate the context of the customer); and
- comparing the consumer query and the additional word to a database (see fig.3, perform a first analysis on the expanded request and, after the first analysis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Baccarella to augment the consumer query by an additional word comprising a related word and compare the consumer query and the additional word to a database, in order to reduce the amount of information the user has to consider, on the Internet or other search systems.
Neither Baccarella nor Allen discloses the limitation “obtaining a list of service providers based on the consumer query”.
On the other hand, Stollmeyer discloses obtaining a list of service providers based on the consumer query (abstract & par. [0064], [0057], receiving a listing of wellness providers from a wellness program operator); determining available service providers in the list of service providers (abstract & par. [0057]-[0058], [0064], & [0023] the wellness providers are identified based on their geo-location near the premises of an employer, wherein the listing identifying wellness providers each offering a wellness service and being located within a region geographically proximate to a predetermined geo-location. In order to locate these services, the employer can be referred to a website and, using a zip code for example, identify a list of wellness service providers located within their area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify the combined system of discloses the claimed cited reference to include a list of service providers based on the consumer query as disclosed by Stollmeyer for the purpose of allowing greater control and facilitating the selection of health or wellness service providers by user incentives and reduce costs.
However, the combination of Baccarella, Allen and Stollmeyer does not disclose the limitation “displaying, upon expiration of a second predetermined duration of time since initiation of the live bi-directional video/audio feed initially directional video/audio feed initially configured to occur for a particular duration of time, a video/audio indication, the video/audio indication signifying impending termination of the live bi-directional video/audio feed and the video/audio indication stating an amount of money the consumer is to transfer to toll termination of the live bi- directional video/audio feed for additional pre-determined amount of time”.
Meanwhile, Sherman discloses displaying, upon expiration of a second predetermined duration of time since initiation of the live bi-directional video/audio feed initially directional video/audio feed initially configured to occur for a particular duration of time (),
a video/audio indication, the video/audio indication signifying impending termination of the live bi-directional video/audio feed and the video/audio indication stating an amount of money the consumer is to transfer to toll termination of the live bi- directional video/audio feed for additional pre-determined amount of time (Col. 8 lines 57 to Col. 9 lines 12, a client user as pre-paid for a virtual consultation but concludes the virtual consultation before the pre-determined amount of time paid has run out, the web site may provide a credit to the client user for the unused amount of time remaining; Col. 24 lines 67 to Col. 25 lines 25, If the GUI component 555 indicates the amount of time remaining for the virtual consultation is running out (i.e., the virtual consultation will conclude soon), the service representative user 500 may prompt the client user 400 to either speed up/wrap up his/her discussion or purchase additional time to extend the virtual consultation;; and Claim 1, first GUI component comprising a second cost structure data indicative of different pre-determined rates for different time increments available for selection, wherein, in response to the client user submitting a second pre-payment of fees for a time increment selected from the different time increments, the amount of time remaining for the virtual consultation is extended based on the time increment selected, thereby enabling the client user to pre-pay for additional time to extend the virtual consultation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify the system of cited references to include the features as disclosed by Sherman to providing pay-as-you-go pre-paid services for the purpose of allowing a user/a client requesting a service to actively control a length of the scheduled consultation/appointment to manage costs associated with the professional service requested.
As per claim 2, the combination of Baccarella, Allen, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Sherman discloses the displaying to the consumer the one or more service categories provides a real-time status indicator to indicate current service provider availability in each service category (Col. 8 lines 57 to Col. 9 lines 12, a client user as pre-paid for a virtual consultation but concludes the virtual consultation before the pre-determined amount of time paid has run out, the web site may provide a credit to the client user for the unused amount of time remaining; Col. 24 lines 67 to Col. 25 lines 25, If the GUI component 555 indicates the amount of time remaining for the virtual consultation is running out (i.e., the virtual consultation will conclude soon), the service representative user 500 may prompt the client user 400 to either speed up/wrap up his/her discussion or purchase additional time to extend the virtual consultation).
As per claim 3, the combination of Baccarella, Allen, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Sherman discloses updating the real-time status indicator to reflect a change in service provider availability (Col. 8 lines 57 to Col. 9 lines 12, a client user as pre-paid for a virtual consultation but concludes the virtual consultation before the pre-determined amount of time paid has run out, the web site may provide a credit to the client user for the unused amount of time remaining; Col. 24 lines 67 to Col. 25 lines 25, If the GUI component 555 indicates the amount of time remaining for the virtual consultation is running out (i.e., the virtual consultation will conclude soon), the service representative user 500 may prompt the client user 400 to either speed up/wrap up his/her discussion or purchase additional time to extend the virtual consultation).
As per claim 4, the combination of Baccarella, Allen, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Stollmeye discloses the choosing further comprises: selecting one of the service providers based on availability (par. [0055], A user clicking on one of the wellness providers listed in the interface shown wellness classes, appointments times, prices and so forth offered by the selected wellness provider, as well as a map indicating the geo-location of the wellness provider).
As per claim 7, the combination of Baccarella, Allen, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Baccarella discloses terminating the live bi-directional video/audio feed upon expiration of the first pre-determined duration of time (pars. [0010], [0018], and [0038], a video stream module manages STREAMING a LIVE TWO_WAY VIDEO feed between the participating member and the personal trainer, wherein all exercise classes are pre-recorded are displayed to select from, wherein a dynamic schedule by type, level, DURATION, and TIME of live classes will be available throughout the day for members to choose from. All exercise classes are pre-recorded are displayed to select from, wherein a dynamic schedule by type, level, duration, and time, live classes will be available throughout the day for members to choose from, wherein each class will cost members a fee per class).
As per claim 8, the combination of Baccarella, Allen, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Sherman discloses receiving a transfer of the amount of money from the consumer prior to expiration of the first pre-determined duration of time to toll termination of the live bi-directional video/audio feed for the additional pre-determined amount of time (Col. 8 lines 57 to Col. 9 lines 12; and Col. 24 lines 67 to Col. 25 lines 25, a client user as pre-paid for a virtual consultation but concludes the virtual consultation before the pre-determined amount of time paid has run out, the web site may provide a credit to the client user for the unused amount of time remaining).
As per claim 19, the combination of Baccarella, Allen, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Baccarella discloses obtaining a list of one or more categories based on the comparison (par. [0035]-[0036], obtaining an initial evaluation survey (consumer query), wherein a member-accessible internet site which provides live one-way/and two-way, feeds to multiple live exercise classes, wherein the user click on 11 areas of interest); and processing, using a model, the list of service providers and a list of one or more categories (pars. [0035]-[0036], [0047], generate 11 areas of interest (one or more service categories) to click on includes fitness instructors (one or more service providers) that provides a 3 days “justWannaBeFit retreat which includes fitness, healthy eating and stress management (services) to the participating member upon receiving the initial evaluation survey);
As per claim20, the combination of Baccarella, Allen, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Baccarella discloses the determining the available service providers in the list of service providers is based on at least one of whether at least one service provider in each service category has indicated their availability or a service provider has failed to answer one or more calls within a pre-determined call prior to the determining the available service providers in the list of service providers (pars. [0035]-[0036], [0047], determining or analyzing an appropriate type and level of exercise program based on the initial evaluation survey; and par. [0047] and [0050], the LJWBF website provides a class module (real-time status indicator) providing availability of engaged trainers (current service provider availability) in each of the 11 areas of interest). Sherman also disclose the mention limitation (Col. 8 lines 57 to Col. 9 lines 12; and Col. 24 lines 67 to Col. 25 lines 25).
As per claim 21, the combination of Baccarella, Allen, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Stollmeye discloses adjusting the prioritization of the one or more service providers of the selected service category for the consumer based on successfully completing the live bi-directional video/audio feed (par. [0036] & [0055], The aggregated database may include a proprietary database in which a continually updated record of all participating providers and participating payers is maintained, together with their geo-location, the wellness services offered by wellness providers, wherein indicating the geo-location of the wellness provider).
Claims 9-11, 13-14, 17-18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baccarella-Garcia (US 2011/0224999), hereinafter “Baccarella”, in view of Stollmeyer et al., (US 20140101067), hereinafter “Stollmeyer”, and further in view of Sherman (US 10366376).
As per claim 9, Baccarella discloses a generate live bi-directional video/audio feed between a consumer and a service provider (abstract, pars. [0007] & [0017], [0035], a method for generating live two way video feed between a participating member (consumer) and an instruction (service provider)), comprising:
- determining available service providers in the list of service providers (pars. [0035]-[0036], determining an appropriate type and level of exercise program based on an initial evaluation survey to generate 11 areas of interest) ;
- discovering one or more service categories corresponding to the available service providers (pars. [0035]-[0036], determining an appropriate type and level of exercise program based on an initial evaluation survey to generate 11 areas of interest);
- analyzing the discovered categories to generate one or more service categories based on the available service providers, each service category including one or more service providers of the available service providers that provide services to the consumer responsive to the discovered categories (pars. [0035]-[0036] and [0047], determining an appropriate type and level of exercise program based on an initial evaluation survey to generate 11 areas of interest to click on includes fitness instructions that provides a 3 day IjustWannaBeFit retreat which include fitness, healthy eating and stress management to the participating member upon receiving the initial evaluation survey the generates 11 areas of interest);
- displaying to the consumer the one or more service categories (see fig.9, par. [0036], IJWBF website (displaying) accessible to the participating member clicks on the 11 areas of interest via a home computer equipment);
- receiving a consumer input to select a service category from the one or more service categories (pars. [0035]-[0036] and [0038], the participating member clicking on a fitness from the 11 areas of interest);
- prioritizing the one or more service providers of the selected service category for the consumer based on at least one of a provider subscription level, a consumer subscription level, a quality of provider rating, a timely responsiveness of the provider, a skill of the provider, or a skill of the provider associated with the selected service category for the consumer (pars. [0047] and [0013], who are pulled in most (priority) of the members are invited to teach the classes, wherein the quality of provider rating is based on the fitness instructors’ training expertise, who are more selected often by the members);
- choosing a service provider from one or more service providers of the selected service category based on the prioritization of the one or more service providers of the selected service category (pars. [0018 and [0038], but each class will cost members a fee per class, membership fees for unlimited access to classes can be assessed, wherein the participating member pay fees for personal trainer (service provider) from the fitness instructors of the fitness Training); and
- initiating a live bi-directional video/audio feed between the consumer and the chosen service provider, the live bi-directional video/audio feed initially configured to occur for a pre-determined duration of time (pars. [0010], [0018], [0035]-[0038], and [0050], a video stream module manages STREAMING a LIVE TWO_WAY VIDEO feed between the participating member and the personal trainer, wherein all exercise classes are pre-recorded are displayed to select from, wherein a dynamic schedule by type, level, DURATION, and TIME of live classes will be available throughout the day for members to choose from. All exercise classes are pre-recorded are displayed to select from, wherein a dynamic schedule by type, level, duration, and time, live classes will be available throughout the day for members to choose from, wherein each class will cost members a fee per class); and
However, Baccarella does not disclose the limitation “obtaining a list of service providers”.
On the other hand, Stollmeyer discloses obtaining a list of service providers (abstract & par. [0064], [0057], receiving a listing of wellness providers from a wellness program operator); determining available service providers in the list of service providers (abstract & par. [0057]-[0058], [0064], & [0023] the wellness providers are identified based on their geo-location near the premises of an employer, wherein the listing identifying wellness providers each offering a wellness service and being located within a region geographically proximate to a predetermined geo-location. In order to locate these services, the employer can be referred to a website and, using a zip code for example, identify a list of wellness service providers located within their area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify the system of Baccarella to obtain a list of service providers as disclosed by Stollmeyer for the purpose of allowing greater control and facilitating the selection of health or wellness service providers by user incentives and reduce costs.
The combination of Baccarella and Stollmeye does not discloses the limitation “displaying, upon expiration of the predetermined duration of time since initiation of the live bi-directional video/audio feed, a video/audio indication, the video/audio indication signifying impending termination of the live bi-directional video/audio feed and the video/audio indication stating an amount of money the consumer is to transfer to toll termination of the live bi- directional video/audio feed for an additional pre-determined amount of time”.
Meanwhile, Sherman discloses displaying, upon expiration of the predetermined duration of time since initiation of the live bi-directional video/audio feed, a video/audio indication, the video/audio indication signifying impending termination of the live bi-directional video/audio feed and the video/audio indication stating an amount of money the consumer is to transfer to toll termination of the live bi- directional video/audio feed for an additional pre-determined amount of time (Col. 8 lines 57 to Col. 9 lines 12, a client user as pre-paid for a virtual consultation but concludes the virtual consultation before the pre-determined amount of time paid has run out, the web site may provide a credit to the client user for the unused amount of time remaining; Col. 24 lines 67 to Col. 25 lines 25, If the GUI component 555 indicates the amount of time remaining for the virtual consultation is running out (i.e., the virtual consultation will conclude soon), the service representative user 500 may prompt the client user 400 to either speed up/wrap up his/her discussion or purchase additional time to extend the virtual consultation; and Claim 1, first GUI component comprising a second cost structure data indicative of different pre-determined rates for different time increments available for selection, wherein, in response to the client user submitting a second pre-payment of fees for a time increment selected from the different time increments, the amount of time remaining for the virtual consultation is extended based on the time increment selected, thereby enabling the client user to pre-pay for additional time to extend the virtual consultation);
wherein the displaying to the consumer the one or more service categories provides a real-time status indicator to indicate current service provider availability in each service category (Col. 8 lines 57 to Col. 9 lines 12, a client user as pre-paid for a virtual consultation but concludes the virtual consultation before the pre-determined amount of time paid has run out, the web site may provide a credit to the client user for the unused amount of time remaining; Col. 24 lines 67 to Col. 25 lines 25, If the GUI component 555 indicates the amount of time remaining for the virtual consultation is running out (i.e., the virtual consultation will conclude soon), the service representative user 500 may prompt the client user 400 to either speed up/wrap up his/her discussion or purchase additional time to extend the virtual consultation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify the system of cited references to include the features as disclosed by Sherman to providing pay-as-you-go pre-paid services for the purpose of allowing a user/a client requesting a service to actively control a length of the scheduled consultation/appointment to manage costs associated with the professional service requested.
As per claim 10, the combination of Baccarella, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Baccarella discloses the discovering further includes: personalizing the discovered categories for the consumer (see fig.2, par. [0036], creating profiles (personalizing) similar to interest associated with the 11 areas for the participating member).
As per claim 11, the combination of Baccarella, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Baccarella discloses the personalizing includes analyzing one or more of: a social media feed of the consumer, a website of the consumer, and/or pictures from the consumer's social media site or client device (par. [0036], claim 5, the creation of profiles corresponds to determining a Facebook message (social media feed) of the participating member).
As per claim 13, the combination of Baccarella, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Sherman discloses updating the real-time status indicator to reflect a change in service provider availability (Col. 8 lines 57 to Col. 9 lines 12, a client user as pre-paid for a virtual consultation but concludes the virtual consultation before the pre-determined amount of time paid has run out, the web site may provide a credit to the client user for the unused amount of time remaining; Col. 24 lines 67 to Col. 25 lines 25, If the GUI component 555 indicates the amount of time remaining for the virtual consultation is running out (i.e., the virtual consultation will conclude soon), the service representative user 500 may prompt the client user 400 to either speed up/wrap up his/her discussion or purchase additional time to extend the virtual consultation).
As per claim 14, the combination of Baccarella, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Stollmeye discloses the choosing further comprises: selecting one of the service providers based on availability (par. [0055], A user clicking on one of the wellness providers listed in the interface shown wellness classes, appointments times, prices and so forth offered by the selected wellness provider, as well as a map indicating the geo-location of the wellness provider).
As per claim 17, the combination of Baccarella, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Sherman discloses terminating the live bi-directional video/audio feed upon expiration of the pre-determined duration of time (Col. 24 lines 67 to Col. 25 lines 25, If the GUI component 555 indicates the amount of time remaining for the virtual consultation is running out (i.e., the virtual consultation will conclude soon), the service representative user 500 may prompt the client user 400 to either speed up/wrap up his/her discussion or purchase additional time to extend the virtual consultation).
As per claim 18, the combination of Baccarella, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Sherman discloses receiving a transfer of an amount of money from the consumer prior to expiration of the pre-determined duration of time to toll termination of the live bi-directional video/audio feed for the additional pre-determined amount of time (Col. 24 lines 67 to Col. 25 lines 25, If the GUI component 555 indicates the amount of time remaining for the virtual consultation is running out (i.e., the virtual consultation will conclude soon), the service representative user 500 may prompt the client user 400 to either speed up/wrap up his/her discussion or purchase additional time to extend the virtual consultation; and Claim 1, first GUI component comprising a second cost structure data indicative of different pre-determined rates for different time increments available for selection, wherein, in response to the client user submitting a second pre-payment of fees for a time increment selected from the different time increments, the amount of time remaining for the virtual consultation is extended based on the time increment selected, thereby enabling the client user to pre-pay for additional time to extend the virtual consultation).
As per claim 22, the combination of Baccarella, Stollmeye and Sherman discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Stollmeyer discloses displaying one or more discover categories based on at least one of an identity of a consumer, a previous interaction of the consumer, a geographical location of the consumer, availability of one or more service providers, a time of day, a language of the consumer, a social media post of the consumer, a website of the consumer, a publication of the consumer, or a picture of the consumer (abstract & par. [0057]-[0058], [0064], & [0023] the wellness providers are identified based on their geo-location near the premises of an employer, wherein the listing identifying wellness providers each offering a wellness service and being located within a region geographically proximate to a predetermined geo-location. In order to locate these services, the employer can be referred to a website and, using a zip code for example, identify a list of wellness service providers located within their area).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-892).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Loan T. Nguyen whose telephone number is (571) 270-3103. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday from 10:00 am - 6:00 pm, Thursday-Friday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aleksandr Kerzhner can be reached on (571) 270-1760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-4103. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LOAN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2165
/ALEKSANDR KERZHNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2165