DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s 05/29/2026 amendment/response in the application of LIANG et al. for “METHOD, USER EQUIPMENT, AND BASE STATION FOR CANCELLING UPLINK TRANSMISSION” filed 02/09/2021. The amendments/response to the claims have been entered. Claim 42 had been canceled. No news claims have been added. Claims 26, 28, 30, 32, 34, 39-41, 43-44, 46-47, 49-50 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 28, 30, 32, 39-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 2019/0199477 A1), hereinafter PARK in view of HWANG et al. (US 2021/0212067 A1), hereinafter HWANG.
Regarding claim 26, PARK discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes information representing at least one communication resource (the eNB can configures a plurality of UL grant-to-PUSCH timing values for the UE through a higher layer signal such as RRC signaling, see ¶ 0840, 0842, 0948);
receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) including a bitmap transmission corresponding to at least a part of the at least one communication resource is cancelled and a period in which the uplink transmission is cancelled (then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948, where the DCI may include one bit indicator, see ¶ 0788); and
cancelling the uplink transmission corresponding to the at least the part of the lease one communication resource during the period based on the RRC message and the bitmap (when the eNB instructs to release the PUSCH transmission through the DCI, the UE may stop the PUSCH transmission, see ¶ 0948);
wherein the DCI is applied to physical uplink (the eNB may configure PUSCH transmission resources and periods in advance through a higher layer signal and then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948).
PARK fail to explicitly discloses the DCI is applied the uplink transmission after a time duration from a timing corresponding to reception of the DCI.
In the same filed of endeavor, HWANG discloses the indication signal may be transmitted in the form of a soft-buffer handling indicator within DCI for scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH together with a signal comprised of indication information on a pre-empted resource. In detail, a pre-empted resource indicator may indicate an impacted resource in the form of time and/or frequency resource, and the soft-buffer handling indicator may express an impacted resource per transport block or code block group, wherein corrupted coded bits within the soft buffer may be identified in accordance with a corresponding value and the UE may flush the corresponding bits (see ¶ 0217).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement HWANG’s teaching of pre-emption in DCI for scheduling PUSCH in network taught by PARK to maximizes spectral efficiency by packing continuous eMBB data into resources, safely overwriting them only when an actual high-priority event occurs.
Regarding claim 39, PARK discloses wherein the time duration is defined by a parameter (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 40, PARK discloses the parameter corresponds to a number of resources (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 41, PARK discloses the parameter corresponds to a number of symbols (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 28, PARK discloses a method performed by a base station, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes information representing at least one communication resource (the eNB can configure a plurality of UL grant-to-PUSCH timing values for the UE through a higher layer signal such as RRC signaling, see ¶ 0840, 0842, 0948); and
transmitting, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) including a bitmap transmission using at least a part of the at least one communication resource is cancelled and a period in which the uplink transmission is cancelled (then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948, where the DCI may include one bit indicator, see ¶ 0788); and
wherein the DCI is applied to physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions that are transmitted later by a time duration required to process the PUSCH corresponding to the at least one communication resource (the eNB may configure PUSCH transmission resources and periods in advance through a higher layer signal and then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948).
PARK fail to explicitly discloses the DCI is applied the uplink transmission after a time duration from a timing corresponding to reception of the DCI.
In the same filed of endeavor, HWANG discloses the indication signal may be transmitted in the form of a soft-buffer handling indicator within DCI for scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH together with a signal comprised of indication information on a pre-empted resource. In detail, a pre-empted resource indicator may indicate an impacted resource in the form of time and/or frequency resource, and the soft-buffer handling indicator may express an impacted resource per transport block or code block group, wherein corrupted coded bits within the soft buffer may be identified in accordance with a corresponding value and the UE may flush the corresponding bits (see ¶ 0217).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement HWANG’s teaching of pre-emption in DCI for scheduling PUSCH in network taught by PARK to maximizes spectral efficiency by packing continuous eMBB data into resources, safely overwriting them only when an actual high-priority event occurs.
Regarding claim 43, PARK discloses wherein the time duration is defined by a parameter (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 44, PARK discloses the parameter corresponds to a number of symbols (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 30, PARK discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: a
at least one memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor configured to process the instruction to:
receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes information representing at least one communication resource (the eNB can configure a plurality of UL grant-to-PUSCH timing values for the UE through a higher layer signal such as RRC signaling, see ¶ 0840, 0842, 0948);
receive, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) including a bitmap transmission using at least a part of the at least one communication resource is cancelled and a period in which the uplink transmission is cancelled (then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948, where the DCI may include one bit indicator, see ¶ 0788); and
cancel the uplink transmission using the at least the part of the lease one communication resource during the period based on the RRC message and the bitmap (when the eNB instructs to release the PUSCH transmission through the DCI, the UE may stop the PUSCH transmission, see ¶ 0948);
wherein the DCI is applied to physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions that are transmitted later by a time duration required to process the PUSCH corresponding to the at least one communication resource (the eNB may configure PUSCH transmission resources and periods in advance through a higher layer signal and then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948).
PARK fail to explicitly discloses the DCI is applied the uplink transmission after a time duration from a timing corresponding to reception of the DCI.
In the same filed of endeavor, HWANG discloses the indication signal may be transmitted in the form of a soft-buffer handling indicator within DCI for scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH together with a signal comprised of indication information on a pre-empted resource. In detail, a pre-empted resource indicator may indicate an impacted resource in the form of time and/or frequency resource, and the soft-buffer handling indicator may express an impacted resource per transport block or code block group, wherein corrupted coded bits within the soft buffer may be identified in accordance with a corresponding value and the UE may flush the corresponding bits (see ¶ 0217).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement HWANG’s teaching of pre-emption in DCI for scheduling PUSCH in network taught by PARK to maximizes spectral efficiency by packing continuous eMBB data into resources, safely overwriting them only when an actual high-priority event occurs.
Regarding claim 46, PARK discloses wherein the time duration is defined by a parameter (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 47, PARK discloses the parameter corresponds to a number of symbols (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 32, PARK discloses a base station comprising: a transceiver circuit configured:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes information representing at least one communication resource (the eNB can configure a plurality of UL grant-to-PUSCH timing values for the UE through a higher layer signal such as RRC signaling, see ¶ 0840, 0842, 0948); and
transmit, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) including a bitmap transmission using at least a part of the at least one communication resource is cancelled and a period in which the uplink transmission is cancelled (then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948, where the DCI may include one bit indicator, see ¶ 0788); and
wherein the DCI is applied to physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions that are transmitted later by a time duration required to process the PUSCH corresponding to the at least one communication resource (the eNB may configure PUSCH transmission resources and periods in advance through a higher layer signal and then indicate activation or release of PUSCH transmission through DCI, see ¶ 0948).
PARK fail to explicitly discloses the DCI is applied the uplink transmission after a time duration from a timing corresponding to reception of the DCI.
In the same filed of endeavor, HWANG discloses the indication signal may be transmitted in the form of a soft-buffer handling indicator within DCI for scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH together with a signal comprised of indication information on a pre-empted resource. In detail, a pre-empted resource indicator may indicate an impacted resource in the form of time and/or frequency resource, and the soft-buffer handling indicator may express an impacted resource per transport block or code block group, wherein corrupted coded bits within the soft buffer may be identified in accordance with a corresponding value and the UE may flush the corresponding bits (see ¶ 0217).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement HWANG’s teaching of pre-emption in DCI for scheduling PUSCH in network taught by PARK to maximizes spectral efficiency by packing continuous eMBB data into resources, safely overwriting them only when an actual high-priority event occurs.
Regarding claim 49, PARK discloses wherein the time duration is defined by a parameter (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Regarding claim 50, PARK discloses the parameter corresponds to a number of symbols (the order predetermined between the eNB and UE according to DM-RS patterns in the PUSCH and PUSCH duration (=the number of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH), see ¶ 0974).
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of PARK-HWANG in view of WANG et al. (US 11,382123 B2), hereinafter WANG.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of PARK-HWANG fails to explicitly disclose the DCI includes: a first field including an index corresponding to the at least the part of the at least one communication resource; and a second field including information indicating the period.
In the same field of endeavor, WANG discloses a downlink control information may comprise at least two fields: the first information field indicating a frequency resource and the second information field indicating time resource (see claims 1, 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement WANG’s teaching in the network taught by the combination of PARK-HWANG for providing more flexible scheme in which resources are allocated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 26, 28, 30, 32, 34, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412