DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
The request filed on 01/07/2026 for a Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114 based on parent Application No. 17/267,116 is acceptable and a RCE has been established. An action on the RCE follows.
This communication is in response to applicant’s 01/07/2026 amendment/response in the application of LIANG et al. for “METHOD, USER EQUIPMENT, AND BASE STATION FOR CANCELLING UPLINK TRANSMISSION” filed 02/09/2021. The amendments/response to the claims have been entered. Claim 42 had been canceled. No news claims have been added. Claims 26, 28, 30, 32, 34, 39-41, 43-44, 46-47, 49-50 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26, 34, 39-41, 28, 43-44, 30, 46-47, 32, 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 26, 28, 30, and 32, the amendments to the independent claims are not supported by the originally filed specification. In the applicant’s remark or argument, the applicant had merely point out paragraphs ¶ [0054], [0055], [0057] for support of the amendments. However, none of the paragraphs mentioned by the applicant disclose the DCI is applied to PUSCH transmission after a time duration from a second timing corresponding to reception of the DCI and the timing duration is required to PUSCH transmission corresponding to the at least one communication resource. The applicant discloses thee claimed subject matter “a time duration” in paragraphs [0062], [0079], [0081], [0082], and [0090] of the originally filed specification. However, non in the context as claimed: especially the term of timing duration and PUSCH and DCI.
Reading claims 34, 39-41, 43-44, 46-47, 49-50 are rejected for dependent of rejected independent claim, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26, 28, 30, 32, 39-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PARK et al. (US 2019/0199477 A1), hereinafter PARK.
Regarding claim 26, PARK discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes information representing at least one communication resource (the eNB can configure a plurality of UL grant-to-PUSCH timing values for the UE through a higher layer signal such as RRC signaling, see ¶ 0840, 0842, 0948);
receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) including a bitmap transmission using at least a part of the at least one communication resource is cancelled and a period in which the uplink transmission is cancelled (then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948, where the DCI may include one bit indicator, see ¶ 0788); and
cancelling the uplink transmission using the at least the part of the lease one communication resource during the period based on the RRC message and the bitmap (when the eNB instructs to release the PUSCH transmission through the DCI, the UE may stop the PUSCH transmission, see ¶ 0948);
wherein the DCI is applied to physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions that are transmitted later by a time duration required to process the PUSCH corresponding to the at least one communication resource (the eNB may configure PUSCH transmission resources and periods in advance through a higher layer signal and then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948).
Regarding claim 39, PARK discloses wherein the time duration is defined by a parameter (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 40, PARK discloses the parameter corresponds to a number of resources (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 41, PARK discloses the parameter corresponds to a number of symbols (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 28, PARK discloses a method performed by a base station, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes information representing at least one communication resource (the eNB can configure a plurality of UL grant-to-PUSCH timing values for the UE through a higher layer signal such as RRC signaling, see ¶ 0840, 0842, 0948); and
transmitting, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) including a bitmap transmission using at least a part of the at least one communication resource is cancelled and a period in which the uplink transmission is cancelled (then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948, where the DCI may include one bit indicator, see ¶ 0788); and
wherein the DCI is applied to physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions that are transmitted later by a time duration required to process the PUSCH corresponding to the at least one communication resource (the eNB may configure PUSCH transmission resources and periods in advance through a higher layer signal and then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948).
Regarding claim 43, PARK discloses wherein the time duration is defined by a parameter (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 44, PARK discloses the parameter corresponds to a number of symbols (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 30, PARK discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: a
at least one memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor configured to process the instruction to:
receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes information representing at least one communication resource (the eNB can configure a plurality of UL grant-to-PUSCH timing values for the UE through a higher layer signal such as RRC signaling, see ¶ 0840, 0842, 0948);
receive, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) including a bitmap transmission using at least a part of the at least one communication resource is cancelled and a period in which the uplink transmission is cancelled (then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948, where the DCI may include one bit indicator, see ¶ 0788); and
cancel the uplink transmission using the at least the part of the lease one communication resource during the period based on the RRC message and the bitmap (when the eNB instructs to release the PUSCH transmission through the DCI, the UE may stop the PUSCH transmission, see ¶ 0948);
wherein the DCI is applied to physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions that are transmitted later by a time duration required to process the PUSCH corresponding to the at least one communication resource (the eNB may configure PUSCH transmission resources and periods in advance through a higher layer signal and then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948).
Regarding claim 46, PARK discloses wherein the time duration is defined by a parameter (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 47, PARK discloses the parameter corresponds to a number of symbols (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 32, PARK discloses a base station comprising: a transceiver circuit configured:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes information representing at least one communication resource (the eNB can configure a plurality of UL grant-to-PUSCH timing values for the UE through a higher layer signal such as RRC signaling, see ¶ 0840, 0842, 0948); and
transmit, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) including a bitmap transmission using at least a part of the at least one communication resource is cancelled and a period in which the uplink transmission is cancelled (then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948, where the DCI may include one bit indicator, see ¶ 0788); and
wherein the DCI is applied to physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions that are transmitted later by a time duration required to process the PUSCH corresponding to the at least one communication resource (the eNB may configure PUSCH transmission resources and periods in advance through a higher layer signal and then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948).
Regarding claim 49, PARK discloses wherein the time duration is defined by a parameter (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 50, PARK discloses the parameter corresponds to a number of symbols (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of WANG et al. (US 11,382123 B2), hereinafter WANG.
Regarding claim 34, PARK fails to explicitly disclose the DCI includes: a first field including an index corresponding to the at least the part of the at least one communication resource; and a second field including information indicating the period.
In the same field of endeavor, WANG discloses a downlink control information may comprise at least two fields: the first information field indicating a frequency resource and the second information field indicating time resource (see claims 1, 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement WANG’s teaching in the network taught by PARK for providing more flexible scheme in which resources are allocated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 26, 28, 30, 32, 34, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412